Dollar General (DG)

Company ID: 68 | CIK: 0000029534
10-Q view:
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Average price per item (basket_size)

Customer income mix (customers)

No 10-Q data

Private fleet size (fleet_size)

Headcount (headcount)

No 10-Q data

Merchandise inventories (inventory_units)

53rd week net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Adjusted EBITDA (other)

No 10-Q data

Average cost per share repurchased (other)

No 10-K data

Average item price (other)

No 10-Q data

Average items per purchase (other)

No 10-Q data

Average items per transaction (other)

No 10-Q data

Average new store size (other)

No 10-Q data

Average price per item (other)

No 10-Q data

Average sales per sq ft (other)

No 10-Q data

Average sales per square foot (other)

Average selling space per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average store rent (other)

No 10-Q data

Average store selling space (other)

No 10-Q data

Average store size (other)

No 10-Q data

Avg store inventory change (other)

No 10-Q data

Brand-name merchandise mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital expenditures (other)

No 10-K data

Cash and cash equivalents (other)

No 10-K data

Closeout purchases (other)

No 10-Q data

Common shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common shares repurchased (other)

No 10-K data

Common stock outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common stock repurchased (other)

No 10-K data

Communities served (other)

No 10-Q data

Consumables share of net sales (other)

Core SKUs (other)

No 10-Q data

Core SKUs per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Core stock-keeping units per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Customer traffic growth (other)

No 10-Q data

DC inventory turns (other)

No 10-Q data

DG Fresh distribution facilities (other)

No 10-K data

Delivery service availability (other)

No 10-Q data

Delivery-enabled stores (other)

No 10-K data

Direct import purchases (other)

No 10-Q data

Direct import share (other)

No 10-Q data

Direct imports (other)

No 10-Q data

Direct imports as a percentage of retail receipts (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution center square footage (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution centers (other)

Dollar General Market stores (other)

No 10-Q data

Employee training hours (other)

No 10-Q data

Estimated shrink rate (other)

No 10-K data

Fourth quarter revenue share (other)

No 10-Q data

Gross margin (other)

No 10-K data

Hardline sales mix (other)

No 10-K data

Hardlines sales mix (other)

Import purchase growth (other)

No 10-K data

Imported goods (other)

No 10-Q data

Imported purchases (other)

No 10-Q data

Imported retail receipts (other)

No 10-Q data

Internal promotion rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventories per store (other)

No 10-K data

Inventories per store change (other)

Inventories per store growth (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory as percent of total assets (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory growth per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory per store (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory per store change (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory per store growth (other)

Inventory per store increase (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory share of assets (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory shrink provision (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory shrink rate (other)

Inventory shrinkage (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory shrinkage provision (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory shrinkage rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory turn (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory turnover (other)

Inventory turns (other)

Items per purchase (other)

No 10-Q data

Items per transaction (other)

No 10-Q data

LCM inventory reserve (other)

No 10-K data

Merchandise imported (other)

No 10-Q data

Merchandise inventory growth (other)

No 10-K data

Minimum wage increase impact (other)

No 10-K data

National brands sales mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales by category (other)

No 10-K data

Net sales growth by category (other)

No 10-K data

Net sales mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales mix by product class (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales per sq ft (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales per square foot (other)

Net store increase (other)

No 10-Q data

Net stores opened (other)

No 10-Q data

New faster-turning items (other)

No 10-K data

New items added (other)

No 10-K data

New items added to merchandise mix (other)

No 10-K data

New stores opened (other)

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

Packaway inventory remaining (other)

No 10-K data

Per-store inventory growth (other)

No 10-K data

Per-store inventory reduction (other)

No 10-K data

Perpetual inventory rollout (other)

No 10-Q data

Private brand penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Products priced at $1 or less (other)

No 10-Q data

Real estate projects (other)

Real estate projects completed (other)

No 10-K data

Remodeled or relocated stores (other)

No 10-Q data

Rent per sq ft (other)

No 10-Q data

Rent per square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Rental cost per sqft (other)

No 10-Q data

Rental cost per square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Revolving credit facility availability (other)

No 10-K data

SG&A expense ratio (other)

No 10-K data

SKU price mix (other)

No 10-Q data

SKUs per store (other)

No 10-Q data

SKUs priced $5 or less (other)

SKUs priced at $5 or less (other)

No 10-Q data

Sales mix (other)

No 10-K data

Sales per square foot (other)

Same-store count (other)

Same-store inventory change (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store inventory reduction (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store locations (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Same-store sales (other)

Same-store sales base (other)

No 10-Q data

Same-store sales dollars (other)

No 10-K data

Satellite technology rollout (other)

No 10-Q data

Senior secured leverage ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Shares remaining under repurchase program (other)

No 10-K data

Shares repurchased (other)

