Kinder Morgan (KMI)

Company ID: 267 | CIK: 0001506307
10-Q view:
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Contractually committed revenue (backlog)

Liquids Leasable Capacity (capacity)

Bulk Transload Tonnage (cargo_tonnage)

Common Stockholders (customers)

No 10-Q data

Jones Act-qualified tankers (fleet_size)

No 10-Q data

CO2 production (gas_production)

RNG Generation Capacity (generation_capacity)

Full-time personnel (headcount)

No 10-Q data

Production costs per BOE (lifting_cost)

No 10-Q data

Undeveloped oil and gas acres (net_acreage)

No 10-Q data

NGL Sales Volumes (ngl_production)

Liquids leased capacity (occupancy)

No 10-K data

Crude/Condensate Gathering Volumes (oil_production)

Average contract life (other)

No 10-Q data

Bulk transload tonnage (other)

No 10-K data

CO2 Production (Gross) (other)

No 10-Q data

CO2 Production (Net) (other)

No 10-Q data

CO2 production (other)

CO2 sales volumes (other)

No 10-K data

CO2 sales volumes, net (other)

No 10-Q data

Cash and cash equivalents (other)

No 10-K data

Class P shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common stock shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Credit facility availability (other)

No 10-K data

Crude and condensate volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Crude oil hedge price (other)

No 10-K data

Crude oil hedge volume (other)

No 10-K data

Crude oil net open position (other)

No 10-K data

Crude/condensate gathering volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Delivery volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Drilling wells (other)

No 10-Q data

Ethanol terminal volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Ethanol volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Gathering volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Letters of credit outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Miles of pipeline (other)

No 10-Q data

Miles of pipelines (other)

NGL hedge price (other)

No 10-K data

NGL hedge volume (other)

No 10-K data

NGL pipeline volumes (other)

No 10-K data

NGL volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Natural gas basis position (other)

No 10-K data

Natural gas fixed price position (other)

No 10-K data

Natural gas gathering volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Natural gas sales volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Natural gas transport volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Natural gas transportation volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Net Debt to Adjusted EBITDA (other)

No 10-Q data

Net Debt-to-Adjusted EBITDA (other)

No 10-K data

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

Pipeline miles (other)

No 10-K data

Pipeline transport volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Pipelines miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Productive wells (other)

No 10-Q data

RNG sales volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Realized Crude Oil Price (other)

No 10-Q data

Realized NGL Price (other)

No 10-Q data

Realized NGL price (other)

Realized Oil Price (other)

No 10-Q data

Realized Weighted Average NGL Price (other)

No 10-Q data

Realized Weighted Average Oil Price (other)

No 10-Q data

Realized crude oil price (other)

No 10-K data

Realized oil price (other)

Realized price (other)

No 10-K data

Realized weighted average NGL price (other)

Realized weighted average oil price (other)

Realized weighted-average NGL price (other)

Realized weighted-average NGLs price per Bbl (other)

No 10-K data

Realized weighted-average oil price (other)

Realized weighted-average oil price per Bbl (other)

No 10-K data

Recoverable CO2 (other)

No 10-Q data

Refined product volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Remaining contract life (other)

No 10-Q data

Restricted stock awards outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Sales volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Service wells (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Standardized measure (other)

No 10-Q data

Standardized measure of discounted cash flows (other)

No 10-Q data

Standardized measure of discounted future net cash flows (other)

No 10-Q data

Total debt (other)

No 10-K data

Total delivery volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Trans Mountain transport volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Transport volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average contract life (other)

No 10-Q data

Working gas storage capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Bulk transload tonnage (production_volume)

Terminals (properties)

Proved Developed Producing Gas Reserves (proved_developed_reserves)

No 10-Q data

Proved Gas Reserves (proved_reserves)

No 10-Q data

Proved Undeveloped Oil Reserves (proved_undeveloped_reserves)

No 10-Q data

Total Delivery Volumes (refining_throughput)

No 10-Q data

RNG generation capacity (renewable_capacity)

Remaining performance obligations (rpo)

Common Shares Outstanding (shares)

Class P common stock shares outstanding (shares_outstanding)

No 10-K data

Total Delivery Volumes (throughput)

Pipeline miles (transmission_miles)

Total Recordable Incident Rate (trir)

No 10-Q data

Total Delivery Volumes (units_shipped)

Shares Outstanding (users)

No 10-Q data

Liquids Utilization (utilization_rate)

Wells completed (wells_drilled)

No 10-Q data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No demographic data found.

