| Period End | Type | Status | Affected | % Workforce | Announced | Expected Completion | Geography | Segment / Function | Charge | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Primarily United States (92 of 96 closures, net of conversions); remainder Canada, with net positive conversion effect in Europe | Traditional branch network (North America and international branches) | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | During fiscal 2023, 96 branches closed net of conversions (10 opened; net branch decline of 86). Part of multi-year U.S. network rationalization ongoing since 2013 (cumulative decline of 1,090 branches). No employee count or severance charge disclosed; company expects reduced closing activity beginning in 2024. | |||||
| 2023-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Primarily United States and Canada | Branch network | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 96 branch locations closed or converted during 2023 (US 92, Canada 5, net +1 outside North America) against 10 openings, a net decline of 86 branches. Filer attributes this to ongoing strategic rationalization and normal churn and expects reduced closing activity from 2024; no associated headcount reduction or charge is quantified. | |||||
| 2023-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Branch network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 23 branch closures net of conversions during Q3 2023 (76 for the nine-month period); no associated headcount reduction or charge disclosed. Filer attributes closures to normal churn and review of underperforming locations | |||||
| 2023-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Onsite locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 29 Onsite closures net of conversions during Q3 2023 (97 for the nine-month period); no associated headcount reduction disclosed | |||||
| 2023-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Branch network (in-market locations) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 28 branch closures net of conversions during Q2 2023 (53 net closures YTD 2023), against 3 branch openings in the quarter; no associated headcount or charge disclosed. Filer characterizes closings as normal network churn and ongoing review of underperforming locations. No restructuring, RIF, or acquisition-related headcount actions disclosed in this filing. | |||||
| 2023-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | Branch network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 25 branch closures net of conversions in Q1 2023 (versus 2 openings); filer characterizes closings as normal network churn and discloses no associated employee count or charge. | ||||||
| 2023-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | Onsite locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 33 Onsite closures net of conversions in Q1 2023 (versus 84 activations); no associated employee count or charge disclosed. | ||||||
| 2022-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Primarily North America; one international branch (Europe) | Branch network (traditional and international branches) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | 122 branches closed or converted during 2022 (U.S. 115; Canada 5; Mexico 1; Europe 1), a net decline of 110 branches. Management characterizes this as routine churn within a multi-year rationalization (1,004 net branch decline since 2013). No employee-impact figure disclosed; total company headcount grew 9.2% in 2022. | |||||
| 2022-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | North America and Europe | Onsite locations (customer-site service points) | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | 99 Onsite locations closed or converted in 2022 (U.S. 94; Canada 3; Mexico 1; Europe 1); affected service often reverts to local branch management. Onsite base nonetheless grew net by 207 to 1,623; employee impacts not quantified. | |||||
| 2022-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | North America and international | Branch network | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | In 2022 the company opened 12 branches and closed 122, net of conversions; no associated workforce reduction quantified. No restructuring, RIF, or acquisition-related headcount actions disclosed for FY2022. | |||||
| 2022-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Branch network (in-market locations) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Net branch closures during Q2 2022; no associated headcount reduction or charge disclosed. Branch count fell from 1,760 at Q1 2022 to 1,737 at Q2 2022 | |||||
| 2022-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Onsite locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Net Onsite closures during Q2 2022; no associated headcount reduction or charge disclosed. Active Onsites grew from 1,440 at Q1 2022 to 1,501 at Q2 2022 | |||||
| 2021-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Primarily United States and Canada | Branch network (in-market locations) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Full-year 2021 branch rationalization: 220 branches closed or converted (10 opened; net decline of 210). Figure is a location count, not an employee count, and includes conversions of branches to Onsite locations per table footnote. Geographic split: US (216), Canada (6), Europe net +2. No employee impact quantified and no restructuring charge disclosed. | |||||
| 2021-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | United States, Canada, and international | Branch network (in-market locations) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Ongoing branch rationalization (net decline of 894 branches since 2013); no associated severance or restructuring charge disclosed and no affected-employee count given. Location table shows 222 closed/converted in North America, partly offset outside North America. Separately, 91 Onsite locations were closed/converted net in 2021 against 242 activations. | |||||
| 2021-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Branch network (in-market locations) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Public branch count fell from 1,921 at Q2 2021 to 1,859 at Q3 2021. No associated headcount reduction, severance charge, or WARN notice disclosed; MD&A attributes closures to normal churn and review of underperforming locations. | |||||
| 2021-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Onsite locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Active Onsite count rose from 1,323 at Q2 2021 to 1,367 at Q3 2021 despite net closures. No associated headcount impact disclosed. | |||||
| 2021-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | In-market locations (branches) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Branch closures net of conversions during Q2 2021; no associated headcount, severance, or charge disclosed. MD&A also notes 150 branches closed over the trailing 12 months and 24 Onsite locations closed net of conversions in Q2 2021 (62 activated). | |||||
| 2021-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Branch network (in-market locations) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Opened two branches and closed 46 branches, net of conversions, in Q1 2021; no associated headcount or charge disclosed. Branch count fell from 2,003 to 1,959. | |||||
