Extra Space Storage (EXR)

Company ID: 198 | CIK: 0001289490
10-Q view:
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No geographic segment data found.

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Average annual rent per square foot (existing) (adr)

Storage units (capacity)

No 10-Q data

Tenant insurance claims (claims_count)

No 10-Q data

Tenants leasing storage units (customers)

Field personnel (headcount)

No 10-Q data

Senior mezzanine note receivable (loans_outstanding)

Same-store occupancy (occupancy)

Contracted acquisition purchase price (order_book)

No 10-K data

Acquisition cash paid (other)

No 10-K data

Aggregate insurance coverage (other)

No 10-Q data

Aggregate tenant insurance coverage (other)

No 10-Q data

Available line of credit capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Average annual rent per occupied sq ft (other)

Average annual rent per occupied sqft (other)

No 10-Q data

Average annual rent per occupied square foot (other)

No 10-K data

Average annual rent per sq ft (other)

No 10-Q data

Average annual rent per sqft (other)

Average annual rent per square foot (other)

Average discount (other)

No 10-K data

Average discount on new leases (other)

No 10-K data

Average discount rate (other)

Average discounts (other)

Average discounts as percentage of rental revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Average insurance coverage (other)

No 10-Q data

Average length of stay (other)

Average rent per occupied square foot (other)

No 10-K data

Average rent per square foot (other)

Average rental discount (other)

No 10-Q data

Average rental discounts (other)

No 10-Q data

Average tenant insurance coverage (other)

No 10-Q data

Average tenant length of stay (other)

Bridge loans receivable (other)

No 10-Q data

CCS/CCU net operating income (other)

No 10-K data

CCS/CCU occupancy (other)

No 10-K data

CCS/CCU operating expenses (other)

No 10-K data

CCS/CCU rental revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Cash dividends per share (other)

No 10-K data

Commercial paper outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common stock shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Credit facility availability (other)

No 10-K data

Customer participation (other)

No 10-K data

Customer participation rate (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to enterprise value (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to total capitalization (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to total capitalization ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to total enterprise value (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to total enterprise value ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Derivative instruments (other)

No 10-K data

Derivative notional amount (other)

No 10-K data

Development pipeline (other)

Development pipeline projects (other)

Development projects (other)

No 10-Q data

Development projects in pipeline (other)

No 10-Q data

Development projects in process (other)

Development properties opened (other)

No 10-K data

Developments completed (other)

No 10-Q data

Developments scheduled (other)

No 10-Q data

Diluted FFO per share (other)

No 10-K data

Discounts as percentage of rental revenues (other)

No 10-Q data

Dividends per share (other)

No 10-Q data

Employee satisfaction (other)

No 10-Q data

FFO per share (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed rate debt percentage (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed rate debt ratio (other)

Fixed-rate debt percentage (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed-rate debt ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed-rate debt share (other)

No 10-Q data

Funds from operations (other)

Geographic footprint (other)

No 10-Q data

Initial loan draws (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate sensitivity (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swap notional (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swaps notional amount (other)

No 10-K data

JV stores under acquisition agreement (other)

No 10-K data

JV stores under agreement (other)

No 10-K data

Joint venture stores under agreement (other)

No 10-K data

Lease-up occupancy (other)

No 10-K data

Lease-up properties completed (other)

No 10-K data

Lease-up stores (other)

No 10-K data

Lease-up units (other)

No 10-K data

Line of credit capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Line of credit outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Lines of credit capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Lines of credit drawn (other)

No 10-K data

Managed stores for JVs and third parties (other)

No 10-K data

Managed stores including JVs (other)

No 10-K data

Median length of stay (other)

Median tenant length of stay (other)

Net rentable storage units (other)

No 10-Q data

New lease average annual rent (other)

No 10-K data

New lease rent per sq ft (other)

No 10-K data

New lease rent per sqft (other)

No 10-Q data

New lease rent per square foot (other)

No 10-K data

Non same-store rental revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

Number of reportable segments (other)

No 10-Q data

OP Units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

OP units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Operating Partnership units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Properties acquired (other)

Properties developed (other)

No 10-Q data

Property acquisitions (other)

No 10-K data

Property developments completed (other)

No 10-K data

Property rental revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Reinsurance participation (other)

