Illinois Tool Works (ITW)

Company ID: 247 | CIK: 0000049826
10-Q view:
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No 10-Q data

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Backlog (backlog)

Employees (headcount)

Acquired business revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Acquisition contribution to revenue growth (other)

No 10-K data

Acquisitions (other)

No 10-Q data

Acquisitions completed (other)

No 10-Q data

Active Patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Active patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Adjusted after-tax ROIC (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted after-tax return on average invested capital (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted return on average invested capital (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted return on invested capital (other)

No 10-K data

After-tax ROIC (other)

No 10-K data

After-tax return on average invested capital (other)

After-tax return on invested capital (other)

Authorized repurchases remaining (other)

No 10-K data

Authorized share repurchase capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Authorized share repurchase remaining (other)

No 10-K data

Authorized stock repurchases remaining (other)

No 10-K data

Auto build growth (other)

No 10-K data

Auto builds (other)

No 10-K data

Auto builds change (other)

No 10-K data

Auto builds growth (other)

No 10-K data

Automotive production change (other)

No 10-K data

Average diluted shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Average repurchase price (other)

No 10-K data

Average shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Base business revenue growth (other)

No 10-K data

Base revenue change (other)

No 10-K data

Base revenue growth (other)

No 10-K data

Business operations count (other)

No 10-K data

Business units (other)

No 10-K data

Buyback authorization remaining (other)

No 10-K data

Capital equipment product share (other)

No 10-K data

Capital equipment products (other)

No 10-K data

Capital equipment products share (other)

No 10-K data

Car builds growth (other)

No 10-K data

Cash and equivalents (other)

No 10-K data

Cash dividends paid (other)

No 10-K data

Cash dividends paid per share (other)

No 10-K data

Commercial construction change (other)

No 10-K data

Commercial paper interest rate (other)

No 10-K data

Commercial paper outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common Stockholders (other)

No 10-Q data

Common Stockholders of Record (other)

No 10-Q data

Common shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Cost of revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Cost of revenues ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Countries (other)

Countries of Operation (other)

No 10-Q data

Countries of operation (other)

Countries with operations (other)

No 10-Q data

Currency impact on revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Current Ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Current ratio (other)

Debt to capitalization (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to capitalization excl. leasing (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to capitalization excluding leasing (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to total capitalization (other)

No 10-K data

Deferred revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Detroit 3 production change (other)

No 10-K data

Diluted earnings per share (other)

No 10-K data

Dividends declared per share (other)

No 10-K data

Dividends paid per share (other)

No 10-K data

Dividends per share (other)

No 10-K data

Divisions (other)

Divisions ready to grow (other)

EBITDA (other)

No 10-K data

Effective tax rate (other)

No 10-K data

Estimated cost of capital (other)

No 10-K data

Foreign Patent Applications (other)

No 10-Q data

Foreign Patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Foreign currency impact on operating income (other)

No 10-K data

Foreign currency impact on revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Foreign currency impact on revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Foreign currency revenue headwind (other)

No 10-K data

Foreign currency revenue impact (other)

No 10-K data

Foreign earnings repatriated (other)

No 10-K data

Foreign patent applications (other)

No 10-Q data

Foreign patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Free Operating Cash Flow (other)

No 10-Q data

Free cash flow (other)

Free operating cash flow (other)

Granted and pending patents (other)

Housing starts change (other)

No 10-K data

International car builds (other)

No 10-K data

International revenue share (other)

No 10-Q data

Manufacturing facilities closed (other)

No 10-K data

Market Value of Voting Stock (other)

No 10-Q data

Mortgage loans held (other)

No 10-K data

Mortgage loans in asset pool (other)

No 10-K data

Net working capital (other)

No 10-K data

North American auto builds (other)

No 10-K data

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

Operating Revenues per Employee (other)

No 10-Q data

Operating Segments (other)

No 10-Q data

Operating cash flow (other)

No 10-K data

Operating costs ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Operating divisions (other)

Operating facilities (other)

No 10-Q data

Operating margin (other)

Operating segments (other)

Operating units (other)

Operations (other)

No 10-Q data

Operations reviewed (other)

No 10-K data

Operations worldwide (other)

No 10-Q data

Organic revenue growth (other)

Patent Applications (other)

No 10-Q data

Patent Applications (Foreign) (other)

No 10-Q data

Patent Applications (US) (other)

No 10-Q data

Patent applications pending (other)

No 10-Q data

Patents (other)

Patents (Foreign) (other)

No 10-Q data

Patents (US) (other)

No 10-Q data

Patents granted and pending (other)

No 10-K data

Patents owned (other)

No 10-Q data

Patents portfolio (other)

No 10-K data

Pending Foreign Patent Applications (other)

No 10-Q data

Pending U.S. Patent Applications (other)

No 10-Q data

Pension contributions (other)

No 10-K data

Pension discount rate (other)

No 10-K data

Pension expected asset return (other)

No 10-K data

Pension plan contributions (other)

No 10-K data

Plants outside U.S. (other)

No 10-Q data

Postretirement plan contributions (other)

No 10-K data

Product line simplification impact (other)

No 10-K data

Remaining authorized repurchases (other)

No 10-K data

Remaining share repurchase authorization (other)

No 10-K data

Reportable segments (other)

No 10-Q data

Reporting units (other)

