American Water (AWK)

Company ID: 92 | CIK: 0001410636
10-Q view:
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Average monthly residential water bill (arpu)

No 10-Q data

Backlog (backlog)

Contract awards (bookings)

No 10-K data

Treatment plant capacity (capacity)

No 10-K data

Homeowner service contracts (contracts)

No 10-Q data

Customers (customers)

Population served (customers_served)

GHG emissions reduction (emissions_co2)

No 10-Q data

Unionized workforce (headcount)

New contract awards (order_book)

No 10-K data

10-year capital investment plan (other)

No 10-Q data

2024 capital investment plan (other)

No 10-Q data

5-year capital investment plan (other)

No 10-Q data

Acquisitions closed (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted O&M Efficiency Ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted O&M efficiency ratio (other)

Adjusted regulated O&M efficiency ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized incremental revenue authorized (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized incremental revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized incremental revenues authorized (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized incremental surcharge revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized infrastructure surcharge increases (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized rate increases (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized rate increases granted (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized rate revenue increases (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized revenue from rate authorizations (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized revenue increases (other)

No 10-K data

Auction rate debt outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Authorized incremental revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Available liquidity (other)

No 10-K data

Average commercial paper rate (other)

No 10-K data

Average residential water bill (other)

No 10-Q data

Billed water sales volume (other)

No 10-K data

Billed water volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Business transformation project spend (other)

No 10-K data

Business transformation spend (other)

No 10-K data

COVID-19 regulatory assets (other)

No 10-K data

COVID-19 regulatory liabilities (other)

No 10-K data

Capital expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital investment (other)

Capital investment in Regulated Businesses (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital investment plan (other)

No 10-K data

Capital investments (other)

No 10-K data

Capital structure (other)

No 10-K data

Collective bargaining agreements (other)

No 10-Q data

Commercial paper outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Communities served (other)

No 10-Q data

Community service hours (other)

No 10-Q data

Company-funded capital investment (other)

No 10-Q data

Contract Operations contracts (other)

No 10-Q data

Contract operations agreements (other)

No 10-Q data

Contract operations contracts (other)

No 10-Q data

Customer mix (other)

No 10-Q data

DART rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Dams owned (other)

No 10-Q data

Days Away Restricted or Transferred Rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Debt to capitalization ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Diverse supplier spend (other)

No 10-Q data

Drinking Water Compliance (other)

No 10-Q data

Drinking water compliance rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Drinking water compliance score (other)

No 10-Q data

Drinking water standards compliance (other)

No 10-Q data

Employee Turnover Rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Employee turnover (other)

No 10-Q data

Employee turnover rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Environmental capital expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Estimated capital expenditures (other)

No 10-K data

Estimated capital investment (other)

No 10-K data

Expected average annual rate increases (other)

No 10-Q data

General rate case authorizations (other)

General rate case revenue authorizations (other)

No 10-K data

Goodwill balance (other)

No 10-Q data

Groundwater wells (other)

No 10-Q data

Homeowner service contracts (other)

No 10-Q data

Infrastructure charge increases (other)

No 10-K data

Infrastructure surcharge authorizations (other)

Infrastructure surcharge revenue authorizations (other)

No 10-K data

Jurisdictions with COVID-19 orders (other)

No 10-K data

Keystone customers (other)

No 10-Q data

Lead service line replacement cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Lead service lines (other)

No 10-Q data

LineSaver partnerships (other)

No 10-Q data

MSG Average Remaining Contract Term (other)

No 10-Q data

Mains and collection pipes (other)

No 10-Q data

Military bases served (other)

No 10-Q data

Military bases under contract (other)

No 10-Q data

Military installations (other)

No 10-Q data

Military installations served (other)

Military service contracts (other)

No 10-Q data

Military services contracts (other)

No 10-Q data

New contract awards (other)

No 10-K data

Number Of Reportable Segments (other)

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

O&M Efficiency Ratio (other)

O&M contracts in force (other)

No 10-Q data

O&M efficiency ratio (other)

Operating efficiency ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Outstanding shares (other)

No 10-K data

PFAS compliance capital estimate (other)

No 10-K data

Pending acquisitions (other)

Pending acquisitions value (other)

No 10-K data

Pending infrastructure charge requests (other)

No 10-K data

Pending infrastructure surcharge filings (other)

No 10-K data

Pending rate case requests (other)

No 10-K data

Pending rate case revenue requests (other)

No 10-K data

Pending rate case settlements (other)

No 10-K data

Pending regulatory revenue requests (other)

No 10-K data

Pipe replacement cycle (other)

No 10-Q data

Planned capital expenditures (other)

No 10-K data

Planned capital investment (other)

Population served (other)

No 10-Q data

Pumping stations (other)

No 10-Q data

Quarterly dividend per share (other)

No 10-K data

Rate case revenue increase (other)

No 10-K data

Rate increases granted (other)

