| Period End | Type | Status | Affected | % Workforce | Announced | Expected Completion | Geography | Segment / Function | Charge | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-10-03 | 2022-10-03 | Connecticut | Water Distribution | USD 72 (millions) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Aquarion acquired The Torrington Water Company on October 3, 2022, adding approximately 10,100 customers. Employee headcount added not disclosed. | ||
| 2021-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2021-04-08 | 2021-12-01 | Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire | Water Distribution | USD 38 (millions) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Stock-for-stock merger; Eversource issued 462,517 treasury shares. NESC served approximately 10,000 water customers. Headcount added not disclosed. | ||
| 2020-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2020-02-26 | 2020-10-09 | Massachusetts, United States | Natural Gas Distribution | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Over 800 new Eversource Gas Company of Massachusetts employees (formerly Columbia Gas of Massachusetts) onboarded in 2020; all who wanted to continue employment were offered jobs. Exact headcount not disclosed. | |||
| 2020-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 800 | 2020-10-09 | 2020-12-31 | Massachusetts | Natural Gas Distribution | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Over 800 new Eversource Gas Company of Massachusetts employees (formerly Columbia Gas of Massachusetts) were welcomed and successfully onboarded in 2020. All Columbia Gas employees who wanted to continue employment were offered jobs. | ||
| 2020-03-31 | acquisition_addition | announced | 2020-02-26 | 2020-09-30 | Massachusetts, United States | Natural Gas Distribution | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Asset purchase agreement to acquire Columbia Gas of Massachusetts for $1.1 billion; no employee headcount associated with the transaction is disclosed in this filing. | |||
| 2019-12-31 | acquisition_addition | announced | 2020-02-26 | Massachusetts, United States | Natural Gas Distribution | USD 1,100 (millions) | subsequent_events f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Asset purchase agreement to acquire Columbia Gas of Massachusetts local gas distribution business for $1.1 billion; approximately 330,000 customers and over 5,000 miles of pipeline. Headcount to be transferred not disclosed. Requires DPU and other approvals. | |||
| 2018-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2017-10-11 | 2018-01-10 | New Hampshire | Electric Distribution (PSNH thermal generation) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Net proceeds $116.8 million; headcount impact not disclosed. | |||
| 2018-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2017-10-11 | 2018-08-26 | New Hampshire | Electric Distribution (PSNH hydroelectric generation) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Net proceeds $77.2 million; headcount impact not disclosed. | |||
| 2017-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2017-12-04 | 2017-12-04 | Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire | Water utility business (Aquarion) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquired Aquarion (formerly Macquarie Utilities Inc.) for $1.675 billion; serves approximately 226,000 water customers; employee headcount added not disclosed | |||
| 2017-12-31 | other | completed | 2017-12-31 | 2017-12-31 | Massachusetts | Electric distribution (NSTAR Electric / WMECO) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Western Massachusetts Electric Company merged into NSTAR Electric; headcount impact not separately disclosed | |||
| 2017-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2018-01-10 | 2018-01-10 | New Hampshire | Electric generation (PSNH thermal generation) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | PSNH completed sale of thermal generation facilities (approximately 1,100 MW) to Granite Shore Power for net proceeds of $134.1 million; employee headcount transferred not disclosed. Hydroelectric sale targeted for Q1 2018. | |||
| 2017-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2017-12-04 | 2017-12-04 | Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire | Water Utilities (Aquarion) | Item 1. Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Eversource acquired Aquarion Water Company subsidiaries on December 4, 2017. Specific headcount added is not disclosed in the filing. | |||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | completed | United States | Corporate / enterprise-wide | USD 5 (millions) | other f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Severance benefit expense of $4.7 million recorded for 2015 in connection with organizational and cost saving initiatives; severance accrual was $9.3 million at year-end. Employees affected not disclosed. | ||||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2015-01-01 | 2015-12-31 | United States | Corporate / Unregulated | USD 5 (millions) | Item 1. Business - Employees f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Severance benefit expense of $4.7 million recorded in connection with organizational and cost saving initiatives. | ||
