Ameriprise Financial (AMP)

Company ID: 93 | CIK: 0000820027
10-Q view:
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No 10-Q data

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Financial advisors (advisors)

Assets under management and administration (aua)

Collective Funds Managed (aum)

Annuity cash sales (bookings)

Client attrition rate (churn)

No 10-Q data

LTC claims closed (claims_count)

No 10-Q data

Contractors (contractors)

No 10-Q data

Retirement Plan Participants (customers)

Banking Deposits (deposits)

Inclusion index score (engagement)

No 10-Q data

Headcount (headcount)

No 10-Q data

Advisor loans (loans_outstanding)

Net flows (net_flows)

Nonperforming loans (nonperforming_loans)

AUM and AUA (other)

AUM and AUA combined (other)

No 10-Q data

Account values with living benefit riders (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted operating earnings per diluted share (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted operating net revenue per advisor (other)

Adjusted operating return on equity (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted return on equity (other)

No 10-K data

Advisor tenure (other)

No 10-Q data

Advisory wrap account assets (other)

No 10-K data

Advisory wrap assets (other)

No 10-K data

Annuity account balances (other)

No 10-K data

Annuity cash sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Annuity variable account assets (other)

No 10-K data

Asset Management managed assets (other)

No 10-K data

Asset allocation fund performance (other)

No 10-K data

Assets in four or five star funds (other)

No 10-K data

Assets in top-rated funds (other)

No 10-K data

Assets rated 4 or 5 stars (other)

No 10-K data

Assets under advisement (other)

No 10-K data

Assets under management and administration (other)

No 10-K data

Attained age of contractholders (other)

No 10-Q data

Auto and home average policy count growth (other)

No 10-K data

Auto and home policy count growth (other)

No 10-K data

Auto and home policy counts growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Auto and home policy growth (other)

No 10-K data

Available Capital for Capital Adequacy (other)

No 10-K data

Available capital for capital adequacy (other)

No 10-K data

Average AUM (other)

No 10-Q data

Average advisory wrap account assets (other)

No 10-K data

Average advisory wrap assets (other)

No 10-K data

Average certificate crediting rate (other)

No 10-K data

Average certificate reserve balance (other)

No 10-K data

Average deposit rate paid (other)

No 10-K data

Average fixed annuity accumulation values (other)

No 10-K data

Average fixed annuity balances (other)

No 10-K data

Average fixed annuity crediting rate (other)

No 10-K data

Average interest rate paid on deposits (other)

No 10-K data

Average interest-bearing deposit balance (other)

No 10-K data

Average managed assets (other)

No 10-K data

Average training hours per employee (other)

No 10-Q data

Average variable annuity fixed sub-account balances (other)

No 10-K data

BBA capital ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Brand awareness (other)

No 10-Q data

Branded advisor cash sales share (other)

No 10-K data

Branded financial plan net cash sales (other)

No 10-K data

Branded financial plan net cash sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Brokerage cash balances (other)

No 10-K data

Brokerage cash yield (other)

No 10-K data

COVID-19 loan modifications (other)

No 10-K data

Cash and cash equivalents (other)

Cash sales (other)

No 10-K data

Cash sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Catastrophe losses (other)

Certificate cash sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Certificate client deposits (other)

No 10-K data

Certificate reserves (other)

No 10-Q data

Certificate sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Client assets (other)

No 10-K data

Clients with a financial plan (other)

Clients with financial plan (other)

Columbia funds (other)

No 10-K data

Columbia managed assets (other)

No 10-K data

Common shareholders of record (other)

No 10-Q data

Common shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Common shares repurchased (other)

No 10-K data

Daily average S&P 500 Index growth (other)

No 10-K data

Debt (other)

No 10-Q data

Deferred acquisition costs (other)

No 10-Q data

Deposit receivables (other)

No 10-K data

Diluted earnings per share (other)

No 10-K data

Dividends paid to shareholders (other)

No 10-K data

Effective tax rate (other)

No 10-K data

Equity fund performance (other)

No 10-K data

Equity price decline sensitivity (other)

No 10-K data

FHLB borrowing capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Federal Reserve borrowing capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Financial plan net cash sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Financial plan penetration (other)

No 10-K data

Financial planning fee revenue (other)

No 10-Q data

Financial planning net cash sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Financial planning penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Financial plans (other)

No 10-K data

Five-year block re-priced (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed annuity account balances (other)