No 10-K data

Rentable storage units (other)

No 10-K data

Rentable units (other)

No 10-K data

Rental units (other)

No 10-K data

SOFR rate sensitivity (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store NOI growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store expense growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store net operating income (other)

Same-store net operating income growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store occupancy (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store operating expense growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store operating expenses (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store pool (other)

Same-store pool properties (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store pool stores (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store properties (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store rental revenue growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store rental revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store revenue growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store revenues (other)

Self-storage units (other)

No 10-K data

Shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares repurchased (other)

No 10-K data

Stabilized stores (other)

No 10-K data

Stabilized units (other)

No 10-K data

States with operations (other)

States with properties (other)

States with stores (other)

No 10-Q data

Storage units (other)

Stores acquired (other)

Stores disposed (other)

No 10-K data

Stores held for sale (other)

No 10-K data

Stores managed (other)

No 10-K data

Stores managed for JVs and third parties (other)

No 10-K data

Stores under acquisition agreement (other)

No 10-K data

Stores under agreement (other)

No 10-K data

Stores under agreement to acquire (other)

No 10-K data

Stores under contract (other)

No 10-K data

Stores with equity interests (other)

No 10-K data

Stores with ownership interest (other)

No 10-K data

Tenant insurance aggregate coverage (other)

No 10-Q data

Tenant insurance coverage (other)

No 10-Q data

Tenant insurance participation (other)

Tenant reinsurance participation (other)

Tenant reinsurance participation rate (other)

No 10-K data

Total Asset Value (other)

No 10-K data

Total Face Value Debt (other)

No 10-K data

Total Unencumbered Asset Value (other)

No 10-K data

Total asset value (other)

No 10-K data

Total debt (other)

No 10-K data

Total debt face value (other)

No 10-K data

Total debt outstanding (other)

Total enterprise value ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Total face value of debt (other)

Training hours per employee (other)

No 10-Q data

Unencumbered asset value (other)

No 10-K data

Unencumbered stores (other)

No 10-K data

Units (other)

No 10-Q data

Unpaid claims liability (other)

No 10-Q data

Variable-rate debt (other)

Weighted average discount rate - finance leases (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average discount rate - operating leases (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average interest rate (other)

Weighted average lease term (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average remaining lease term - finance leases (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average remaining lease term - operating leases (other)

No 10-K data

us-gaap:NumberOfReportableSegments (other)

No 10-K data

Tenant insurance policies (policies_in_force)

No 10-Q data

CCS/CCU properties (properties)

Average tenant length of stay (retention)

Storage units (rooms)

No 10-Q data

Same-store rental revenues (same_store_sales)

Net rentable square feet (square_footage)

Stores in same-store pool (stores)

Units (units_shipped)

No 10-Q data

Tenants leasing storage units (users)