| 2021-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Onsite locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Activated 48 Onsite locations and closed 28, net of conversions, in Q1 2021; active Onsites grew to 1,285. No associated headcount or charge disclosed. | |||||
| 2020-12-31 | reduction_in_force | completed | 1,132 | In-market locations (branches & Onsites); distribution/transportation; manufacturing | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Net FTE headcount reduction over fiscal 2020, driven by cost management in response to weak demand from traditional manufacturing and construction customers amid COVID-19; includes a 976 FTE decline at in-market locations. Not a formally announced severance program and no charge disclosed; partly offset by additions in IT and support roles. Absolute headcount fell 7.2% to 20,365. | |||||
| 2020-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Global in-market network (primarily United States) | Public branch locations (in-market selling network) | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Closed or converted 123 branches during 2020 (12 opened), leaving a net decline of 111 public branches to 2,003. Filer attributes closures to normal churn and ongoing review of underperforming locations; no employee count attributed. | |||||
| 2020-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2020-03-30 | Information Technology / industrial vending platform technology | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Asset acquisition of certain Apex assets (patents, software, vending supply chain access) for $125.0 million total purchase price. MD&A confirms the transaction added employees, primarily to IT teams; employee count not disclosed. | |||||
| 2020-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 1,132 | 2020-12-31 | Worldwide | Company-wide (in-market, distribution/transportation, manufacturing) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Net reduction of 1,132 FTE employees over the twelve months ended 2020-12-31, driven by expense management in response to weaker demand from traditional manufacturing and construction customers amid COVID-19. Includes a 976 FTE decline in in-market locations plus distribution and manufacturing reductions, partly offset by additions in non-branch selling, IT (including Apex-related hires), and corporate roles. Filer does not label this a formal restructuring or RIF program and discloses no severance charge. | |||
| 2020-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2020-12-31 | United States, Canada, Mexico, and international | Public branch network (in-market locations) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 123 branches closed (net of conversions) and 12 opened during 2020, a net decline of 111 branches; part of ongoing network rationalization since 2013 (cumulative decline of 684 branches). Workforce impact of the closures is not quantified. Closures by geography per Item 1 roll-forward: U.S. 117, Canada 4, Mexico 1, Central/South America 1. | ||||
| 2020-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2020-03-30 | 2020-03-30 | United States | Industrial vending platform | USD 125 (millions) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Purchase of certain assets of Apex Industrial Technologies LLC (patents, designs, software, licenses, and vending supply-chain access) for $125.0 million, accounted for as an asset acquisition rather than a business combination. Employees transferred, if any, are not disclosed; MD&A references IT headcount additions reflecting the Apex transaction. | ||
| 2020-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 1,132 | 2020-01-01 | 2020-12-31 | Global | In-market locations, Distribution, Manufacturing | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Reduction in total FTE headcount of 1,132 primarily related to managing expenses in response to weaker demand from traditional manufacturing and construction customers due to COVID-19. Includes decline in in-market FTE of 976. | ||
| 2020-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2020-03-30 | 2020-03-30 | United States | Information Technology | USD 125 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Acquisition of certain assets of Apex Industrial Technologies LLC. Added employees to Information Technology teams. | ||
| 2020-09-30 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2020-03-30 | Non-branch selling and support roles | USD 125 (millions) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Purchase of assets of Apex Industrial Technologies LLC; MD&A states certain employees joined in non-branch selling and support roles but gives no headcount | ||||
| 2020-09-30 | other | in_progress | 1,602 | In-market locations, distribution centers, and manufacturing operations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Cumulative reduction of 1,602 total employees (1,420 in in-market locations) over the twelve months ended 2020-09-30 to control expenses amid weaker demand; not a discrete announced program and no severance disclosed | |||||
| 2020-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | Public branch locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 30 branches closed net of conversions during Q3 2020 (3 opened); no associated employee count disclosed | ||||||
| 2020-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | Onsite locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 33 Onsite locations closed net of conversions during Q3 2020 (57 activated); no associated employee count disclosed | ||||||
| 2020-09-30 | reduction_in_force | completed | 1,602 | North America | In-market locations, distribution centers, and manufacturing operations | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Reduction in total absolute employee headcount by 1,602 people during the last twelve months, mostly from personnel reductions in in-market locations, distribution centers, and manufacturing operations to control expenses in response to weaker demand. | ||||
| 2020-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Branch locations | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed 30 branches, net of conversions, in the third quarter of 2020. | |||||
| 2020-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Onsite locations | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed 33 Onsite locations, net of conversions, in the third quarter of 2020. | |||||
| 2020-06-30 | layoff | in_progress | 1,565 | North America | Company-wide; 1,390 of the reduction in in-market locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Trailing-twelve-month change (Q2 2019 to Q2 2020), not a discrete quarterly event; MD&A attributes it to cost control amid weaker COVID-19 demand. No severance charge disclosed. Part-time headcount down 14.5% and full-time down 3.8% year over year; FTE down 9.4%. | ||||
| 2020-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Public branch network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | During Q2 2020 the company also opened four branches; branch count fell from 2,091 to 2,060. Associated employee reductions not separately quantified. | |||||
| 2020-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Onsite locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | During Q2 2020 the company activated 55 new Onsite locations; active Onsites rose from 1,179 to 1,212. Closures reflect customer-driven churn; associated employee reductions not quantified. | |||||