No 10-K data

Reporting units subject to goodwill impairment testing (other)

No 10-K data

Reporting units with assigned goodwill (other)

No 10-K data

Reporting units with goodwill (other)

No 10-K data

Research and Development Expenses (other)

No 10-Q data

Research and development expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Research and development expenses (other)

No 10-Q data

Restructuring expense (other)

No 10-K data

Return on Average Invested Capital (other)

No 10-Q data

Return on average invested capital (other)

Return on invested capital (other)

Revenue from outside the U.S. (other)

No 10-Q data

SG&A and R&D ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Segment operating margin (other)

No 10-K data

Selling and administrative expense ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Selling, administrative and R&D expense ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Selling, administrative and R&D expenses (other)

No 10-K data

Share repurchases (other)

No 10-K data

Shares Outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Shares repurchased (other)

Shares reserved under stock plan (other)

No 10-K data

Total Debt to Capitalization (other)

No 10-K data

Total Debt to EBITDA (other)

No 10-Q data

Total debt (other)

No 10-K data

Total debt to EBITDA (other)

Total debt to EBITDA ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Total debt to adjusted EBITDA (other)

No 10-K data

Total debt to capitalization (other)

No 10-K data

Total debt to total capitalization (other)

U.S. Patent Applications (other)

No 10-Q data

U.S. Patents (other)

No 10-Q data

U.S. commercial construction activity (other)

No 10-K data

U.S. patent applications (other)

No 10-Q data

U.S. patents (other)

No 10-Q data

US Patents (other)

No 10-Q data

US patents (other)

No 10-Q data

US patents owned (other)

No 10-Q data

Unexpired U.S. patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Unexpired US patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Unexpired foreign patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Unexpired patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Unvested restricted stock (other)

No 10-K data

Unvested stock options (other)

No 10-K data

Variable margin expansion (other)

No 10-K data

Worldwide auto build change (other)

No 10-K data

Worldwide auto build growth (other)

No 10-K data

Worldwide auto builds (other)

No 10-K data

Worldwide auto builds growth (other)

No 10-K data

Worldwide operations (other)

No 10-Q data

Y2K compliance completion (other)

No 10-K data

Y2K cost incurred (other)

No 10-K data

Y2K costs incurred (other)

No 10-K data

Y2K program cost (other)

No 10-K data

Y2K testing completion (other)

No 10-K data

Year 2000 compliance completion (other)

No 10-K data

Year 2000 compliance cost (other)

No 10-K data

Year 2000 program cost (other)

No 10-K data

Year 2000 program cost - capital expenditures (other)

No 10-K data

Year 2000 program cost - expensed (other)

No 10-K data

Year 2000 program cost incurred (other)

No 10-K data

Properties (properties)

Floor space (square_footage)

No 10-Q data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data

Demographics

No demographic data found.

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No point-in-time HCM metrics found.

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No flow HCM metrics found.