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No point-in-time HCM metrics found.

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No 10-Q data
No 10-K data

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2026-03-31acquisition_additionannounced2026-04-222026-06-30United States — Houston, Texas metropolitan areaNatural Gas Pipelines (Midstream)USD 505 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to acquire Monument Pipeline for $505 million cash; approximately 225 miles of pipelines; expected to close Q2 2026. No employee headcount associated with the acquisition was disclosed.
2025-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2025-02-182025-02-18North Dakota, United StatesNatural Gas Pipelines (Midstream)USD 648 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price of $648 million for a North Dakota gathering and processing system (0.27 Bcf/d processing facility, 104-mile header pipeline). Headcount added through the acquisition is not disclosed.
2025-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2025-12-312025-12-31United StatesNatural Gas Pipelines (Midstream)USD 382 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of 25% non-operated interest in EagleHawk for $382 million cash proceeds, with a $123 million gain. Headcount removed through the divestiture is not disclosed.
2024-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2024-06-102024-06-10Crane County, TexasCO2 (Oil and Gas Producing activities)USD 61 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price for AVAD Energy Partners' interest in the North McElroy Unit waterflood; headcount not disclosed.
2024-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2024-06-302024-06-30Permian Basin, TexasCO2 (Oil and Gas Producing activities)USD 18 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Katz Unit, Goldsmith Landreth San Andres Unit, Tall Cotton Field, Reinecke Unit and certain shallow Diamond M interests; cash proceeds $18 million; headcount not disclosed.
2024-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2024-02-292024-02-29OklahomaNatural Gas Pipelines (Midstream)USD 43 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Oklahoma midstream assets (Oklahoma system and Cedar Cove) for $43 million; headcount not disclosed.
2024-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2025-01-132025-03-31North Dakota (Williston Basin)Natural Gas Pipelines (Midstream gathering and processing)USD 640 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to acquire Outrigger Energy II LLC gathering and processing system for $640 million cash; expected to close Q1 2025 pending HSR clearance; headcount not disclosed.
2023-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2023-12-282023-12-28United States (Eagle Ford basin, Texas)Natural Gas Pipelines (Midstream)USD 1,831 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price $1,831 million; headcount added not disclosed. Approximately 75% of the business supported by take-or-pay contracts.
2023-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2023-06-012023-06-01United States (West Texas)CO2 (Oil and Gas Producing activities)USD 13 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price $13 million; headcount added not disclosed.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2022-07-192022-07-19United States (Texas, Louisiana)CO2 — Energy Transition VenturesUSD 358 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price of $358 million for three landfill assets including an RNG facility; headcount added not disclosed.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2022-08-112022-08-11United States (Michigan, Kentucky)CO2 — Energy Transition VenturesUSD 132 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price of $132 million for seven landfill assets with GTE facilities; headcount added not disclosed.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-09-262022-09-26United StatesNatural Gas Pipelines (East Region)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sold 25.5% interest in ELC for net proceeds of $557 million; KMI retains control and continues to consolidate. Headcount impact not disclosed.
2020-12-31othercompletedUnited StatesCorporateUSD 52 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2020 expense of $52 million for restricted stock accelerated vesting and severance, reported as a Certain Item; number of employees affected and program details not disclosed.
2019-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2019-12-162019-12-16CanadaNatural Gas Pipelines; Terminalsdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of all outstanding equity of KML (including KMI's 70% interest) and the U.S. portion of the Cochin Pipeline to Pembina closed 2019-12-16; headcount transferred not disclosed.
2018-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-05-302018-08-31CanadaKinder Morgan Canadaother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Trans Mountain pipeline system, TMEP, Puget Sound system and Kinder Morgan Canada Inc. to the Government of Canada; headcount transferred not disclosed
2018-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-05-182018-08-31CanadaKinder Morgan CanadaMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of TMPL, TMEP, Puget Sound pipeline and Kinder Morgan Canada Inc. (the Canadian employer of operating staff) closed 2018-08-31 for C$4.43B. No employee count disclosed; segment will have no prospective results.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2016-02-012016-02-01United StatesTerminals; Products Pipelinesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of 15 products terminals for $349 million; 14 contributed to a 75/25 KM-BP joint venture. Headcount added not disclosed.
