Costco (COST)

Company ID: 38 | CIK: 0000909832
10-Q view:
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

Business Unit / Product Segments

No 10-Q data

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Average ticket growth (basket_size)

No 10-K data

Active SKUs per Warehouse (capacity)

No 10-Q data

Total cardholders (customers)

Inventory shrinkage (defect_rate)

No 10-Q data

Employees (headcount)

No 10-Q data

Active SKUs (other)

No 10-Q data

Active SKUs per warehouse (other)

No 10-Q data

Ancillary business count (other)

No 10-Q data

Ancillary business locations (other)

No 10-Q data

Ancillary businesses (other)

No 10-Q data

Ancillary businesses in operation (other)

No 10-Q data

Average SKUs per Warehouse (other)

No 10-Q data

Average SKUs per warehouse (other)

No 10-Q data

Average gasoline price change (other)

No 10-Q data

Average hourly rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Average hourly wage (other)

No 10-Q data

Average price per share repurchased (other)

No 10-Q data

Average sales per warehouse (other)

No 10-Q data

Average ticket growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Average warehouse size (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Car Washes (other)

No 10-Q data

Cash dividends declared per share (other)

No 10-Q data

Common shares outstanding (other)

Common stock shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Comparable sales ex gas and FX (other)

No 10-K data

Comparable sales ex-gasoline and FX (other)

No 10-K data

Comparable sales, adjusted (other)

No 10-K data

Cost of shares repurchased (other)

No 10-Q data

Depots (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital sales share (other)

No 10-Q data

Digitally originated sales mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Digitally originated sales penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Digitally originated share of net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Digitally-enabled sales penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution depots (other)

No 10-Q data

Dividends declared (other)

No 10-Q data

Dividends per share (other)

No 10-Q data

E-commerce Sales Penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

E-commerce net sales percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

E-commerce sales mix (other)

No 10-Q data

E-commerce sales penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

E-commerce sales share (other)

No 10-Q data

E-commerce share of net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Earnings per share (other)

No 10-Q data

Earnings per share (diluted) (other)

No 10-Q data

Effective tax rate (other)

Executive Membership Penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Executive member penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Executive member sales penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Executive member share (other)

No 10-Q data

Executive member share of net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Executive membership mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Executive membership penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Executive membership share (other)

No 10-Q data

Executive sales penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

FX impact on net sales (other)

No 10-K data

Food Courts (other)

No 10-Q data

Food courts (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas Stations (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas stations (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas stations operated (other)

No 10-Q data

Gasoline price change (other)

Gasoline price decline (other)

No 10-K data

Gasoline price impact on net sales (other)

No 10-K data

Gasoline price impact on sales (other)

No 10-K data

Gasoline price increase (other)

No 10-K data

Gasoline price inflation (other)

Gasoline sales contribution (other)

No 10-K data

Gasoline sales mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Gasoline sales penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Gasoline sales share (other)

No 10-Q data

Gasoline share of net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Gasoline volume change (other)

No 10-K data

Gasoline volume growth (other)

No 10-K data

Gross margin (other)

Gross margin percentage (other)

Hearing Aid Centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Hearing aid centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Hearing-Aid Centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory Loss Rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory loss rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory losses (other)

No 10-Q data

Long-term debt (other)

No 10-Q data

Membership fee growth (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fee increase (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fee penetration (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fee rate (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fee ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fee revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fee revenue growth (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fee yield (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fees (other)

No 10-Q data

Membership fees and other revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fees as % of net sales (other)

Membership fees as percent of net sales (other)

Membership fees as percentage of net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Membership fees percent of net sales (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fees ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Membership fees received (other)

No 10-Q data

Merchandise sales mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Net income (other)

No 10-Q data

Net income attributable to Costco (other)

No 10-Q data

Net new warehouses (other)

Net new warehouses opened (other)

No 10-K data

Net property and equipment (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Net sales mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Net warehouse change (other)

No 10-K data

Net warehouse openings (other)

No 10-Q data

New warehouse openings (other)

No 10-Q data

New warehouses opened (other)

No 10-K data

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

No 10-K data

One-Hour Photo Centers (other)

No 10-Q data

One-hour photo centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Online SKUs (other)

No 10-Q data

Online sales penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Online sales share (other)

No 10-Q data

Online sales share of net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Operating income (other)

No 10-Q data

Optical Centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Optical Dispensing Centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Optical dispensing centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Outstanding common shares (other)

No 10-K data

Part-time employee share (other)

No 10-Q data

Pharmacies (other)

No 10-Q data

Photo Centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Photo Processing Centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Print Shops (other)