| 2020-06-30 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2020-03-30 | United States | Industrial vending platform (non-branch selling and support roles) | USD 125 (millions) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Accounted for as an asset acquisition, not a business combination; MD&A notes employees added from Apex but no headcount figure is disclosed. Charge value is the $125.0 cash purchase price, not a severance or restructuring charge. | |||
| 2020-06-30 | restructuring | completed | 1,565 | North America | In-market locations, distribution centers, and manufacturing operations | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Reduction in total absolute employee headcount over the last twelve months, mostly from personnel reductions in in-market locations, distribution centers, and manufacturing operations. | ||||
| 2020-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Branches | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed 35 branches, net of conversions, in the second quarter of 2020. | |||||
| 2020-06-30 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2020-03-30 | United States | Corporate functions | USD 125 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Acquisition of Apex Industrial Technologies LLC assets; headcount additions reflected in non-branch selling and support roles. | |||
| 2020-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | Branch network (public branch locations) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Closed 26 branches during the quarter, net of conversions; three branches opened. No associated employee count or charge disclosed; MD&A attributes closings to normal churn and review of underperforming locations. | ||||||
| 2020-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | Onsite locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Closed 22 Onsite locations during the quarter, net of conversions; 87 activated. No associated employee count or charge disclosed. | ||||||
| 2020-03-31 | other | in_progress | Company-wide | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | COVID-19 response actions include reduced hiring activity, adjusted pay programs and limited discretionary spending; no quantified headcount impact or severance charge disclosed. | ||||||
| 2020-03-31 | restructuring | completed | 335 | North America | In-market locations | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Reduction in absolute employee headcount in in-market locations over the last twelve months to control branch expenses. | ||||
| 2020-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Branches | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed 26 branches, net of conversions, in Q1 2020. | |||||
| 2020-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Onsite locations | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed 22 Onsite locations, net of conversions, in Q1 2020. | |||||
| 2019-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 124 branches in North America (U.S. 119, Canada 4, Mexico 1); 1 in Asia | Public branch selling locations | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Opened 12 branches and closed 125 branches (net of conversions) during 2019, a net decline of 113; part of a multi-year network rationalization ongoing since 2013. Closures driven by customer migration, factory closures, supply-chain evolution, and Onsite transitions. Employees affected by closures individually not disclosed; net headcount in in-market locations fell by 38 during 2019. | |||||
| 2019-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Primarily North America (U.S. 78, Canada 7, Mexico 7) | Onsite locations (dedicated single-customer sites) | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Activated 312 Onsite locations and closed 92 (net of conversions) during 2019. Closings reflect normal business churn (customer relationship exits, customer facility shutdowns/relocations, customer decisions) as well as a review of certain underperforming locations. Employees affected not disclosed. | |||||
| 2019-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Primarily United States; also Canada, Mexico, and international | Public branch network | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | During 2019 the filer opened 12 branches and closed or converted 125 (net of conversions), a net decline of 113 branches; closures reflect normal churn, customer facility relocations, and review of underperforming locations. No associated workforce reduction count or charge disclosed; no discrete announcement date. | |||||
| 2019-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Primarily United States; also Canada, Mexico, and international | Onsite locations (dedicated customer sites) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 312 Onsite locations activated and 92 closed or converted (net of conversions) during 2019, ending the year with 1,114 active sites; closures largely reflect customer contract churn and relocations. No associated workforce reduction count or charge disclosed. | |||||
| 2019-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | 2019-09-30 | United States | In-market public branch locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | During Q3 2019 the company opened two branches and closed 22; one branch converted from public to non-public and two non-public locations converted to public branches. No associated headcount reduction or charge disclosed; closures reflect network review of underperforming locations and normal churn | ||||
| 2019-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | Public branch network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Opened three branches and closed 24 branches during Q2 2019; one branch converted from public to non-public location. No associated headcount reduction, severance, or charge disclosed. | ||||||
| 2019-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Branch network (in-market locations) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | During Q1 2019 the company opened 3 branches, closed 42 branches, and converted 1 branch from public to non-public; it also activated 66 Onsite locations and closed 15. No employee-impact counts or charges disclosed. | |||||
| 2018-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Primarily United States (145 branches) and Canada (10); also Africa (2) | Public branch network | Item_1_Business f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | 157 branches closed during 2018 against 11 openings, with 10 additional branches converted to Onsite or non-public locations, yielding a net branch decline of 156. No headcount impact attributed to the closures; total workforce grew during the year. | |||||
| 2018-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | United States, Canada, and South Africa | Public branch network | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | During 2018 the company opened 11 branches, closed 157 (United States 145, Canada 10, South Africa 2), and converted 10 public branches to Onsite or non-in-market locations, for a net decline of 156 branches. No associated workforce reduction, severance, or charge is disclosed; branch closures reflect network rationalization and migration to the Onsite model rather than stated job cuts. | |||||