No 10-K data

Rate revenue authorized (other)

No 10-K data

Regulated O&M efficiency ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Regulated operating revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Regulated states (other)

No 10-Q data

Regulated states of operation (other)

No 10-Q data

Regulated systems acquired (other)

No 10-K data

Remediation costs incurred (other)

No 10-K data

Research and development spending (other)

No 10-Q data

Revolver availability (other)

No 10-K data

Revolver available capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Revolving credit facility availability (other)

No 10-K data

Safety Training Hours (other)

No 10-Q data

Safety training hours (other)

No 10-Q data

Service line protection contracts (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Shares repurchased (other)

No 10-K data

Short-term borrowing rate (other)

No 10-K data

States of operation (other)

No 10-Q data

States served (other)

No 10-Q data

States with wastewater operations (other)

No 10-K data

Storage facilities (other)

No 10-Q data

Total available liquidity (other)

No 10-K data

Total training hours (other)

No 10-Q data

Treatment plants (other)

No 10-Q data

Treatment plants and wells (other)

No 10-Q data

U.S. states served (other)

No 10-Q data

Unbilled revenue (other)

No 10-Q data

Unbilled revenues (other)

No 10-Q data

Union Representation (other)

No 10-Q data

Union representation (other)

No 10-Q data

Union represented workforce (other)

No 10-Q data

Union-represented workforce (other)

No 10-Q data

Unionized workforce (other)

No 10-Q data

Unions (other)

No 10-Q data

Wastewater Compliance (other)

No 10-Q data

Wastewater requirements compliance (other)

No 10-Q data

Water Quality Tests (other)

No 10-Q data

Water quality compliance (other)

No 10-Q data

Water quality tests (other)

No 10-Q data

Water sales volume (other)

No 10-Q data

Water supply by source (other)

No 10-Q data

Water supply mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Weighted-average short-term borrowing rate (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted-average short-term interest rate (other)

No 10-K data

Water quality tests (procedures)

No 10-Q data

Billed water volumes (production_volume)

Surface water plants (properties)

No 10-Q data

Remaining Performance Obligations (rpo)

Safety incidents (safety_incidents)

Mains and collection pipes (transmission_miles)

No 10-Q data

Occupational Safety and Health Administration Recordable Incident Rate (trir)

Adjusted O&M efficiency ratio (utilization_rate)

Water recycled (water_consumption)

No 10-Q data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No breakdown data found.