No 10-Q data

Print Shops and Copy Centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Print shops and copy centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Quarterly dividend per share (other)

No 10-K data

Regional offices (other)

No 10-Q data

Remaining repurchase authorization (other)

No 10-Q data

SG&A as percent of net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

SG&A expenses percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

SG&A percentage of net sales (other)

No 10-K data

SKUs per warehouse (other)

No 10-Q data

Selling, general & administrative expenses (other)

No 10-Q data

Selling, general and administrative expense ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Shares outstanding (other)

Shares repurchased (other)

No 10-Q data

Shopping frequency growth (other)

Stockholders of record (other)

No 10-Q data

Stockholders' equity (other)

No 10-Q data

Supervisor training completions (other)

No 10-Q data

Total assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Union-represented employees (other)

No 10-Q data

Warehouse closings (other)

No 10-Q data

Warehouse openings (other)

Warehouse openings net (other)

Warehouse openings, net (other)

No 10-Q data

Warehouse operating hours (other)

No 10-Q data

Warehouses closed (other)

No 10-Q data

Warehouses opened (other)

Warehouses planned (other)

No 10-K data

Gasoline volume growth (production_volume)

No 10-K data

Car Washes (properties)

No 10-Q data

Member renewal rate (retention)

International comparable sales growth (local currency) (same_store_sales)

Common shares outstanding (shares)

No 10-Q data

Distribution/logistics space (square_footage)

No 10-Q data

Warehouses in operation (stores)

Paid members (subscribers)

No 10-Q data

Shopping frequency growth (transactions)

No 10-K data

Total cardholders (users)

Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No demographic data found.

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No point-in-time HCM metrics found.

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No flow HCM metrics found.