Shares repurchased under authorization (other)

No 10-K data

Shrink provision (other)

No 10-K data

Shrink provision rate (other)

No 10-K data

Shrink rate (other)

Shrinkage reserve (other)

No 10-K data

Shrinkage reserve rate (other)

No 10-K data

Small-community store mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Small-community store share (other)

No 10-Q data

Small-community stores (other)

No 10-Q data

Small-market store share (other)

No 10-Q data

Softline sales mix (other)

No 10-K data

Softlines sales mix (other)

States of operation (other)

No 10-Q data

States served (other)

States with stores (other)

Stock keeping units per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Store location mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Store manager turnover (other)

No 10-Q data

Store managers promoted from within (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores closed (other)

Stores implemented with EZstore project (other)

No 10-K data

Stores in new format (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores in same-store sales calculation (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores in small communities (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores in small towns (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores offering perishables (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores on automatic replenishment (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores opened (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores refurbished (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores relocated (other)

Stores remodeled (other)

Stores remodeled or relocated (other)

Stores remodeled/relocated (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores served per DC (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores with coolers (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores with delivery service (other)

No 10-K data

Supplier concentration (other)

No 10-Q data

Supplier purchase concentration (other)

No 10-Q data

Total debt (other)

No 10-K data

Training hours (other)

No 10-Q data

pOpshelf locations (other)

pOpshelf standalone locations (other)

No 10-K data

pOpshelf store-within-a-store offerings (other)

No 10-K data

pOpshelf stores (other)

No 10-K data

us-gaap:NumberOfReportableSegments (other)

Distribution centers (properties)

Customer retention (retention)

No 10-Q data

Same-store sales (same_store_sales)

Square footage (square_footage)

Stores (stores)

Customer traffic growth (transactions)

No 10-K data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No demographic data found.

Workforce Breakdowns

No breakdown data found.

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No point-in-time HCM metrics found.