2016-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2016-09-012016-09-01United States (Southeast)Natural Gas Pipelinesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of 50% interest in SNG to Southern Company; SNG deconsolidated. Headcount removed not disclosed.
2016-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2016-10-012017-04-30United States (inland river system)Terminalsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to sell 20 bulk terminals to Watco for ~$100 million; seven locations closed in Q4 2016, balance expected by April 2017. Headcount removed not disclosed.
2016-12-31restructuringcompletedUnited StatesCorporate / General and administrativeUSD 14 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
2016 G&A certain items include $14 million of severance costs; employees affected and program timing not disclosed.
2016-09-30restructuringin_progressCorporateUSD 13 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Nine months ended September 30, 2016 general and administrative certain items include $13 million of severance costs; no employee count disclosed.
2016-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2016-09-012016-09-01Natural Gas PipelinesUSD 84 (millions)other
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Sold 50% interest in SNG to Southern Company for $1.4 billion; SNG deconsolidated. No headcount impact quantified.
2016-06-30restructuringin_progressCorporateUSD 12 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
G&A certain items include a $12 million severance cost increase for both the three and six months ended June 30, 2016; no employee count disclosed.
2016-06-30restructuringcompletedUSD 12 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Increase in expense of $12 million for both three and six months ended June 30, 2016 related to severance costs.
2016-06-30otherin_progress2016-06-30United StatesCorporateUSD 12 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Increase in expense of $12 million for both three and six months ended June 30, 2016 related to severance costs.
2015-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2015-02-132015-02-13United States (North Dakota, Montana)Natural Gas Pipelines; Products Pipelinesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquired privately held Hiland Partners for aggregate consideration of approximately $3,120 million including assumed debt; acquired headcount not disclosed. Hiland excluded from management's ICFR assessment (4% of total assets, 3% of total revenues).
2015-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2015-02-272015-02-27United States (Texas, North Carolina, New Jersey)Terminalsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchased three U.S. terminals and one undeveloped site from Royal Vopak for approximately $158 million in cash; acquired headcount not disclosed.
2015-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2015-07-152015-07-15United States (Georgia)Natural Gas Pipelinesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchased Shell's 49% interest in the Elba Island liquefaction JV for net cash consideration of $185 million, moving ELC from equity method to consolidation; headcount impact not disclosed.
2015-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2015-12-102015-12-10United StatesNatural Gas Pipelinesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquired additional 30% equity interest in NGPL Holdings LLC for $136 million, raising ownership to 50%; equity interest purchase with headcount impact not disclosed.
2015-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2015-01-012015-12-31United StatesTerminalsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of certain small bulk and transload terminal facilities to Watco Companies, LLC in early 2015 reduced segment EBDA by $17 million; exact transaction date and associated headcount not disclosed. Announcement date shown as start of fiscal year because only 'early 2015' is stated.
2015-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2016-02-012016-02-01United StatesTerminals; Products Pipelinessubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Subsequent to fiscal year-end: acquired 15 products terminals from BP for $350 million and formed a 75/25 joint venture; 10 terminals in Terminals segment and 5 in Products Pipelines. Closed before the February 16, 2016 filing date; acquired headcount not disclosed.
2015-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2015-02-13North Dakota and MontanaNatural Gas Pipelines and Products PipelinesUSD 3,120 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Acquired Hiland Partners, LP for $3.12 billion. Headcount not disclosed.
2015-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2015-02-27United StatesTerminalsUSD 158 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Acquired Vopak Terminal Assets for $158 million. Headcount not disclosed.
2015-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2015-07-15GeorgiaOtherUSD 200 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Purchased remaining 49% interest in Elba Liquefaction Company for $200 million. Headcount not disclosed.
2015-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2015-02-132015-02-13United States (North Dakota, Montana)Natural Gas Pipelines; Products PipelinesUSD 3,120 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Aggregate consideration of $3,120 million including assumed debt; no employee headcount disclosed for the acquisition.
