Mid-America Apartment Communities (MAA)

Company ID: 298 | CIK: 0000912595
10-Q view:
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Average monthly rent per unit (adr)

Average revenue per unit (arpu)

Apartment units in development (capacity)

Resident turnover (churn)

Website visitors (engagement)

No 10-Q data

Certified Apartment Managers (headcount)

No 10-Q data

Apartment units (inventory_units)

No 10-K data

Variable rate debt (loans_outstanding)

Fixed rate debt interest (net_interest_margin)

No 10-K data

Average occupancy (occupancy)

Adjusted EBITDAre (other)

No 10-K data

Agency credit-enhanced debt share (other)

No 10-K data

Annual dividend rate (other)

No 10-K data

Annual dividend rate per share (other)

No 10-K data

Apartment units (other)

Apartment units acquired (other)

Apartment units disposed (other)

No 10-K data

Apartment units owned (other)

Apartment units under construction (other)

No 10-K data

Apartment units under development (other)

No 10-K data

Apartments (other)

No 10-K data

Apartments leased (other)

No 10-K data

Apartments leased in lease-up (other)

No 10-K data

Apartments owned (other)

No 10-K data

Apartments renovated (other)

No 10-Q data

Apartments under development (other)

No 10-K data

Availability to borrow (other)

No 10-K data

Available liquidity (other)

No 10-K data

Average Renovation Cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Average age of communities (other)

No 10-Q data

Average borrowing cost (other)

No 10-K data

Average community age (other)

No 10-Q data

Average cost of debt (other)

No 10-K data

Average debt maturity (other)

Average effective monthly rent (other)

No 10-K data

Average effective rent (other)

No 10-K data

Average effective rent change (other)

No 10-K data

Average effective rent growth (other)

Average effective rent per unit (other)

Average effective rent per unit growth (other)

Average interest rate (other)

No 10-K data

Average interest rate on debt (other)

No 10-K data

Average monthly rent (other)

Average monthly rent per unit (other)

Average monthly rental (other)

Average monthly rental per unit (other)

No 10-K data

Average monthly rental rate (other)

No 10-K data

Average property age (other)

No 10-Q data

Average rent per unit (other)

Average rent per unit growth (other)

No 10-K data

Average rental rate per unit (other)

No 10-K data

Average unit size (other)

No 10-Q data

Borrowings share of capitalization (other)

No 10-K data

Building replacement from fire and other loss (other)

No 10-K data

Capital expenditures (other)

Capital improvements (other)

No 10-K data

Capital improvements spend (other)

No 10-Q data

Certified Apartment Managers (other)

No 10-Q data

Certified apartment managers (other)

No 10-Q data

Class A OP units (other)

No 10-K data

Commercial paper outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common Stock Shares Outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Common dividend annual rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Common shares and units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common shares repurchased (other)

No 10-K data

Common stock outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Communities with retail (other)

No 10-K data

Communities with retail components (other)

Completed communities in lease-up (other)

No 10-K data

Completed units in lease-up (other)

No 10-K data

Concessions (other)

No 10-Q data

Construction units leased (other)

No 10-K data

Corporate/commercial capital improvements (other)

No 10-K data

Credit facility availability (other)

No 10-K data

Credit facility borrowing capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Credit facility borrowings (other)

No 10-K data

Credit facility borrowings outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Credit facility capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Credit facility line capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Credit line availability (other)

No 10-K data

Debt as percent of market capitalization (other)

No 10-K data

Debt fixed or hedged (other)

No 10-K data

Debt hedged (fixed, swapped, forward swapped or capped) (other)

No 10-K data

Debt outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Debt share of market capitalization (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to book value (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to market capitalization (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to total capitalization (other)

No 10-Q data

Debt to undepreciated book value (other)

Debt to undepreciated book value ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Defined MSAs (other)

No 10-K data

Defined markets (other)

Derivative notional amount (other)

No 10-K data

Development Projects Under Construction (other)

No 10-Q data

Development apartment units (other)

No 10-K data

Development budgeted cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Development budgeted costs (other)