| 2015-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Corporate / Enterprise-wide | USD 1 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Severance expense of $1M in Q3 2015 and $2.6M YTD 2015 tied to reorganizational and cost saving initiatives; severance accrual was $7.1M at 2015-09-30. No employee count disclosed. | ||||
| 2015-09-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2015-04-13 | 2015-04-13 | United States (Maine) | Unregulated — Electrical Contracting (E.S. Boulos Company) | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of substantially all assets of E.S. Boulos Company completed 2015-04-13; headcount removed not disclosed. Eversource parent provided indemnification guaranty of up to $38.2M. | |||
| 2015-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Corporate / Unregulated | USD 1 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Eversource recorded $1 million in severance benefit expense for the three months ended Sept 30, 2015, related to reorganizational and cost saving initiatives. Total accrual was $7.1 million as of Sept 30, 2015. | |||||
| 2015-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Corporate / Unregulated | USD 3 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Eversource recorded $2.6 million in severance benefit expense for the nine months ended Sept 30, 2015, related to reorganizational and cost saving initiatives. | |||||
| 2015-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Corporate / Enterprise-wide | USD 1 (millions) | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Severance expense of $1.2M in Q2 2015 ($1.6M YTD) tied to reorganizational and cost-saving initiatives; severance accrual was $7.8M at 2015-06-30. No employee count disclosed. | ||||
| 2015-06-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | United States (Maine) | Unregulated electrical contracting business (E.S. Boulos Company) | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of substantially all assets of E.S. Boulos Company completed 2015-04-13; associated O&M expense of $21.9M (Q2) and $25.4M (YTD) absent in 2015. No headcount figure disclosed. | |||||
| 2015-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Corporate / Unregulated | USD 1 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Eversource recorded severance benefit expense of $1.2 million for the three months ended June 30, 2015, in connection with reorganizational and cost saving initiatives. Accrual totaled $7.8 million as of June 30, 2015. | |||||
| 2015-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Regulated Companies | USD 1 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Second quarter 2015 regulated companies' integration costs include costs incurred for severance in connection with reorganizational and cost saving initiatives. | |||||
| 2015-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Enterprise (post-merger integration; IT functions) | USD 0 (millions) | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Severance expense of $0.4 million recorded in Q1 2015 for ongoing post-merger integration; severance accrual was $9 million at 2015-03-31 (vs. $10.4 million at 2014-12-31). No employee count disclosed. Prior-year 2014 expense of $4.3 million also related to partial outsourcing of IT functions. | ||||
| 2015-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Corporate / IT | USD 0 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Severance benefit expense of $0.4 million recorded for ongoing post-merger integration. Accrual totaled $9 million as of March 31, 2015. Employee count not disclosed. | |||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Corporate / enterprise-wide | USD 15 (millions) | other f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 2014 severance expense of $15 million related to IT outsourcing, facility closures and ongoing post-merger integration; severance accrual was $10.4 million at year-end. Employee count fell from ~8,700 to ~8,250 during 2014. Number of employees affected not disclosed. | ||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2014-01-01 | 2014-12-31 | United States | Corporate / Integration | USD 15 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Integration and severance costs related to ongoing post-merger integration, partial outsourcing of IT functions, and facility closures. Workforce reduced from 8,700 in 2013 to 8,250 in 2014. | ||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Information Technology / Corporate | USD 1 (millions) | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Severance expense of $0.7M in Q3 2014 ($6.5M YTD) tied to partial outsourcing of IT functions and post-merger integration; severance accrual was $6.4M at quarter-end. No employee count disclosed. | ||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Information Technology | USD 1 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Expenses associated with partial outsourcing of IT functions and post-merger integration for the three months ended Sept 30, 2014. | |||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Information Technology | USD 7 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Expenses associated with partial outsourcing of IT functions and post-merger integration for the nine months ended Sept 30, 2014. | |||||