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2023-09-03restructuringcompletedCharter shipping activities (supply chain / logistics)USD 391 (millions)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Downsizing and then discontinuation of charter shipping activities during fiscal 2023; charge predominantly for impairment of certain leased assets, recorded in merchandise costs. Filing discloses no employee-impact figures for this action; included as the only discrete restructuring-type event in FY2023.
2022-05-08othercompleted2022-03-142022-05-08GlobalAll employeesUSD 77 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
New employee agreement effective March 14, 2022 included increased wages and benefits plus one additional vacation day for employees; a one-time $77 pretax charge was recorded in the third quarter of fiscal 2022. No affected-employee count disclosed.
2022-02-13otherannounced2022-03-09United States and CanadaWarehouse and distribution hourly employeesUSD 275 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Company disclosed mid-March 2022 wage and benefit increases on its historical three-year cycle, including minimum $0.50/hour increases to U.S. and Canada wage scales. Estimated incremental annualized pre-tax cost approximately $275 million; an additional $85 million one-time true-up to accrued benefits to be recorded in Q3 FY2022. No headcount reduction involved.
2020-11-22acquisition_additioncompleted2020-03-17United States and Puerto RicoCostco Wholesale Logistics (final-mile delivery, installation and white-glove services)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Innomel Solutions acquired for $998 million; results consolidated from acquisition date. No employee headcount for the acquired workforce is disclosed in this filing.
2020-08-30othercompletedCompany-wide (merchandise costs $108; SG&A $456)USD 564 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Fiscal 2020 pandemic workforce cost action: company paid $564 million in incremental wage (hazard premium) and sanitation costs; recorded $108 in merchandise costs and $456 in SG&A.
2020-08-30acquisition_additioncompleted2020-03-172020-03-17United States and Puerto RicoU.S. operations (final-mile delivery for e-commerce)USD 998 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Acquired Innovel Solutions on March 17, 2020 for $998 million cash, adding final-mile delivery, installation and white-glove capabilities; acquired employee headcount not disclosed.
2020-08-30acquisition_additioncompleted2020-03-17United States and Puerto RicoE-commerce / final-mile delivery and installationbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquired Innovel Solutions for $998 million; headcount added through the acquisition not disclosed. Filer notes results were not material to 2020 consolidated results.
2020-08-30acquisition_additioncompleted2020-03-17United States and Puerto RicoLogistics / DeliveryUSD 998 (millions)Note 2 - Acquisition of Innovel
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Acquired Innovel Solutions for $998 million. Headcount not explicitly disclosed.
2020-08-30othercompleted2020-02-27United StatesPharmacy Benefit ManagementNote 1 - Summary of Significant Accounting Policies
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Acquired 35% interest in Navitus Health Solutions. Headcount not explicitly disclosed.
2020-08-30acquisition_additioncompleted2020-03-172020-03-17United States and Puerto RicoLogistics / DeliveryUSD 998 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired Innovel Solutions for $998 million. Headcount not explicitly disclosed.
2020-08-30othercompleted2020-02-012020-02-01United StatesPharmacy BenefitsMD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired 35% interest in Navitus Health Solutions. Headcount not disclosed.
2019-02-17otherannounced2019-03-13United States and CanadaHourly employeesUSD 55 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Wage increase for starting and supervisor employees plus paid bonding leave for hourly employees, effective March 2019; disclosed estimated annualized pre-tax cost of approximately $50-$60 million (midpoint shown). No headcount reduction involved.
2018-05-13otherannounced2018-06-06United StatesU.S. hourly employeesUSD 115 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Wage increases for the majority of U.S. hourly employees funded by 2017 Tax Act savings, effective June 2018; disclosed estimated annualized pre-tax cost range of $110-$120 million (midpoint shown). No headcount reduction involved.
2014-08-31plant_closurecompleted2013-09MexicoOther InternationalItem_2_Properties
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Acapulco, Mexico warehouse closed in September 2013 due to storm damage; reflected as the single closing in fiscal 2014 warehouse roll-forward. No headcount impact quantified. Note: filing predates Reg S-K Item 101(c) human capital requirements; demographic, turnover, training, safety, and pay-ratio disclosures are absent from this era of the filer's 10-K.
2012-09-02acquisition_additioncompleted2012-06-132012-07-10MexicoOther International OperationsUSD 789 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Stock Purchase Agreement dated 2012-06-13; acquisition of the remaining 50% equity interest from joint venture partner Controladora Comercial Mexicana closed 2012-07-10 for $789 million. Associated charge is purchase consideration, not severance. No incremental headcount disclosed: Mexico's 32 warehouses were already fully consolidated beginning fiscal 2011, so the transaction changed ownership of existing headcount rather than adding employees.
2011-08-28restructuringin_progressUSD 9,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2010-08-29plant_closurecompletedWarehouse operationsUSD 6 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
One warehouse was closed during fiscal 2010 as part of a relocation to a larger facility (14 opened, 1 closed); no workforce reduction or affected-employee count was disclosed, so the headcount impact is treated as neutral. The associated charge is the aggregate fiscal 2010 warehouse closing expense of $6 million (accelerated depreciation and remaining lease obligations), which was part of an $8 million net provision that also included $2 million of long-lived asset impairment charges; the charge is an aggregate figure not explicitly tied to this single closure.