Fixed annuity account value (other)

No 10-Q data

Fixed annuity balances (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed annuity crediting rate (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed annuity reinsurance transaction (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed deferred annuity account balances (other)

Fixed deferred annuity balances (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed income fund performance (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed rate certificate reserves (other)

No 10-K data

Former parent company related AUM (other)

No 10-K data

Four- and five-star Morningstar funds (other)

No 10-K data

Four- and five-star funds (other)

No 10-K data

Four- and five-star rated funds (other)

No 10-K data

Four/five-star funds (other)

No 10-K data

Funds in top quartiles (other)

No 10-K data

Funds managed (other)

No 10-K data

Funds rated 4 or 5 stars (other)

No 10-K data

Funds rated four or five stars (other)

No 10-K data

Funds with 4 or 5 Morningstar stars (other)

No 10-K data

Funds with top Morningstar ratings (other)

No 10-K data

Future policy benefits and claims (other)

No 10-Q data

GDC per branded advisor growth (other)

No 10-Q data

GMDB net amount at risk (other)

No 10-K data

GMWB and GMAB derivative notional (other)

No 10-K data

GMWB hedge notional (other)

No 10-K data

Global managed assets (other)

No 10-K data

Goodwill (other)

No 10-Q data

Gross dealer concession growth (other)

No 10-K data

Indexed universal life liabilities (other)

No 10-K data

Intangible assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Interest rate increase sensitivity (other)

No 10-K data

Investment certificate reserves (other)

No 10-Q data

Investments (other)

No 10-Q data

Legacy partner net flows (other)

No 10-K data

Life insurance in force (other)

Living benefit account value share (other)

No 10-K data

Living benefit rider account values (other)

No 10-K data

Living benefit rider share (other)

No 10-K data

Living benefit rider values (other)

No 10-K data

Living benefit riders (other)

No 10-K data

Managed assets (other)

No 10-K data

Managed assets by asset class (other)

No 10-K data

Managed assets by platform (other)

No 10-K data

Managed assets by type (other)

No 10-K data

Model delivery advisement flows (other)

No 10-K data

Morningstar 4- or 5-star rated funds (other)

Morningstar rated funds (other)

No 10-K data

Mutual funds rated 4 or 5 stars (other)

No 10-Q data

Mutual funds rated four or five stars (other)

No 10-Q data

Net amount at risk (other)

No 10-Q data

Net amount at risk - Indexed Universal Life Insurance (other)

No 10-Q data

Net amount at risk - Universal Life Insurance (other)

No 10-Q data

Net amount at risk - Variable Annuities (other)

No 10-Q data

Net amount at risk - Variable Universal Life Insurance (other)

No 10-Q data

Net revenue per advisor (other)

Net revenues per advisor (other)

No 10-K data

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

Operating earnings per diluted share (other)

No 10-K data

Operating net revenue per advisor (other)

Operating net revenue per branded advisor (other)

No 10-K data

Operating return on equity (other)

No 10-K data

Operating return on equity excluding AOCI (other)

No 10-K data

Owned assets (other)

No 10-K data

Owned, managed and administered assets (other)

No 10-K data

Parent company liquidity (other)

No 10-K data

Pretax adjusted operating margin (other)

No 10-K data

Pretax operating margin (other)

No 10-K data

Property casualty new policy sales from Costco (other)

No 10-Q data

Rated assets with 4- or 5-star rating (other)

No 10-K data

Remaining share repurchase authorization (other)

No 10-K data

Retail fund performance (other)

No 10-K data

Retail fund performance rankings (other)

No 10-K data

Retail fund rankings (other)

No 10-K data

Retail funds in top two quartiles (other)

No 10-K data

Retail mutual funds (other)

No 10-Q data

Return on equity (other)

No 10-K data

Revenue generated in United States (other)

No 10-Q data

Revenue per advisor (other)

No 10-K data

Revenue per branded advisor (other)

No 10-K data

Risk-based capital ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

RiverSource fixed annuity account balances (other)

No 10-K data

RiverSource variable annuity account balances (other)

No 10-K data

S&P 500 index (other)

No 10-K data

Share repurchase authorization remaining (other)

No 10-K data

Share repurchases (other)

Shareholders' equity (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares outstanding (other)

Shares repurchased (other)

Star-rated fund assets (other)

No 10-K data

Star-rated funds (other)

