Goldman Sachs (GS)

Company ID: 225 | CIK: 0000886982
10-Q view:
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No 10-Q data

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Assets under supervision (aua)

Corporate principal investments (aum)

Unfunded equity capital commitments (backlog)

Third-party commitments raised (bookings)

Offices (branches)

No 10-Q data

Temporary staff and consultants (contractors)

No 10-K data

Common stockholders of record (customers)

No 10-Q data

Deposits (deposits)

Total staff (headcount)

Bank loans (loans_outstanding)

AUS net market appreciation (net_flows)

Net yield on interest-earning assets (net_interest_margin)

Nonperforming loans (nonperforming_loans)

AUM market appreciation (other)

No 10-K data

AUM net market appreciation (other)

No 10-K data

AUS market appreciation (other)

No 10-K data

Additional collateral or termination payments (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted leverage ratio (other)

Agency MBS securitized (other)

No 10-Q data

Aggregate reasonably possible loss in excess of reserves (other)

No 10-K data

Allowance for credit losses (other)

Allowance for loan losses (other)

No 10-K data

Alternatives commitments raised (other)

No 10-Q data

Announced M&A volume (other)

Announced mergers and acquisitions (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized return on average common equity (other)

No 10-K data

Annualized return on average common shareholders' equity (other)

No 10-K data

Assets securitized (other)

No 10-K data

Average Global Core Liquid Assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Average common equity (other)

No 10-K data

Average common shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Average daily VaR (other)

Average daily Value at Risk (other)

No 10-K data

Average daily Value-at-Risk (other)

Average effective management fee (other)

Average liquidity cushion (other)

No 10-Q data

Average management fee (other)

Board meetings held (other)

No 10-Q data

Book value per common share (other)

Book value per share (other)

CET1 capital ratio (other)

Capital returned to shareholders (other)

No 10-Q data

Client and fund management commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Collateral sold or repledged (other)

No 10-Q data

Commitments to extend credit (other)

No 10-K data

Committed capital funded (other)

No 10-Q data

Committed equity capital (other)

No 10-Q data

Committed equity capital raised (other)

No 10-Q data

Common share repurchases (other)

No 10-K data

Common shares outstanding (other)

Common shares repurchased (other)

Common stock outstanding (other)

Common stock repurchased (other)

No 10-K data

Common stock repurchases (other)

No 10-K data

Compensation Committee meetings (other)

No 10-Q data

Compensation and benefits ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Compensation ratio (other)

Compensation to net revenues ratio (other)

Compensation to revenues ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Completed M&A volume (other)

Completed mergers and acquisitions (other)

No 10-K data

Construction debt guarantee (other)

No 10-Q data

Construction-related commitments (other)

No 10-K data

Contract holder account balances (other)

No 10-K data

Corporate principal investments (other)

No 10-K data

Countries of operation (other)

No 10-Q data

Countries with offices (other)

No 10-Q data

Cumulative third-party commitments raised (other)

No 10-Q data

Daily VaR (other)

Daily Value at Risk (other)

No 10-K data

Daily Value-at-Risk (other)

No 10-Q data

Daily value at risk (other)

No 10-K data

Debt offering volume (other)

Debt offerings (other)

Debt offerings volume (other)

Debt to equity ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Debt underwriting volume (other)

No 10-Q data

Debt-to-equity ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Diluted earnings per common share (other)

Diluted earnings per share (other)

Director meeting attendance (other)

No 10-Q data

Distressed asset sensitivity (other)

No 10-K data

Dividend payout ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Dividends declared (other)

No 10-K data

Dividends declared per common share (other)

No 10-K data

Effective income tax rate (other)

Effective management fee (other)

Effective management fee rate (other)

No 10-K data

Effective tax rate (other)

No 10-K data

Efficiency ratio (other)

Equity and equity-related offering volume (other)

Equity and equity-related offerings (other)

Equity offering volume (other)

Equity offerings volume (other)

Equity underwriting volume (other)

No 10-Q data

Excess liquidity (other)

No 10-Q data

Excess liquidity (GCE) (other)

No 10-Q data

Excess liquidity pool (other)