| 2018-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | Branch network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Occurred during Q3 2018; no associated headcount reduction or charge disclosed. Two additional branches were converted from public branches to non-public locations. Public branch count declined from 2,418 at Q3 2017 to 2,261 at Q3 2018 | ||||||
| 2018-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Branch network (public branch locations) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | One additional branch was converted from a public branch to a non-public location. No associated employee reduction, severance charge, or affected-headcount figure was disclosed; public branch count fell from 2,383 at Q4 2017 to 2,290 at Q2 2018. | |||||
| 2018-03-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 123 | 2017-03-31 | United States (Hudsonville, Michigan) | Industrial and fastener supply distribution | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Headcount from the Manufacturers Supply Company (Mansco) acquisition included in total headcount as of March 31, 2018; acquisition closed March 31, 2017. | |||
| 2018-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Branch network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 49 branches closed during Q1 2018 with no branches opened; 5 additional branches converted from public to non-public locations. No associated employee count disclosed. | |||||
| 2018-03-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 123 | 2018-03-31 | United States | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Headcount related to Mansco acquisition included in total headcount as of March 31, 2018. | ||||
| 2017-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 127 | 2017-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | Hudsonville, Michigan, United States | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Company acquired certain assets of Manufacturers Supply Company (Mansco) on March 31, 2017; year-end total headcount includes 127 Mansco-related people. | |||
| 2017-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2017-12-31 | United States (118), Canada (6), Mexico (1), international (5) | Public branch network | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | 130 branches closed and 18 opened during 2017; an additional 8 branches converted from public branches to non-public locations. No affected-employee count disclosed, and total headcount still increased by 941, indicating closures were offset by growth-driver hiring. Closure counts by geography from Item 1 branch activity table. | ||||
| 2017-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 127 | 2017-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | United States (Hudsonville, Michigan) | Industrial and fastener distribution | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of Manufacturers Supply Company ('Mansco') completed 2017-03-31; purchase price $59.3 million. Headcount figure is the year-end count of acquired personnel included in the 20,565 total, not a gross addition figure | ||
| 2017-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2017-12-31 | Primarily United States | Public branch network | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Net decline of 120 branches in 2017 (plus 8 branches converted to non-public locations); no associated employee-reduction count or severance charge disclosed. Branch counts are facility counts, not workforce counts | ||||
| 2017-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 127 | 2017-03-31 | 2017-03-31 | United States | All functions | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Acquisition of Manufacturers Supply Company ('Mansco') on March 31, 2017. Total headcount at end of 2017 includes 127 people related to this acquisition. | ||
| 2017-09-30 | acquisition_addition | completed | 123 | 2017-03-31 | Hudsonville, Michigan, United States | Industrial and fastener distribution | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | MD&A states total headcount includes 123 people from the Manufacturers Supply Company (Mansco) acquisition, which closed 2017-03-31. Business combination footnote (Note 2) does not disclose an employee count. | |||
| 2017-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Public branch network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Opened 5 branches and closed 36 branches during Q3 2017; two additional branches converted from public to non-public locations. No associated employee-impact count disclosed. Public branch count fell from 2,503 at Q4 2016 to 2,418 at Q3 2017. | |||||
| 2017-09-30 | acquisition_addition | completed | 123 | 2017-03-31 | United States | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Headcount related to Mansco acquisition included in total headcount increase. | ||||
| 2017-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Branch network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Branch network optimization; the filing discloses no associated headcount reduction, severance charge, or closure timing detail. Five branches were also opened during the quarter. | |||||
| 2017-03-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2017-03-31 | United States (Hudsonville, Michigan) | Industrial and fastener distribution | business_combinations_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of certain assets and liabilities of Mansco closed 2017-03-31 for $57.9 cash plus contingent consideration up to $2.5; no employee count disclosed. | ||||
| 2017-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Store network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Opened 5 stores and closed 26 stores during the first quarter of 2017; no associated headcount reduction disclosed. | |||||
| 2017-03-31 | other | in_progress | 687 | United States | Stores (489 of the 687) and total company | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Trailing twelve-month reduction of 687 total employees (489 in stores) attributed primarily to natural attrition rather than a formal reduction program; figure is not a discrete quarterly action. | ||||
| 2016-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2016-12-31 | Primarily United States (140 of 144 closures; 3 in Canada, 1 elsewhere) | Retail store network | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | 144 stores closed or consolidated during 2016; about 90% were near another Fastenal store and about 85% had leases expiring within 18 months. Impaired future lease commitments deemed immaterial. CEO letter notes roughly 110 stores closed in H2 2016, partly prompted by Department of Labor regulation changes, with about 95% of customers and employees retained and served from nearby locations. No aggregate affected-employee count disclosed. | ||||
| 2016-12-31 | other | completed | 1,122 | 5.4% | 2016-12-31 | Primarily stores (995 of the 1,122 reduction was store headcount); remainder across distribution, manufacturing, administrative, and non-store selling | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Twelve-month decline in total headcount of 1,122 (-5.4% per disclosed change); store-based headcount fell 995 (-7.1%). Company attributes the reduction primarily to natural attrition rather than an active headcount reduction program; staffing returned to approximately end-of-2014 levels. | |||