No 10-K data

Structured variable annuity liabilities (other)

No 10-K data

Threadneedle managed assets (other)

No 10-K data

Total AUM and AUA (other)

Total AUM and advisement net flows (other)

No 10-K data

Total AUM, AUA, advisement (other)

No 10-K data

Total assets (other)

No 10-K data

Total assets under management, administration and advisement (other)

No 10-K data

Total cash sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Total client assets (other)

No 10-K data

Total owned, managed and administered assets (other)

No 10-K data

Variable annuity account balances (other)

Variable annuity account value (other)

Variable annuity balances (other)

No 10-K data

Variable annuity contract value (other)

No 10-Q data

Variable annuity contract values (other)

No 10-Q data

Variable annuity sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Variable annuity sales change (other)

No 10-K data

Voluntary fee waivers (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted Equity Index (other)

No 10-K data

Wrap account assets (other)

Wrap account average balance (other)

No 10-K data

Wrap account net flows (other)

Traditional life insurance in force (policies_in_force)

LTC comprehensive reimbursement gross in force annual premium (premiums_written)

Advisor retention rate (retention)

Principal office square footage (square_footage)

No 10-Q data

AFS Net Capital (tier1_capital)

Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2024-12-31restructuringin_progressGlobalCorporate & OtherUSD 32 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A attributes $32M higher severance expense to operational efficiency initiatives and cloud transition; no employee count or formal program disclosed
2024-12-31restructuringin_progressGlobalConsolidatedMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Consolidated G&A expense increase attributed partly to severance from expense management initiatives; no employee count or discrete charge disclosed
2024-09-30restructuringin_progressCorporate & OtherUSD 17 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Higher severance expense associated with initiatives to enhance operational efficiency and effectiveness.
2024-09-30restructuringin_progressCorporate & OtherUSD 44 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Higher severance expenses associated with initiatives to enhance operational efficiency and effectiveness as well as a lease write-down.
2024-06-30restructuringin_progressCorporate & OtherUSD 24 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Higher severance expenses associated with initiatives to enhance operational efficiency and effectiveness.
2024-06-30restructuringin_progressConsolidatedUSD 28 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Higher severance expenses reflected in General and administrative expense for the six months ended June 30, 2024.
2023-09-30restructuringin_progressUnited StatesCorporate & OtherUSD 7 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance expenses tied to expense management initiatives aimed at improving operating efficiency; no employee count disclosed.
2023-09-30restructuringin_progressCorporate & OtherUSD 7 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance expenses related to expense management initiatives designed to improve operating efficiency.
2022-09-30restructuringin_progressSegment Reconciling Items [Member]USD 11,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-06-30restructuringin_progressSegment Reconciling Items [Member]USD 14,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-03-31restructuringin_progressSegment Reconciling Items [Member]USD 10,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2021-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2021-11-082021-11-08Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA)Asset Managementbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of BMO Financial Group's European asset management business closed 2021-11-08, adding $136 billion of AUM. Headcount added not quantified in the filing; acquired employees are excluded from the approximately 12,000 global employees total.
2021-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2021-11-082021-11-08EMEAAsset ManagementItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired BMO Financial Group's European-based asset management business. Employee count excluded from total headcount disclosure.
2021-12-31restructuringin_progressSegment Reconciling Items [Member]USD 32,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2021-09-30restructuringin_progressSegment Reconciling Items [Member]USD 7,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2021-06-30restructuringin_progressSegment Reconciling Items [Member]USD 7,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2020-09-30restructuringin_progressUSD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2020-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2020-03-31restructuringin_progressUSD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2019-10-012019-10-01United StatesCorporate & Other (Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance business)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance to American Family Insurance completed October 1, 2019; gross proceeds of $1.1 billion. No employee headcount transferred or retained was disclosed.
2019-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2019-10-012019-10-01United StatesCorporate & OtherItem 1. Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance business to American Family Insurance. Employee count not explicitly disclosed in filing.
2019-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2019-12-312019-12-31GlobalAsset ManagementItem 1A. Risk Factors
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Filing references recent acquisition of Lionstone Investments. Specific headcount added not disclosed in this filing.