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No 10-Q data

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2026-07-31plant_closurecompletedRetail storesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
33 stores closed during the quarter; no associated workforce reduction, geography, or charge disclosed. Company operated 21,148 stores at quarter end.
2026-05-01plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail store operationsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed 33 stores during Q1 2026; filing does not disclose associated headcount reduction or severance.
2026-01-30plant_closurecompletedRetail store operations — Dollar General and pOpshelf bannersUSD 214 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Store portfolio optimization review initiated in Q4 fiscal 2024 (quarter ended January 31, 2025); no specific announcement date disclosed. Program resulted in permanent closure of 141 stores (96 Dollar General, 45 pOpshelf) in Q1 fiscal 2025, plus conversion of six additional pOpshelf stores to Dollar General. Program charges of $214.2 million (store closure impairment $95.3 million; long-lived asset impairment $118.9 million) were recognized in Q4 fiscal 2024, together with $17.9 million of inventory markdowns; charges are asset impairments, not severance. Affected employee counts not disclosed. Total fiscal 2025 store closures, including routine closures outside this program, were 290; no separate workforce detail provided for those.
2026-01-30plant_closurecompleted2026-01-30United States and MexicoRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
290 stores closed during fiscal 2025 (589 opened, net increase of 299). No affected-employee count disclosed. Includes the 141 stores closed under the store portfolio optimization review captured in the separate record below.
2026-01-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail stores (96 Dollar General and 45 pOpshelf stores)USD 214 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Store portfolio optimization review initiated in Q4 fiscal 2024 identified 141 stores for permanent closure in the first quarter of fiscal 2025; no affected-employee count disclosed. Charge of $214.2 million (store closure impairment of $95.3 million plus long-lived asset impairment of $118.9 million) was recorded in fiscal 2024, along with $17.9 million of inventory markdowns. Subset of the 290 stores closed during fiscal 2025.
2026-01-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatespOpshelf conceptItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
In the first quarter of 2025 the company closed 45 pOpshelf stores and converted an additional six to Dollar General stores, incurring significant impairment charges, the majority related to pOpshelf stores. 180 standalone pOpshelf stores remained at year-end 2025. No affected-employee count disclosed; the 45 closures are a subset of the 141-store portfolio optimization record.
2026-01-30plant_closurecompleted2024-10-312025-04-30United StatesRetail StoresUSD 95 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closure of 141 stores (96 Dollar General, 45 pOpshelf) in Q1 FY2025. Impairment charge of $95.3M recorded in Q4 FY2024. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-10-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail store operationsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company closed 41 stores during the 13 weeks ended October 31, 2025; no associated workforce reduction, severance charge, or affected-employee count was disclosed.
2025-05-02plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed 168 stores in Q1 2025, 141 of them part of the store portfolio optimization disclosed in the 2024 Form 10-K; no associated workforce reduction count disclosed
2025-01-31plant_closureannouncedDollar General and pOpshelf banner retail storesUSD 214 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Store portfolio optimization review initiated in Q4 fiscal 2024; plan calls for permanent closure of 141 stores (96 Dollar General and 45 pOpshelf) plus conversion of six pOpshelf stores to Dollar General banners in the first quarter of fiscal 2025. The $214.2M charge comprises $95.3M store-closure impairment and $118.9M long-lived/right-of-use asset impairment (primarily pOpshelf) recorded in SG&A; an additional $17.9M of inventory markdowns for closing stores was recorded in cost of goods sold. Affected employee counts were not disclosed.
2025-01-31plant_closurecompletedRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
117 stores were closed during fiscal 2024 as part of routine portfolio activity (725 opened, net increase of 608 to 20,594 stores at year-end); no workforce counts or charges were attributed to these closures. Separate from the 141-store closure program announced for fiscal Q1 2025.
2025-01-31plant_closureannouncedUnited StatesRetail stores (Dollar General and pOpshelf banners)USD 214 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q4 2024 store portfolio optimization review: permanent closure of 141 stores (96 Dollar General, 45 pOpshelf) plus conversion of 6 pOpshelf stores to Dollar General, all scheduled for fiscal Q1 2025; no employee counts disclosed. Charge comprises $95.3M store closure impairment and $118.9M long-lived asset impairment, plus $17.9M inventory markdowns in COGS. Announcement date only given as 'fourth quarter of 2024'; completion stated as 'first quarter of 2025'.
2025-01-31plant_closureannounced2024-10-312025-04-01United StatesRetail StoresItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Decision to close 45 pOpshelf stores and convert 6 pOpshelf stores to Dollar General stores in Q1 2025. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-01-31plant_closureannounced2024-10-312025-04-01United StatesRetail StoresItem_7_MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Plan to close 96 Dollar General stores in Q1 2025 as part of store portfolio optimization. Employee count not disclosed.
2024-02-02plant_closurecompletedRetail store operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
105 stores were closed during fiscal 2023 against 987 openings (net increase of 882 to 19,986 stores at year-end). Routine portfolio churn; no workforce reduction count, severance charge, or completion timeline was disclosed in connection with the closures.
2022-01-28plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail store operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