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2026-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted702026-06-012026-06-01Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, VirginiaRegulated BusinessesUSD 319 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Nexus Acquired Entities purchase price of $319 million; added about 47,000 customer connections and roughly 70 employees. Charge shown is the aggregate purchase price, not a severance charge.
2026-06-30acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 27 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Three regulated water and wastewater system acquisitions closed during the six months ended June 30, 2026 for $27 million, adding about 5,700 customers; employee counts not disclosed. Charge shown is aggregate purchase price.
2026-06-30acquisition_additionannounced2026-07-272026-07-27New JerseyRegulated Businessessubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Gordon's Corner Water Company merger effective July 27, 2026 (after quarter end); 350,652 treasury shares issued as consideration and GCW subsequently merged into the New Jersey subsidiary; headcount not disclosed.
2026-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted702026-06-012026-06-01Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, VirginiaRegulated Businessesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Nexus Acquired Entities added approximately 70 employees.
2025-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 83 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
18 regulated acquisitions closed in 2025 for $83 million aggregate purchase price, adding approximately 20,900 water and wastewater customers; employee headcount added not disclosed. Includes Audubon Water Company and Appalachian Utilities Inc.
2025-03-31othercompleted12025-03-222025-03-01Executiveother
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Separation of Melanie Kennedy, effective March 1, 2025. Agreement signed March 22, 2025. Includes severance pay and supplemental cash payment.
2024-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 417 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
13 regulated water/wastewater acquisitions closed in 2024 for $417 million aggregate purchase price, adding approximately 69,500 customers. Employee headcount added not disclosed; includes Butler Area Sewer Authority ($230M, ~15,000 connections) and Granite City ($86M, ~26,000 wastewater customers).
2024-12-31othercompletedUnited StatesRegulated BusinessesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
26 collective bargaining agreements set to expire during 2024 were renegotiated during the year; 25 further agreements expire during 2025. No headcount impact disclosed.
2024-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2024-03-112024-03-11Illinois, United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 86 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of a wastewater treatment plant from Granite City for $86M cash; added approximately 26,000 wastewater customers. No employee headcount transferred was disclosed.
2023-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRegulated Businessesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
23 regulated water/wastewater system acquisitions closed during 2023 for an aggregate $77 million purchase price, adding approximately 18,100 customers; employees added through these acquisitions not disclosed. Additional pending acquisitions (Granite City, Towamencin, Butler Area Sewer Authority) are disclosed with expected closings in 2024-2025 but no workforce impact is quantified.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2019-11-202022-01-01New York, United StatesRegulated BusinessesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of the New York subsidiary to Liberty completed January 1, 2022 for $608 million cash; regulated operations served approximately 127,000 customers. Employee headcount transferred not disclosed.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-02-04Michigan, United StatesRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Michigan subsidiary sold for $6 million cash on February 4, 2022. Employee headcount affected not disclosed.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2022-12-31United StatesRegulated Businessesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
26 regulated water and wastewater systems acquired during 2022 for an aggregate $335 million purchase price ($315 million funded in 2022), adding approximately 70,000 customers. Employees acquired not disclosed; filer notes it typically retains most or all employees of acquired systems.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2021-12-092021-12-09United StatesHomeowner Services Group (HOS)Item 1 - Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sold all equity interests of HOS subsidiaries. Specific headcount not disclosed, but turnover rate calculation notes a 7% decrease in labor hours due to sales of HOS and NY subsidiary.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-01-012022-01-01New YorkRegulated BusinessesItem 1 - Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Completed sale of New York subsidiary. Specific headcount not disclosed.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-02-042022-02-04MichiganRegulated BusinessesItem 1 - Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Completed sale of Michigan operations. Specific headcount not disclosed.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2022-12-312022-12-31United StatesRegulated BusinessesItem 7 - MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisitions added approximately 70,000 customers. Specific employee headcount added not disclosed.
2021-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2021-12-09United StatesMarket-Based Businesses — Homeowner Services Group (HOS)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of all HOS equity interests to a subsidiary of funds advised by Apax Partners closed December 9, 2021; pre-tax gain of $748 million. Number of employees transferring with the business not disclosed.
2021-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2019-11-202022-01-01United States — New YorkRegulated Businesses — New York American Water Company, Inc.subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Subsequent event; sale to Liberty Utilities for $608 million cash closed after fiscal year-end but before the February 16, 2022 filing date. Assets classified as held for sale at December 31, 2021. Employee headcount affected not disclosed; operations served ~127,000 customers.
2021-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-02-04United States — MichiganRegulated Businesses — Michigan American Water CompanyUSD 6 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Subsequent event completed after fiscal year-end and before filing; sale price approximately $6 million. Employee headcount affected not disclosed.
2021-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2021-12-092021-12-09United StatesMarket-Based BusinessesItem 1 - Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sold HOS subsidiaries on Dec 9, 2021. Employee count not explicitly disclosed in text.
2021-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-01-012022-01-01New YorkRegulated BusinessesItem 1 - Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sold NY subsidiary on Jan 1, 2022. Employee count not explicitly disclosed in text.