No 10-Q data

Development communities (other)

No 10-K data

Development communities under construction (other)

No 10-K data

Development cost incurred (other)

No 10-K data

Development cost to complete (other)

No 10-K data

Development cost to date (other)

No 10-K data

Development costs incurred (other)

Development costs to date (other)

No 10-Q data

Development expected cost (other)

No 10-K data

Development expected costs (other)

No 10-K data

Development pipeline units (other)

Development projects (other)

Development projects under construction (other)

No 10-Q data

Development total budgeted cost (other)

No 10-K data

Development total estimated cost (other)

No 10-K data

Development units (other)

Development units completed (other)

Development units in lease-up (other)

No 10-K data

Development units leased (other)

No 10-K data

Development units occupied (other)

No 10-K data

Development units under construction (other)

Dividends declared per common share (other)

Dividends declared per share (other)

Dividends per share (other)

No 10-Q data

Earnings per share (other)

No 10-K data

Effective rent growth (other)

Effective rent per unit (other)

No 10-Q data

Effective rent per unit change (other)

No 10-K data

Effective rent per unit growth (other)

Estimated development cost (other)

No 10-K data

FFO per share (other)

No 10-K data

FFO per share growth (other)

No 10-Q data

FFO per share/unit growth (other)

No 10-Q data

FNMA credit-enhanced debt (other)

No 10-K data

FNMA facility borrowings outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed charge coverage ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Fixed rate debt percentage (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed rate debt share (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed rate or swapped debt (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed-rate debt percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Fixed-rate debt share (other)

No 10-K data

Forward interest rate swaps notional (other)

No 10-K data

Funds from operations (other)

Funds from operations per share (other)

Future development funding commitment (other)

No 10-K data

Geographic footprint (other)

No 10-K data

Gross assets by market type (other)

No 10-K data

Gross assets in large markets (other)

No 10-K data

Gross assets in primary markets (other)

No 10-K data

Gross assets in secondary markets (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate cap notional (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate cap notional amount (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate caps (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate caps notional (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate caps notional amount (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swap notional (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swap notional amount (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swap notional balance (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swaps (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swaps notional (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swaps notional amount (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swaps outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Interior renovation cost per unit (other)

No 10-Q data

Interior units renovated (other)

No 10-Q data

Invested markets (other)

No 10-K data

Joint venture apartment units (other)

No 10-K data

Large market asset share (other)

No 10-K data

Lease-up apartments (other)

No 10-K data

Lease-up apartments occupied (other)

No 10-K data

Lease-up units leased (other)

No 10-K data

Lease-up units total (other)

No 10-K data

Leased units in lease-up (other)

No 10-K data

Leases with concessions (other)

No 10-Q data

Leasing concessions (other)

No 10-Q data

Market capitalization (other)

No 10-Q data

Market diversification (other)

No 10-K data

Markets (other)

No 10-K data

Markets (MSAs) (other)

No 10-K data

Markets invested (other)

No 10-K data

Markets invested in (other)

Markets of operation (other)

No 10-K data

Markets represented (other)

No 10-K data

Markets served (other)

Markets with multifamily assets (other)

No 10-K data

Metropolitan Statistical Areas (other)

Metropolitan areas (other)

No 10-K data

Metropolitan areas served (other)

No 10-K data

Metropolitan markets (other)

Metropolitan statistical areas (other)

No 10-K data

Multifamily asset mix (other)

No 10-K data

Multifamily markets (other)

No 10-K data

Multifamily permitting change (other)

No 10-K data

Multifamily units (other)

No 10-Q data

Net cash from operating activities (other)

No 10-K data

Net debt (other)

No 10-K data

Net debt to Adjusted EBITDAre (other)

Non-Same Store revenue growth (other)

No 10-K data

Non-Same Store units (other)

No 10-Q data

Number Of Reportable Segments (other)

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

OP Units held by limited partners (other)

No 10-K data

OP Units outstanding (other)

OP units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Occupied development units (other)

No 10-K data

Occupied units in lease-up (other)