97 stores closed during fiscal 2021 per the store growth roll-forward table (closures occurred throughout the year; no specific announcement date). No associated workforce reduction or charge quantified. Current fiscal year only; prior-year closure counts (101 in 2020, 67 in 2019) not extracted.
2021-01-29plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Store growth table shows 101 stores closed during fiscal 2020 (1,000 opened; net increase of 899 to 17,177 stores at year-end). Closures occurred across the year rather than as a single announced event; no employee counts or closure-related charges are disclosed.
2020-01-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
67 stores were closed during fiscal 2019 (year ended January 31, 2020), alongside 975 store openings and 100 relocations. Closures were routine and spread across the year; no associated headcount, severance, or charge amount was disclosed for the current fiscal year.
2020-01-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
67 stores closed during fiscal 2019; the filing does not disclose any associated workforce reduction, severance charge, or closure rationale.
2018-02-02plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesUSD 28 (millions)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
35 underperforming stores closed in the fourth quarter of fiscal 2017 following a strategic review; charge was mostly SG&A expense for remaining lease liabilities. No store-level headcount disclosed. MD&A references the same action with a $24.0 million cost figure; footnote value retained.
2018-02-02plant_closurecompleted2018-02-02United StatesRetail storesUSD 28 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed an incremental 35 stores in Q4 2017 following a strategic review; $28.3M of costs ($17.6M net of tax, $0.07 per diluted share), primarily SG&A for remaining lease liabilities. MD&A separately cites $24.0M for the same 35 stores. No employee counts disclosed. Store growth table shows 101 total stores closed during 2017.
2018-02-02othercompleted2018-02-02United StatesRetail storesUSD 7 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchased 15 retail store locations and assumed lease obligations on approximately 300 store locations in 2017, relocating existing stores into acquired locations; $7.3M of costs ($4.4M net of tax) recognized in Q2 2017 SG&A. No employee headcount impact disclosed.
2017-02-03plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail store operations (single reportable segment)USD 11 (millions)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
During fiscal 2016 the company acquired 42 former Walmart Express locations and closed 40 of its own stores as part of relocating stores to the purchased sites. A charge of $11.0 million ($6.7 million net of tax; ~$0.02 per diluted share), primarily lease termination costs, was recognized in SG&A in the third quarter of fiscal 2016. In the fourth quarter of fiscal 2016, leases for 12 of the closed locations were sold or assigned, producing a $4.5 million reduction of SG&A expense ($2.8 million net of tax; ~$0.01 per diluted share). Headcount affected is not disclosed. Closures occurred within fiscal 2016; no separate announcement date is stated.
2017-02-03acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRetail storesother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
During fiscal 2016 the Company acquired 42 former Walmart Express store locations; associated headcount added was not disclosed.
2017-02-03plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesUSD 11 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed 40 of the Company's own locations as part of relocating stores to the purchased Walmart Express locations; $11.0 million of primarily lease-termination costs ($6.7 million net of tax, $0.02 per diluted share) recorded in Q3 2016. In Q4 2016 the Company sold or assigned leases for 12 additional closed locations, reducing expenses by $4.5 million. Employees affected not disclosed.
2017-02-03restructuringcompleted2015-10-012016-02-03United StatesCorporate support functionsUSD 6 (millions)Note 12
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Restructuring of corporate support functions implemented in Q3 2015 (fiscal 2016). Expenses primarily related to severance benefits.
2017-02-03plant_closurecompleted2016-10-012016-12-31United StatesRetail StoresUSD 11 (millions)Note 12
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of 42 former Walmart Express locations and closure of 40 own locations. Expenses primarily related to lease termination costs.
2016-10-28plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company acquired 42 former Walmart Express stores in July-August 2016 and closed 40 existing Dollar General stores after relocating operations into them; $11.0M charge was lease termination and exit costs, not severance. Total incremental SG&A of $13.0M (25 bps of sales) in Q3 2016. No employee counts disclosed.
2016-10-28plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Year-to-date the company closed 46 stores (alongside 768 openings and 861 remodels/relocations), ending with 13,205 stores. Store closures likely overlap with the 40 relocations above; no associated headcount or charge disclosed.
2016-10-28plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail StoresUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed 40 existing store locations after relocating operations to acquired Walmart Express stores; incurred $11.0 million in lease termination and exit costs.
2016-07-29acquisition_additioncompleted2016-07-31United StatesRetail storesUSD 11 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of 41 former Walmart Express store locations in July 2016; no employee counts disclosed. Company plans to relocate existing stores into 40 of the locations (implying closures of existing stores) and expects about $11 million of pretax SG&A expense in Q3 2016, primarily lease termination costs; MD&A estimates a $0.02–$0.03 diluted EPS impact in Q3 2016.
2016-01-29restructuringcompleted2552015-10-132015-10-13United StatesCorporate support functionsUSD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Elimination of approximately 255 positions, substantially all at corporate headquarters, effective immediately as part of an efficiency initiative. Pretax severance expense recorded in SG&A; remaining severance liability of $3.5 million at fiscal year-end.
2016-01-29plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
36 stores closed during fiscal 2015 per the store growth table (730 opened, 881 remodeled or relocated); routine store churn with no workforce impact quantified in the filing.