2009-08-30plant_closurecompleted2009-07United StatesCostco Home (home-furnishings format locations)USD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Two Costco Home locations closed in July 2009; the $8 million impairment of long-lived assets was primarily related to these closures. The FY2009 net provision for impaired assets and closing costs totaled $17 million, which also included $9 million of warehouse closing expenses largely tied to warehouse relocations. No affected-employee count was disclosed.
2009-08-30plant_closurecompleted2009-072009-07-31United StatesCostco HomeUSD 17 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closure of two Costco Home locations in July 2009; $17 net provision comprised $9 warehouse closing expenses and $8 impairment charges. Employees affected not disclosed. Warehouse count table shows 4 net closures in 2009 (2 relocations plus the two Costco Home closures).
2009-08-30plant_closurecompleted2009-07-31United StatesCostco HomeUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Closure of two Costco Home locations in July 2009. Impairment charges of $8 million recorded. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2009-08-30plant_closurecompleted2009-07-31United StatesRetailUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Impairment charges primarily related to the closing of two Costco Home locations in July 2009.
2009-08-30plant_closurecompleted2009-08-30United StatesRetailUSD 9 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Warehouse closing expenses for the fiscal year.
2009-05-10plant_closureannounced2009-07-31United StatesCostco HomeUSD 7 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Q3 charge of $7 million primarily related to closure of the two Costco Home locations in July 2009; no employee headcount affected was disclosed.
2009-05-10plant_closureannounced2009-07-31United StatesCostco HomeUSD 7 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q3 charge of $7 million primarily related to planned July 2009 closure of the company's two Costco Home locations; no employee counts disclosed. Closure also referenced in Expansion Plans.
2008-08-31plant_closurecompletedUnited States and international (not disaggregated)Warehouse operationsUSD 9,091 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Fiscal 2008 warehouse count roll-forward shows 10 warehouses closed, all attributable to relocations to larger/better-located facilities (34 opened, net 24). Closing expenses cover accelerated depreciation and remaining lease obligations, not severance; no employee-impact counts disclosed. Related impairment of long-lived assets was $9,972 thousand, offset by $18,815 thousand of net gains on real property sales.
2006-09-03plant_closurecompletedWarehouse operationsUSD 4 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
28 warehouses opened and 3 closed during fiscal 2006, all closures due to relocations to larger, better-located facilities; no employee impact quantified. Fiscal 2006 warehouse closing expenses of $3.8 million; year-end reserve for warehouse closing costs of $7.0 million (largely future lease obligations from relocated warehouses).
2005-08-28plant_closurecompletedWarehouse operationsUSD 11,619 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Fiscal 2005 warehouse closing expenses within a $16,393 net provision (also $3,893 asset impairment and $881 property-sale losses). Closings were largely relocations to larger facilities; no employee-impact counts disclosed. Year-end closing-cost reserve was $9,556, mostly future lease obligations.
2005-08-28plant_closurecompleted2005-08-28United States and international (not specified)Warehouse clubsUSD 16,393 (thousands)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Five warehouses closed or relocated during fiscal 2005 (net of 21 openings); no employee counts disclosed. FY2005 provision of $16,393 thousand comprised $3,893 impairment, $11,619 warehouse closing expenses and $881 net losses on real property sales
2005-08-28acquisition_additioncompleted2005-06-302005-06-30United StatesCWC Travel Inc. (travel services)USD 3,961 (thousands)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of the remaining 4% interest in CWC Travel Inc., bringing ownership to 100%; purchase price $3,961 thousand with $3,440 goodwill recorded. No headcount added disclosed
2004-02-15othercompleted2003-10-122004-03-07California, United StatesSupermarket industry (external labor event)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Southern California supermarket union employees (not Costco employees) went on strike beginning October 12, 2003; Costco estimated the strike positively impacted its warehouse sales by roughly 75 to 100 basis points. Union members voted to accept management's offer on March 7, 2004 and returned to work over the following two weeks.
2003-08-31plant_closurecompletedWarehouse operationsUSD 11,836 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Six warehouses closed during fiscal 2003, with closings including relocations to larger, better-located facilities. Filer states closing costs relate principally to relocations of warehouses that were not otherwise impaired; no affected-employee count is disclosed. Total fiscal 2003 provision was $19,500 thousand: $11,836 warehouse closing expenses, $4,697 impairment of long-lived assets tied to scheduled warehouse closings, and $2,967 net losses on real property sales. Year-end reserve for warehouse closing costs was $8,609 thousand, of which $7,833 related to lease obligations.
2003-08-31plant_closurecompleted2003-08-31United States and international (not specified)Warehouse operationsUSD 11,836 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Six warehouses closed during fiscal 2003 (net of relocations, per Item 2 openings/closings table); fiscal 2003 provision included $11,836 thousand of warehouse closing expenses plus $4,697 thousand long-lived asset impairment and $2,967 thousand net losses on real property sales. No employee counts disclosed for the closures.
2003-08-31restructuringcompleted2001-01-172002-03-31CanadaAdministrativeUSD 7,765 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Reorganization of Canadian administrative operations. $7,765 thousand pre-tax charge expensed in fiscal 2002. Completed in first quarter of fiscal 2002.