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2025-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2025-10-012025-10-01Test & Measurement and ElectronicsUSD 120 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition completed October 1, 2025 for $120 million net of cash acquired, subject to closing adjustments; purchase price allocation pending. Headcount added not disclosed; amount is purchase price, not a charge.
2024-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2024-01-022024-01-02Test & Measurement and ElectronicsUSD 57 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price net of cash acquired; headcount added not disclosed; described as not material individually or in aggregate
2024-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2024-04-012024-04-01Test & Measurement and ElectronicsUSD 59 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price net of cash acquired; headcount added not disclosed; described as not material individually or in aggregate
2024-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2024-08-052024-08-05Corporate (noncontrolling equity interest in Wilsonart International Holdings LLC)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of noncontrolling equity interest for $398M ($395M net of costs) with $363M pre-tax gain; associated headcount not disclosed
2024-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2024-01-022024-01-02Test & Measurement and ElectronicsUSD 57 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition completed for $57 million net of cash acquired; no headcount disclosed. Purchase price subject to closing adjustments; purchase price allocation pending.
2024-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2024-04-012024-04-01Test & Measurement and ElectronicsUSD 59 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition completed for $59 million net of cash acquired; no headcount disclosed. Purchase price subject to closing adjustments; purchase price allocation pending.
2024-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2024-01-02Test & Measurement and ElectronicsUSD 57 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition completed January 2, 2024 for $57 million net of cash acquired; purchase price allocation pending. Headcount added through the acquisition is not disclosed. Announcement date not separately disclosed; completion date used.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2023-04-03Specialty Productsother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Plans approved in Q4 2022 (exact announcement date not disclosed); business sold April 3, 2023 with no significant gain or loss. Divested business contributed $9M operating revenue in 2023; headcount not disclosed.
2023-12-31restructuringin_progressMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A cites higher restructuring expenses in 2023 versus 2022 as a driver of operating income change; no restructuring footnote, employee counts, or charge amounts are disclosed.
2023-09-30otherin_progress2023-09North AmericaAutomotive OEMMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Third-party automotive industry labor actions (strike) beginning in September 2023 caused customer shutdowns that negatively impacted the segment's organic revenue; not an ITW workforce action and no ITW employee count disclosed.
2023-06-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-12-312023-04-03Specialty Productsother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Specialty Products business sold 2023-04-03 with no significant gain or loss; no headcount impact disclosed. Divestiture plan approved in Q4 2022.
2023-03-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-10-012023-04-03Specialty Productssubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Business classified as held for sale in Q4 2022 and sold April 3, 2023; no significant gain or loss expected. No employee count disclosed. Assets held for sale were $10 million at March 31, 2023.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-06-302022-10-03GlobalPolymers & FluidsUSD 156 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Business sold 2022-10-03 for $220 million, resulting in a pre-tax gain of $156 million. Divested business had operating revenue of $76 million for the year ended 2022-12-31. No employee count disclosed.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-06-302022-12-01GlobalFood EquipmentUSD 41 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Business sold 2022-12-01 for $59 million, resulting in a pre-tax gain of $41 million. Divested business had operating revenue of $30 million for the year ended 2022-12-31. No employee count disclosed.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2022-12-312023-12-31GlobalSpecialty Productsdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Plans approved in Q4 2022 to divest one Specialty Products business; presented as held for sale at 2022-12-31 with assets of $8 million and liabilities of $1 million. Business had operating revenue of approximately $37 million for the year ended 2022-12-31. Company expects to sell within one year. No employee count disclosed.
2022-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-10-03Not disclosedPolymers & Fluids segmentother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of a Polymers & Fluids business completed 2022-10-03 for $220 million, with an expected pre-tax gain of about $156 million in Q4 2022; plans approved during Q2 2022 with no specific announcement date given. No employee count, severance, or workforce impact disclosed.
2022-09-30divestiture_reductionin_progressNot disclosedFood Equipment segmentother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Second of two businesses classified as held for sale beginning Q2 2022 (combined 2021 revenue of $115 million with the Polymers & Fluids business); still held for sale at 2022-09-30 with no completion date or workforce impact disclosed.
2022-06-30divestiture_reductionin_progressGlobalPolymers & Fluids segment; Food Equipment segmentother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board-approved plans in Q2 2022 to divest two businesses (combined 2021 revenue $115 million), classified as held for sale at 2022-06-30; no headcount, charge, or completion date disclosed. Exact announcement date not stated.
2022-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2021-12-01GlobalTest & Measurement and ElectronicsUSD 750 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price of $750 million for the MTS Test & Simulation business; associated charge is the purchase price, not a workforce charge. Headcount added through the acquisition is not disclosed; purchase price allocation still in process.
2022-03-31divestiture_reductionannounced2022Not specifiedCertain businesses with combined annual revenues of approximately $0.5 billionMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company reinitiating divestiture process in 2022, subject to Board approval; no headcount impact disclosed. Prior deferral attributed to the COVID-19 pandemic.
2021-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2021-12-012021-12-01GlobalTest & Measurement and ElectronicsUSD 750 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of the MTS Test & Simulation business from Amphenol completed December 1, 2021 for a $750 million purchase price; acquired headcount is not disclosed. Added $46 million of revenue in the one month ended December 31, 2021.
2021-09-30acquisition_additionannounced20212021-12-31GlobalTest & Measurement and ElectronicsUSD 750 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to acquire MTS Systems' Test & Simulation business from Amphenol for $750 million; expected to close in Q4 2021. No employee count disclosed.
2020-03-31plant_closurein_progressWorldwideManufacturing operations (all segments)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