2016-01-29restructuringcompleted2552015-10-13United StatesCorporate support functionsUSD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Positions eliminated effective immediately on October 13, 2015, substantially all at corporate headquarters, as part of a zero-based budgeting/efficiency initiative; $6.1M pretax severance expense recorded in SG&A, with $3.5M of the liability remaining at January 29, 2016 (severance payments continuing).
2016-01-29restructuringcompleted2552015-10-132015-10-13Corporate HeadquartersCorporate SupportUSD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Elimination of approx 255 positions in corporate support functions, substantially all at HQ, effective immediately.
2016-01-29restructuringin_progressUSD 6,100,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2015-10-30restructuringin_progress2552015-10-13United StatesCorporate support functions (corporate headquarters)USD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Positions eliminated effective immediately on 2015-10-13 as part of a broader zero-based budgeting initiative; $6.1M pretax severance charge recorded in Q3 SG&A, with $5.6M liability remaining at quarter end. Additional severance costs expected to be minimal.
2015-10-30restructuringin_progress2552015-10-13Corporate headquartersCorporate support functionsUSD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Elimination of approximately 255 positions, substantially all at corporate headquarters. Remaining liability as of Oct 30, 2015 is $5.6 million.
2015-10-30restructuringin_progressUSD 6,100,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2015-01-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
43 stores closed during fiscal 2014 (against 700 new stores opened and 915 remodeled or relocated) as part of routine store churn; no workforce reduction, severance accrual, or headcount impact disclosed.
2015-01-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Store closure count disclosed in the store growth table; no associated workforce reduction, severance charge, or store-closure-specific headcount impact is disclosed. Store count moved from 11,132 to 11,789 during fiscal 2014.
2014-01-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
24 stores were closed during fiscal 2013 alongside 650 openings (626 net increase to 11,132 stores). Closure occurred within the fiscal year (status completed); no announcement date, workforce-impact headcount, or associated charge was quantified in the filing. Store closures captured per retail-sector extraction guidance.
2013-02-01plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
56 stores were closed during fiscal 2012 (625 opened; net increase of 569 stores to 10,506 at fiscal year-end). Closures occurred throughout the fiscal year rather than as a single announced action. No employee headcount impact or closure-related charge was disclosed; accounting policy provides for severance and exit-cost accruals at the closure communication date.
2013-02-01plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer reports 56 store closures during fiscal 2012 but discloses no associated employee counts, severance, or closure charges; no restructuring footnote present in this filing.
2012-02-03plant_closurecompletedRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
60 stores closed during fiscal 2011 (alongside 625 openings); no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2012-02-03plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
60 stores closed during fiscal 2011 (store count 9,372 to 9,937 net of 625 openings); associated headcount impact not disclosed. Closed-store lease liability of approximately $4.9 million at year-end is reported in the leases footnote.
2011-01-28plant_closurecompletedRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
56 stores were closed during fiscal 2010 (600 stores opened, net increase of 544, ending store count 9,372 at January 28, 2011). No associated headcount reduction or severance charge disclosed.
2011-01-28plant_closurecompleted2011-01-28United States (35 states)Retail storesMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer closed 56 stores during fiscal 2010 (net store increase of 544 from 600 openings); no associated headcount impact or severance charge disclosed.
2010-01-29plant_closurecompletedUnited States (35 states)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
34 stores closed during fiscal 2009, alongside 500 new store openings and 450 remodels/relocations, ending the year at 8,828 stores. Disclosed as routine portfolio churn; no workforce impact, severance, or associated charges are quantified anywhere in the filing.
2010-01-29plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
34 stores closed during fiscal 2009 (net store increase of 466 from 8,362 to 8,828); no associated employee-impact count or charge disclosed. Excludes 275 stores closed in fiscal 2007 under prior strategic initiatives.
2009-05-01plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four stores closed during the 13-week quarter ended 2009-05-01 (104 opened, 100 remodeled/relocated; ending count 8,462). No associated headcount or charge disclosed.
2009-01-30plant_closurecompletedUnited States (35 states)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
39 stores closed during fiscal 2008. Filer states 2008 closings were in line with historic normal-course levels of roughly 1-2% of the store base per year; no employee impact quantified.
2009-01-30plant_closurecompleted2006-112008-02-01United StatesRetail storesUSD 73 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Multi-year program, cumulative through fiscal 2008: approximately 460 underperforming stores closed (about 400 under the November 2006 strategic initiative plus 60 in connection with the 2007 Merger); all closed by February 1, 2008, i.e., prior to the current fiscal year. Fiscal 2008 reflected only residual activity: $3.6 million of additional pre-tax expenses (largely lease-contract-termination re-evaluations) and $12.0 million of liability payments, leaving a $12.7 million balance. Cumulative charges include $38.1 million lease terminations and $1.0 million one-time employee termination benefits; headcount affected not disclosed.
2009-01-30plant_closurecompleted2009-01-30United StatesRetail storesUSD 4 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
39 stores closed during fiscal 2008, in line with historic 1%-2% annual closure levels. The $3.6M charge is the fiscal 2008 expense for the broader ~460-store exit program (lease terminations, impairments), not attributable solely to the 39 closures. No per-store employee counts disclosed.