| 2014-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Information Technology / Corporate | USD 6 (millions) | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Severance expenses of $5.7M for six months ended 2014-06-30 tied to partial IT outsourcing and post-merger integration; severance accrual was $9.3M at 2014-06-30. No employee count disclosed. | ||||
| 2014-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Information Technology | USD 1 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Expenses associated with partial outsourcing of IT functions and post-merger integration. Accrual of $9.3 million remained as of June 30, 2014. | |||||
| 2014-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Corporate / Integration | USD 6 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | YTD expenses for partial outsourcing of IT functions and post-merger integration. | |||||
| 2014-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Information Technology / Corporate | USD 4 (millions) | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Q1 2014 severance expense tied to partial IT outsourcing and post-merger integration; accrual was $17.7M at 2014-03-31. No employee count disclosed. | ||||
| 2014-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2014-03-31 | United States | Information Technology | USD 4 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | NU recorded severance benefit expenses associated with partial outsourcing of IT functions and ongoing post-merger integration. Accrual totaled $17.7 million as of March 31, 2014. | |||
| 2013-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2013-01-01 | 2013-12-31 | United States | Information Technology | USD 10 (millions) | Item 1. Business - Employees / Note 1R f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Partial outsourcing of IT functions as part of post-merger integration. Expense recorded in 2013. | ||
| 2013-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2013-07-01 | United States | Information Technology / Corporate | USD 9 (millions) | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Partial outsourcing of IT functions as part of post-merger integration; $14.2M severance accrual at quarter-end in Other Current Liabilities. Number of employees affected not disclosed. | |||
| 2013-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2013-09-30 | Northeast Utilities Parent | Information Technology | USD 9 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Partial outsourcing of IT functions as part of post-merger integration. Accrual totaled $14.2 million as of Sept 30, 2013. | |||
| 2012-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2012-04-10 | 2012-04-10 | Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire | Electric and natural gas distribution, transmission | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | NSTAR merger completed April 10, 2012; specific headcount added not disclosed. NSTAR Electric & Gas Corporation employees numbered 1,619 as of year-end. | |||
| 2012-06-30 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2012-04-10 | 2012-04-10 | United States (Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire) | Electric and natural gas distribution, transmission | business_combinations_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | NSTAR merger closed 2012-04-10; no employee headcount added disclosed. Change-in-control and other compensation costs of $11.4M (after-tax) recorded in H1 2012. | |||
| 2012-03-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2010-10-16 | 2012-04-10 | United States (Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire) | All segments | subsequent_events f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Merger completed April 10, 2012 (after quarter end). NSTAR headcount added not disclosed. Post-merger NU serves ~3.5 million customers through six regulated utilities. | |||
| 2007-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2005-01-01 | 2007-12-31 | United States | NU Enterprises | USD 0 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Exit from competitive energy businesses. $0.2 million pre-tax restructuring charges recorded in 2007 for consulting, legal, and employee-related costs. Employee count not explicitly disclosed for 2007 activity. | ||
| 2007-09-30 | restructuring | completed | Energy Services and Other | USD 0 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | NU Enterprises recorded $0.2 million of pre-tax restructuring charges for the nine months ended Sept 30, 2007, relating to the decision to exit competitive businesses. Charges included consulting, legal, and employee-related costs. No specific employee count was disclosed. | |||||
| 2007-06-30 | restructuring | completed | Energy Services and Other | USD 0 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | NU Enterprises recorded $0.2 million of pre-tax restructuring charges for the six months ended June 30, 2007, relating to the decision to exit competitive businesses. Charges included consulting fees, legal fees, employee-related and other costs. No specific employee count was disclosed. | |||||