As of April 30, 2020, about 10% of manufacturing facilities worldwide were temporarily closed due to government shutdown orders or lower customer orders; many open facilities operating at reduced capacity. No employee count or furlough/layoff numbers disclosed; company states it avoided widespread furloughs or layoffs.
2020-03-31divestiture_reductionin_progressNot disclosedTest & Measurement and Electronics (one business held for sale)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
One business remained classified as held for sale at March 31, 2020 and is expected to be sold within one year; two previously held-for-sale businesses (Automotive OEM and Specialty Products) were no longer probable of sale within a year due to COVID-19 and were reclassified. No headcount associated with these divestitures is disclosed.
2019-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2019-06-302019-12-31GlobalTest & Measurement and Electronics; Welding; Specialty Productsdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Three of six businesses approved for divestiture in Q2 2019 were sold in Q4 2019; net pre-tax gain of $44 million recorded. No headcount associated with the divestitures was disclosed.
2019-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2019-06-302020-12-31GlobalTest & Measurement and Electronics; Automotive OEM; Specialty Productsdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Three remaining businesses classified as held for sale at 2019-12-31, expected to be sold within one year; no headcount disclosed. Part of a program covering businesses with revenues up to $1 billion.
2019-09-30divestiture_reductionin_progressGlobalTest & Measurement and Electronics; Automotive OEM; Welding; Specialty ProductsUSD 4 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Plans approved in Q2 2019 to divest six businesses, classified held for sale and expected sold within one year; no employee counts disclosed. The $4 million is an estimated loss on held-for-sale classification of two Specialty Products businesses, not severance.
2019-09-30divestiture_reductionannouncedGlobalUnspecified businesses under portfolio reviewMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company exploring options, including potential divestitures, for businesses with annual revenues totaling up to $1 billion; no decision made and no headcount impact quantified. Any EPS dilution expected to be offset by share repurchases.
2019-06-30divestiture_reductionin_progressGlobalTest & Measurement and Electronics (2 businesses); Automotive OEM (1); Welding (1); Specialty Products (2)USD 4 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Plans to divest six businesses approved in Q2 2019; classified as held for sale and expected to be sold within one year. No employee counts disclosed. The $4 million represents estimated losses on held-for-sale classification of two Specialty Products businesses, recorded in Other income (expense), not severance. Company also exploring divestiture options for businesses with annual revenues up to $1 billion; no decisions made.
2018-12-31divestiture_reductionannouncedNot specifiedCertain businesses under portfolio reviewItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer states it is exploring options, including potential divestitures, for certain businesses with revenues totaling up to $1 billion; no headcount, timing, or charge disclosed. Any resulting EPS dilution expected to be offset by share repurchases.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2016-07-01GlobalAutomotive OEMbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of the Engineered Fasteners and Components business from ZF TRW completed July 1, 2016 for approximately $450 million; acquired headcount not disclosed.
2016-12-31restructuringin_progressGlobalMultiple segments (e.g., Welding, Test & Measurement and Electronics)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring expenses referenced as a component of segment operating-margin changes in 2016; no employee counts, severance amounts, or program details disclosed in this filing.
2016-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2016-07-01GlobalAutomotive OEMUSD 450 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of the Engineered Fasteners and Components business from ZF TRW; purchase price approximately $450 million. Headcount added was not disclosed. Preliminary purchase price allocation assigned $236 million to goodwill and $95 million to intangible assets.
2016-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2016-07-012016-07-01Automotive OEMUSD 450 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price approximately $450 million for the Engineered Fasteners and Components business from ZF TRW; no headcount disclosed.
2014-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2014-02-062014-05-01GlobalIndustrial Packaging segmentUSD 1,700 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Industrial Packaging business to The Carlyle Group for $3.2 billion; $1.7 billion pre-tax gain ($1.1 billion after-tax) recorded in Q2 2014. Headcount not disclosed; gain is not a severance charge.
2014-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-09-012014-06-30North AmericaConstruction Products segment — construction distribution businessdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Classified as held for sale in Q3 2013 and sold in Q2 2014; headcount not disclosed. Announcement date approximate (Board authorization September 2013).
2014-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-09-012014-06-30GlobalVarious — remaining held-for-sale businesses (transportation, machine components, chemical manufacturing, specialty coatings)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer states all businesses previously classified as discontinued operations were divested as of Q2 2014; individual headcounts not disclosed. Specialty coatings sold Q4 2013; other businesses sold during 2013.
2014-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2014-02-062014-05-01GlobalIndustrial Packaging segmentother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Industrial Packaging segment to The Carlyle Group for $3.2 billion completed May 1, 2014; no employee count disclosed.
2014-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-09-302014-06-30GlobalConstruction Products segment — construction distribution businessother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Construction distribution business divested in Q2 2014; no employee count disclosed.
2014-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-09-302013-12-31GlobalPolymers & Fluids segment — specialty coatings businessother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Specialty coatings business sold in Q4 2013; no employee count disclosed.
2014-03-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2014-02-062014-05-01GlobalIndustrial Packaging segmentsubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement to sell the Industrial Packaging segment to The Carlyle Group for $3.2 billion; transaction completed 2014-05-01 (after quarter end). No employee-impact count disclosed.
2014-03-31divestiture_reductionannounced2013-09-302014-06-30United StatesConstruction Products segment — construction distribution businessother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Held-for-sale construction distribution business; company expects sale by mid-2014. No employee-impact count disclosed.