| 2016-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Primarily United States | Store network (selling locations) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | About 90% of closed stores were near another Fastenal store and about 85% had leases expiring within 18 months; no meaningful sales impact. CEO letter attributes 110 closures in the second half of 2016 partly to Department of Labor overtime rule changes and states 95% of customers and employees were retained. Lease impairment costs were immaterial. No employee-affected count disclosed. | |||||
| 2016-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2016-12-31 | 2016-12-31 | North America | Store Operations | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed or consolidated 144 stores in 2016. Filing states reductions were primarily due to natural attrition and that 95% of customers and employees were retained/served from nearby locations. | |||
| 2016-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 1,122 | 2016-12-31 | 2016-12-31 | Global | All Functions | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Total headcount reduced by 1,122 people during the year, primarily attributed to natural attrition rather than an active headcount reduction program. | ||
| 2016-09-30 | plant_closure | in_progress | North America | Retail stores | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 99 stores closed or consolidated in the first nine months of 2016; about 90% were near another Fastenal store and about 85% had leases expiring within 18 months. No employee count or charge disclosed; company intends to continue evaluating closures into 2017. | |||||
| 2016-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Retail Stores | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed or consolidated 99 stores in the first nine months of 2016. About 90% were in close proximity to another store; 85% had leases expiring within 18 months. Closings did not have a meaningful impact on sales. | |||||
| 2016-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Retail stores | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 34 stores closed or consolidated in the first six months of 2016, mostly expiring leases in multiple-store markets; filing states most impacted employees can operate from a nearby store and no headcount reduction was quantified. Related lease impairment expense was not material. | |||||
| 2016-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Retail Stores | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed or consolidated 34 stores in the first six months of 2016. Most were in multiple store markets with expiring leases. | |||||
| 2016-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Store locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 12 stores closed or consolidated in Q1 2016 (vs. 13 in Q1 2015), mostly in multiple-store markets with expiring leases; sales impact not considered meaningful. Filer states most impacted employees operate from a nearby store, and related impaired future lease costs were immaterial. No affected-employee count disclosed. | |||||
| 2016-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Retail Stores | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed or consolidated 12 stores in Q1 2016. Most were in multiple store markets with expiring leases. Impact to sales not considered meaningful. | |||||
| 2015-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Store locations | Item_1_Business f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | 50 stores closed or consolidated during 2015 (vs. 73 in 2014), occurring throughout the year. Filer states most affected employees were redeployed to nearby stores; related future lease-commitment impairment expense was disclosed as not material. | ||||||
| 2015-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2015-10-31 | 2015-10-31 | Washington, Idaho, Oregon, and Montana, United States | Industrial and construction supply distribution (regional fastener distributor) | USD 23,493 (thousands) | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | All-cash asset acquisition of Fasteners, Inc. (based in Spokane, WA) completed October 31, 2015; cash paid per Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows. Headcount added through the acquisition was not disclosed. | ||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | announced | Brazil | Manufacturing (joint venture) | USD 4 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Decision made in Q4 2015 to terminate the manufacturing joint venture in Brazil; the approximately $4 million of Q4 expense was combined with settlement of several unrelated disputes. No workforce figures disclosed. Management characterized the exit as a positive development allowing focus on growth. | ||||
| 2015-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2015-12-31 | North America (primarily United States and Canada) | Store operations | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 50 stores closed or consolidated during 2015 (73 in 2014); no employee count, severance amount, or store-level headcount disclosed. Filer describes most closures as consolidations into nearby stores. | ||||
| 2015-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2015-10-31 | 2015-10-31 | United States (Washington, Idaho, Oregon, Montana) | Industrial and construction supply distribution | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | All-cash purchase of certain assets of Fasteners, Inc.; cash paid for acquisitions of $23,493 thousand shown in investing activities. No headcount added disclosed; filer states no material impact on 2015 or 2016 net sales. | |||
| 2015-12-31 | other | completed | 2015-12-31 | Brazil | Manufacturing joint venture | USD 4 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | In Q4 2015 the company decided to terminate its Brazil manufacturing joint venture and settled several unrelated disputes, totaling approximately $4 million of additional expense in the quarter; no headcount impact disclosed. | |||
| 2015-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Store network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 35 stores closed during the first nine months of 2015, described as consolidation into nearby locations rather than exits; 20 of the 35 were profitable in Q3 2014. Related lease impairment expense was not material and no employee-affected count was disclosed. | |||||
| 2015-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Retail Stores | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed 35 stores during the first nine months of 2015. Most impacted employees have a nearby store from which to operate. | |||||
| 2015-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | Retail store locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 26 stores closed during the first six months of 2015, described as consolidation into nearby Fastenal locations rather than exits; 16 of the 26 were profitable in Q3 2014. Related lease impairment expense was not material. No employee count, announcement date, or completion date disclosed. | ||||||
| 2015-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Retail stores | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Thirteen stores closed during Q1 2015 as part of an ongoing consolidation of locations into nearby Fastenal stores; no employee-impact count or charge disclosed for the quarter. Prior-year closures (about 52 in H2 2014) are outside this reporting period. | |||||