No 10-K data

Operating markets (other)

No 10-K data

Operating partnership units (other)

No 10-K data

Operating partnership units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Operating states (other)

No 10-K data

Properties with smart home technology (other)

No 10-Q data

Property operating expense growth (other)

No 10-K data

Property operating expenses ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Property repositioning spend (other)

No 10-Q data

Property revenue growth (other)

No 10-K data

Property value in New Madrid earthquake zone (other)

No 10-K data

Property value in Wind Tier 1 risk areas (other)

No 10-K data

Recurring capex per unit (other)

No 10-K data

Recurring capital expenditure per unit (other)

No 10-K data

Recurring capital expenditures (other)

No 10-K data

Recurring capital expenditures per share (other)

No 10-K data

Recurring capital expenditures per unit (other)

Recurring capital spending (other)

No 10-K data

Remaining development costs (other)

No 10-K data

Renovated Units (other)

No 10-Q data

Renovated apartment units (other)

No 10-Q data

Renovated unit rent premium (other)

No 10-Q data

Renovation rent premium (other)

No 10-Q data

Rent increase from renovations (other)

No 10-Q data

Rental revenue per average unit (other)

No 10-K data

Retail component communities (other)

No 10-K data

Retail gross leasable area (other)

No 10-K data

Revenue enhancing capital expenditures (other)

No 10-K data

Revenue per occupied unit growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same Store effective rent growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same Store expense growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same Store net operating income (other)

No 10-K data

Same Store units (other)

No 10-Q data

Same store effective rent growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Same store expense growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same store rent growth (other)

Same store rent per unit growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store effective rent growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store occupancy growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store operating expense growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store rent growth (other)

Same-store revenue growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Secondary market asset share (other)

No 10-K data

Secondary market assets (other)

No 10-K data

Separate markets (other)

No 10-K data

Shares and units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Shares repurchased (other)

No 10-K data

Smart Home devices installed (other)

No 10-Q data

Smart home devices installed (other)

No 10-Q data

Smart home installation cost per unit (other)

No 10-Q data

Smart home penetration (other)

No 10-Q data

Smart home rent increase (other)

No 10-Q data

Smart home technology installations (other)

No 10-Q data

Smart home units (other)

No 10-Q data

Smart home units installed (other)

No 10-Q data

SmartHome devices installed (other)

No 10-Q data

Stabilized apartment units (other)

No 10-K data

Stabilized units owned (other)

No 10-K data

States (other)

No 10-K data

States of operation (other)

States with communities (other)

No 10-K data

States with investments (other)

No 10-K data

States with operations (other)

States with properties (other)

No 10-Q data

Stock options outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Sunbelt markets (other)

Sunbelt markets invested (other)

No 10-K data

Top five market concentration (other)

No 10-Q data

Total apartment units (other)

No 10-K data

Total apartments in lease-up (other)

No 10-K data

Total borrowing capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Total debt outstanding (other)

Total debt to adjusted total assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Total expected development costs (other)

No 10-K data

Total property operating expense growth (other)

No 10-K data

Total revenue growth (other)

No 10-K data

Total shares and units (other)

No 10-K data

Total shares and units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Unhedged variable rate debt (other)

No 10-K data

Units Renovated (other)

No 10-Q data

Units acquired (other)

Units acquired YTD (other)

No 10-K data

Units completed (other)

No 10-K data

Units completed in lease-up (other)

No 10-K data

Units disposed (other)

No 10-Q data

Units held for sale (other)

No 10-K data

Units in FL, GA, NC and TX (other)

No 10-Q data

Units in development (other)

Units in development and lease-up (other)

No 10-K data

Units in development pipeline (other)

No 10-K data

Units in lease-up (other)

No 10-K data

Units in lease-up and development (other)

No 10-K data

Units in lease-up and under development (other)

No 10-K data

Units in lease-up or development (other)

No 10-K data

Units in top four states (other)

No 10-Q data

Units in top markets (other)

No 10-Q data

Units leased (other)

No 10-K data

Units leased under construction (other)