2019-12-31restructuringin_progressUSD 3,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2019-09-30restructuringin_progressUSD 3,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD 3,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-03-31restructuringin_progressUSD 3,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2152017-07-012017-07-01United StatesAdvice & Wealth ManagementItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Investment Professionals, Inc. (IPI) completed in July 2017 added 215 financial advisors.
2018-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2152017-07-01San Antonio, TexasAdvice & Wealth ManagementMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Investment Professionals, Inc. (IPI) completed in July 2017 added 215 financial advisors.
2018-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2152017-07-01San Antonio, TexasAdvice & Wealth ManagementMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Investment Professionals, Inc. (IPI) completed in July 2017 added 215 financial advisors.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2152017-07-012017-07-01United StatesAdvice & Wealth ManagementMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Investment Professionals, Inc., an independent broker-dealer in San Antonio, Texas; added 215 financial advisors and $8 billion in client assets.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-11-302017-11-30United StatesAsset ManagementMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Lionstone Partners, LLC completed November 2017; added $5.4 billion in assets under management. Headcount added not disclosed.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2152017-07-01United StatesAdvice & Wealth ManagementItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Investment Professionals, Inc. (IPI) added 215 financial advisors.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-11-01GlobalAsset ManagementItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Lionstone Partners, LLC. Employee count not explicitly disclosed in text.
2017-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2152017-07-012017-07-01United States (San Antonio, Texas)Advice & Wealth ManagementMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Investment Professionals, Inc. (IPI), an independent broker dealer, closed July 1, 2017 and added 215 financial advisors plus $8 billion in client assets. Original announcement date not disclosed; closing date used.
2017-09-30acquisition_additionannounced2017-09-202017-11-01United StatesAsset ManagementMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Lionstone Investments announced September 20, 2017; closed November 1, 2017 (subsequent to quarter end), adding approximately $6 billion in AUM. Headcount added not disclosed.
2017-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2152017-07-01San Antonio, TexasAdvice & Wealth ManagementMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Investment Professionals, Inc. (IPI) closed July 1, 2017, adding 215 financial advisors.
2017-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2002017-07-012017-07-01United States (San Antonio, Texas)Advice & Wealth ManagementMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed July 1, 2017 (subsequent to quarter end); adds approximately 200 financial advisors and $8 billion in assets; to be reflected in Q3 2017 results.
2017-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2002017-07-01San Antonio, TexasAdvice & Wealth ManagementMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Investment Professionals, Inc. (IPI) closed July 1, 2017, adding approximately 200 financial advisors.
2017-03-31acquisition_additionannounced2002017-04-302017-09-30United StatesAdvice & Wealth ManagementMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Announced agreement to acquire Investment Professionals, Inc., an independent broker-dealer with approximately 200 advisors as of 2016-12-31; expected to close Q3 2017. Advisor count may not equal employee headcount.
2015-09-30restructuringin_progressUSD 3,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2015-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD -1,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2014-12-31othercompletedIndiaAdvice & Wealth Management (retail financial planning and distribution)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer discontinued retail financial planning and distribution services in India during 2014; no affected-employee count or charge disclosed. Integration/restructuring charges were nil for 2014.
2012-12-31restructuringcompleted2012-072013-01United StatesAdvice & Wealth Management (banking business)USD 26 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring charges incurred in 2012 for exiting the banking business, of which $7 million related to an interest rate hedge. Conversion to a limited powers national trust bank completed January 2013. No employee count disclosed.
2012-12-31restructuringcompleted2010-04-302012-06-30United StatesAsset Management (Columbia Management integration)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Integration of the Columbia Management acquisition completed in Q2 2012, involving organizational changes to portfolio management, analytical, operational, compliance, sales and marketing teams. Total integration and restructuring charges were $71 million for 2012 per the segment reconciliation (includes the $26 million banking-related charge above). No employee count disclosed.
2012-12-31restructuringcompleted2012-01-012012-12-31United StatesCorporate & Other / Advice & Wealth ManagementUSD 26 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Charges related to exiting the banking business and converting Ameriprise Bank to a limited powers national trust bank. Includes $7 million impact of interest rate hedge. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2012-09-30restructuringin_progress2012-07-012012-12-31United StatesAdvice & Wealth ManagementUSD 17 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Transition of Ameriprise Bank, FSB to a limited powers national trust bank. $17M restructuring charges incurred in Q3 2012. Total expected restructuring expenses approx $20M excluding interest rate hedge impact. Employee count not disclosed.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompletedUnited StatesAdvice & Wealth Managementdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Securities America sold in Q4 2011 for $150 million cash; no employee count disclosed for the divested business.