2009-01-30othercompleted2008-01-31United StatesCorporate / real estateItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Approximately 400 underperforming stores identified and closed by mid-2007 under Project Alpha; closure program completed before fiscal 2008. No employee counts disclosed.
2009-01-30plant_closurecompleted2008-02-022009-01-30United StatesRetail StoresUSD 4 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed 39 stores in fiscal 2008. $3.6M in pre-tax costs incurred in 2008 related to store closings (lease termination, employee benefits, etc.).
2008-10-31restructuringin_progressUSD 0 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Expenses related to exit and disposal activities (store closings) incurred in the 2008 period. Includes lease contract termination costs and other associated store closing costs. Employee count not disclosed.
2008-08-01plant_closurecompleted2008-08-01United StatesRetail storesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer reports closing 11 stores during the first half of 2008; no associated employee count or charge disclosed.
2008-08-01restructuringin_progressUnited StatesUSD 7 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Approximately $7.1 million of severance and related costs included in 26-week 2008 SG&A; no employee count, program name, or timing disclosed.
2008-08-01plant_closurein_progressUnited StatesRetail StoresUSD 0 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Note 4 discloses $0.2 million in 2008 expenses for lease contract termination costs related to exit activities. While the note references a plan to close ~460 stores (completed by end of fiscal 2007), the 2008 expense indicates ongoing closure-related costs. MD&A states 11 stores were closed in the first half of 2008. Employee count affected is not disclosed.
2008-05-02restructuringin_progressUnited StatesCorporate / managementUSD 7 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Headcount affected, announcement date, and completion timing not disclosed; charge recognized in the 13 weeks ended May 2, 2008.
2008-05-02plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Associated workforce reduction not quantified; residual exit-activity liability of $16.6M at May 2, 2008 relates to the prior-year 460-store closure program completed in fiscal 2007.
2008-05-02restructuringin_progressUSD 0 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Incurred $0.1 million in exit and disposal activity expenses (lease contract termination costs) during the 13-week period ended May 2, 2008. Part of ongoing plan to close stores initiated in 2006/2007.
2008-05-02restructuringin_progressUSD 7 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Incurred $6.8 million of severance and related costs resulting from management changes.
2008-02-01plant_closurecompleted2006-112007-07United StatesRetail storesrestructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Project Alpha: approximately 403 underperforming stores identified for closure in November 2006; 128 closed in fiscal 2006 and the remainder by end of July 2007 (executed during fiscal 2007). Store-level staffing reduction counts not disclosed. Cumulative pre-tax exit costs through fiscal year-end for the combined roughly 460-store closure program (this plan plus the 60 Merger-related closures) were $69.4 million, including $1.0 million of one-time employee termination benefits; costs are not split between the two closure plans.
2008-02-01plant_closurecompleted2007-072008-02-01United StatesRetail storesrestructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
In connection with the July 6, 2007 KKR Merger, management approved and completed closure of 60 additional stores before fiscal year-end; the announcement date is approximated from the Merger date since no explicit approval date is disclosed. Employee counts not disclosed. Combined pre-tax exit costs for the roughly 460-store closure program (this plan plus the approximately 403 Project Alpha closures) totaled $69.4 million through fiscal year-end; costs are not split between the two plans.
2008-02-01plant_closurecompleted2006-11-302007-07-31United StatesRetail storesUSD 31 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Project Alpha real estate review closed approximately 400 underperforming stores (MD&A states 403 identified); all closed by end of July 2007. Charge shown is the amount incurred during fiscal 2007; cumulative program cost through Feb 1, 2008 was $69.4M across ~460 stores, including $22.8M incurred in fiscal 2006. No employee headcount disclosed.
2008-02-01plant_closurecompleted2007-07-062008-02-01United StatesRetail storesUSD 15 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Management approved and completed a plan in connection with the KKR Merger to close an additional 60 stores before February 1, 2008; charge represents Merger additions recorded as assumed liabilities. No employee headcount disclosed.
2008-02-01plant_closurecompleted2006-10-012007-07-01United StatesRetail StoresUSD 69 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closure of approx 400 underperforming stores (Project Alpha) plus 60 additional stores related to Merger. Total pre-tax costs $69.4M. Employee headcount affected not explicitly stated.
2008-02-01restructuringcompleted2006-10-012008-02-01United StatesDistribution CentersUSD 12 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Accrued loss relating to restructuring of certain distribution center leases. Employee impact not quantified.
2007-05-04plant_closurein_progress2006-112008-02-01United StatesRetail storesUSD 67 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board approved closing ~400 underperforming stores by end of fiscal 2007; 281 closed as of 2007-05-04 (153 in Q1 2007). Charge covers lease terminations, employee termination benefits, store closing costs, inventory liquidation fees, asset impairment, and below-cost inventory markdowns. Employee headcount not disclosed.
2007-05-04restructuringin_progress2006-112008-02-01United StatesInventory management (packaway elimination)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board approved discontinuing packaway inventory model by end of fiscal 2007. Approximately $100M at cost of packaway merchandise remains to be sold as of 2007-05-04. Charges include markdowns and LCM inventory impairment (reserve ~$33.3M at quarter end). No employee headcount impact disclosed.
2007-05-04restructuringin_progress2006-11-012008-02-01United StatesRetail StoresUSD 30 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Approximately $29.6 million in pre-tax SG&A charges incurred in Q1 2007 related to closing underperforming stores and eliminating packaway inventories. Total estimated charges for the program are $102.6 million. 153 stores closed in Q1 2007; 281 closed to date out of ~400 targeted.