2003-08-31plant_closurecompletedGlobalWarehouse OperationsUSD 11,836 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Provision for impaired assets and closing costs included $11,836 thousand for warehouse closing expenses in fiscal 2003.
2003-08-31restructuringcompleted2001-01-172002-12-01CanadaAdministrative OperationsUSD 7,765 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Reorganization completed in the first quarter of fiscal 2002. Total pre-tax cost $26,765k; $7,765k expensed in FY2002. Employee count not disclosed.
2003-05-11restructuringcompleted2001-01-172002-12-31CanadaAdministrative OperationsUSD 8,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Reorganization completed by end of Q1 FY2002. Costs included employee severance, implementation, consolidation of support systems, and employee relocation.
2003-02-16restructuringcompleted2001-01-172002-12-01CanadaAdministrative OperationsUSD 8,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Costs consisted primarily of employee severance, implementation and consolidation of support systems and employee relocation. Completed by end of Q1 FY2002.
2002-11-24plant_closurein_progressUnited StatesWarehouse operationsUSD 5,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Provision for impaired assets and closing costs of $5,000 (thousands) in Q1 FY2003 relates to warehouse closing costs; no employee count, severance detail, or completion date is disclosed. A separate $2,305 (thousands) pre-tax non-cash SFAS 144 impairment charge for closed warehouses is disclosed in the accounting policies footnote; no workforce impact quantified.
2002-11-24restructuringcompleted2001-01-172002-02-03CanadaAdministrative OperationsUSD 8,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administrative operations completed in Q1 FY2002. Costs included employee severance, system consolidation, and relocation.
2002-09-01restructuringcompleted2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 7,765 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Multi-year program: total cost $26,765 pre-tax, with $19,000 pre-tax expensed in fiscal 2001 and the captured $7,765 pre-tax ($4,775 after-tax, ~$0.01 per diluted share) expensed in fiscal 2002. Costs consisted primarily of employee severance, support-system consolidation and employee relocation. Filing states reorganization was completed in the first quarter of fiscal 2002; no employee headcount affected was disclosed.
2002-09-01restructuringcompleted2001-01-172001-11-04CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 7,765 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Program total was $26,765 pre-tax, of which $19,000 was expensed in fiscal 2001; only the $7,765 pre-tax ($4,775 after-tax, $0.01 per diluted share) charged in fiscal 2002 is captured here. Costs were primarily severance, systems consolidation and employee relocation; reorganization completed in the first quarter of fiscal 2002. Employees affected not disclosed.
2002-09-01plant_closurecompletedUnited States and internationalWarehouse operationsUSD 13,683 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Six warehouses closed during fiscal 2002 (35 opened, 6 closed), with $13,683 of warehouse closing expense offset by $398 of net real-property sale gains, within a total $21,050 provision. Reserve for warehouse closing costs was $11,845 at year-end, of which $10,395 related to future lease obligations. Employees affected not disclosed.
2002-09-01restructuringcompleted2001-01-172002-09-01CanadaAdministrative OperationsUSD 7,765 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Reorganization of Canadian administrative operations. Total costs were $26,765 pre-tax. $7,765 pre-tax was expensed in fiscal 2002. Reorganization completed in the first quarter of fiscal 2002. Costs consisted primarily of employee severance, implementation and consolidation of support systems and employee relocation.
2002-09-01restructuringcompleted2001-01-172002-03-31CanadaAdministrative OperationsUSD 7,765 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Reorganization of Canadian administrative operations. Total pre-tax cost $26,765k; $7,765k expensed in FY2002. Reorganization completed in first quarter of fiscal 2002. Employee count not disclosed.
2002-05-12restructuringcompleted2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 27,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Consolidation of Canadian administration announced January 2001; total pre-tax cost $27,550 thousand, of which $8,550 expensed in Q1 fiscal 2002 (employee severance, systems consolidation, relocation). Reorganization completed; no further costs anticipated.
2002-05-12plant_closurein_progressWarehouse operationsUSD 8,643 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Warehouse closing costs of $8,643 thousand in first 36 weeks of fiscal 2002 (5 warehouses closed since end of Q3 fiscal 2001), offset by gains on sales of real property; closing cost reserve of $13,433 at May 12, 2002. No employee counts disclosed.
2002-05-12restructuringcompleted2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 27,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administration; costs consisted primarily of employee severance, support-system consolidation and employee relocation. Originally estimated at $26,000 thousand pre-tax; actual total $27,550 thousand, of which $8,550 thousand was expensed in Q1 FY2002. Filer states the reorganization is complete with no further costs anticipated. No employee count disclosed.
2002-05-12plant_closurecompletedUnited States and CanadaWarehouse clubsUSD 8,643 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Five warehouses closed in the trailing twelve weeks-to-year period since the end of Q3 FY2001 (34 opened, 5 closed). Warehouse closing costs of $5,126 thousand in Q3 FY2002 and $8,643 thousand YTD, offset by gains on real property sales; closing costs relate to relocations to larger, better-located facilities. No headcount associated with closures is disclosed.