No 10-K data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No 10-Q data

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2023-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2023-07-202023-07-20United StatesSelf-storage operationsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger with Life Storage closed July 20, 2023, adding 757 wholly-owned stores and one consolidated joint venture store; headcount added through the merger is not disclosed.
2023-12-31restructuringcompleted2023-07-202023-12-31United StatesLife Storage integrationUSD 66,732 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Transition costs incurred for the Life Storage Merger, consisting primarily of severance under employment agreements with certain Life Storage employees and officers; number of employees affected not disclosed.
2023-12-31restructuringcompleted2023-07-202023-12-31United StatesCorporateUSD 67 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Costs incurred as part of the Life Storage Merger primarily consisting of severance paid as part of employment agreements with certain employees and officers of Life Storage.
2023-09-30restructuringcompleted2023-07-20USD 54,174 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Costs incurred as part of the Life Storage Merger, primarily consisting of severance paid as part of employment agreements with certain employees and officers of Life Storage. Employee count not disclosed.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2022-06-012022-06-01New York City, New YorkSelf-storage operations (Bargold Storage Systems, LLC)USD 179 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Business combination completed June 1, 2022 for approximately $179.3 million; acquired business had approximately 17,000 storage units at 97% occupancy. Employee headcount added not disclosed; $1,465 thousand of transaction costs expensed.
2015-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2015-06-152015-10-01United StatesRental operations; property managementUSD 6,338 (thousands)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger completed 2015-10-01; acquired 122 stores and assumed management of 43 SmartStop stores. SmartStop-related costs included $6,338 severance, $1,327 other payroll, $8,053 professional/closing fees, $38,360 defeasance/prepayment, and $9,043 other acquisition costs ($63,121 total). No employee headcount disclosed.
2015-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2015-12-31United StatesRental operationsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company acquired 171 stores during 2015, 161 of which it did not previously manage; no headcount added disclosed.
2015-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2015-10-012015-10-01United StatesRental operationsUSD 63,121 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of SmartStop Self Storage, Inc. on Oct 1, 2015. Included $6,338k severance-related costs and $1,327k other payroll-related costs. Total acquisition-related costs were $69,401k.
2013-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2013-12-31United States (multiple states)Property management, acquisition and developmentMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company acquired 78 properties during 2013, 47 of which it did not previously manage; associated headcount additions are not quantified in the filing.
2013-12-31othercompleted12013-12-312013-12-31Executive ManagementItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Retirement of Karl Haas, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, effective December 31, 2013.
2012-12-31othercompleted12011-12-072011-12-07Executive ManagementUSD 2,137 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance granted to former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Kent Christensen, who left the Company on December 7, 2011. Charge recorded in 2011.
2011-12-31othercompleted2011-12-072011-12-07United StatesExecutive — Chief Financial OfficerUSD 2 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance granted to former EVP and CFO Kent Christensen, who departed December 7, 2011; charge of $2,137 thousand recorded in FY2011 severance costs line. No employee-count disclosed.
2011-12-31othercompleted12011-12-072011-12-07Executive ManagementUSD 2,137 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance granted to former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Kent Christensen, who left the Company on December 7, 2011.
2010-12-31restructuringcompleted2009-06-022009-12-31United StatesDevelopmentUSD 1,400 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs related to wind-down of development program announced June 2, 2009. Charge recorded in 2009, no severance costs incurred in 2010.
2010-12-31plant_closurecompleted2009-12-012009-12-31Memphis, TNMarketingUSD 825 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closure of marketing office in Memphis, TN. Severance costs recorded in 2009.
2009-12-31restructuringin_progress2009-06-022011-12-31United StatesProperty management, acquisition and developmentUSD 1,400 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance recorded upon the announced wind-down of the development program; ten development projects remained to be completed through 2010 and 2011. Employees affected not disclosed. Amounts in thousands per filing convention.
2009-12-31plant_closurein_progress2009-12-01Memphis, Tennessee, United StatesMarketingUSD 825 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closure of the Memphis, TN marketing office begun in December 2009; announcement date approximated to month. Employees affected not disclosed. Amounts in thousands per filing convention.
2009-12-31restructuringcompleted2009-06-02United StatesDevelopmentUSD 1 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Wind-down of development program resulted in $1.4 million in severance costs.
2009-12-31plant_closurecompleted2009-12Memphis, TNMarketingUSD 1 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closure of marketing office in Memphis, TN resulted in $825,000 in severance costs.
2009-09-30restructuringin_progress2009-06-022010-12-31United StatesProperty management, acquisition and developmentUSD 1,400 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Wind-down of development program announced 2009-06-02; severance costs of $1,400 thousand recorded in the nine months ended 2009-09-30. Number of employees affected not disclosed. Company expects to complete 14 remaining development projects by Q4 2010.