2007-05-04plant_closurein_progress2006-11-012008-02-01United StatesRetail StoresUSD 15 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Lease contract termination costs incurred in Q1 2007 were $15.3 million. Total estimated lease termination costs are $36.6 million. 153 stores closed in Q1 2007.
2007-05-04restructuringin_progress2006-11-012008-02-01United StatesRetail StoresUSD 0 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
One-time employee termination benefits incurred in Q1 2007 were $0.3 million. Total estimated benefits are $0.9 million.
2007-02-02plant_closurein_progress2006-112008-02-01United States (stores across 35 states)Retail stores — underperforming locationsUSD 73 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Board-approved plan (announced November 2006) to close approximately 400 underperforming stores by the end of fiscal 2007 (fiscal year ending 2008-02-01), in addition to normal-course closures. Store count affected, not employee count — no employees-affected figure disclosed and none derived. 128 initiative-related stores were closed as of fiscal year-end 2007-02-02 (151 as of 2007-03-02); total fiscal 2006 closures were 237 including these 128. Estimated $73.0M total pretax exit/disposal charge comprises lease contract termination $38.1M, one-time employee termination benefits $1.4M, other store closing costs $9.0M, inventory liquidation fees $5.0M, asset impairment and accelerated depreciation $9.0M, and below-cost inventory markdowns $10.5M; $22.8M of the charge was incurred in fiscal 2006 and $50.2M remains for fiscal 2007. Related SG&A impairment charges of $9.4M (including $8.0M for planned closings) are within the disclosed totals. Amounts and timing flagged by the company as subject to material variance.
2007-02-02plant_closurein_progress2006-112008-02-01United StatesRetail storesUSD 0 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board-approved plan in November 2006 to close approximately 400 underperforming stores by end of fiscal 2007; 128 stores closed as of 2007-02-02 (151 as of 2007-03-02). One-time employee termination benefits of $0.3M incurred in fiscal 2006 against a total program estimate of $1.4M; employees affected not disclosed. Store count only — no headcount per store given.
2007-02-02restructuringin_progress2006-11-012007-02-02United StatesStore OperationsUSD 105 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Announced plan to close approx 400 stores by end of fiscal 2007. Estimated total pre-tax SG&A charges of $104.6 million. Includes lease terminations, employee termination benefits, and other closing costs. 128 stores closed in FY2006.
2006-11-03plant_closurein_progress2006-112008-02-01United StatesRetail store operationsUSD 74 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board approved closing approximately 400 stores by end of fiscal 2007 (in addition to ordinary-course closings). Total estimated pretax exit costs $74.1M ($21M non-cash, $53M future cash); $15.8M recognized in Q3 2006 ($7.8M below-cost inventory adjustments, $8.0M property/equipment impairment), remainder ~$58.3M expected primarily in fiscal 2007. No employee count disclosed. Expected completion date inferred as fiscal 2007 year end (52/53-week year ending Friday nearest January 31).
2006-11-03restructuringin_progress2006-112008-02-01United StatesMerchandising / inventory managementUSD 64 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board approved discontinuing the historical inventory packaway model by end of fiscal 2007; $63.5M below-cost inventory adjustment recorded in Q3 2006 cost of goods sold (separate from the $7.8M store-closing inventory adjustment). Strategy change may affect store labor needs but no workforce impact quantified; included as related strategic action.
2006-11-03plant_closureannounced2006-11-012007-02-02United StatesRetail StoresUSD 74 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Board approved closing approx. 400 stores by end of fiscal 2007. Total pretax costs estimated at $74 million. Employee count affected not disclosed.
2006-02-03plant_closurecompleted2005Gulf Coast, United StatesRetail store operationsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
41 of the 125 stores closed in fiscal 2005 were closed as a result of damage from Hurricanes Katrina and Rita; closures were completed during fiscal 2005. At peak, roughly 350 stores were temporarily closed due to Katrina and 330 due to Rita. Headcount affected by the permanent closures was not disclosed; the disclosure focuses on destroyed inventory (29 stores from Katrina, 3 from Rita) and fixed-asset losses offset by insurance proceeds, so no workforce charge is attributable.
2006-02-03plant_closurecompletedUnited States (Gulf Coast)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Fiscal 2005 store closures totaled 125, of which 41 were permanent closures caused by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita (peak temporary closures: ~350 stores for Katrina, ~330 for Rita). Associated workforce reduction not quantified; insurance proceeds offset recorded losses.
2005-04-29otherin_progress5,0002002-03-14United StatesSalaried store managersother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FLSA collective action alleging store managers were misclassified as exempt; approximately 5,000 individuals opted in by the 2004-05-31 deadline. Three related suits consolidated in the Northern District of Alabama. Company states no reserve quantification is disclosed and an adverse outcome could be material.
2005-01-28plant_closurecompletedUnited States (30-state store network)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Store growth table shows 102 stores closed during fiscal 2004 (722 opened; net increase of 620 stores, ending the year at 7,320). Closures occurred throughout the fiscal year; no workforce impact, severance, or charge amounts were quantified. Impairment charges of roughly $0.2 million were recorded in 2004 on certain underperforming stores per the accounting policies discussion.
2004-10-29otherin_progress5,0002002-03-14United StatesSalaried store managers (retail stores)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FLSA collective action alleging store managers were misclassified as exempt; approximately 5,000 individuals opted in by the 2004-05-31 deadline. Three copycat suits were consolidated with Brown by the MDL Panel. No severance or charge associated; company intends to defend vigorously.