2002-05-12restructuringcompleted2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative OperationsUSD 8,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Company expensed $8,550 related to reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administrative operations, consisting primarily of employee severance, implementation and consolidation of support systems and employee relocation. The reorganization has been completed.
2002-05-12plant_closurecompletedGlobalWarehouse OperationsUSD 5,126 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Provision includes warehouse closing costs of $5,126 for the third quarter of fiscal 2002. Five warehouses were closed since the end of the third quarter of fiscal 2001.
2002-02-17restructuringcompleted2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 8,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administrative operations; costs primarily severance, support-system consolidation and employee relocation. $8,550 of the $27,550 actual total was expensed in Q1 FY2002 (prior quarter), reported within provision for impaired assets and closing costs; reorganization reported as completed with no significant additional costs anticipated. No employee count disclosed.
2002-02-17restructuringcompleted2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative OperationsUSD 8,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administrative operations completed. Costs consisted primarily of employee severance, implementation and consolidation of support systems and employee relocation. Total actual cost was $27,550 thousand; $8,550 thousand expensed in Q1 FY2002.
2001-11-25restructuringcompleted2001-01-172001-11-25CanadaCanadian administrative operationsUSD 8,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administrative operations announced January 17, 2001; total pre-tax costs of $27,550 thousand, of which $8,550 thousand was expensed in Q1 FY2002 as provision for impaired assets and closing costs. Costs consisted primarily of employee severance, systems consolidation, and employee relocation. Substantially complete at end of Q1 FY2002; no significant additional costs anticipated. Employee count not disclosed.
2001-11-25restructuringcompleted2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 8,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administrative operations announced January 17, 2001; $8,550 thousand expensed in Q1 FY2002 within provision for impaired assets and closing costs, out of an actual total of $27,550 thousand (original estimate $26,000 pre-tax). Costs primarily severance, support-system consolidation and employee relocation. Substantially complete at quarter end with no significant additional costs anticipated; no employee count disclosed.
2001-11-25restructuringin_progress2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 8,550 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administrative operations; costs consisted primarily of employee severance, implementation and consolidation of support systems and employee relocation. Substantially complete at end of Q1 FY2002.
2001-09-02restructuringin_progress2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 26 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administration; $26 million pre-tax total ($15.6 million after-tax, $0.03 per diluted share), of which $19 million was expensed in fiscal 2001 with the remainder expected in the first quarter of fiscal 2002; no employee count disclosed
2001-09-02plant_closurein_progressWarehouse operationsUSD 2 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Seven warehouses closed during fiscal 2001 (includes relocations as well as outright closings); $2.412 million warehouse closing expense within the $18.0 million provision for impaired assets and closing costs, with a $15.4 million closing-cost reserve at year-end; no headcount impact disclosed
2001-09-02restructuringin_progress2001-01-172002-03-31CanadaAdministrative OperationsUSD 19,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administrative operations. $19,000 (thousands) expensed in fiscal 2001; total anticipated costs $26,000 (thousands) pre-tax. Employee count not disclosed.
2001-05-13restructuringin_progress2001-01-17CanadaCanadian administrative operationsUSD 26,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Reorganization and consolidation of Canadian administration; total pre-tax cost estimated at $26,000 thousand ($15,600 after-tax, ~$0.03 per diluted share), expensed as incurred over one to two fiscal quarters; $3,000 thousand expensed this quarter within provision for impaired assets and closing costs. No employee count disclosed.
2001-05-13restructuringin_progress2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 26 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pre-tax estimate of $26,000 thousand ($15,600 thousand after-tax, $.03 per diluted share), expensed as incurred over the next one to two fiscal quarters; $3,000 thousand expensed in the current quarter. No employee count disclosed.
2001-05-13restructuringin_progress2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 3,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Company announced plans to reorganize and consolidate administration of operations in Canada. Anticipated total costs estimated at $26,000 pre-tax. $3,000 expensed in current quarter as part of provision for impaired assets and closing costs.
2001-02-18restructuringin_progress2001-01-17CanadaCanadian administrative operationsUSD 26,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Consolidation of Canadian administration; costs expensed as incurred over next three to four fiscal quarters. After-tax estimate $15,600 thousand, approximately $0.03 per diluted share. No employee count disclosed.
2001-02-18restructuringannounced2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative operationsUSD 26 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pre-tax cost estimated at $26.0M ($15.6M after-tax, $0.03/diluted share), expensed as incurred over the next three to four fiscal quarters; no employee count disclosed.
2001-02-18restructuringannounced2001-01-17CanadaAdministrative OperationsUSD 26 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Plans to reorganize and consolidate administration of operations in Canada. Anticipated costs estimated to total $26,000 pre-tax, to be expensed as incurred over the next three to four fiscal quarters.