No 10-Q data

Financial assets securitized (other)

Firmwide Value at Risk (other)

No 10-K data

Firmwide daily VaR (other)

Fund equity commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Fund investment commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Funded equity capital (other)

No 10-Q data

GMDB account balances (other)

No 10-Q data

GMDB net amount at risk (other)

No 10-Q data

GS Bank USA Tier 1 leverage ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

GS Bank USA total capital ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Global Core Excess (other)

Global Core Excess liquidity (other)

Global Core Liquid Assets (other)

Global core excess (other)

Global core excess (average) (other)

No 10-Q data

Global core excess liquidity (other)

No 10-Q data

Global core liquid assets (other)

Gross derivative notional – trading (other)

No 10-K data

High-yield debt and emerging market securities (other)

No 10-Q data

Holders of record (other)

No 10-Q data

IB transaction volumes (other)

No 10-K data

ICBC investment fair value (other)

No 10-Q data

Investment banking transaction volume (other)

No 10-K data

Investment banking volume (other)

No 10-K data

Investment banking volumes (other)

Lending commitments (other)

Letters of credit (other)

No 10-Q data

Letters of credit outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Level 3 assets (other)

Level 3 financial assets (other)

Leverage ratio (other)

Leveraged lending exposure (other)

No 10-K data

Liquidity Coverage Ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Liquidity coverage ratio (other)

Liquidity cushion (other)

No 10-Q data

Market value of non-affiliate stock (other)

No 10-Q data

Merchant banking capital funded (other)

No 10-Q data

Merchant banking commitments (other)

No 10-K data

Merchant banking commitments to invest (other)

No 10-Q data

Merchant banking committed capital (other)

No 10-Q data

Merchant banking fund commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Merchant banking funded capital (other)

No 10-Q data

Merchant banking investment commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Net amount at risk (other)

No 10-K data

Net charge-off ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Net charge-offs (other)

No 10-Q data

Net credit derivative protection (other)

No 10-K data

Net market appreciation (other)

Net market depreciation (other)

Net provisions for litigation and regulatory proceedings (other)

No 10-K data

Net revenues by geography (other)

No 10-Q data

Net revenues outside Americas (other)

No 10-Q data

Net stable funding ratio (other)

Non-fee-earning alternative assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Nontrading market risk sensitivity (other)

No 10-K data

Nontrading portfolio sensitivity (other)

No 10-K data

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

Office locations (other)

No 10-Q data

Offices (other)

No 10-Q data

Offices in countries (other)

No 10-Q data

On-balance sheet alternative investments (other)

No 10-Q data

Other client assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Outstanding equity awards (other)

No 10-Q data

Period-end VaR (other)

Period-end Value at Risk (other)

No 10-K data

Period-end Value-at-Risk (other)

No 10-K data

Power generation revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Pre-tax margin (other)

No 10-Q data

Prime brokerage markets (other)

No 10-Q data

Prime brokerage markets served (other)

No 10-Q data

Principal investments (other)

No 10-Q data

Principal investments carrying value (other)

Quarter-end VaR (other)

No 10-K data

Real estate investments (other)

No 10-K data

Regulatory net capital (other)

Regulatory net capital (GS&Co) (other)

No 10-Q data

Regulatory net capital (SLK) (other)

No 10-Q data

Regulatory net capital excess (other)

No 10-K data

Research coverage (other)

No 10-Q data

Research coverage companies (other)

No 10-Q data

Research coverage economies (other)

No 10-Q data

Research coverage — companies (other)

No 10-Q data

Research coverage — economies (other)

No 10-Q data

Retained interests (other)

No 10-K data

Retained interests in securitizations (other)

No 10-K data

Retained securitization interests (other)

No 10-K data

Return on average common equity (other)

Return on average common shareholders' equity (other)

Return on average tangible common equity (other)

Return on average tangible common shareholders' equity (other)

No 10-K data

Return on common equity (other)

No 10-K data

Return on equity (other)

Return on tangible common equity (other)

No 10-Q data

Return on tangible equity (other)

No 10-Q data

Return on tangible shareholders' equity (other)