| 2007-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | NU Enterprises | USD 0 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Pre-tax restructuring charges of $0.2 million recorded for continuing operations related to exit from competitive businesses. Includes consulting, legal, and employee-related costs. No specific employee count disclosed. | |||||
| 2006-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2005-12-01 | 2006-12-31 | United States | Utility Group and NUSCO | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Corporate reorganization severance; 2005 recorded $14.1M, 2006 recorded a net reduction of $2.4M based on actual terminations. Employee counts not disclosed. | |||
| 2006-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2005-03-09 | 2006-12-31 | United States | NU Enterprises — competitive generation, retail marketing, energy services | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Exit from competitive businesses; $7M severance recorded in 2006 for retail marketing and generation sales. Headcount transferred to buyers or not separately quantified. | |||
| 2006-09-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-06-01 | 2006-06-01 | United States | NU Enterprises — Retail Marketing | USD 54 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of Select Energy retail marketing business to Hess. Retail marketing business written down to fair value less cost to sell via $53.9M pre-tax charge. No employee count disclosed. | ||
| 2006-09-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-05-05 | 2006-05-05 | United States | NU Enterprises — Energy Services (SESI) | USD 7 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of Select Energy Services, Inc. to Ameresco. NU paid approximately $7.7M and recorded $6.5M pre-tax restructuring charge. No employee count disclosed. | ||
| 2006-09-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-04-01 | 2006-04-30 | United States | NU Enterprises — Energy Services (Woods Electrical non-industrial division) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of Woods Electrical non-industrial division in April 2006. No employee count or specific charge disclosed. | |||
| 2006-09-30 | divestiture_reduction | announced | 2006-07-24 | 2006-11-01 | United States | NU Enterprises — Competitive Generation (NGC and Mt. Tom) | subsequent_events f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of NGC and Mt. Tom to Energy Capital Partners for $1.34B (incl. $320M debt assumption), closed November 1, 2006. After-tax gain of approximately $300M expected in Q4 2006. No employee count disclosed. | |||
| 2006-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | United States | NU Enterprises — Wholesale Marketing, Retail Marketing, Competitive Generation, Energy Services | USD 26 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Ongoing exit from all NU Enterprises competitive businesses. $26.0M pre-tax restructuring and impairment charges in nine months ended 2006-09-30 ($10.4M in Q3). Includes severance, consulting, legal, and sale-related costs. No employee counts disclosed. | |||
| 2006-09-30 | other | in_progress | 2005-12-01 | 2006-12-31 | United States | Utility Group and NUSCO — Corporate Reorganization | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Severance and termination benefits of $14.4M recorded in 2005 for expected Utility Group and NUSCO terminations. In 2006, $2.4M reduction recorded due to lower-than-expected terminations. No employee counts disclosed. | |||
| 2006-09-30 | other | in_progress | 2005-12-01 | 2007-01-01 | United States | NU — Pension Plan / 401(k) Transition | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | New 401(k) benefit for employees hired on/after 2006-01-01; existing non-union employees given election in 2006. Curtailment expense of $6.2M recorded in 2005, adjusted by $3.6M reduction in Q3 2006. No employee counts disclosed. | |||
| 2006-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | NU Enterprises (Wholesale Marketing, Retail Marketing, Competitive Generation, Energy Services) | USD 10 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Pre-tax restructuring and impairment charges of $10.4 million recorded for the three months ended Sept 30, 2006 related to exiting merchant energy and energy services businesses. Includes consulting, legal, and employee-related costs. Employee count affected not disclosed. | ||||
| 2006-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | NU Enterprises (Wholesale Marketing, Retail Marketing, Competitive Generation, Energy Services) | USD 26 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Pre-tax restructuring and impairment charges of $26.0 million recorded for the nine months ended Sept 30, 2006 related to exiting merchant energy and energy services businesses. Includes consulting, legal, and employee-related costs. Employee count affected not disclosed. | ||||
| 2006-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Retail Marketing | USD 4 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | NU recorded $4.1 million for severance and other employee benefits in the first nine months of 2006 as benefits became probable and estimable due to the sale of the retail marketing business to Hess. $0.6 million included in restructuring charges; $3.5 million in other operating expenses. | |||||