2014-03-31restructuringin_progressGlobalMultiple segments (Test & Measurement and Electronics, Food Equipment, Welding, Specialty Products, Automotive OEM)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A attributes segment operating-margin changes partly to higher or lower restructuring expenses in Q1 2014; no restructuring footnote, employee counts, or charge amounts disclosed in this filing.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2014-02-062014-06-30GlobalIndustrial Packaging segmentdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Segment classified held for sale in Q3 2013; definitive agreement to sell to The Carlyle Group for $3.2 billion signed 2014-02-06, expected to close by mid-2014. No headcount disclosed; expected completion date is per filer's stated timing.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-03-312013-09-30GlobalSpecialty Products, Construction Products, Polymers & Fluids segmentsdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
First-quarter 2013 divestiture program: two transportation businesses, a machine components business, two construction distribution businesses and a chemical manufacturing business classified held for sale; most sold during Q2-Q4 2013. Announcement date is approximate (quarter in which plans were committed); no headcount or charge amounts disclosed.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2013-07-312014-06-30GlobalConstruction Products and Polymers & Fluids segmentsdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Third-quarter 2013 commitment to divest a construction distribution business and a specialty coatings business; coatings business sold in Q4 2013, construction distribution business expected to be sold by mid-2014. Announcement date approximate (quarter of commitment); no headcount disclosed.
2013-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedGlobalMultiple segmentsUSD 369 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Nine acquisitions completed in 2013 for $369 million net cash paid; no headcount added through acquisitions disclosed.
2013-09-30divestiture_reductionannounced2013-09-302014-06-30Industrial Packaging segmentother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board authorized a sale process in September 2013; segment classified as held for sale in Q3 2013, with sale expected by mid-2014. No employee count or severance amount disclosed; a $2 million pre-tax curtailment charge on the U.S. primary pension plan related to the reclassification was recorded in discontinued operations.
2013-09-30divestiture_reductionannounced2013-09-302014-03-31Construction Products segment — construction distribution businessother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Divestiture committed in Q3 2013 and classified as held for sale; no employee count disclosed. Filer expects to sell within the next year.
2013-09-30divestiture_reductionannounced2013-09-302014-09-30Polymers & Fluids segment — specialty coatings businessother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Divestiture committed in Q3 2013 and classified as held for sale; no employee count disclosed. Filer expects to sell within the next year.
2013-09-30divestiture_reductionin_progress2013-03-312014-03-31Specialty Products, Construction Products, and Polymers & Fluids segments — six businesses held for saleUSD 102 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q1 2013 divestiture commitments covering two transportation businesses, a machine components business, two construction distribution businesses, and a chemical manufacturing business; Q1 2013 charges were a $42 million goodwill impairment and $60 million of loss reserves on assets held for sale, recorded in discontinued operations. No employee counts disclosed; two construction distribution businesses expected to be sold by end of Q1 2014.
2013-03-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2013-03-312014-03-31Specialty Products; Construction Products; Polymers & FluidsUSD 102 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Committed plans to divest five businesses classified as held for sale; includes $42M goodwill impairment and $60M loss reserves on assets held for sale. No employee counts disclosed.
2013-03-31otherannounced2013-02-192013-12-31Industrial Packagingother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Review of strategic alternatives including possible sale or spin-off; expected to last through remainder of 2013. No workforce impact quantified.
2012-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2012-08-152012-10-31GlobalDecorative Surfaces segmentother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
51% majority interest contributed to Wilsonart JV with Clayton, Dubilier & Rice; deconsolidated 2012-10-31; no headcount disclosed
2012-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2011-04-012012-04-02North AmericaAll Other segment — finishing group of businessesdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sold to Graco Inc. in a $650 million cash transaction; no headcount disclosed
2012-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2011-06-30GlobalAll Other segment — consumer packaging businessdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board approved divestiture in Q2 2011; business sold in the third quarter of 2012; no headcount disclosed
2012-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedGlobalMultiple segmentsUSD 723 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
23 acquisitions completed during 2012 for $723 million net cash paid; no headcount added disclosed
2012-12-31restructuringin_progressGlobalEnterprise-wide, including Construction Products and Industrial PackagingMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A cites increased restructuring/cost-reduction activities reducing 2012 operating margins by 1.9% overall (100 bps in Construction Products); no employee counts or severance amounts disclosed
2012-12-31otherannounced2013-02-192013-12-31GlobalIndustrial Packaging segmentsubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Announced after fiscal year-end, on the filing date; review of strategic alternatives including possible sale or spin-off, expected to last through 2013; no headcount disclosed
2012-03-31restructuringin_progressConsolidated (multiple segments)Multiple; largest margin impact in Construction ProductsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A cites increased cost-reduction/restructuring activities reducing operating income 3.8% and margins 0.6 points consolidated; no employee counts, severance amounts, or dates disclosed. No restructuring footnote in this filing.
2012-03-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2011-04-012012-04-02Not disclosedAll Other — finishing group of businesses (sold to Graco Inc.)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FTC cleared the $650 million sale in March 2012; transaction closed April 2, 2012 (subsequent event) with an estimated $450 million pre-tax gain in discontinued operations. Headcount removed not disclosed.
2012-03-31acquisition_additioncompletedNot disclosedAll Other (specialty gas/fluid flow measurement devices); Power Systems & Electronics (thermal processing/environmental equipment); Transportation (North American automotive aftermarket)USD 481 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition spend of $481 million in Q1 2012 (cash flow statement); MD&A names significant acquisitions in the trailing twelve months. Headcount added through acquisitions not disclosed.
2011-12-31restructuringin_progressGlobalMultiple segments (Transportation, Power Systems & Electronics, Industrial Packaging, Food Equipment, Polymers & Fluids, Construction Products, All Other)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2011 restructuring costs reduced operating margins in several segments (e.g., Transportation, Industrial Packaging, Food Equipment, Polymers & Fluids); no restructuring footnote, employee count, or charge amount is disclosed in this filing. No separate restructuring note appears in Item 8.
2011-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedGlobalMultiple segmentsUSD 1,308 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