2011-12-31restructuringin_progress2012-12-31United StatesAsset ManagementUSD 95 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2011 pretax integration costs of $95 million ($202 million cumulative through 2011) include employee reduction and retention costs; no headcount disclosed. Integration expected to complete in 2012.
2011-12-31restructuringcompletedUSD 95 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pretax non-recurring integration costs related to the Columbia Management Acquisition. Includes system integration, regulatory filing, employee reduction and retention costs, and acquisition costs.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2011-12-312011-12-31MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of Securities America Financial Corporation and its subsidiaries to Ladenburg Thalmann Financial Services, Inc. Results presented as discontinued operations.
2011-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2011-09-302011-11-04United StatesCorporate & Other (Securities America)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement signed in Q3 2011 to sell Securities America to Ladenburg Thalmann for $150M cash plus potential future payments; sale closed November 4, 2011. No employee headcount associated with the divestiture is disclosed.
2011-09-30restructuringin_progressCorporate & Other / Asset ManagementUSD 24 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pretax non-recurring integration costs related to the Columbia Management Acquisition. Includes system integration, regulatory filing, employee reduction and retention costs.
2011-09-30restructuringin_progressAsset ManagementUSD 24 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Integration charges for the Columbia Management Acquisition included in General and Administrative Expense.
2011-03-31divestiture_reductionannounced2011-03-31United StatesSecurities America (moved from Advice & Wealth Management to Corporate & Other)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Management decided during Q1 2011 to identify a buyer for Securities America. Results moved to Corporate & Other segment. No headcount figure disclosed. Company expects to present as discontinued operations beginning Q2 2011.
2011-03-31othercompleted2010-04-302011-12-31United StatesAsset Management (Columbia Management integration)USD 29 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Columbia Management Acquisition integration ongoing; $29M pretax non-recurring integration costs in Q1 2011 ($136M cumulative). Integration includes employee reduction and retention costs, but no specific headcount figures disclosed. Expected completion in 2011.
2011-03-31restructuringin_progress2011-04-152011-07-25United StatesCorporate & Other (Securities America)USD 118 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Securities America entered into settlement agreements for $150 million total ($40M recorded in Q4 2010, $118M in Q1 2011) to resolve litigation regarding private placement sales. No specific employee count affected is disclosed.
2011-03-31restructuringin_progressAsset Management (Columbia Management)USD 29 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pretax non-recurring integration costs of $29 million incurred for Columbia Management Acquisition. Includes employee reduction and retention costs. No specific headcount disclosed.
2010-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2010-04-302011-12-31United StatesAsset ManagementUSD 100 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Columbia Management long-term asset management business from Bank of America closed 2010-04-30; headcount added not disclosed. FY2010 pretax integration costs of $100M include employee reduction and retention costs; integration expected complete in 2011.
2010-12-31restructuringcompleted2008-10-012010-12-31United StatesCorporateUSD 60 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Program announced in Q4 2008 via selective employee headcount reductions; liability balance was nil at 2010-12-31 (and $7M at 2009-12-31), indicating completion during fiscal 2010. No employees-affected count disclosed; no charge recorded in fiscal 2010.
2010-12-31restructuringcompleted2008-Q42010-12-31GlobalVariousUSD 7 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Integration charges related to 2008 acquisitions (H&R Block Financial Advisors, Seligman, Brecek & Young). Liability balance was nil at Dec 31, 2010.
2010-12-31restructuringin_progress2010-04-302011-12-31GlobalAsset ManagementUSD 100 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pretax non-recurring integration costs for Columbia Management Acquisition. Includes employee reduction and retention costs.
2010-06-30restructuringin_progress2010-04-302011-12-31United StatesAsset ManagementUSD 58 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Integration costs related to Columbia Management Acquisition include employee reduction and retention costs. Total expected costs $130M-$160M through 2011.
2010-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2010-04-30United StatesAsset Managementsubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All-cash acquisition of Columbia Management's long-term asset management business completed April 30, 2010 for approximately $1 billion. No headcount added disclosed. $12 million pretax non-recurring acquisition and integration costs incurred through March 31, 2010; $130–160 million total expected through 2011 including employee reduction and retention costs.
2010-03-31othercompletedUSD 12 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pretax non-recurring acquisition and integration costs related to Columbia Management Group acquisition, including employee reduction and retention costs.