No 10-Q data

SMFG price sensitivity (other)

No 10-K data

Securities pledged (other)

Securities received as collateral (other)

Securities sold or repledged (other)

No 10-K data

Securitized assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Securitized financial assets (other)

Shares available for future issuance (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Shares repurchased (other)

No 10-Q data

Staff outside Americas (other)

No 10-Q data

Supplementary leverage ratio (other)

Tangible book value per common share (other)

Tangible book value per share (other)

Third-party alternatives commitments (other)

Third-party alternatives commitments raised (other)

No 10-K data

Third-party commitments raised (other)

Tier 1 Leverage Ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Tier 1 common ratio (other)

Tier 1 leverage ratio (other)

Total Capital Ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Total Loss-Absorbing Capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Total alternative assets (other)

Total assets (other)

Total capital (other)

No 10-K data

Total capital ratio (other)

Total client assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Total cost of common share repurchases (other)

No 10-K data

Total shareholders' equity (other)

Trading assets at fair value (other)

No 10-K data

Trading liabilities at fair value (other)

No 10-K data

Transaction volume (other)

No 10-K data

Uncalled capital (other)

No 10-Q data

Underwriting commitments (other)

No 10-K data

Unfunded equity capital commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Unfunded lending commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Unrecognized incentive fees (other)

Unsecured long-term borrowings (other)

No 10-K data

Unsecured short-term borrowings (other)

No 10-K data

VaR exceedance days (other)

No 10-Q data

VaR exceedances (other)

No 10-Q data

Value at Risk (other)

No 10-K data

Value at risk (other)

No 10-K data

Value-at-Risk (other)

Value-at-Risk (year-end) (other)

No 10-Q data

Volunteer hours (other)

No 10-Q data

Year-end VaR (other)

No 10-Q data

Office space (square_footage)

No 10-Q data

CET1 Capital Ratio (tier1_capital)

Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-K data

Demographics

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No flow HCM metrics found.