28 acquisitions completed in 2011 for net cash of $1,308,164 thousand; acquired headcount is not disclosed. Charge value shown is net cash paid, not a workforce charge.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2011-042012-12-31GlobalAll Other — finishing group of businessesUSD 650 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement to sell the finishing businesses to Graco Inc. for $650 million cash; FTC filed a complaint challenging the deal in December 2011 and the company intends to divest in 2012. Classified as held for sale in Q2 2011; affected headcount not disclosed. Value is transaction price, not a workforce charge.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2011-062012-12-31GlobalAll Other — consumer packaging businessdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board approved divestiture plans in Q2 2011; business classified as held for sale at year-end with expected divestiture in 2012; headcount not disclosed.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2011-062011-12-31GlobalPower Systems & Electronics — electronic components businessdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Divestiture approved by the Board in Q2 2011 and completed in Q4 2011; a $3,675 thousand loss on sale was recorded within discontinued operations; headcount not disclosed.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted20112011GlobalDecorative Surfaces — flooring businessdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company exited a flooring business in the Decorative Surfaces segment in early 2011; results reported within discontinued operations; headcount not disclosed.
2011-06-30restructuringin_progressNot specifiedMultiple segments (Transportation, Industrial Packaging, Power Systems & Electronics, Food Equipment, Polymers & Fluids, All Other)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring costs are disclosed only as percentage-point effects on operating income change (e.g., (1.9)% in Q2 2011 consolidated); no employee counts, severance amounts, or completion dates are given. No restructuring footnote appears in this filing.
2011-06-30divestiture_reductionannounced2011-04-302011-12-31Not specifiedAll Other — finishing group of businessesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement in April 2011 to sell finishing businesses to Graco Inc. for $650 million cash; completion expected no earlier than Q4 2011 pending regulatory review. 2010 revenues of the businesses were about $305 million; no headcount disclosed. Announcement date recorded as month-end precision (April 2011).
2011-06-30divestiture_reductionannounced2011-06-302012-06-30Not specifiedAll Other (consumer packaging) and Power Systems & Electronics (electronics components)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board approved divestiture plans in Q2 2011 for two businesses with combined 2010 revenues of about $100 million; classified held for sale at June 30, 2011, with disposal expected within one year. No headcount disclosed. Announcement date recorded as quarter-end precision (second quarter 2011).
2011-03-31divestiture_reductionannounced2011-04-302011-06-30Not specifiedAll Other segment — finishing group of businessessubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
April 2011 definitive agreement to sell finishing businesses to Graco Inc. for $650 million cash; no employee count disclosed. Finishing businesses had approximately $305 million of 2010 revenues. Completion expected June 2011 at the earliest pending regulatory review.
2010-12-31restructuringin_progressGlobalMultiple segmentsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A attributes part of the 2010 operating-margin improvement to lower restructuring expenses versus 2009, reflecting 80/20-driven cost-reduction projects; no employee counts, severance amounts, or program dates are disclosed in this filing.
2010-12-31plant_closurein_progressGlobalDecorative SurfacesMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Segment discussion states the Company is in the process of closing its flooring business, which declined 37.1% in base revenues; no headcount, charge, or completion date disclosed.
2010-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedGlobalMultiple segmentsUSD 433 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
24 acquisitions completed in 2010 for $433.4 million net cash paid; charge value shown is acquisition consideration, not a workforce charge. No acquired headcount is disclosed; note states acquisitions did not materially affect results.
2009-12-31restructuringin_progressWorldwideConsolidated — multiple segmentsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer attributes higher 2009 restructuring charges to cost-reduction efforts amid weak economic conditions; no employee counts, severance amounts, or timelines disclosed. No restructuring footnote is presented in this filing.
2009-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2008-08-012009-06-30Not disclosedAll Other — Click Commerce industrial software businessdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board authorized divestiture in August 2008; sale completed in the second quarter of 2009. Headcount removed not disclosed; 2008 goodwill impairment of $132.6 million relates to this business.
2009-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2007-12-312009-09-30Not disclosedAutomotive components business (discontinued operation)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Classified as held for sale in Q4 2007; divestiture completed in the third quarter of 2009. Headcount removed not disclosed.
2009-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2009-12-31WorldwideConsolidated — 20 acquisitions completed during 2009USD 282 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
20 acquisitions completed in 2009 for net cash of $281.674 million; figure is purchase consideration, not a workforce charge. Headcount added through acquisitions not disclosed.
2009-06-30restructuringin_progressGlobalVarious segmentsMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Company incurred increased restructuring expenses in response to current economic conditions and decline in worldwide automotive production. Specific employee counts not disclosed.
2009-06-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2008-082009-06-30GlobalAll Other (Click Commerce)USD 29,827 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Completed sale of Click Commerce industrial software business in Q2 2009. Recorded pre-tax loss on disposal of $29.8 million. Employee count not disclosed.
2008-12-31restructuringin_progressWorldwideMultiple segmentsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring projects and cost-control measures implemented across segments in 2008 to align with declining economic conditions; restructuring costs reduced operating income by 1.1 percentage points in 2008. No employee counts or severance amounts disclosed; no separate restructuring footnote in this filing.
2008-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2008-08-012009-12-31WorldwideDecorative Surfaces segment; Click Commerce industrial software business (All Other segment)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board authorized divestiture in August 2008; businesses classified as held for sale in Q3 2008 and actively marketed for disposal during 2009. Headcount not disclosed; 2008 goodwill impairment of $132.6 million and $64.0 million loss reserve on assets held for sale relate to these and the automotive components business.
2008-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2007-10-012009-06-30North AmericaAutomotive components businessdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Classified as held for sale in the fourth quarter of 2007; actively marketed with expected disposal in the first half of 2009. Headcount not disclosed.