2009-12-31restructuringin_progress2008United StatesSelect areas outside client service operationsUSD 60 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Program announced in Q4 2008 via selective headcount reductions; liability balance was $58 million at 2008 year-end and $7 million at 2009 year-end, reflecting activity during fiscal 2009. Employees affected not disclosed.
2009-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2009-09-302010-06-30United StatesAsset Managementbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pending all-cash acquisition of Columbia Management Group's long-term asset management business, expected to close spring 2010; headcount added not disclosed. MD&A notes $130-160 million of acquisition and integration costs through 2011, including employee reduction and retention costs.
2009-12-31restructuringcompleted2008-Q42009-12-31GlobalVariousUSD 60 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Announced in Q4 2008; primarily selective reductions in employee headcount largely in areas other than client service operations. Liability balance was $7 million at Dec 31, 2009.
2009-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2008-Q42008-12-31United StatesAdvice & Wealth Management; Asset ManagementMD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Completed all-cash acquisitions of H&R Block Financial Advisors, J.&W. Seligman & Co., and Brecek & Young Advisors in Q4 2008 to expand retail distribution and asset management businesses.
2009-09-30acquisition_additionannounced2009-09-302010-04-30United StatesAsset Managementother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement announced September 30, 2009 to acquire the long-term asset management business of Columbia Management for $900 million to $1.2 billion, funded with cash on hand, expected to close spring 2010 subject to regulatory approval. No headcount added disclosed; MD&A notes $4 million of pretax non-recurring acquisition and integration costs in Q3 2009 and $130-$160 million expected through 2011, including employee reduction and retention costs.
2008-12-31restructuringin_progress2008-12-31United StatesPrimarily outside client service operationsUSD 60 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Charge announced in the fourth quarter of 2008 through selective employee headcount reductions; exact announcement date not disclosed. $58 million of the liability remained accrued at 2008-12-31; number of employees affected not disclosed.
2008-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted9502008-12-312008-12-31United StatesAdvice & Wealth Management — branded advisor networkItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All-cash acquisition of H&R Block Financial Advisors, Inc. (renamed Ameriprise Advisor Services, Inc.) completed in Q4 2008, adding approximately 950 employee branded advisors. A separate Brecek & Young acquisition added approximately 300 independent advisors who are not employees of the company and are therefore excluded from this count.
2008-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2008-12-312008-12-31United StatesAsset Managementbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All-cash acquisition of J. & W. Seligman & Co., Incorporated completed in Q4 2008 for $432 million; headcount added not disclosed.
2008-12-31restructuringcompleted2008-12-31USD 60 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Announced in Q4 2008. Primarily through selective reductions in employee headcount largely in areas other than client service operations. Employee count not disclosed.
2008-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2008-12-31United StatesAdvice & Wealth Management; Asset ManagementItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired H&R Block Financial Advisors (renamed AASI), J. & W. Seligman & Co., and Brecek & Young in Q4 2008. Added approx. 950 employee branded advisors and 300 independent advisors. Total headcount impact not explicitly aggregated.
2008-06-30acquisition_additionannounced2008-07-072008-12-31United StatesAsset ManagementUSD 440 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement to acquire J. & W. Seligman & Co. for approximately $440 million total consideration; expected to close in Q4 2008. No headcount added disclosed.
2007-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2005-09-302007-09-30United StatesProtectionItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of AMEX Assurance Company to American Express completed September 30, 2007 for $115 million; associated headcount not disclosed.
2007-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2007-10-012007-10-01United KingdomAsset ManagementItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Threadneedle acquired Convivo Capital Management in October 2007 to strengthen alternatives capabilities; headcount added not disclosed.
2007-03-31othercompletedCorporate and OtherUSD 3 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance charges of $3 million recorded in Q1 2007 (vs. $11 million in Q1 2006), cited as the driver of lower Corporate other expenses. No employee count, program name, or announcement date disclosed; prior-year comparative figure not extracted as a separate action.
2006-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2006-06-012006-06-01United StatesRetirement Plan Services (defined contribution recordkeeping)USD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale closed June 1, 2006 for $66 million; $30 million of related expenses included $11 million severance and $17 million software write-down. Headcount not disclosed; $16.7 billion of administered assets transferred.
2006-12-31restructuringin_progressUnited StatesTechnology and corporate functionsUSD 25 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance and other costs incurred in 2006, primarily for technology functions and reengineering initiatives; headcount affected not disclosed.
2006-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2005-09-302007-09-30United StatesProtection segment — AMEX Assurance CompanyItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to sell AMEX Assurance to American Express on or before September 30, 2007 for approximately $115 million; closing deferred pending regulatory approvals. Headcount not disclosed.