| 2015-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Retail Stores | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | During the first three months of 2015, the company closed thirteen stores. Most impacted employees have a nearby store from which to operate. | |||||
| 2014-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2014-12-31 | Store operations | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | 73 stores closed during 2014 (approximately 20 in H1 and 52 in H2, including a 45-store group identified in Q2 2014 for H2 closure); most characterized as consolidations into nearby locations, with most affected employees continuing to operate from nearby stores. Q2 2014 charge for impaired future lease commitments described as not material; an accrual related to store closings contributed to occupancy expense growth. Number of employees affected not disclosed. | |||||
| 2014-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2014-10-01 | 2014-10-01 | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Acquired certain assets of Av-Tech Industries, Inc., a wholesale distributor of aerospace fasteners, electronic components, and miscellaneous aircraft parts, on October 1, 2014; all-cash transaction (cash paid for acquisition of $5,575 thousand per consolidated statement of cash flows); headcount added not disclosed; filer states the business did not meaningfully impact 2014 results. | |||||
| 2014-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2014-12-31 | Primarily United States; all but a handful of locations were near another Fastenal store | Store network | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 73 stores closed during 2014 (vs. 16 in 2013). MD&A describes roughly 20 closures in the first half and 52 in the second half, with the second-half group identified in Q2 2014; those stores averaged about $36 thousand monthly sales and were profitable in Q1 2014. Filer states most sales were retained and most affected employees relocated to a nearby store; no employee-impact count or dollar charge quantified (lease impairment accrual described as not material). | ||||
| 2014-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2014-10-01 | 2014-10-01 | United States | Aerospace fasteners / electronic components distribution | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | All-cash acquisition of certain assets of Av-Tech Industries, Inc. completed 2014-10-01. Headcount added not disclosed; filer states the business had no meaningful impact on 2014 results and is not expected to materially affect 2015 net sales. | |||
| 2014-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2014-06-30 | 2014-12-31 | North America | Store Operations | Item 1. Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed 52 stores in total during the second half of 2014 (45 identified in Q2, plus additional closures). Filer states expense was not material and most impacted employees have a nearby store. | |||
| 2014-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2014-10-01 | 2014-10-01 | United States | Other | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Acquired certain assets of Av-Tech Industries, Inc. on October 1, 2014. Headcount not explicitly disclosed. | |||
| 2014-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | Fastenal store network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | About 20 stores closed during the first six months of 2014 (all but four near another Fastenal store); no employee count disclosed. Impaired future lease costs recorded in Q2 2014 were described as not material. | ||||||
| 2014-09-30 | plant_closure | in_progress | 2014-12-31 | Fastenal store network | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Identified during Q2 2014 (exact date not disclosed) an additional 45 stores to close in the second half of 2014, all but eight near another Fastenal store; about 40 closed during Q3 2014. Stores averaged about $36 thousand monthly sales and were profitable in Q1 2014. No employee count disclosed; most impacted employees can operate from a nearby store. | |||||
| 2014-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | 2014-06-30 | 2014-09-30 | North America | Retail Stores | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed about 40 stores in Q3 2014 as part of a group identified in Q2. Locations consolidated into nearby stores; expense not material. | |||
| 2014-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | Fastenal store locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Closed 20 stores during the first six months of 2014; all but four were near another Fastenal store. No employee count disclosed; most impacted employees expected to operate from a nearby store. | ||||||
| 2014-06-30 | plant_closure | announced | 2014-12-31 | Fastenal store locations | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Identified during Q2 2014 for closure in the second half of 2014: 45 additional stores, all but eight near another Fastenal store. Group was profitable in Q1 2014 with average sales of about $36 thousand per month; impaired future lease costs recorded in Q2 2014, described as not material. No employee count disclosed. | |||||
| 2014-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | 2014-06-30 | North America | Retail Stores | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed 20 stores in the first six months of 2014. Most impacted employees have a nearby store from which to operate. | ||||
| 2014-06-30 | plant_closure | announced | 2014-06-30 | 2014-12-31 | North America | Retail Stores | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Identified 45 stores to close in the second half of 2014. Expense not material; most impacted employees have a nearby store. | |||
| 2013-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Store locations | Item_1_Business f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | 16 store locations were closed during fiscal 2013, the same number as in 2012; employee impact and any associated charges were not quantified. | ||||||
| 2013-12-31 | other | completed | 1,407 | 2013-05 | 2013-12-31 | Store personnel | other f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Headcount addition, not a reduction: after concluding store hiring had been too restrained, management directed district and regional leaders to add staff, and 1,407 store personnel were added between May and December 2013. | |||
| 2013-12-31 | other | completed | 2013-12-31 | Regional and district sales leadership | other f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | In the latter half of 2013 the company expanded regional leaders by 14% and district leaders by 26% to deepen store support; absolute counts not disclosed. | |||||
| 2013-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Retail store locations | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Filer reports closing 16 stores during 2013 (same as 2012); no associated employee count or charge disclosed. Two store locations were also converted to non-store selling locations in 2013. | ||||||
| 2012-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Retail store locations | Item_1_Business f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | 16 store locations were closed during fiscal 2012; the employee impact of the closures is not quantified. Comparative 2011 closure figure not extracted. | ||||||