2008-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedWorldwideMultiple segmentsUSD 1,547 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
50 businesses acquired worldwide during 2008 for $1,546,982 thousand net cash; international businesses were approximately 39% of annualized acquired revenue. Acquired headcount not disclosed.
2008-09-30divestiture_reductionin_progress2008-082009-06-30GlobalDecorative Surfaces segment; Click Commerce industrial software business (All Other segment)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board authorized divestiture in August 2008; businesses actively marketed with disposal expected before the third quarter of 2009. Assets and liabilities classified as held for sale at 2008-09-30 ($619.8M assets, $206.5M liabilities). No employee counts disclosed.
2008-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2008-09-30GlobalConsumer packaging business (discontinued operations)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale completed in the third quarter of 2008 with a $25.1M gain on disposal; classified as held for sale since 2007-12-31. No employee counts disclosed.
2007-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progressUnited StatesConstruction; Consumer Packaging; AutomotiveUSD 40 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Divestitures of certain construction, consumer packaging and automotive machinery businesses completed in 2007, with after-tax gains of $40.2 million including a $7.0 million tax benefit; a consumer packaging and an automotive components business were classified as held for sale at December 31, 2007. No employee counts disclosed.
2007-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedWorldwideMultiple segmentsUSD 813 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
52 businesses acquired worldwide during 2007, with international businesses representing 71% of annualized acquired revenue; net cash paid of $812.8 million. No acquired headcount disclosed.
2007-12-31restructuringin_progressWorldwideMultiple segmentsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A describes ongoing 80/20-driven restructuring projects reducing costs and improving margins, with restructuring cost effects quantified only as margin percentage points by segment; no employee counts or severance amounts disclosed.
2007-06-30restructuringin_progressConsolidated (multiple segments)Multiple segmentsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A cites restructuring costs as a negative driver of operating income (about 1.5 points in Q2 and 1.4 points YTD), but no employee counts, severance amounts, or completion dates are disclosed in this filing.
2007-06-30divestiture_reductioncompletedNorth AmericaSpecialty Systems — North America (quality measurement business)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Quality measurement business divested during the second quarter of 2007; no headcount associated with the divestiture is disclosed.
2007-06-30divestiture_reductioncompletedInternationalSpecialty Systems — International (sleeve label business)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sleeve label business divested in the first quarter of 2007; no headcount associated with the divestiture is disclosed.
2005-12-31restructuringin_progressNorth America; InternationalMultiple segments (Engineered Products, Specialty Systems)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2005 restructuring costs referenced in MD&A change tables and segment discussions (e.g., industrial packaging, food equipment, decorating businesses); no employee counts or charge amounts quantified for FY2005.
2005-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedNorth America; Europe; Asia; AustraliaMultiple segmentsUSD 627 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
22 acquisitions completed in 2005 for $626.9 million net cash; purchase price disclosed but no headcount added disclosed.
2004-12-31restructuringin_progressGlobalMultiple segmentsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring costs cited as a factor in 2004 vs. 2003 operating income changes (2.3 percentage points of the 2004 change); no employee counts, severance amounts, or program details disclosed. 2005 forecast assumes $30-50 million restructuring costs.
2004-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedGlobalMultiple segmentsUSD 588 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
24 acquisitions completed in 2004 for $587.8 million net cash paid; headcount added through acquisitions not disclosed. Charge value is acquisition cash consideration, not a workforce charge.
2003-12-31restructuringin_progressWorldwideConsolidated (all manufacturing segments)USD 64 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring expense for the four quarters ended 2003; no employee-affected count or completion date disclosed. Segment-level restructuring expense cited in MD&A: Engineered Products–International $10M, Specialty Systems–North America $28M, Specialty Systems–International $31M. 2004 forecast assumes $55M–$65M of restructuring costs.
2003-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2003-12-31WorldwideMultipleUSD 204 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
28 acquisitions completed during 2003 with net cash paid of $203.726M and $141.699M of goodwill and intangibles recorded; acquired headcount not disclosed. Charge value shown is acquisition consideration, not a workforce charge.
2003-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2001-12-312003-11-07North AmericaConsumer Products segment (Florida Tile ceramic tile)USD 17 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Florida Tile completed 2003-11-07 for $11.5M cash proceeds; net after-tax loss on disposal of the segment of $16.534M recognized in 2003. Precor and West Bend were sold 2002-10-31 (prior year). Headcount removed not disclosed.
2003-12-31restructuringcompletedGlobalVarious segmentsUSD 64 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Operational cost savings resulted from benefits of the last four quarters of restructuring activity, which amounted to $64 million in expense.
2003-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2001-12-012003-11-07North AmericaConsumer Products (Discontinued Operations)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Divestiture of Consumer Products segment completed in 2003 with sale of Florida Tile. Precor and West Bend sold in 2002. No specific headcount reduction disclosed for 2003 actions.
2003-09-30restructuringin_progressGlobalConsolidated (all segments)USD 50 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A attributes operational cost savings to restructuring activity over the last four quarters totaling $50.0 million of expense; no employee counts, announcement dates, or completion dates are disclosed. Segment-level restructuring expense amounts are also cited but without headcount figures.
2003-09-30divestiture_reductionin_progress20012003-12-31North AmericaConsumer Products segment (Florida Tile)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board authorized divestiture of the Consumer Products segment in 2001; Precor and West Bend sold October 31, 2002. Company is actively marketing Florida Tile and intends to complete a sale by end of 2003. No headcount associated with the divestiture is disclosed.
2003-03-31restructuringin_progressNorth America and InternationalConsolidated (multiple segments)USD 55 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring activity over the last four quarters totaled $55.1 million across 70 projects; no employee counts disclosed. Segment-level restructuring expense for the quarter: $6.4M Engineered Products NA, $2.4M Engineered Products International, $30.4M Specialty Systems NA, $15.9M Specialty Systems International.