2000-09-03plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesWarehouse OperationsUSD 3,956 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Provision for impaired assets and warehouse closing costs included $3,956 thousand in gains on sale of real property offsetting impairment charges. Fiscal 2000 saw 4 warehouse closings.
1999-11-21plant_closurein_progressUnited States and CanadaWarehouse operationsUSD 1,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q1 FY2000 provision of $1,000 thousand for warehouse closing costs (vs. $2,000 thousand in prior-year Q1), covering warehouses being relocated to new facilities; closing-cost reserve was $22,700 thousand at 1999-11-21, primarily future lease obligations. No employee counts, dates, or workforce impact disclosed.
1999-08-29plant_closurein_progress1999Warehouses and other facilitiesUSD 30,865 (thousands)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Fourth-quarter fiscal 1999 decision to relocate several non-impaired warehouses to larger, better-located facilities drove the closing-cost provision. Charge comprises $24,773 (thousands) of lease obligations and $6,092 (thousands) of other closedown expenses; only $828 and $3,339 respectively had been expended by fiscal year-end, indicating the program was ongoing. No employee counts affected are disclosed. Filing states amounts in thousands of USD.
1999-08-29plant_closurecompletedUnited States and CanadaWarehouse operationsUSD 30,865 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Seven warehouses closed during fiscal 1999 (includes relocations as well as outright closings); charge comprises $24,773 lease obligations and $6,092 other closedown expenses, within a total $56,500 provision that also includes $31,080 SFAS 121 impairment offset by $5,445 property sale gains. Driven partly by a Q4 decision to relocate several warehouses to larger, better-located facilities. Employee counts not disclosed.
1999-08-29plant_closurecompleted1999-08-29United StatesWarehouse OperationsUSD 30,865 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Provision for warehouse closing costs of $30,865 thousand (includes $24,773 for lease obligations and $6,092 for other expenses). 7 warehouses closed during fiscal 1999. Decision made in Q4 1999 to relocate several warehouses to larger/better-located facilities.
1999-08-29plant_closurecompleted1999-08-29United StatesWarehouse OperationsUSD 30,865 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Provision for warehouse closing costs of $30,865 thousand, including $24,773 thousand for lease obligations and $6,092 thousand for other expenses. Related to decision to relocate several warehouses to larger and better-located facilities. 7 warehouses closed in fiscal 1999.
1999-02-14plant_closurein_progress1999-08-29United States and CanadaWarehouse operationsUSD 5 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pre-tax provision of $5,000 thousand recorded in the first half of fiscal 1999 (including $3,000 thousand in the second quarter) for warehouses being relocated to new facilities; two relocations in the first half of fiscal 1999. No employee counts disclosed.
1998-08-30acquisition_additioncompleted1998-05-041998-06-01South KoreaMembership warehouse operationsUSD 100 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Korean joint venture with Shinsegae acquired two Price Club warehouse operations effective June 1, 1998; initial capitalization ~$100M. Headcount added not disclosed.
1998-05-10acquisition_additioncompleted1998-05-041998-06-01Republic of KoreaMembership warehouse club operations (Price Club Korea)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
JV with Shinsegae Department Store acquired three Price Club Korea warehouses; Costco owns 93.75%. Initial capitalization approx. $100,000 thousand; no employee count disclosed
1998-05-10plant_closurecompletedSouthern California, United StatesDistribution (depot) facilitiesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Several Southern California depots consolidated into a new Mira Loma facility in Q2 FY1998; Q3 closing-cost provision of $1,500 thousand included depot consolidation costs, not separately quantified; no employee counts disclosed
1997-11-23plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesWarehouse clubsUSD 2,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company recorded a $2,000 thousand pre-tax closing-cost provision for warehouses closed during Q1 FY1998, including relocations; no employee counts or workforce impact disclosed.
1997-08-31plant_closurecompleted1997-08-31Not itemized in filingWarehouse club operationsUSD 10,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Eight warehouses (a count that includes relocations as well as outright closings) were closed during fiscal 1997. The pre-tax provision of $10,000 thousand covers estimated closing costs for certain warehouses that were or will be replaced by new warehouses. No employee counts were disclosed, so the workforce impact is not quantified; relocations may have transferred rather than reduced staff.
1997-08-31plant_closurecompleted1997-08-31United StatesWarehouse operationsUSD 10 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Eight warehouses closed during fiscal 1997; pre-tax provision of $10M for warehouse closing costs. Employee counts not disclosed. Some closures were relocations to new warehouses.
1997-05-11plant_closurein_progressUnited States and CanadaWarehouse clubsUSD 8,500 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pretax provision for warehouse closing costs for the 36 weeks, including relocations; $3,500 thousand of the charge was recorded in Q3. No employee counts disclosed.
1997-05-11plant_closurein_progressUnited States and CanadaWarehouse clubsUSD 3,500 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q3 pretax provision for warehouse closing costs, covering warehouses closed or relocated during the quarter; approximately $0.01 per diluted share after tax. No employee counts disclosed.
1997-05-11plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesWarehouse OperationsUSD 4 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pre-tax provision for warehouse closing costs of $3,500 recorded in Q3 1997. Includes estimated closing costs for warehouses closed in the quarter, including relocations. Employee count not disclosed.