2015-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2015-02-272015-02-27United States (Texas, North Carolina, New Jersey)TerminalsUSD 158 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of three U.S. terminals and one undeveloped site from Royal Vopak; no employee headcount disclosed.
2014-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2014-11-262014-11-26United StatesConsolidated (KMP, EPB, KMR)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Transactions valued at approximately $77 billion; no employee count disclosed. Accounted for as an equity transaction with no gain or loss recognized.
2014-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2014-01-172014-01-17United StatesTerminals (Jones Act tankers)USD 961 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price of $961 million in cash; no headcount disclosed. Charge value is purchase consideration, not a severance charge.
2014-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2014-11-052014-11-05United StatesTerminals (Jones Act tankers)USD 270 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase of two tankers from Crowley Maritime for approximately $270 million; vessels continue to be operated by Crowley, so no KMI headcount addition implied. Charge value is purchase consideration.
2014-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2015-02-132015-02-13United States (North Dakota, Montana)Natural Gas Pipelines — midstream groupUSD 3,058 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Aggregate consideration of $3,058 million ($1,715M cash and $1,343M assumed debt); no employee count disclosed. Charge value is purchase consideration.
2014-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2015-02-092015-03-31United States (Texas, North Carolina, New Jersey)TerminalsUSD 158 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Announced purchase of three U.S. terminals and one undeveloped site for approximately $158 million, expected to close in Q1 2015; no employee count disclosed.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-01-182013-01-18Bolivia / BrazilOtherItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale completed for $88 million; no associated headcount disclosed.
2013-12-31othercompleted2013-03-312013-03-31Southeastern United StatesTerminals — KMP (materials services / rail transloading)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Contract termination effective March 31, 2013 removed transloading business at 25 CSX-located terminals; no headcount disclosed.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-03-142013-03-14United States / CanadaKinder Morgan Canada — KMPItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Net cash proceeds of $402 million; no headcount disclosed.
2013-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2013-05-012013-05-01United States (Texas, Oklahoma, Wyoming)Natural Gas Pipelinesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Total purchase price approximately $5.2 billion; Copano constituted 9% of 2013 revenues and 8% of total assets. No acquired headcount disclosed.
2013-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2013-06-012013-06-01United States (West Texas)CO2 — KMPbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Aggregate consideration of $298 million; no acquired headcount disclosed.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-09-012013-09-01United States (Gulf of Mexico / Louisiana)Natural Gas Pipelines (TGP)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Aggregate consideration of $32 million in cash; no headcount disclosed.
2013-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2014-01-172014-01-17United StatesTerminals — KMP (marine transportation / Jones Act trade)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Subsequent event completed after fiscal year-end; aggregate cash consideration of approximately $962 million. No acquired headcount disclosed.
2013-12-31restructuringcompleted2012-05-252013-12-31United StatesCorporate / GeneralUSD 160 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Employee severance, retention and bonus costs associated with the EP acquisition and EP Energy sale. Footnote (k) in Cash Available to Pay Dividends table notes $101 million in employee severance, retention and bonus costs for 2012, and Footnote (a) in G&A table notes $59 million in employee severance, retention and bonus costs for 2013. No specific headcount provided.
2013-06-30othercompleted2013-08-012013-08-01United StatesExecutive ManagementPart II, Item 5
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Termination of severance agreements with executive officers (Dang, Kean, Martin) and employment agreement with Kinder effective August 1, 2013.
2013-06-30othercompleted2013-07-172013-08-01Executive OfficersPart II, Item 5
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Termination of severance agreements with executive officers (Dang, Kean, Martin) and employment agreement with Kinder, effective August 1, 2013.
2012-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2012-05-252012-05-25United StatesNatural Gas PipelinesUSD 160 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of El Paso Corporation; $160 million of pre-tax employee severance, retention and bonus costs incurred in 2012 (part of $463 million total pre-tax EP acquisition and EP Energy sale expenses). Headcount added not disclosed.
2012-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2012-05-242012-05-24United StatesOther (EP Energy exploration and production)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
EP sold its EP Energy LLC exploration and production subsidiary for $7.2 billion immediately prior to the acquisition close; associated headcount not disclosed.