2021-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2021-12-312021-12-31United StatesRegulated BusinessesItem 7 - MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired systems adding ~20,000 customers. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2021-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted600Regulated BusinessesUSD 3 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Added approximately 600 water and wastewater customers through acquisitions in the Regulated Businesses during the three months ended March 31, 2021. Purchase price was $3 million.
2021-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted300Regulated BusinessesUSD 1 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed on acquisition of three regulated water and wastewater systems adding approximately 300 customers in April 2021 (subsequent event). Purchase price was $1 million.
2021-03-31acquisition_additionannounced2021-04-062022-01-01PennsylvaniaRegulated BusinessesUSD 235 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Agreement to acquire wastewater assets of York City Sewer Authority. Serves more than 45,000 customers. Employee count not disclosed.
2021-03-31acquisition_additionannounced2021-03-292021-12-31New JerseyRegulated BusinessesUSD 22 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Agreement to acquire water and wastewater assets of Egg Harbor City. Serves approximately 3,000 combined customers. Employee count not disclosed.
2021-03-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2019-11-202021-12-31New YorkRegulated BusinessesUSD 608 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Stock Purchase Agreement with Liberty Utilities Co. to sell New York subsidiary. Serves approximately 125,000 customers. Employee count not disclosed. Assets classified as held for sale.
2020-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 135 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
During 2020 the Company closed 23 acquisitions of regulated water and wastewater systems for an aggregate purchase price of $135 million, adding approximately 37,800 customers (plus approximately 14,500 customers from organic growth). Employee headcount added was not disclosed; charge shown is purchase price, not severance.
2020-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2019-11-202021-06-30New YorkRegulated BusinessesUSD 608 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pending sale of New York American Water Company, Inc. to an affiliate of Liberty Utilities for approximately $608 million in cash; regulated New York operations serve approximately 125,000 customers. Assets and related liabilities classified as held for sale at December 31, 2020. Expected completion date reflects the Stock Purchase Agreement's initial termination date, which either party may extend (ultimate outside date December 31, 2021). Employee headcount affected not disclosed.
2020-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 3 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Subsequent to fiscal year-end and before the filing date, the Company closed acquisitions of two regulated water and wastewater systems adding approximately 600 customers for an aggregate purchase price of $3 million; closing dates not specified. Employee headcount added not disclosed. As of February 24, 2021, additional pending acquisition agreements would add approximately 30,000 customers.
2020-06-30acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 40 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed on 12 regulated water and wastewater systems during 1H 2020 for $40M aggregate purchase price; added approximately 10,700 customers. Employee headcount added not disclosed.
2020-06-30divestiture_reductionannounced2019-11-202021-03-31United States — New YorkRegulated Businessesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Stock Purchase Agreement with Liberty Utilities for NY subsidiary (~125,000 customer connections) at ~$608M; assets classified held for sale at 2020-06-30, closing estimated early 2021. Employee headcount affected not disclosed.
2020-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2020-02-04CaliforniaRegulated Businessesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Fruitridge Vista Water Company closed Feb 4, 2020. Total acquisitions in Q1 added approx 5,100 customers; specific headcount not disclosed.
2020-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2020-04-01VariousRegulated Businessessubsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed on acquisition of three regulated water and wastewater systems in April 2020, adding approx 1,100 customers. Specific headcount not disclosed.
2019-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2019-12-122019-12-12Appalachian Basin, United StatesMarket-Based Businesses — Keystone Clearwater Solutions (water transfer services)USD 44 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of all interests in Water Solutions Holdings, LLC (parent of Keystone) for $31 million cash; pre-tax loss on sale of $44 million ($35 million after-tax) recorded in Q4 2019. Headcount not disclosed. Follows a Q3 2018 narrowing of scope that included a $57 million impairment charge
2019-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2019-11-20New York, United StatesRegulated Businesses — New York subsidiary (approximately 125,000 customer connections)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Stock Purchase Agreement with Liberty Utilities Co. to sell all capital stock of the New York subsidiary for approximately $608 million cash; assets classified as held for sale at 2019-12-31. Company estimates completion by early 2021; outside termination date 2021-06-30 (extendable six months). Headcount not disclosed
2019-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2019-12-312019-12-31United States (multiple states)Regulated BusinessesUSD 235 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
21 acquisitions of regulated water and wastewater systems closed during 2019 for an aggregate purchase price of $235 million, adding approximately 53,100 customers and $3 million of goodwill. Employees added through these acquisitions not disclosed; purchase price shown for reference only
2019-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2019-09-30United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 85 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sixteen regulated water and wastewater systems acquired during the nine months ended September 30, 2019 for $85 million, adding approximately 32,200 customers; no employee headcount added was disclosed.
2019-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2019-10-24United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 137 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Three regulated systems closed in October 2019 (Steelton Borough PA, Lake Station IN, Township of Exeter PA) for $137 million, serving about 14,700 customers; no employee headcount added was disclosed.
2019-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2019-06-272019-06-30United States (incl. Alton, Illinois)Regulated BusinessesUSD 80 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Nine regulated water and wastewater systems acquired for $80M aggregate purchase price, including Alton, IL regional wastewater system ($55M, closed 2019-06-27). No employee headcount added is disclosed; filing quantifies ~28,400 water and wastewater customers added through 2019-06-30.