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2025-12-31reduction_in_forcecompletedUSD 250 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Firmwide headcount reduction initiatives executed during 2025. The approximately $250 million severance expense was stated as largely, not exclusively, in connection with these initiatives; no affected-employee count was disclosed.
2025-12-31restructuringannouncedMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
OneGS 3.0: multi-year operating-model transformation announced during the fourth quarter of 2025, expected to drive expense efficiencies and create capacity for future growth; no headcount impact, charge amount, or completion date quantified.
2025-12-31restructuringin_progress2025-10-01GlobalFirmwideUSD 250 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
OneGS 3.0 multi-year operating model transformation announced Q4 2025; ~$250M severance expense recognized in 2025 for headcount reduction initiatives. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2025-12-31United StatesPlatform SolutionsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
GM credit card program sold to another issuer during 2025; headcount impact not quantified.
2025-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2025-12-012027-12-01United StatesPlatform SolutionsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to transition Apple Card program to another issuer; expected completion approximately 24 months. Headcount impact not quantified.
2025-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2025-10-012026-01-31United StatesAsset & Wealth ManagementUSD 665 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Industry Ventures acquisition ($665M plus up to $300M contingent consideration); closed January 2026. Headcount added not disclosed.
2025-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2025-12-012026-06-30United StatesAsset & Wealth ManagementUSD 2,000 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Innovator Capital Management acquisition (~$2.0B cash and equity); expected close Q2 2026 subject to regulatory approval. Headcount added not disclosed.
2025-12-31restructuringcompleted2025-12-31GlobalVariousUSD 250 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance expense recognized in connection with headcount reduction initiatives during the year.
2025-09-30restructuringcompletedUSD 170 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Approximately $170M severance expense in nine months ended September 2025, largely from a headcount reduction initiative in Q2 2025. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-09-30restructuringannounced2025-12-31FirmwideMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Multi-year initiative announced during Q4 2025 to transform operating model. Will constrain headcount growth through end of 2025 plus a limited reduction in roles. Employee count and charge not disclosed.
2025-09-30restructuringin_progress2025-09-302025-12-31GlobalFirmwideUSD 170 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Headcount reduction initiative in Q2 2025 with $170M severance expense. Q4 2025 announcement of 'OneGS 3.0' to constrain headcount growth through end of 2025 and limited role reductions.
2025-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD 140 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance expense of approximately $140 million recognized in H1 2025, substantially all tied to a headcount reduction initiative in Q2 2025. No employee count, geography, or completion date disclosed. Headcount decreased 2% vs March 2025 as a result.
2025-06-30restructuringcompleted2025-04-012025-06-30GlobalVariousUSD 140 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Headcount reduction initiative in Q2 2025; total headcount decreased 2% vs March 2025.
2025-03-31restructuringannounced2025-03-312025-06-30GlobalFirmwideUSD 150 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Planned headcount reduction expected in Q2 2025; number of employees affected not disclosed
2025-03-31restructuringannounced2025-03-312025-06-30GlobalFirmwideUSD 150 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Firm expects to record severance expense of approximately $150 million in Q2 2025 in connection with a planned reduction of headcount.
2024-12-31divestiture_reductioncompletedPlatform SolutionsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Sale of GreenSky was completed during 2024. MD&A notes year-over-year headcount growth of 3% was partially offset by the impact of the GreenSky sale, but the affected headcount was not quantified.
2024-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2025-09-30Platform Solutions — Consumer platformsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Agreement entered during 2024 to transition the GM credit card program to another issuer as part of narrowing consumer-related activities; transition expected to be completed in the third quarter of 2025. Employee impact not quantified.
2023-12-31reduction_in_forcecompletedGlobalFirmwideMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Firmwide headcount reduction initiative executed during 2023; headcount fell 7% year over year to 45,300. Number of employees affected and severance charge not disclosed.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced20232024-03-31United StatesPlatform Solutions — Consumer platformsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Agreement to sell GreenSky entered in Q4 2023; expected to close in Q1 2024. Majority of GreenSky installment loan portfolio sold in Q4 2023. Employee count affected not disclosed. Related 2023 charges included a $506 million intangible asset write-down and $504 million goodwill impairment.
2023-12-31otherannounced2023United StatesPlatform Solutions — Consumer platformsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Q4 2023 agreement with General Motors on a process to transition the GM credit card program to another issuer selected by GM; workforce impact not disclosed.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2023United StatesAsset & Wealth ManagementItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Personal Financial Management (PFM) business sold during 2023; resulting headcount reduction not quantified.