2012-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2012-11-012012-11-01United StatesNatural Gas Pipelines (KMP FTC Natural Gas Pipelines disposal group)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FTC-mandated sale of Kinder Morgan Interstate Gas Transmission, Trailblazer, Casper/Douglas processing and 50% Rockies Express interest to Tallgrass Energy Partners for approximately $1.8 billion; headcount removed not disclosed.
2012-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2013-01-292013-09-30United StatesNatural Gas Pipelinessubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
KMP agreed to acquire Copano Energy for approximately $5 billion including assumed debt; expected to close in Q3 2013. Subsequent-event announcement; headcount not disclosed.
2012-12-31restructuringcompleted2012-05-25United StatesCorporate / GeneralUSD 160 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Employee severance, retention and bonus costs associated with the EP acquisition. No specific headcount disclosed.
2012-12-31restructuringcompleted2012-05-25United StatesCorporate / GeneralUSD 56 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Severance, retention and bonus costs attributable to drop-down asset group (TGP and EPNG) prior to acquisition by KMP. No specific headcount disclosed.
2012-12-31restructuringcompleted2012-05-25United StatesCorporate / GeneralUSD 34 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Severance costs allocated to EPB from KMI/EP merger. No specific headcount disclosed.
2012-12-31restructuringcompleted2012-05-252012-12-31North AmericaCorporate / All SegmentsUSD 160 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
EP acquisition related employee severance, retention and bonus costs. Footnote (f) in MD&A lists $160 million in employee severance, retention and bonus costs associated with the EP acquisition and EPE sale.
2012-12-31restructuringcompleted2012-05-252012-12-31North AmericaKMP / EPBUSD 96 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs allocated to KMP ($56 million, including $42 million in severance, retention and bonus costs) and EPB ($34 million for severance cost) related to the EP acquisition and drop-down transactions.
2012-09-30restructuringin_progress2012-05-25North AmericaCorporate / General and AdministrativeUSD 157 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Employee severance, retention and bonus costs associated with the El Paso Corporation acquisition.
2012-09-30restructuringin_progress2012-05-25North AmericaCorporate / General and AdministrativeUSD 87 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Accelerated EP stock based compensation allocated to the post-combination period.
2012-09-30restructuringin_progress2012-05-25United StatesCorporate / GeneralUSD 157 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
EP acquisition related employee severance, retention and bonus costs. Employee count not disclosed.
2012-09-30restructuringin_progress2012-05-25United StatesCorporate / GeneralUSD 87 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Accelerated EP stock based compensation allocated to post-combination period. Employee count not disclosed.
2012-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2012-05-252012-05-25United StatesNatural Gas PipelinesUSD 149 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
EP acquisition closed 2012-05-25; $149M in employee severance, retention and bonus costs incurred in H1 2012. No headcount added disclosed.
2012-06-30divestiture_reductionin_progress2012-03-15United StatesNatural Gas Pipelines (KMP FTC Natural Gas Pipelines disposal group)USD 755 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FTC-mandated divestiture of KMP's FTC Natural Gas Pipelines assets; $755M non-cash remeasurement loss recognized in H1 2012. No employee count disclosed.
2012-06-30restructuringcompleted2012-05-25United StatesCorporate / GeneralUSD 149 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Employee severance, retention and bonus costs associated with the EP acquisition.
2012-06-30restructuringcompleted2012-05-25United StatesCorporate / GeneralUSD 87 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Accelerated EP stock based compensation allocated to the post-combination period.
2012-06-30restructuringin_progress2012-05-25United StatesGeneral and AdministrativeUSD 149 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pre-tax expenses associated with EP acquisition and EP Energy sale, primarily employee severance, retention and bonus costs. Employee count not disclosed.
2012-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2012-05-25United StatesNatural Gas Pipelinesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of El Paso Corporation completed May 25, 2012. Headcount added not explicitly disclosed.
2011-09-30othercompleted2011-05-01Non-senior employeesUSD 100 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Payment of special cash bonuses and premium pay to certain non-senior employees. Cost not borne by Class P shareholders.
2011-09-30othercompleted4002011-09-132012-03-31CaliforniaCurrent and former employeesUSD 2 (millions)Legal Proceedings
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Preliminary approval of proposed class action settlement for wage and hour violations (meal/rest periods, overtime).
2011-06-30othercompleted2011-05-012011-05-31United StatesNon-senior employeesUSD 100 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Payment of special cash bonuses and premium pay to certain non-senior employees. Cost not borne by Class P shareholders.