No 10-K data

Units occupied (other)

No 10-K data

Units renovated (other)

Units submetered for water usage (other)

No 10-K data

Units under construction (other)

Units under development (other)

Units with smart home technology (other)

No 10-Q data

Unsecured credit facility availability (other)

No 10-K data

Unswapped variable rate debt (other)

No 10-K data

Utility costs as percentage of revenue (other)

No 10-Q data

Variable rate debt (other)

No 10-K data

Variable rate debt outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Water meters installed (other)

No 10-K data

Website visitors (other)

No 10-Q data

Weighted average debt maturity (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average effective interest rate (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average interest rate (other)

Weighted average interest rate on debt (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average maturity (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average shares and units (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Wholly-owned apartment units (other)

No 10-K data

Wholly-owned portfolio units (other)

No 10-K data

Wholly-owned units (other)

No 10-K data

us-gaap:NumberOfReportableSegments (other)

Units under development (production_volume)

No 10-K data

Properties owned (properties)

Effective rent per unit (revpar)

No 10-Q data

Development units (rooms)

No 10-K data

Same store revenue growth (same_store_sales)

Common stock outstanding (shares)

Average unit size (square_footage)

Apartment units (units)

Units with smart home technology (units_shipped)

Stock options outstanding (users)

No 10-K data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No point-in-time HCM metrics found.

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No flow HCM metrics found.