2006-12-31otherin_progress2005-02-012007-12-31United StatesEnterprise — separation from American ExpressUSD 361 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
2006 separation costs of $361 million ($235 million after-tax) primarily for technology platform separation and rebranding; $654 million incurred through 2006 with $221 million expected. Includes advisor and employee retention programs; headcount not disclosed.
2006-12-31restructuringcompleted2006-06-012006-12-31United StatesDefined Contribution Recordkeeping BusinessUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs of $11 million incurred related to the sale of the defined contribution recordkeeping business. Total expenses related to the sale were $30 million, including a $17 million write-down of capitalized software.
2006-12-31restructuringcompleted2006-12-312006-12-31United StatesTechnology and OperationsUSD 25 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs of $25 million primarily related to technology functions and ongoing reengineering initiatives to improve efficiencies.
2006-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2006-06-01United StatesAsset Accumulation and Income — Defined Contribution RecordkeepingUSD 16 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
YTD severance and other costs related to the sale of the defined contribution recordkeeping business, completed June 1, 2006. Employee count not disclosed.
2006-09-30restructuringin_progressUnited StatesTechnologyUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
YTD severance costs primarily related to technology functions. Employee count and announcement date not disclosed.
2006-09-30restructuringin_progressUnited StatesCorporate — Reengineering initiativesUSD 13 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
YTD other severance related to ongoing reengineering initiatives to improve business efficiencies. Employee count and announcement date not disclosed.
2006-09-30restructuringin_progress2005-02-012007-12-31Technology, Marketing, RebrandingUSD 238 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Separation from American Express. YTD 2006 costs of $238M primarily related to technology, marketing, and rebranding. Total expected costs approx $875M, mostly by Dec 31, 2007.
2006-09-30restructuringin_progress2006-01-01Technology, ReengineeringUSD 24 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
YTD 2006 severance costs of $24M: $13M for reengineering initiatives and $11M for technology functions.
2006-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2006-06-302006-06-30Defined Contribution RecordkeepingUSD 16 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of defined contribution recordkeeping business in Q2 2006. YTD 2006 severance and other costs of $16M.
2006-06-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2006-06-01United StatesAsset Accumulation and IncomeUSD 12 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale completed 2006-06-01 for $66 million; total related expenses $30 million including $17 million software write-down. MD&A reports $16 million of severance and other costs for the sale; footnote isolates $12 million of severance. No employee count disclosed.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progressTechnologyUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance costs recorded in first half of 2006 primarily related to technology functions; no employee count or completion date disclosed.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progressCorporateUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Other severance tied to ongoing reengineering initiatives aimed at improving business efficiencies; no employee count or completion date disclosed.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progress2006-06-30Defined Contribution Recordkeeping BusinessUSD 12 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs of $12 million incurred in connection with the sale of defined contribution recordkeeping business.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progress2006-06-30Technology FunctionsUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs primarily related to technology functions.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progress2006-06-30Reengineering InitiativesUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Other severance primarily related to ongoing reengineering initiatives to improve efficiencies.
2006-03-31otherin_progressUnited StatesTechnologyUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
First quarter 2006 non-field compensation included $11 million of severance costs, primarily related to technology functions; no employee count or completion date disclosed.
2006-03-31restructuringin_progress2005-02-012006-12-31TechnologyUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs primarily related to technology functions.
2005-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2005-02-012005-08-01United StatesCorporate and Other — American Express International Deposit Company (AEIDC)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
50% ownership interest in AEIDC transferred to American Express effective 2005-08-01 for $164 million; results reported as discontinued operations. Headcount not disclosed.
2005-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2005-09-302007-09-30United StatesProtection — AMEX Assurance Companyother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to sell AMEX Assurance to American Express within two years of the Distribution for approximately $115 million; deconsolidated for GAAP on 2005-09-30. Headcount not disclosed.
2005-12-31otherin_progress2005-02-012006-12-31United StatesEnterprise — separation from American Express CompanyUSD 293 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2005 pretax separation costs of $293 million ($191 million after-tax), including advisor and employee retention program costs, brand establishment and technology separation; total program estimated at approximately $875 million. No employee counts disclosed.