| 2012-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | North America and other international markets | Retail store network | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Filer closed 16 stores during 2012 (versus 28 in 2011); no associated headcount, severance, or charge is disclosed. Store count moved from 2,585 to 2,652 net of 80 openings. | |||||
| 2011-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2011 | 2011 | Store operations | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | 28 stores were closed during 2011 (versus seven in 2010); the filer attributed closures to a preference for serving those local markets with a different store footprint. No employee counts, severance, or charges were disclosed for the closures. | ||||
| 2011-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Retail store network | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Filer closed 28 stores in 2011 (seven in 2010; 64 cumulative over 40+ years), citing a preference for a different store footprint in those markets. No employees-affected count, dates, or associated charges are disclosed. | ||||||
| 2011-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | Retail stores | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 18 stores closed during the nine months ended September 30, 2011 (seven in the comparable prior-year period); no associated headcount impact or charge disclosed | ||||||
| 2011-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Retail stores | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Seven stores closed during the first six months of 2011 (seven also closed in the first six months of 2010); no associated employee count or charge disclosed. Cumulative closures of 41 stores over the company's 40+ year history. | |||||
| 2010-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2010-12-31 | North America | Retail store network | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Seven stores closed and one store converted during 2010; no associated employee count or charge disclosed. | ||||
| 2010-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 90 | 2009-12-18 | 2009-12-18 | United States | Manufacturing | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Purchased certain assets of Holo-Krome, a domestic manufacturer of socket products, with approximately 90 employees. | ||
| 2010-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | United States | Retail stores | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Seven traditional store locations closed during the six months ended June 30, 2010 (store count moved from 2,369 to 2,407 net of 45 openings and one conversion). No associated employee count or charge disclosed. MD&A adds that no more than one or two further closures are anticipated for the remainder of 2010. | |||||
| 2010-06-30 | plant_closure | completed | North America | Retail Stores | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed seven traditional store locations during the first six months of 2010. | |||||
| 2010-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | Retail stores | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Five traditional store locations closed and one strategic account store converted to customer-only during Q1 2010; no associated headcount reduction disclosed. Filer expects no more than one or two additional closures for the remainder of 2010. | ||||||
| 2010-03-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2010-03-31 | 2010-03-31 | United States | Retail Stores | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Closed five traditional store locations and converted one strategic account store location to a customer-only type during Q1 2010. | |||
| 2009-12-31 | other | completed | 2009-01 | Support personnel; headcount additions restricted to store openings and growing stores | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Hiring freeze announced January 2009; company halted headcount additions except for store openings and growing stores, and managed the downturn through reduced hours, lower temporary labor, and attrition rather than formal layoffs. Store headcount began stabilizing in Q3 2009 and the store-opening pace was stepped up from October 2009. | |||||
| 2009-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2009-12-31 | Retail stores | Item_1_Business f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Ten stores were closed during 2009 (one additional store converted); employee impact of the closures was not disclosed. | |||||
| 2009-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 90 | 2009-12-18 | 2009-12-18 | West Hartford, Connecticut, United States | Manufacturing — socket products (socket head cap screws) | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | All-cash asset purchase of Holo-Krome from Danaher completed December 18, 2009, adding approximately 90 employees; $5,032 thousand paid for inventory and fixed assets per Note 1 (purchase price, not a severance charge). | ||
| 2009-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 90 | 2009-12-18 | 2009-12-18 | United States (West Hartford, Connecticut) | Manufacturing (socket head cap screws) | USD 5,032 (thousands) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | All-cash purchase of certain assets of Holo-Krome for $5,032 thousand; acquired business described as having approximately 90 employees with established expertise. | |
| 2009-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2009-12-31 | United States / North America | Retail store network | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Ten stores closed and one converted during 2009; associated workforce impact not quantified by the filer. | ||||
| 2009-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 90 | 2009-12-18 | 2009-12-18 | United States | Manufacturing | USD 5,032 (thousands) | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Acquisition of Holo-Krome, a domestic manufacturer of socket products, with approximately 90 employees. | |
| 2008-12-31 | other | in_progress | 2008-08-29 | United States (state-law claims in California and Pennsylvania) | Store operations - Assistant General Manager position | USD 10 (millions) | other f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Mass settlement of a wage-and-hour class action (filed October 18, 2007) alleging Assistant General Managers were misclassified as exempt under the FLSA and state statutes. Cash payment covers class member claims, plaintiff attorneys' fees and costs, and payments to named plaintiffs; expense recorded in Q3 2008 and $10.0 million accrued at year-end. Preliminary agreement still subject to court approval at filing; not a headcount-reduction action. | |||
| 2007-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2007 | Retail store (opened 2002) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | One store closed during fiscal 2007, consistent with 161 openings and net store growth; no headcount or charge disclosed. | |||||
| 2007-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | Retail store operations | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | One store closed during 2007 (in the 2002-vintage store group); employees affected and charge not disclosed. No RIF, restructuring, acquisition, or divestiture activity disclosed for FY2007. | ||||||