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2022-09-30voluntary_separationannounced12022-10-192022-12-31United StatesExecutive — Chief Operating OfficerUSD 558,373 (units)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Retirement of EVP and COO Thomas L. Grimes, Jr.; lump-sum severance equals 12 months of base salary, plus 2022 annual bonus, COBRA lump sum, and pro-rata performance shares. Post-quarter event disclosed as an exhibit to the filing.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedNashville, TNMultifamily operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Two apartment communities acquired during 2017 (Charlotte at Midtown, 279 units, closed 2017-03-16; Acklen West End, 320 units, closed 2017-12-28). Headcount added through these acquisitions is not disclosed; $1.3 million of acquisition costs were capitalized.
2017-12-31divestiture_reductioncompletedUnited States (FL, AL, TX, GA)Multifamily operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Five multifamily properties totaling 1,760 units plus four land parcels (~23 acres) sold during 2017; headcount removed through these dispositions is not disclosed.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2016-08-152016-12-01United StatesMultifamily property operations and corporatebusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger added 61 apartment communities (24,138 units) and four commercial properties; acquired headcount is not disclosed. Post operations contributed $4.7B of assets and $33.5M of revenue at 2016-12-31 and were excluded from the ICFR assessment scope.
2013-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2013-06-032013-10-01United States (Southeast and Southwest)Multifamily and commercial real estate operationsUSD 38 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger with Colonial Properties Trust closed 2013-10-01, adding 115 communities and 34,370 units; headcount added through the merger is not disclosed. Charge shown is merger and integration related expenses of $37.5 million expensed in 2013.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-12-31United States (Florida, Georgia)Multifamily communitiesdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Nine communities totaling 2,108 units were sold during 2013 and classified as discontinued operations; associated headcount removed is not disclosed.
2013-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2013-06-032013-10-01United Statessubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger with Colonial Properties Trust closed 2013-10-01; no employee headcount added or affected was disclosed. $11.3 million of merger-related expenses recorded in the nine months ended 2013-09-30.
2012-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2012-04-022012-12-21United States (VA, TX, GA, FL, MO)Wholly-owned apartment portfolioUSD 312 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Seven wholly-owned property acquisitions totaling 2,452 units for $312.0 million cash, closed between 2012-04-02 and 2012-12-21 (plus one additional condo unit at Village Oaks). No employee headcount associated with the acquisitions is disclosed.
2012-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2012-01-122012-11-08United StatesSame store communities (large market and secondary market)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Nine communities totaling 2,254 units sold between 2012-01-12 and 2012-11-08, reported as discontinued operations with $41.6 million aggregate gain on sale. No headcount removed is disclosed.
2012-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2013-02-012013-02-01Kennesaw (Atlanta), GeorgiaWholly-owned apartment portfoliosubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed on the purchase of the 310-unit Milstead Village community on 2013-02-01, after fiscal year-end and previously held in the Fund I joint venture. No headcount disclosed.
2011-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited States (Sunbelt markets)Property operationsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Eleven 100%-owned properties totaling 3,057 units acquired during 2011 for $362.7 million cash; no headcount added through the acquisitions is disclosed.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompletedUnited StatesProperty operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Two properties totaling 534 units disposed of during 2011; associated headcount not disclosed.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2012-01-122012-01-12Katy (Houston), TexasProperty operationssubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of the 320-unit Kenwood Club at the Park closed after fiscal year-end, resulting in a gain of approximately $9.6 million; headcount not disclosed.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2012-02-092012-02-09Memphis, TennesseeProperty operationssubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of the 276-unit Cedar Mill community closed after fiscal year-end with no material gain or loss; headcount not disclosed.
2008-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited States (Houston, Raleigh, Phoenix, Atlanta, Tampa)Apartment communities (wholly-owned)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Five wholly-owned properties (1,340 units) purchased during 2008; no headcount added through the acquisitions is disclosed.
2008-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited States (Atlanta, Houston)Joint venture — Mid-America Multifamily Fund I, LLC (33.33% interest)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Two joint-venture properties (626 units) acquired in 2008; headcount added not disclosed.
2008-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2009-01-152009-01-15Greensboro, North CarolinaApartment communitiessubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Woodstream apartments (304 units) sold after fiscal year-end; associated workforce reduction not quantified.
2007-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited States (SC, TX)Apartment communitiesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four communities acquired in 2007 (Farmington Village, Chalet at Fall Creek, Park Place, Ranchstone; 997 units total). No associated headcount disclosed; acquisition spend of approximately $88.6 million reported in MD&A.
2007-12-31divestiture_reductioncompletedUnited States (MS, TN)Apartment communitiesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four wholly-owned communities sold in 2007 (Woodridge, Somerset, Hickory Farms, Gleneagles; 720 units). No associated headcount disclosed; $9.2 million gain reported in discontinued operations.
2007-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2007-01-122007-01-12Dallas, TXJoint venture (CH/Realty II)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Verandas at Timberglen (522 units) and Mid-America's interest in CH/Realty II to Crow Holdings. No associated headcount disclosed.