2019-03-31acquisition_additioncompletedRegulated BusinessesUSD 22 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired three regulated water and wastewater systems for $22 million. MD&A states five systems were closed in 2019 adding 4,700 customers, but employee headcount is not disclosed.
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2018-06-042018-06-04United States (headquartered in Naperville, Illinois; operating in 18 states)Market-Based Businesses — Homeowner Services GroupUSD 365 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price of Pivotal Home Solutions; approximately 1.2 million customer contracts at acquisition. Employee headcount added not disclosed. Pivotal excluded from management's ICFR assessment for 2018.
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited States (16 regulated states)Regulated BusinessesUSD 33 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
15 water and wastewater systems closed during 2018 adding approximately 14,000 customers; employees added not disclosed. Company states it typically retains the majority of acquired-system employees.
2018-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2018-07-052019-06-30United StatesMarket-Based Businesses — Contract Services GroupUSD 27 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of 22 of 33 O&M contracts to subsidiaries of Veolia Environnement S.A.; 20 contracts closed in Q3 2018, remaining two expected to close in H1 2019 subject to customer consents. Company retains four contracts; balance of remaining contracts expected to be sold or expire within twelve months. Employees affected not disclosed; $14 million pre-tax gain recognized.
2018-12-31restructuringcompletedUnited States (Appalachian Basin)Market-Based Businesses — Keystone Clearwater SolutionsUSD 57 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Exit of Keystone's construction business line in Q3 2018, following exit of the water trucking line in H1 2018, narrowing the business to water transfer services. Non-cash pre-tax impairment of $57 million ($53 million goodwill, $4 million intangible). Employees affected not disclosed.
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2018-06-042018-06-04United StatesMarket-Based Businesses - Homeowner Services GroupItem 1. Business - Market-Based Businesses
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired Pivotal Home Solutions on June 4, 2018. Employee count not explicitly disclosed, but acquisition added approximately 1.2 million customer contracts.
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2018-12-312018-12-31United StatesRegulated BusinessesItem 7. MD&A - Growth - Regulated Businesses Growth
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Funded acquisitions adding approximately 14,000 water and wastewater customers. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2018-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2018-06-042018-06-04United StatesMarket-Based Businesses — Homeowner Services GroupUSD 365 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price $365 million; Pivotal operated in 18 states with approximately 1.2 million customer contracts at acquisition. Employee headcount added not disclosed.
2018-09-30divestiture_reductionin_progress2018-07-052018-12-31United StatesMarket-Based Businesses — Contract Services GroupUSD 27 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale agreement covers 22 of 33 O&M contracts for $27 million; 20 closed in Q3 2018, remaining two expected to close by end of 2018. Associated headcount not disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringin_progress2018-07-01United StatesMarket-Based Businesses — Keystone Clearwater Solutions (construction and water trucking lines)USD 57 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Exit of construction business line in Q3 2018 (following water trucking exit in H1 2018) narrowed Keystone to water transfer services; triggered $57 million pre-tax goodwill and intangible impairment. Employee count affected not disclosed; announcement date approximate (quarter of occurrence).
2018-09-30othercompleted3,2002018-07-312018-07-31United StatesCompany-wide (union-represented employees)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement covers 17 labor unions and 69 collective bargaining agreements; includes participation in cash-based annual performance plan and changes to retiree medical benefits.
2018-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2018-06-042018-06-04United StatesMarket-Based BusinessesUSD 365 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Pivotal Home Solutions. Headcount not explicitly disclosed.
2018-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-07-052018-09-30United StatesMarket-Based BusinessesUSD 27 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of majority of Contract Services Group O&M contracts to Veolia. Headcount not explicitly disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringcompleted2018-09-302018-09-30United StatesMarket-Based BusinessesUSD 57 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Strategic narrowing of Keystone business scope, exiting construction and water trucking lines. Headcount reduction not explicitly quantified.
2018-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2018-04-112018-06-04United States (18 states)Market-Based Businesses — Homeowner Services GroupUSD 363 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pivotal Home Solutions acquisition ($363M purchase price, closed 2018-06-04; ~1.2 million customer contracts). Employee headcount added not disclosed; purchase price allocation includes $96M intangible assets and $242M goodwill. Charge shown is purchase price, not a workforce charge.
2018-06-30divestiture_reductionannounced2018-07-052018-12-31United StatesMarket-Based Businesses — Contract Operations GroupUSD 27 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to sell 23 of 33 O&M contracts to Veolia Environnement subsidiaries for $27M; 17 contracts closed 2018-07-13, remainder expected by end of 2018 subject to customer consents. Associated headcount removed not disclosed; ~$44M of remaining performance obligations eliminated with the 17 closed contracts.
2018-06-30othercompleted3,2002018-07-312019-01-01United StatesUnion-represented employees (company-wide)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Ratification of a new five-year national health and welfare benefits agreement covering ~3,200 employees across 17 labor unions and 69 collective bargaining agreements; most provisions effective 2019-01-01 and will require remeasurement of the other post-retirement benefit obligation in Q3 2018. Count reflects covered employees, not separations.
2018-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2018-06-042018-06-04United StatesMarket-Based BusinessesUSD 363 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Pivotal Home Solutions completed June 4, 2018. Headcount not explicitly disclosed.