| 2005-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2005 | Rockford, Illinois, United States | Manufacturing | other f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Small manufacturer of cold formed fasteners purchased during 2005 to fill a gap between specials manufacturing and high-volume purchased parts; purchase price and headcount added were not disclosed. | ||||
| 2005-12-31 | other | completed | 2005 | Gulf Coast, United States | Retail stores | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Hurricanes Katrina and Rita (Q3 2005) destroyed four stores outright, meaningfully impacted eleven more, and dislocated employees, though no employee fatalities occurred; company assisted affected personnel with temporary housing, vehicles, food, and clothing. Not a company-initiated workforce action; affected-employee count not quantified. | ||||
| 2005-12-31 | plant_closure | in_progress | 2005-08-29 | Gulf Coast, United States | Retail store operations | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Hurricane Katrina completely destroyed four stores and meaningfully impacted eleven others (wind/water damage, power or communication failures); no employee counts or charges disclosed. | ||||
| 2005-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | Rockford, Illinois, United States | Manufacturing Division | other f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Company purchased a small cold-formed fastener manufacturer during 2005; headcount added not disclosed. | |||||
| 2003-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 194 | 2002-10-03 | United States (Rockford, IL and Goodlettsville, TN facilities) | Support personnel (DIY Business — retail packaged fasteners) | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | DIY Business sold to The Hillman Group on 2002-10-03. Filing attributes an approximately 194-employee (8.0%) decline in average support personnel to this divestiture; the 8.0% relates to the support-personnel base, not total workforce. Sale closed in the prior fiscal year, with headcount impact reflected in 2003 average comparisons. | |||
| 2003-12-31 | other | completed | 234 | 18% | 2003 | Distribution centers | other f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Distribution centers ended 2003 with 234 fewer employees than at the start of the year. The 18% figure refers to the distribution-center workforce, not total company headcount. Reduction was made to hold distribution expenses flat during CSP investment and was accomplished entirely through attrition, aided by a high share of part-time employees. | |||
| 2003-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2003 | Retail store sites | Item_1_Business f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Company closed six stores during 2003; one closure in each store-age group except two in the 1997 group. No associated workforce count disclosed; only ten stores closed in company history through 2003. | |||||
| 2003-12-31 | other | completed | 234 | 18% | 2003-12-31 | United States | Distribution centers | other f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Distribution workforce ended 2003 with 234 fewer employees (18% reduction) versus the start of the year; achieved entirely through attrition, not layoffs. | ||
| 2003-12-31 | plant_closure | completed | 2003-12-31 | United States | Retail store sites | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Six stores closed during 2003 (one in each store-age cohort except the 1997 cohort, which closed two); no employee counts disclosed. | ||||
| 2003-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 194 | 2002-10-03 | 2002-10-03 | United States | Support Personnel | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Sale of DIY Business resulted in a drop of approximately 194 employees. | ||
| 2003-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 234 | 2003-01-01 | 2003-12-31 | United States | Distribution | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Distribution center workforce reduced by 234 employees (18%) entirely by attrition to hold expenses flat during CSP initiative. | ||
| 2003-09-30 | plant_closure | completed | Retail stores | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | MD&A states six stores were closed during the first nine months of 2003; no associated headcount reduction or charge is disclosed. | ||||||
| 2002-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2002-10-03 | 2002-10-03 | United States (Rockford, Illinois; Goodlettsville, Tennessee) | DIY Business (retail packaged fasteners) | discontinued_operations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of the DIY Business acquired from Textron on 2001-08-31; headcount transferred with the sale is not disclosed. A pre-tax gain of $5,934 thousand was recognized; no severance or restructuring charge disclosed. | |||
| 2002-09-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2002-10-03 | 2002-10-03 | United States | DIY Business (retail packaged products) | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of DIY Business to The Hillman Group on 2002-10-03 (subsequent event); headcount not disclosed; gain of $6-7 million expected in Q4 2002 | |||
| 2002-09-30 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2001-08-31 | 2001-08-31 | United States | DIY Business (retail packaged fasteners) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of assets of two Textron subsidiaries completed 2001-08-31; headcount added not disclosed; business operated at approximately break-even since acquisition | |||
| 2001-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2001-08-31 | 2001-08-31 | United States (facilities in Rockford, Illinois and Goodlettsville, Tennessee) | Retail packaged fasteners — Do-It-Yourself (DIY) retail business | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Acquired certain assets of two Textron Inc. subsidiaries that packaged and sold fasteners to the retail market. Number of employees added through the acquisition was not disclosed; business generated $8.5 million of net sales and operated near break-even in the four months post-close. Purchase price paid in cash at closing and described as not material. | |||
| 2001-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2001-08-31 | 2001-08-31 | United States (Rockford, Illinois; Goodlettsville, Tennessee) | Retail packaged fasteners (Do-It-Yourself business) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of certain assets of two Textron, Inc. subsidiaries; headcount added not disclosed. Contributed $8,526 thousand net sales from 2001-08-31 through year-end at approximately break-even | |||
| 2001-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2001-08-31 | 2001-08-31 | United States | Retail packaged products / DIY Business | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Acquired assets of two subsidiaries of Textron, Inc. on August 31, 2001. Specific headcount added not disclosed. | |||
| 2001-09-30 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2001-08-31 | United States | Retail fastener and related hardware business | business_combinations_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of assets and liabilities of the retail fastener business of two Textron subsidiaries; no employee count disclosed | ||||
| 1996-06-30 | acquisition_addition | United States | Janitorial supply business | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | MD&A cites the acquisition of a janitorial supply business among asset additions during the period; no headcount, date, or charge is disclosed. |