2004-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2004-01-15Dallas, TXApartment communities (33.33% joint venture interest)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Verandas at Timberglen (522 units) acquired by the Crow Holdings joint venture; no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2004-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2004-01-23Hendersonville, TN (Nashville Metro)Apartment communities (100% owned)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Monthaven Park (456 units); no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2004-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2004-06-15Roanoke, TX (Dallas Metro)Apartment communities (100% owned)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Watermark (240 units); no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2004-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2004-08-24Duluth, GA (Atlanta Metro)Apartment communities (100% owned)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Prescott (384 units); no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2004-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2004-11-05Austin, TXApartment communities (100% owned)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Grand Reserve at Sunset Valley (210 units); no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2004-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2004-11-05Coral Springs, FL (Ft. Lauderdale Metro)Apartment communities (100% owned)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Preserve at Coral Square (480 units); no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2004-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2004-11-05Stafford, TX (Houston Metro)Apartment communities (100% owned)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Villages at Kirkwood (274 units); no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2004-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2004-10-01St. Simon's Island, GAApartment communities (100% owned)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Island Retreat (112 units) sold under the disposition strategy; no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2004-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2004-11-03Jacksonville, FLApartment communities (joint venture)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Preserve at Arbor Lakes (284 units) sold by the CH/Realty joint venture; no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2004-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2005-02-18Atlanta-metro area, GA (Lake Lanier)Apartment communities (100% owned)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Two communities totaling 657 units acquired after fiscal year-end, to be operated as one property; no employee headcount impact disclosed.
2004-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2004-01-232004-11-05United States (Nashville, Dallas, Atlanta, Austin, Ft. Lauderdale and Houston metros)Multifamily property operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Six wholly-owned communities totaling 2,044 units plus one joint-venture community (Verandas at Timberglen, 522 units) acquired during 2004; no employee headcount added through these acquisitions is disclosed.
2004-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2004-10-012004-10-01St. Simon's Island, GAMultifamily property operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Island Retreat (112 units) sold October 1, 2004; associated workforce reduction not quantified.
2004-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2004-11-032004-11-03Jacksonville, FLJoint venture (Mid-America CH/Realty LP)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Preserve at Arbor Lakes (284 units) sold by the joint venture November 3, 2004; associated workforce reduction not quantified.
2004-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2005-02-182005-02-18Atlanta-metro area (Lake Lanier), GAMultifamily property operationssubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Two communities totaling 657 units acquired after fiscal year-end and before filing; to be operated as one property. No headcount disclosed.
2003-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2003-08-252003-08-25Southeastern United StatesMultifamily property operations (10 properties, 2,793 apartment units)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchased Blackstone's 66.67% interest in BRE/MAAC Associates, LLC for $21.9M cash plus $53.2M assumed debt; operating results consolidated from August 25, 2003. No employee headcount associated with the transaction is disclosed.
2003-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2003-12-31Texas and FloridaMultifamily property operations (Green Oaks, Jefferson Pines/Legacy Pines, Los Rios Park, Lighthouse Court)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four properties acquired during 2003 (one subsequently transferred to the CH/Realty joint venture). No associated headcount disclosed.
2003-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2003-07-10Memphis, TennesseeMultifamily property operations (Crossings apartments, 80 units)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sold July 10, 2003; gain on sale of $1,919 thousand reported in discontinued operations. No headcount impact disclosed.
2003-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2003-05-01Grand Prairie, TexasMultifamily property operations (Green Oaks apartments, 300 units)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Property acquired February 7, 2003 and transferred to the CH/Realty joint venture on May 1, 2003 (2/3 interest transferred for $12,644 thousand). No headcount impact disclosed.
2003-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2004-01-152004-01-23Dallas, Texas and Hendersonville, TennesseeMultifamily property operations (Jefferson at Timberglen, 522 units; Monthaven Park, 456 units)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Post-fiscal-year-end events: second Crow Holdings joint venture (CH/Realty II) formed January 15, 2004 and Monthaven Park acquired January 23, 2004. No headcount disclosed.
1999-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted1999-06-301999-06-30United StatesDevelopment, Construction, and Fee ManagementUSD 4 (millions)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Company sold development, construction, and fee management businesses back to Flournoy principals. Recorded net loss of approx $4.0 million mainly for goodwill write-off. Specific headcount affected not disclosed.
1999-06-30divestiture_reductioncompleted1999-06-301999-06-30United StatesDevelopment, construction and fee management businessesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Businesses acquired in the 1997 Flournoy merger were sold back to Flournoy principals for $19.1 million net proceeds, with a ~$4.0 million book loss mainly from goodwill write-off; no employee count disclosed.
1997-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted1997-11-251997-11-25Southeastern United States and TexasProperty management, development, and constructionbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger with Flournoy Development Company acquired 30 communities with 7,691 apartment units. FDC's third-party management, brokerage, and construction operations transferred to subsidiary Flournoy Service Corporation. No employee headcount disclosed for the acquired workforce.
1997-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted1997-09-151997-11-21United StatesReal estate development / apartment communitiesother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement and Plan of Reorganization dated 1997-09-15 among Mid-America Apartments, L.P., Mid-America Apartment Communities, Inc. and Flournoy Development Company; Articles of Merger of Flournoy Development Company into the registrant dated 1997-11-21. No employee headcount associated with the transaction is disclosed in this filing.
1997-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted1997-09-151997-11-25Southeastern United States and TexasProperty operations; third-party construction, brokerage and management (Flournoy Development Corporation)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger with Flournoy Development Company added 30 communities/7,691 units plus a service subsidiary; no employee headcount added or transferred is disclosed.