1997-05-11plant_closurecompletedCanadaWarehouse OperationsMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed outright one warehouse in Canada during the first 36 weeks of fiscal 1997. No specific charge or employee count disclosed for this closure.
1997-02-16plant_closurecompletedUnited States and CanadaWarehouse operationsUSD 5,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Five warehouses closed in first half of fiscal 1997; pretax closing cost provision of $5,000 thousand. No employee count disclosed.
1997-02-16plant_closurecompletedUnited States and CanadaUSD 5,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pretax provision of $5,000 for warehouse closing costs recorded in the first half of fiscal 1997. Includes estimated closing costs for five warehouses closed in the first half of fiscal 1997 and additional costs related to warehouses closed in the prior year. Employee count not disclosed.
1996-11-24plant_closurecompletedUnited States and CanadaWarehouse operationsUSD 5,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Pretax provision of $5,000 thousand for warehouse closing costs, primarily estimated closing costs for four warehouses closed in Q1 fiscal 1997 plus additional costs for clubs closed in the prior year. No employee headcount affected was disclosed.
1996-11-24plant_closurecompletedUnited States and CanadaWarehouse club operationsUSD 5 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pretax provision of $5,000 thousand for warehouse closing costs covering four warehouses closed in Q1 FY1997 plus costs from clubs closed in the prior year; no employee counts disclosed. Includes the St. Laurent, Canada warehouse closed outright during the quarter.
1996-11-24plant_closurecompletedCanadaUSD 5,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pretax provision for warehouse closing costs of $5,000 includes estimated closing costs for four warehouses closed in Q1 FY97 and additional costs related to warehouse clubs closed in the prior year. One warehouse in St. Laurent, Canada was closed outright.
1996-09-01restructuringcompleted1994-01-011996-09-01United StatesMerchandising, Distribution, Construction, MarketingUSD 120,000 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Provision for merger and restructuring costs of $120,000 (in thousands) recorded in fiscal 1994. Includes direct transaction expenses, closing of eight operating warehouses, consolidation of central administrative functions, and conversion of management information systems. No specific employee count disclosed for this action in the current filing.
1996-09-01plant_closurecompleted1996-09-011996-09-01United StatesWarehouse OperationsUSD 10,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Provision for estimated warehouse closing costs of $10,000 (in thousands) recorded in fiscal 1996. Includes estimated closing costs for certain warehouses replaced by new warehouses, closing of a regional office, and costs related to clubs closed in prior years. Eight warehouses were closed during fiscal 1996.
1996-05-12plant_closurecompletedUnited States (California, Connecticut, New Hampshire)Warehouse club operationsUSD 6,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Provision covers five warehouses closed during the quarter plus closing costs for relocated warehouses; no employee count or severance breakdown disclosed. Locations named for the six warehouses closed through 36 weeks: Concord, Colton, Hayward, Rohnert Park (CA), North Haven (CT), Portsmouth (NH).
1996-05-12plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesWarehousesUSD 6,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pre-tax provision for warehouse closing costs of $6,000 thousand includes estimated closing costs for five warehouses closed outright in the third quarter of fiscal 1996 as well as closing costs associated with warehouses which were relocated to new facilities. Specific employee counts are not disclosed.
1996-02-18plant_closureannounced1996-05-12United StatesWarehouse club operationsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Five US warehouses closed in the fiscal 1996 third quarter-to-date period; closing costs to be recognized as anticipated warehouse closing costs in Q3 FY1996 (12 weeks ending May 12, 1996). No employee counts or charge amounts disclosed.
1996-02-18plant_closurecompletedConcord, California, United StatesWarehouse club operationsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
One warehouse closed in Concord, California during the first half of fiscal 1996; no employee count or charge disclosed.
1995-09-03restructuringin_progress1993-10-21United States and CanadaCorporate and regional support functionsUSD 17 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Multi-year merger integration program; $120.0M total provision recorded in fiscal 1994, of which $17.2M was expended during fiscal 1995 (administrative consolidation, systems conversion, other). Employees affected not disclosed.
1995-09-03divestiture_reductioncompleted1994-07-281994-12-20United StatesNon-club commercial real estate segment (discontinued operations)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Exchange Transaction completed 1994-12-20; headcount transferred not disclosed. Fiscal 1995 recorded an $83.4M non-cash loss on disposal (not a severance charge).
1995-09-03plant_closurecompleted1995-09-03United States and CanadaWarehouse clubsUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Five warehouses closed during fiscal 1995 (some replaced by new locations); $7.5M pre-tax provision for estimated warehouse closing costs. Employees affected not disclosed.
1995-09-03restructuringcompleted1994-01-011995-09-03United StatesCorporate and Warehouse OperationsUSD 120,000 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Provision for merger and restructuring costs of $120,000 pre-tax recorded in fiscal 1994 related to the merger of Price and Costco. Includes direct transaction costs, consolidation of functions, closing of facilities, severance, and write-offs. No specific employee count disclosed.
1995-09-03plant_closurecompleted1995-01-011995-09-03United StatesWarehouse OperationsUSD 7,500 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Provision for estimated warehouse closing costs of $7,500 pre-tax. Includes closing of 5 warehouses and a regional office. No specific employee count disclosed.