2018-06-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-07-132018-07-13United StatesMarket-Based BusinessesUSD 27 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of 17 of 23 Contract Operations Group contracts to Veolia Environnement S.A. subsidiaries closed July 13, 2018. Headcount not explicitly disclosed.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-04-032017-04-03New Jersey, United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 33 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Shorelands Water Company, Inc. in a stock transaction; serves approximately 11,000 customers in Monmouth County, NJ. Employee headcount added not disclosed.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-12-182017-12-18Pennsylvania, United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 159 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of the Municipal Authority of the City of McKeesport wastewater system, the first under Pennsylvania Act 12 of 2016; approximately 22,000 customer equivalents (11,000 connections plus bulk service to 11,000 customers). Employee headcount added not disclosed.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 18 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sixteen additional water and wastewater system acquisitions closed during 2017 representing approximately 7,000 customers; part of 18 total 2017 acquisitions with an aggregate purchase price of $210 million. Employee headcount added not disclosed.
2015-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedAppalachian Basin (United States)Market-Based Businesses — Keystone OperationsUSD 133 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed July 2015 (day not specified); 95% interest in Water Solutions Holdings, LLC for $133 million net of cash; added $91 million goodwill and $12 million customer relationship intangible. No employee headcount disclosed; Keystone served 46 customers at year-end.
2015-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited States (16 regulated states)Regulated BusinessesUSD 64 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Fourteen tuck-in water and wastewater system acquisitions closed during 2015 for $64 million, adding approximately 24,000 customers (customer count, not employee count). No acquired employee headcount disclosed.
2015-12-31restructuringcompleted12015-03-272015-05-14United StatesCorporate — Business Services (Senior Vice President role)USD 323,900 (units)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Organizational restructuring eliminated the SVP Business Services position; cash severance of $323,900 paid over 12 months plus 16 weeks COBRA and full vesting of stock options. Single identified executive; no broader program headcount disclosed.
2015-06-30restructuringcompletedRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Reduction in headcount and severance costs associated with the restructuring of certain organizational functions in 2014.
2015-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2015-05-212015-05-21New JerseyRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Borough of Haddonfield's water and wastewater system.
2015-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2015-05-222015-05-22MissouriRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of City of Arnold, Missouri's wastewater system.
2015-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2015-07-092015-07-09Pennsylvania, Ohio, West VirginiaMarket-Based OperationsUSD 130 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of 95% interest in Water Solutions Holdings, LLC (Keystone Clearwater Solutions).
2014-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2014-12-312014-12-31United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 9 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
13 regulated water/wastewater system acquisitions closed in 2014 for $8.9M aggregate purchase price; added about 2,100 water and 2,400 wastewater customers. Employee headcount added not disclosed.
2014-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2014-11-04United StatesRegulated BusinessesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Voters in Haddonfield NJ, Arnold MO and Russiaville IN approved referendums to sell systems to the company; about 19,000 customers pending regulatory approval and closing. Employee headcount not disclosed.
2014-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2015-02-01United States (Illinois)Regulated Businessessubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
February 2015 subsequent event: Illinois subsidiary agreed to purchase City of Mt. Vernon water and wastewater systems (~6,600 customer connections). Employee headcount not disclosed; announcement date approximate (month only).
2014-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2014-11-302014-11-30Ontario, CanadaMarket-Based Operations (Class B Biosolids / Terratec Environmental Ltd)USD 1 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Terratec completed November 2014; pretax loss on sale of $1.454M. Employees removed through the disposition not disclosed; completion date is month-only.
2014-12-31othercompleted2014-10-132014-12-16United StatesRegulated Businesses (union-represented employees)USD 10 (millions)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Settlement with the Utility Workers Union of America resolving a national benefits dispute; $10.0M lump-sum payment to eligible union employees, mostly funded by the VEBA Trust. Union approved 2014-10-30, NLRB approved 2014-10-31; no separations or headcount reduction disclosed.
2014-09-30othercompleted2014-10-13United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 10 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Settlement of national benefits dispute with unions; $10M lump-sum payment, majority funded by VEBA Trust. Approved by Unions 2014-10-30 and NLRB 2014-10-31.
2014-09-30othercompleted2014-10-132014-10-31United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 10 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Settlement agreement with Utility Workers Union of America AFL-CIO regarding national benefits agreement. Includes $10 million lump-sum payment to eligible employees. NLRB approved settlement on Oct 31, 2014.
2014-06-30acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 2,869 (thousands)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Five regulated water and/or wastewater system acquisitions closed during the six months ended June 30, 2014 for an aggregate purchase price of $2,869 thousand; no employee headcount added was disclosed (MD&A notes approximately 1,200 water and 370 wastewater customers added).
2014-06-30otherin_progress2014-07-31United StatesRegulated Businesses — labor relationsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
NLRB three-member panel affirmed the ALJ order requiring the Company to make whole affected employees for its 2011 implementation of its last, best and final offer; Company appealed to the Seventh Circuit on 2014-08-01. Estimated cash impact of $3.5-4.5 million per year if upheld; number of affected employees not disclosed.
2013-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2013-11-142013-11-14United States — VirginiaRegulated BusinessesUSD 5 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of all capital stock of Dale Service Corporation; cash purchase price $5,090 thousand net of cash acquired. Added approximately 20,100 wastewater customers (customer count, not employee count); employees added not disclosed.
2013-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2013-12-312013-12-31United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 24 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Consolidated record for 15 regulated water and wastewater system acquisitions closed during 2013 (aggregate net purchase price $23,658 thousand), adding approximately 30,000 customers. Employees added not disclosed; includes the Dale Service Corporation acquisition recorded separately above. Announcement date shown as fiscal year-end because individual closing dates other than Dale are not disclosed.