2023-12-31restructuringcompletedGlobalFirmwideMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Headcount decreased 7% from 48,500 (Dec 2022) to 45,300 (Dec 2023), primarily reflecting a headcount reduction initiative during the year. No specific employee count or severance charge disclosed for the initiative.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2023-12-312024-03-31United StatesPlatform Solutions — Consumer platforms (GreenSky)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to sell GreenSky entered in Q4 2023, expected to close Q1 2024. No employee count disclosed.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2023-12-31United StatesPlatform Solutions — Consumer platforms (GM credit card program)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement with GM in Q4 2023 to transition their credit card program to another issuer. No employee count disclosed.
2023-12-31restructuringcompleted20232023-12-31GlobalGlobalItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Headcount decreased 7% compared with December 2022, primarily reflecting a headcount reduction initiative during the year. Specific employee count not disclosed.
2023-09-30restructuringin_progressGlobalFirmwideUSD 275 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Headcount reduction initiative during 2023; severance costs of approximately $275 million for nine months ended September 2023. Headcount fell 5% from December 2022 to 45,900. No specific employee count or announcement date disclosed.
2023-09-30restructuringin_progress2023-01-01GlobalFirmwideUSD 275 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Headcount reduction initiative during the year; severance-related costs included in compensation and benefits expenses were approximately $275 million for the first nine months of 2023.
2023-06-30restructuringin_progressGlobalFirmwideUSD 260 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Headcount decreased 8% from December 2022 to June 2023, primarily reflecting a headcount reduction initiative during H1 2023. Severance-related costs in compensation and benefits were approximately $260 million for H1 2023. Specific employee count and announcement date not disclosed.
2023-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD 260 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Filer disclosed a headcount reduction initiative during the first half of 2023, resulting in an 8% decrease in headcount compared to December 2022. Severance-related costs included in compensation and benefits expenses were approximately $260 million for the six months ended June 2023. Specific employee count affected was not disclosed.
2023-03-31restructuringcompletedGlobalFirmwideUSD 220 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Headcount decreased 6% vs December 2022 due to a headcount reduction initiative during Q1 2023; severance-related costs were approximately $220 million. Specific employee count not disclosed.
2023-03-31restructuringin_progress2023-03-31GlobalFirmwideUSD 220 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Headcount decreased 6% compared with December 2022, primarily reflecting a headcount reduction initiative during the quarter. Severance-related costs included in compensation and benefits expenses were approximately $220 million.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedAmericasPlatform Solutions — Consumer platforms (point-of-sale financing)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
GreenSky, a technology company facilitating point-of-sale financing, acquired in an all-stock transaction completed during 2022; approximately 5.5 million common shares issued and $1.75 billion of equity delivered as consideration. Headcount added not quantified. MD&A attributes part of the 10% 2022 headcount growth to this acquisition. Combined purchase price of the GreenSky and NNIP acquisitions was $3.83 billion.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedEuropeAsset & Wealth Management — Asset managementbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
NN Investment Partners (NNIP), a leading European asset manager, acquired in an all-cash transaction completed during 2022; contributed AUS inflows and higher operating expenses. Headcount added not quantified. MD&A attributes part of the 10% 2022 headcount growth to this acquisition. Combined purchase price of the GreenSky and NNIP acquisitions was $3.83 billion.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedAsset & Wealth Management — digital retirement advicebusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
NextCapital Group, Inc., a digital retirement advice provider, acquired in an all-cash transaction completed during 2022; contributed AUS inflows. Headcount added not quantified.
2022-12-31otherin_progressUnited StatesAsset & Wealth Management — direct-to-consumer digital banking (Marcus by Goldman Sachs)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Firm disclosed that it began a process to cease offering new unsecured consumer loans through Marcus by Goldman Sachs, which it previously issued through the direct-to-consumer platform. No headcount impact, associated charge, or completion timeline quantified in the filing.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesPlatform Solutionsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
GreenSky (all-stock), NN Investment Partners (all-cash), and NextCapital Group (all-cash) completed during 2022 with aggregate purchase price of $3.83 billion. No headcount added through these acquisitions is disclosed. MD&A notes headcount increased 10% during 2022 primarily reflecting investments in growth initiatives and the acquisitions of NNIP and GreenSky.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedEuropeAsset & Wealth Managementbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