2004-01-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Store growth table shows 86 stores closed during fiscal 2003 (6,113 at start of year, 6,700 at end). No headcount reduction was quantified in connection with these closures, so employees affected is not populated.
2004-01-30plant_closureannouncedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Disclosed as a fiscal 2004 operating plan in this Form 10-K: company expects to open approximately 675 new Dollar General stores and 20 new Dollar General Market stores and close 60 to 80 stores in 2004. Headcount impact not disclosed.
2004-01-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Store growth table shows 86 stores closed during fiscal 2003 (6,113 to 6,700 net increase of 587); associated workforce reduction not quantified.
2004-01-30plant_closureannounced2004-01-302005-01-28United StatesRetail storesMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Forward-looking plan disclosed in the filing for fiscal 2004; no headcount impact or charge quantified.
2003-01-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
49 stores closed during fiscal 2002 (622 opened, net increase 573, ending 6,113 stores). No workforce impact or closure charges quantified.
2003-01-31plant_closureannounced2003-032004-01-30United StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Filer expects to close 50 to 70 stores during fiscal 2003 (year ending January 30, 2004), alongside ~650 openings and ~145 remodels/relocations. No workforce impact quantified. Announcement date approximated as the 10-K filing month.
2003-01-31plant_closurecompleted2003-01-31United StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
49 stores closed during fiscal 2002; no employee-affected count or charge disclosed. Company expected to close 50 to 70 stores in 2003 (forward-looking, not a workforce action record).
2002-02-01plant_closurecompleted2002-02-01United States (27 states)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Store growth table shows 62 stores closed during fiscal 2001 (602 opened; net increase 540 stores). Employee impact of closures not disclosed; closures occurred throughout the year, so the completion date reflects fiscal year-end.
2002-02-01plant_closureannouncedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Forward-looking plan disclosed in the 10-K: the Company currently expects to close 60 to 80 stores during fiscal 2002 (ending January 31, 2003). No specific announcement date or employee count disclosed.
2002-02-01plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
62 stores closed during fiscal 2001 (net store increase of 540). Associated workforce reduction not quantified in the filing.
2002-02-01plant_closurecompletedUnited States — Homerville, GeorgiaDistributionUSD 1 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed distribution center; $1.1M impairment recorded in fiscal 2001 (a further $3.6M impairment was recorded in fiscal 2000). Closure timing spans both years; headcount impact not disclosed.
2002-02-01plant_closureannounced2003-01-31United StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Forward-looking plan for fiscal 2002 (60-80 store closures alongside ~600 new openings), not an executed action; headcount impact not quantified.
2001-02-02plant_closurecompletedUnited States (stores across 25 states, predominantly southeastern and midwestern)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
52 stores were closed during fiscal 2000 (758 opened, 706 net increase); no employee counts associated with the closures were disclosed.
2001-02-02plant_closurecompletedHomerville, Georgia, United StatesDistributionUSD 4 (millions)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Distribution center closed after the August 2000 opening of the Alachua, Florida DC. The $3.6 million charge was an impairment of the closed DC recorded in SG&A, not a severance charge.
2001-02-02plant_closurecompletedVilla Rica, Georgia, United StatesDistributionItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
DC that had served only new stores was closed during fiscal 2000; no workforce figures were disclosed.
2001-02-02plant_closureannounced2002-01-14United StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Company planned to close approximately 50 to 60 stores during fiscal 2001 (year ending February 1, 2002); disclosure date reflects this Form 10-K filing. Employee counts not disclosed.
2000-01-28plant_closurecompletedRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Summary table reports 39 stores closed during fiscal 1999 (646 opened, 607 net increase); no workforce impact, severance, or specific store locations disclosed.
2000-01-28plant_closureannounced2000Homerville, GeorgiaDistributionItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Company-owned 503,000 sq ft distribution center slated for closure in 2000, with most stores it serves to shift to the new Alachua, Florida DC; no affected-employee count disclosed. Disclosed in 10-K filed April 27, 2000.
1999-01-29plant_closurecompletedUnited States (24-state store footprint)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
33 stores closed during fiscal 1998 alongside 551 openings and 351 remodels/relocations; disclosed as routine store-count churn with no associated workforce impact, severance, or charges quantified. Count taken from the current fiscal year column only.
1998-01-30plant_closurecompletedRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Fiscal 1998 store activity: 468 stores opened, 33 stores closed (net 435, ending at 3,169 stores). No workforce impact, severance, or related charge is quantified in the filing.
1997-01-31plant_closurecompletedUnited States (24-state store network)Dollar General retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
42 stores closed during fiscal 1997 against 360 openings (net 318 new units, ending at 2,734 stores). Filing does not quantify the workforce impact of these closures.
1997-01-31plant_closurecompleted1997-01-31United States (24-state store footprint)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer discloses 42 store closures during fiscal 1997 but does not quantify any associated workforce reduction or closure charge
1996-08-02plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company closed 4 stores in Q2 fiscal 1997 (and opened 123); no associated employee count or severance disclosed
1996-01-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Store growth table reports 40 stores closed during fiscal 1996 (397 opened; 357 net new). No employee counts, severance amounts, or charges disclosed in connection with the closures.