2013-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2013-03-31Pennsylvania, California, Indiana, MissouriRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired four water systems and one wastewater system; added approximately 1,600 customers. Employee count not disclosed.
2013-03-31acquisition_additionannounced2013-05-02VirginiaRegulated Businessessubsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Signed agreement to purchase wastewater utility; adds approximately 20,000 customers. Employee count not disclosed.
2012-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2012-01Arizona and New MexicoRegulated Businessesdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Arizona and New Mexico regulated subsidiaries closed January 2012; net proceeds $458.9 million and pretax loss on sale of $2.2 million. Employees affected not disclosed.
2012-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2012-05-01OhioRegulated Businessesdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Ohio subsidiary (eight regulated water systems and one wastewater system serving approximately 58,000 customers) closed May 1, 2012; net proceeds $102.2 million and pretax loss of $4.1 million. Employees affected not disclosed.
2012-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2012-05-01New YorkRegulated Businessesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Aqua New York, Inc. for $36.7 million plus assumed liabilities added approximately 50,000 customers; part of ten 2012 acquisitions totaling $44.6 million. Employees added not disclosed.
2012-09-30otherannounced2012-10-16United StatesRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Post-quarter NLRB Administrative Law Judge ruling found the Company implemented its last, best and final national benefits offer without adequate notice to state agencies; a make-whole/backpay order was issued. Company estimates cash impact of $2.5 to $3.5 million per year if upheld and intends to file exceptions for full NLRB review. No affected-employee count disclosed.
2012-09-30otherin_progress2012-10-16United StatesRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
NLRB Administrative Law Judge ruled company violated National Labor Relations Act by failing to provide notice to state agencies regarding implementation of last, best and final offer. Judge ordered make-whole payments for affected employees. Estimated cash impact $2.5-$3.5 million per year.
2012-03-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2012-01-31Arizona and New MexicoRegulated Businessesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Arizona and New Mexico subsidiaries closed 2012-01-31 for $461.1 million proceeds; no employee count disclosed.
2012-03-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2012-05-01OhioRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Ohio subsidiary divestiture completed 2012-05-01 (subsequent event) for approximately $101 million plus assumed liabilities; Ohio American Water serves approximately 58,000 customers; no employee count disclosed.
2012-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2012-05-01New YorkRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of seven regulated water systems in New York completed 2012-05-01 (subsequent event) for approximately $39 million cash plus assumed liabilities; adds approximately 50,000 customers; no employee count disclosed.
2012-03-31restructuringcompletedRegulated BusinessesUSD 2 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
MD&A reports '$2.4 million in severance-related costs associated with organizational realignment' included in employee-related costs for Q1 2012. Specific headcount affected is not disclosed.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2011-06-302011-06-30Texas, United StatesRegulated Businessesdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Texas regulated subsidiary assets completed June 2011 for proceeds of $6.2 million; assets served approximately 4,200 water and 1,100 wastewater customers. Employee count not disclosed.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2011-12-312011-12-31United StatesMarket-Based Operations — Contract Operations Groupdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Applied Water Management, Inc. completed December 31, 2011 for combined proceeds of approximately $3.0 million; pre-tax loss on sale of $3.1 million. Employee count not disclosed.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2011-01-312012-01-31Arizona and New Mexico, United StatesRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement with EPCOR Water (USA) Inc. announced January 2011; sale completed January 31, 2012 (after fiscal year-end) for approximately $461.0 million in proceeds. Employee count not disclosed.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2011-07-082012-06-30Ohio, United StatesRegulated BusinessesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to sell eight regulated water systems and one wastewater system in Ohio for approximately $89 million plus assumed liabilities; Ohio PUC approved in February 2012, closing expected in first half of 2012. Ohio American Water serves approximately 58,000 customers; employee count not disclosed.
2011-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2011-05-312011-05-31Missouri, United StatesRegulated Businessesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of 11 regulated water systems and 48 wastewater systems in Missouri completed May 2011 for $3.3 million, adding approximately 1,700 water customers and nearly 2,000 wastewater customers. Employee count not disclosed.
2011-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2011-07-082012-06-30New York, United StatesRegulated Businessesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to purchase seven regulated water systems in New York for approximately $71 million, adding approximately 50,000 customers; subject to regulatory approval, expected to close in first half of 2012. Employee count not disclosed.
2011-12-31otherin_progress2011-01-01United StatesRegulated Businesses — labor relationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company implemented its 'last, best and final' benefits offer on January 1, 2011 after declaring impasse in national benefits negotiations; NLRB issued a complaint in January 2012 and declaratory judgment actions were filed against local unions. Affected employee count not disclosed.
2011-12-31otherin_progress7002011-12-31United StatesRegulated Businesses — labor relationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Five local union contracts covering approximately 700 employees expired without a new agreement before December 31, 2011; one St. Louis contract went to impasse with the last, best and final offer implemented July 11, 2011. Over one-quarter of local union contracts expire during 2012.
2011-03-31acquisition_additionin_progress2010-12-312011-06-30Missouri, United StatesRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Missouri-American Water agreed in December 2010 to acquire 11 regulated water systems and 59 wastewater systems; no employee count disclosed.
2011-03-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2011-09-30Texas, United StatesRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pending sale of Texas subsidiary assets (approx. $6.1 million price); expected to close in Q2 or Q3 2011; no headcount impact disclosed.