NNIP, a European asset manager, acquired in an all-cash transaction during 2022. No headcount added is disclosed.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2022-12-31GlobalAsset & Wealth Management; Platform SolutionsMD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Headcount increased 10% primarily reflecting investments in growth initiatives and acquisitions of NNIP and GreenSky.
2022-03-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesConsumer & Wealth ManagementMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
GreenSky acquisition completed March 2022; headcount increase attributed primarily to this acquisition. No specific employee count disclosed.
2019-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2019Consumer & Wealth Management (wealth management)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Closed during the third quarter of 2019; MD&A attributes part of the 5% year-end headcount growth to this acquisition. Goodwill increase of $398 million was attributed to United Capital. The 2019 cash flow statement reports $803 million of net cash used for business acquisitions in total, which also covers the SPIAS and Rocaton acquisitions and is not attributed solely to United Capital. Other 2019 acquisitions (SPIAS, Rocaton) are disclosed but with no headcount attribution.
2016-12-31restructuringcompleted7%FirmwideFirmwideMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Filer describes a firmwide expense savings initiative completed during 2016 (amid a challenging first half) that reduced annual run rate compensation by approximately $900 million; net 2016 savings after severance and other related costs were approximately $500 million. Year-end total staff decreased 7% during 2016, which the filer attributes to expense savings initiatives. No discrete employee-affected count or severance charge amount is disclosed.
2016-12-31restructuringcompletedGlobalFirmwideMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Expense savings initiative completed in first half of 2016 reduced annual run-rate compensation by approximately $900 million; net 2016 savings after severance and related costs were approximately $500 million. Total staff decreased 7% during 2016 (from 36,800 to 34,400).
2016-12-31restructuringcompleted2016-06-302016-12-31GlobalAll segmentsUSD 500 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Initiative identified areas to operate more efficiently, resulting in reduction of approximately $900 million in annual run rate compensation. Net savings for 2016 were approximately $500 million after severance and other related costs. Total staff decreased 7% during 2016 due to expense savings initiatives.
2016-06-30restructuringcompletedGlobalFirmwideMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Efficiency initiative completed during Q1 and Q2 2016 reducing annual run-rate compensation by approximately $700 million; expected net 2016 savings exceeding $350 million after severance. No employee count disclosed. Total staff decreased 5% during Q2 2016.
2016-06-30restructuringcompletedGlobalFirmwideMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Initiative completed in Q1 and Q2 2016 identifying areas for efficiency, resulting in $700 million reduction in annual run rate compensation. Expected net savings for full year 2016 exceed $350 million after severance and related costs. Specific headcount reduction not disclosed.
2014-12-31divestiture_reductioncompletedInvesting & LendingUSD 22 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Firm completed the sale of consolidated investment Metro International Trade Services LLC in December 2014; affected headcount not disclosed. Associated charge is a $22 million goodwill impairment recorded in connection with the sale (included in depreciation and amortization within the Investing & Lending segment).
2014-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedInvestment ManagementMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Acquisition of Deutsche Asset & Wealth Management's stable value business completed during 2014, adding $19 billion of fixed income assets under supervision; headcount added was not disclosed.
2014-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedInvestment ManagementMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Acquisition of RBS Asset Management's money market funds completed during 2014, adding $6 billion of liquidity-product assets under supervision; headcount added was not disclosed.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted20122013-04AmericasInstitutional Client Servicesother
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Americas reinsurance business classified as held for sale in Q4 2012; sale of a majority stake completed April 2013 and business deconsolidated with an approximately 20% retained interest. Employee headcount affected was not disclosed.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-122013-12Europeother
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Firm completed the sale of a majority stake in its European insurance business in December 2013, recognizing a gain of $211 million and retaining an approximately 36% interest at fair value. Employee headcount affected was not disclosed.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-04-302013-04-30AmericasInstitutional Client Services — Americas reinsurance businessMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Majority stake sold April 2013; business no longer consolidated. Headcount impact not disclosed.
2013-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2013-12-312013-12-31EuropeInstitutional Client Services — European insurance businessMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Majority stake sold December 2013; business no longer consolidated. Headcount impact not disclosed.
2013-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2013-12-312013-12-31United StatesInvestment ManagementMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition completed during 2013; contributed $34 billion of fixed income asset inflows. Headcount added not disclosed.