2009-09-30restructuringin_progress2009-06-022010-12-31United StatesProperty management, acquisition and developmentUSD 18,883 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Impairment charges of $18,883 thousand to write down undeveloped land, in-process development projects, and development JV investments to fair value less cost to sell, arising from the same development-program wind-down. Recorded within unrecovered development and acquisition costs for the nine months ended 2009-09-30.
2009-09-30restructuringcompleted2009-06-02Development programUSD 1,400 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Company announced wind-down of development program on June 2, 2009. Recorded $1,400 thousand in severance costs. Employee count not disclosed.
2009-06-30restructuringin_progress2009-06-02United StatesProperty management, acquisition and developmentUSD 1,400 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance costs recorded in connection with the announced wind-down of the development program; number of employees affected not disclosed. Related $18,883 thousand impairment charges recorded in unrecovered development and acquisition costs.
2009-06-30restructuringcompleted2009-06-02DevelopmentUSD 1,400 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Company announced wind-down of development program. Recorded $1.4 million in severance costs. Employee count affected not disclosed.
2008-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited States (CO, IN, NY, MD, FL, CA)Rental operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Eleven wholly-owned properties acquired and nine developments completed during 2008; associated headcount added not disclosed.
2008-12-31otherannounced2009-02-022009-04-01United StatesExecutive managementsubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Chairman/CEO Kenneth M. Woolley taking a three-year leave from management effective April 1, 2009 while remaining on the board; President Spencer F. Kirk named successor.
2007-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2007-12-312007-12-31United StatesProperty management, acquisition and developmentUSD 46,674 (thousands)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Extra Space Development and related assets for approximately $46.7 million (three wholly-owned properties plus joint venture interests); headcount added through the transaction is not disclosed.
2007-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2007-12-31United StatesRental operationsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
During 2007 the company acquired 38 wholly-owned properties and a minority equity interest in one additional consolidated property (64 properties acquired in 2006-2007 combined per Note 5); associated headcount additions are not disclosed.
2006-12-31restructuringin_progress2005-07-14United Statesrestructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring liabilities from the July 2005 Storage USA acquisition (facility exit costs and severance). FY2006 activity: $1,777 thousand paid ($230 facility exit, $1,547 severance) plus $1,167 thousand of adjustments; $2,838 thousand facility exit liability remained at 2006-12-31 and severance balance reached zero. Employees affected not disclosed; charge amounts for FY2006 not clearly stated.
2006-12-31restructuringcompleted2005-07-142006-12-31United StatesCorporate / AdministrativeUSD 2 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs related to terminated employees of the prior business (SUSA acquisition). Accrued balance was $0.380M at Dec 31, 2005 and reduced to $0 by Dec 31, 2006.
2006-09-30restructuringin_progress2005-07-14United StatesCorporate / Operations (Storage USA acquired business)USD 1,167 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance restructuring from July 2005 Storage USA acquisition; $1,495K cash paid and $1,167K adjustments during nine months ended 2006-09-30; ending severance accrual $52K. No employee count disclosed.
2006-09-30restructuringin_progressUSD 1,167 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Adjustments to accrued restructuring liabilities for severance costs during the nine months ended September 30, 2006.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progress2005-07-14United StatesCorporate / prior Storage USA businessUSD 1,167 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance accrual roll-forward for the six months ended June 30, 2006: $380K opening, $1,374K cash paid, $1,167K adjustments, $173K closing. Related to terminated employees of the Storage USA business acquired July 2005; no employee count disclosed. A separate $4,638K facility exit cost liability relates to an unused leased facility.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD 1,167 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Adjustments to severance costs during the period. No employee count disclosed.
2006-03-31restructuringin_progressUnited StatesStorage USA acquired business (prior business employees)USD 2,441 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance accrual from the July 2005 Storage USA acquisition for terminated employees of the prior business; no employee count disclosed. Roll-forward for Q1 2006: $380 balance at 12/31/05, $(725) cash paid, $1,167 adjustments, $822 balance at 3/31/06. A related $4,638 facility exit cost (lease assumption) is not a workforce action.
2005-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2005-05-052005-07-14United StatesProperty management and development; rental operationsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
SUSA acquisition closed July 14, 2005; filer reports retaining several key SUSA executives and the majority of its field operations team, and assuming management of 60 franchise and third-party properties. No headcount figure disclosed.
2005-12-31restructuringin_progress2005-07-14United StatesFormer Storage USA operationsUSD 2,442 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance accrued for terminated employees of the acquired SUSA business at July 14, 2005; $2,062 thousand paid during 2005, $380 thousand remaining at year-end. Employee count not disclosed. Related facility exit costs of $4,638 thousand (lease for unused facility) are non-workforce.
2005-12-31restructuringcompleted2005-07-142005-12-31United StatesGeneral and AdministrativeUSD 2 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs related to terminated employees of the prior business (SUSA acquisition). Accrued $2,441k, paid $2,062k, remaining liability $380k.
2005-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2005-05-052005-07-14United Statessubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed 2005-07-14 acquisition of the Storage USA self-storage business for $2.3 billion in cash; added 61 wholly-owned properties, equity interests in 54 joint venture properties, and management of 84 franchise/managed properties. No employee headcount added or affected was disclosed.