2003-03-31divestiture_reductionannounced2001-12-012003-12-31North AmericaConsumer Products segment (Florida Tile)USD 8 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board authorized divestiture of Consumer Products segment in December 2001; Precor and West Bend sold 2002-10-31, Florida Tile sale intended during 2003 with an additional $8.264M pretax loss estimate recorded in Q1 2003. No headcount disclosed for any of these businesses.
2003-03-31restructuringin_progressGlobalAll SegmentsUSD 55 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Operational cost savings resulted from benefits of last four quarters of restructuring activity, amounting to $55.1 million in expense related to 70 different projects. Employee count not disclosed.
2003-03-31restructuringin_progressNorth AmericaEngineered ProductsUSD 6 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Higher restructuring costs reduced income. Expense of $6.4 million related to last four quarters of restructuring activity.
2003-03-31restructuringin_progressInternationalEngineered ProductsUSD 2 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Higher restructuring costs reduced income. Expense of $2.4 million related to last four quarters of restructuring activity.
2003-03-31restructuringin_progressNorth AmericaSpecialty SystemsUSD 30 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Operational cost savings increased income mainly due to cost savings related to last four quarters of restructuring activity, amounting to $30.4 million in expense.
2003-03-31restructuringin_progressInternationalSpecialty SystemsUSD 16 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Operational cost savings mainly due to cost reductions related to last four quarters of restructuring activity, amounting to $15.9 million in expense.
2002-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2001-12-312003-12-31Primarily North AmericaConsumer Products segment (Precor, West Bend, Florida Tile)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Precor and West Bend sales completed 2002-10-31 (net cash proceeds $207.9 million); Florida Tile sale intended during 2003. No employee counts disclosed for the divested businesses.
2002-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2002-12-31USD 188 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer states acquisitions individually and in aggregate did not materially affect results; no headcount added through acquisitions is disclosed.
2002-12-31restructuringin_progressWorldwideAll segments; MD&A notes Specialty Systems — North America represented about 45% of two-year company restructuring costsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring activity discussed narratively across segments for 2002 and 2001; no employees-affected counts or discrete restructuring charge amounts are disclosed in this filing, and no restructuring footnote is presented.
2002-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2001-122002-10-31North AmericaConsumer Products segment (Precor, West Bend)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sales of Precor and West Bend completed October 31, 2002 with net cash proceeds of $207.9 million; no headcount disclosed. Board authorized divestiture in December 2001.
2002-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2001-12North AmericaConsumer Products segment (Florida Tile)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company actively marketing Florida Tile and intends to complete sale during 2003; estimated loss on 2003 sale recorded in 2002. No headcount disclosed.
2002-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUSD 188 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
21 acquisitions completed during 2002 with net cash paid of $188.2 million; no headcount added disclosed.
2002-12-31restructuringin_progressNorth AmericaSpecialty Systems - North America (industrial packaging, food equipment, decorating)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring costs incurred in 2002 tied to 80/20 simplification efforts; this segment represented about 45% of total company restructuring costs over the last two years. No employee counts or charge amounts disclosed.
2002-09-30divestiture_reductionannounced2001-122002-12-31North AmericaConsumer Products segment (Precor, West Bend, Florida Tile)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board authorized divestiture Dec 2001; Precor and West Bend sales completed 2002-10-31, Florida Tile sale expected Q4 2002. No headcount impact or severance disclosed; company does not expect a net loss on disposal.
2002-06-30divestiture_reductionin_progress2001-122002-12-31North AmericaConsumer Products segment (Precor, West Bend, Florida Tile)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board authorized divestiture in December 2001; intended sales by end of 2002, none sold as of 2002-06-30. No employee counts or workforce impact disclosed.
2001-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2001-12-312002-12-31Primarily North AmericaConsumer Products segment (Precor, West Bend, Florida Tile)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board authorized divestiture in December 2001; sales intended during 2002 with no expected loss. Headcount not disclosed.
2001-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2001-12-31USD 556 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
29 acquisitions completed in 2001 for net cash paid of $556.2 million; acquired headcount not disclosed.
2000-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedWorldwideMultiplebusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company acquired 45 operations during 2000; filer states none materially affected consolidated results. Headcount added through these acquisitions was not disclosed.
1999-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted1999-09-091999-11-23North AmericaSpecialty Systems / Consumer ProductsUSD 81 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger of Premark International completed 1999-11-23; 49,781,665 ITW shares issued. Pretax nonrecurring transaction and compensation costs of $81.0M (after-tax $70.8M). Headcount added not disclosed.
1999-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedGlobalMultiplebusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company acquired 31 operations during 1999; none materially affected consolidated results. Headcount added through these acquisitions not disclosed.
1999-09-30acquisition_additionannounced1999-09-09United Statesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger agreement with Premark International, Inc. announced 1999-09-09; no employee headcount or workforce impact disclosed in this filing
1995-12-31acquisition_additionannounced1996-01-01United StatesIndustrial Systems and Consumables (arc welding)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All common stock of Hobart Brothers Company acquired in early 1996 in exchange for ITW voting common stock; pooling of interests under APB 16. Headcount added not disclosed; combined two-month revenues of $731.8M and net income of $60.5M reported.
1995-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted1995-07-18other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Various acquisitions completed during the period; cash outflow of $146.6 million and liabilities assumed of $144.5 million disclosed for the nine months, but no headcount added is disclosed.
1995-09-30restructuringin_progressUSD 19 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Nine-month 1995 net reserve covering disposition, relocation and reorganization of certain facilities, revaluation of non-operating assets, and nonrecurring costs; employee counts not disclosed and charge is not solely workforce-related.