2011-03-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2012-03-31Arizona and New Mexico, United StatesRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pending sale of all stock of Arizona and New Mexico subsidiaries for $470 million; expected late 2011 or early 2012; no headcount impact disclosed.
2010-12-31otherin_progress2010-09-30United StatesRegulated Businesses — labor relationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company declared impasse in September 2010 on the national benefits agreement (prior agreement expired 2010-07-31) and implemented its 'last, best and final' offer to avoid disrupting health care coverage. No headcount reduction disclosed; management does not expect a work stoppage.
2010-12-31otherin_progress1,0002010-12-31United StatesRegulated Businesses — local union contractsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Seven local contracts expired without a new agreement before 2010-12-31; no work stoppages occurred. Over one-third of 84 local union contracts were set to expire during 2011 (38 agreements covering 1,546 employees per Risk Factors). Employees figure reflects contract coverage, not separations.
2010-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2010-12-31United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 2 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Six acquisitions of regulated water and wastewater systems closed during 2010 for an aggregate purchase price of $1.642 million; headcount added not disclosed. Charge value shown is purchase price, not a severance or restructuring charge.
2010-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2010-12-312011-12-31United States — MissouriRegulated BusinessesUSD 3 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement announced December 2010 to purchase 11 regulated water systems and 59 wastewater systems in Missouri for approximately $3 million, subject to Missouri PSC approval, expected to close in 2011; expands presence by approximately 10,000 people served. Headcount added not disclosed. Charge value shown is purchase price.
2010-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2011-01-242012-12-31United States — Arizona and New MexicoRegulated BusinessesUSD 470 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Subsequent event announced 2011-01-24 (after fiscal year-end, before filing). Subsidiaries had total assets of $769.4 million, liabilities of $596.7 million and revenues of $97.5 million for 2010; no impairment expected. Headcount removed not disclosed. Charge value shown is sale price.
2010-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2010-12-312011-12-31United States — TexasRegulated BusinessesUSD 6 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement announced prior to 2010-12-31 to sell all assets and certain liabilities of the Texas subsidiary (approximately 16,000 people served in greater Houston); 2010 revenues of $3.3 million. Subject to Texas Commission on Environmental Quality approval. Headcount removed not disclosed. Charge value shown is sale price.
2010-09-30otherin_progress2010-07-31United StatesRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
National benefits agreement with most labor unions in Regulated Businesses expired 2010-07-31; negotiations at impasse. Company implementing a last, best and final offer to avoid disruption of health care coverage; contingency plans developed for a possible work stoppage or strike, which management does not expect to be material.
2010-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2009-12-01Non-Regulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Filing attributes increased employee-related costs to 'additional employees as a result of the Contract Operations' Acquisition' completed in December 2009. Specific headcount added is not disclosed.
2010-09-30otherin_progressRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Company is at an impasse in negotiations of its national benefits agreement with most labor unions representing employees in Regulated Businesses. Current agreement expired July 31, 2010.
2010-06-30otherin_progressUnited StatesRegulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
National benefits agreement with most labor unions representing Regulated Businesses employees expired 2010-07-31; negotiations continuing into August 2010. Management has contingency plans for a potential work stoppage but does not expect material impact. No employee count disclosed.
2010-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2009-12-01United StatesNon-Regulated Businesses — Contract Operations GroupMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition completed December 2009 added employees to the Contract Operations Group; MD&A references associated salary/wage and benefit cost increases but does not disclose a headcount figure.
2010-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2010-01-01PennsylvaniaRegulated BusinessesUSD 1 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of regulated water system for $0.5 million; added approx. 500 water customers. Employee count not disclosed.
2010-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2010-04-01Pennsylvania, Indiana, MissouriRegulated BusinessesUSD 1 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisitions of water/wastewater systems for aggregate $1.1 million; added approx. 600 water and 50 wastewater customers. Employee count not disclosed.
2010-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2010-03-31PennsylvaniaRegulated BusinessesUSD 1 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of regulated water system; headcount not disclosed, but salary increase attributed to addition of employees.
2010-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2009-12-31United StatesNon-Regulated BusinessesMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Entry into industrial O&M market via acquisition in Dec 2009; salary increase attributed to addition of employees.
2009-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRegulated Businesses and Non-Regulated BusinessesUSD 18 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Seven acquisitions closed during 2009 (six regulated water/wastewater systems and one non-regulated business, EMC, acquired December 2009) for an aggregate purchase price of $18,144 thousand. No employee counts disclosed for acquired workforces.
2008-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2008-09-302008-09-30California, United StatesRegulated Businessesdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
California American Water sold Felton water system (approx. 1,330 customers) to San Lorenzo Valley Water District for $13.4M; no employee count disclosed
2008-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2008-12-31United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 13 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Aggregate purchase price $12,512 thousand including transaction costs; no headcount added disclosed
2008-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2007-12-312009-12-31New Jersey, United StatesRegulated BusinessesUSD 75 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price amended from $100M to $75M plus $5M technical services; expected to add ~40,000 customers; referendum petition filed 2009-02-25 creates uncertainty; no employee count disclosed