2012-12-31restructuringin_progress2011-04MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Firmwide efficiency initiative launched in Q2 2011; targeted annual run rate compensation and non-compensation reductions of approximately $1.9 billion announced in aggregate during 2012 and 2011. Specific headcount reductions not quantified; total staff declined 3% during 2012 (from 33,300 to 32,400). The $1.9 billion is a targeted run-rate reduction, not a recognized severance charge.
2011-12-31restructuringin_progress2011-04GlobalFirmwideMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Efficiency initiative launched during Q2 2011 (date approximated to quarter start) targeting roughly $1.4 billion of annual run rate compensation and non-compensation expense reductions; no employee headcount impact was quantified. Total staff declined 7% during 2011.
2011-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2011-012011-09United StatesInstitutional Client ServicesUSD 220 (millions)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Residential mortgage servicing subsidiary Litton Loan Servicing LP classified as held for sale in Q1 2011 (date approximated) and sold to a third-party purchaser in Q3 2011 (completion approximated to quarter end); roughly $220 million impairment recognized in Q1 2011. No employee count tied to the divestiture was disclosed.
2011-09-30restructuringin_progress2011-06-302011-12-31GlobalAll segmentsUSD 1 (billions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Initiative to identify areas to operate more efficiently and reduce operating expenses. Estimated $1.4 billion in annual run rate compensation and non-compensation reductions. Achieved through reduction in total staff and planned expenditures.
2008-11-28othercompletedUSD 275 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Filing discloses approximately $275 million of severance costs incurred in the fourth quarter of fiscal 2008 (Aug 30 - Nov 28, 2008), excluded from the reported compensation ratio; no affected headcount or named program is disclosed. MD&A separately notes employment levels fell 8% during the fourth quarter (year-end headcount down 1% from November 2007). No restructuring footnote is presented in the financial statements.
2008-11-28restructuringcompleted2008-11-28GlobalFirmwideUSD 275 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A cites severance costs of approximately $275 million in the fourth quarter of 2008 and states employment levels fell 1% vs. November 2007, including an 8% decrease during the fourth quarter; no employee count or formal program is disclosed.
2008-11-28restructuringcompletedGlobalAll businessesUSD 275 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Firm reduced number of employees across nearly all businesses during latter portion of the year; severance costs of approximately $275 million incurred in fourth quarter.
2008-08-29acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesAsset Management and Securities ServicesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A attributes part of the 7% employment-level increase over the first nine months of 2008 to the acquisition of Litton Loan Servicing LP; no headcount figure is disclosed. Seasonal school hires also contributed to the increase.
2008-05-30acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesAsset Management and Securities ServicesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A states employment levels increased 3% during the first half of 2008 due to the acquisition of Litton Loan Servicing LP; no specific headcount figure disclosed.
2008-02-29acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesAsset Management and Securities ServicesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A states employment levels rose 4% during the quarter, driven mainly by the Litton Loan Servicing LP acquisition; no employee count is disclosed for the acquisition.
2006-11-24acquisition_additioncompleted2005-12-302005-12-30United StatesTrading and Principal Investments — Equities (Insurance Activities)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Fiscal 2006 acquisition of the closed-block variable annuity and variable life insurance business of The Hanover Insurance Group, Inc. (formerly Allmerica Financial Corporation), dated December 30, 2005 (within fiscal 2006). Headcount added was not disclosed. Consolidated cash flows report $1,661 million of business acquisitions, net of cash acquired, in fiscal 2006, not attributed in the filing to this transaction.
2005-11-25acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesTrading and Principal Investments — power generationother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of National Energy & Gas Transmission, Inc. (NEGT) closed during fiscal 2005 with purchase price allocation adjustments for NEGT and Cogentrix; exact closing date and headcount added not disclosed.
2005-11-25acquisition_additioncompleted2005-08-012005-12-30United StatesAsset Managementsubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement entered August 2005 to acquire the variable annuity and variable life insurance business of The Hanover Insurance Group (Allmerica); closed 2005-12-30 after fiscal year-end at ~$271 million upfront plus ~$34 million over three years. Headcount added not disclosed; announcement month only (day inferred as first of month).
2004-11-26othercompletedGlobalCorporate / Real EstateUSD 41 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Firm reduced global office space during fiscal 2004; exit costs of $41 million recorded in occupancy and depreciation and amortization. No associated headcount reduction is disclosed; further exit costs may be incurred in 2005 and thereafter.
2004-11-26acquisition_additioncompletedChinaInvestment BankingUSD 62 (millions)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Establishment of Goldman Sachs Gao Hua Securities Company Limited, an investment banking and securities venture in China; $62 million recorded as an unallocated fiscal 2004 expense. No headcount associated with the venture is disclosed.
2003-11-28acquisition_additioncompleted1,0372003-07-01United StatesAsset ManagementMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
The Ayco Company, L.P., a fee-based financial counseling provider acquired July 1, 2003, added 1,037 employees included in the 19,476 year-end headcount; excluding Ayco, employment levels were down about 7% from November 2002. Ayco goodwill was recorded primarily in the Asset Management segment. No acquisition charge is separately attributed to headcount in the disclosure.
2003-11-28acquisition_additioncompleted1,0372003-07-012003-07-01United StatesAsset ManagementMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Headcount added through the combination with The Ayco Company, L.P., a fee-based financial counseling provider, completed July 1, 2003; included in the 19,476 year-end total. Excluding Ayco, employment levels were down 7% from November 2002.
2003-11-28acquisition_additioncompleted1,0372003-07-01United StatesAsset ManagementMD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Includes 1,037 employees associated with the combination with Ayco, a provider of fee-based financial counseling, in July 2003.
2003-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted1,0282003-07-01United StatesAsset Management and Securities ServicesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Headcount added through the July 1, 2003 acquisition of The Ayco Company, L.P.; MD&A attributes the 6% quarterly rise in employment levels primarily to these employees, with levels essentially unchanged excluding Ayco.
2003-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted1,0282003-07-01MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Headcount increase due to inclusion of employees from the acquisition of Ayco.
2002-11-29othercompleted13%MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Firmwide net 13% decline in employment levels versus November 2001, attributed to expense-reduction initiatives and lower discretionary compensation; no discrete reduction-in-force program, affected-employee count, or associated charge disclosed.
2002-11-29otherin_progress13%GlobalFirmwideMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer states employment levels decreased 13% from November 2001 (22,677 to 19,739) as part of cost-containment and expense-reduction initiatives first implemented in 2001. No discrete program name, affected-employee count, severance charge, or completion timeline is disclosed; percent is the disclosed year-over-year headcount decline, not a program-specific figure.
2001-11-30acquisition_additioncompleted2,6002000-10-312000-10-31United StatesSecurities clearing, execution and market makingUSD 290 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Combination completed October 31, 2000 (prior fiscal year); 2,600 employees included in the 22,627 headcount at November 2000. The $290 million charge relates to a $702 million RSU retention pool for SLK employees and was recognized in fiscal 2000, not fiscal 2001. Retained here as the acquisition-related headcount addition referenced in the current filing.
2001-11-30acquisition_additioncompleted2,6002000-10-312000-10-31GlobalAsset Management and Securities ServicesMD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Headcount added related to the combination with SLK LLC, completed October 31, 2000.
2001-05-25acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesGlobal Capital Markets; Asset Management and Securities ServicesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Inclusion of Spear, Leeds & Kellogg, L.P. (SLK) drove part of the 39% increase in employment levels; no headcount added is quantified. Goodwill/intangible amortization of $64 million (quarter) and $126 million (six months) relates to the SLK acquisition.
2001-02-23acquisition_additionannounced2001-03-192001-03-19United StatesGlobal Capital Markets — equities specialist operations (NYSE floor)USD 250 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Completed acquisition of Benjamin Jacobson & Sons, LLC for approximately $250 million in stock and cash; approximately 1.45 million common shares issued (Part II, Item 2). No employee count disclosed.
2000-11-24acquisition_additioncompleted2,600United StatesSecurities clearing and execution, floor-based and off-floor market makingbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Combination with SLK LLC completed October 31, 2000; 2,600 employees included in year-end headcount of 22,627.
2000-11-24acquisition_additioncompleted2,6002000-10-312000-10-31GlobalSecurities Clearing and ExecutionMD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Combination with SLK LLC completed on October 31, 2000. Includes 2,600 employees.
2000-08-25acquisition_additionannounced2000-09-112000-12-31United StatesSecurities clearing and execution; floor-based and off-floor market makingUSD 900 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Combination with Spear, Leeds & Kellogg, L.P. announced after quarter close; consideration includes ~34 million GS shares and ~$2 billion cash, plus a $900 million GS stock retention pool for all SLK employees with varying vesting. No SLK headcount figure disclosed; expected to close before year-end subject to regulatory approvals. Charge value shown is the retention pool, not a severance charge.
1999-11-26acquisition_additioncompleted1999-09-24GlobalGlobal Capital Markets — Equities (electronic market making)USD 187 (millions)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Date shown is the completion date; no separate announcement date disclosed. The Hull Group acquired 1999-09-24; 4,024,637 common shares issued as part consideration. Headcount added not disclosed. Charge is FY1999 consolidated cash paid for acquisitions, net of cash acquired, attributed primarily to The Hull Group per consolidated cash flow statement.
1999-11-26acquisition_additioncompleted1999-09-241999-09-24GlobalEquities / Electronic Market MakingItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of The Hull Group completed September 24, 1999; headcount added not disclosed. 4,024,637 shares of common stock issued in connection with the acquisition.