| 2006-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Utility Group and NUSCO | USD -2 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Total reduction in severance and related expenses of $2.4 million recorded in the first nine months of 2006 due to a reduction in the expected number of terminated Utility Group and NUSCO employees. | |||||
| 2006-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Pension Plan | USD -4 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Pre-capitalization, pre-tax reduction in curtailment expense of $3.6 million recorded in Q3 2006 because the predicted level of elections of the new 401(k) benefit did not occur. | |||||
| 2006-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Pension Plan | USD -1 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Combined pre-capitalization, pre-tax reduction in curtailment expense and termination benefits of $1.3 million recorded in the first nine months of 2006 based on revised estimates of expected head count reductions. | |||||
| 2006-06-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-06-01 | 2006-06-01 | United States | NU Enterprises — Retail Marketing | USD 54 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of Select Energy's retail marketing business to Hess Corporation; $53.9M pre-tax charge to reduce book value to fair value less cost to sell. No employee count disclosed. | ||
| 2006-06-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-05-05 | 2006-05-05 | United States | NU Enterprises — Energy Services (SESI) | USD 6 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of Select Energy Services, Inc. to Ameresco, Inc.; $5.6M pre-tax restructuring charge. No employee count disclosed. | ||
| 2006-06-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-04-01 | 2006-04-30 | United States | NU Enterprises — Energy Services (Woods Electrical) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of certain assets of Woods Electrical Co., Inc. in April 2006. No employee count or charge disclosed. | |||
| 2006-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | 2006-12-31 | United States | NU Enterprises — All competitive businesses (wholesale marketing, retail marketing, competitive generation, energy services) | USD 16 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Ongoing exit from all NU Enterprises competitive businesses; $15.6M pre-tax restructuring and impairment charges in first half 2006. Severance and professional fee accruals disclosed but no employee counts. | ||
| 2006-06-30 | divestiture_reduction | announced | 2006-07-24 | 2006-12-31 | United States | NU Enterprises — Competitive Generation (NGC and Mt. Tom) | subsequent_events f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Agreement to sell NGC and Mt. Tom plant to Energy Capital Partners for $1.34B including $320M debt assumption; expected after-tax gain of ~$300M. No employee count disclosed. | |||
| 2006-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-01 | NU Enterprises | USD 3 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Pre-tax restructuring and impairment charges of $3.3 million recorded in Q2 2006 for continuing operations related to exiting merchant energy and energy services businesses. | ||||
| 2006-06-30 | restructuring | completed | 2006-05-05 | 2006-05-05 | Energy Services (SESI) | USD 6 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Pre-tax charge of $5.6 million recorded in Q2 2006 in connection with the sale of SESI to Ameresco, Inc. | |||
| 2006-06-30 | restructuring | completed | 2006-06-01 | 2006-06-01 | Retail Marketing (SENY) | USD 0 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Pre-tax restructuring charge of $0.3 million recorded in Q2 2006 in connection with the sale of SENY to Hess Corporation. | |||
| 2006-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2006-02-01 | Utility Group and NUSCO | USD -1 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Reduction in severance expense of $1.3 million recorded in Q2 2006 due to reduction in expected number of terminated employees. | ||||
| 2006-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2006-06-01 | Retail Marketing | USD 4 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | NU recorded $4.3 million for severance and other employee benefits in Q2 2006 as benefits became probable and estimable due to the sale of the retail marketing business. | ||||
| 2006-03-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-05-05 | 2006-05-05 | United States | NU Enterprises — Energy Services (SESI) | USD 6 (millions) | subsequent_events f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of SESI completed May 5, 2006; buyer paid approximately $7.7M by seller; pre-tax charge of approximately $6M expected in Q2 2006. No employee count disclosed. | ||
| 2006-03-31 | divestiture_reduction | announced | 2006-05-01 | 2006-06-01 | United States | NU Enterprises — Retail Marketing (Select Energy) | subsequent_events f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Definitive agreement signed May 1, 2006 to sell retail marketing business to Amerada Hess; closing expected around June 1, 2006. Seller to pay buyer approximately $44M. No employee count disclosed. | |||
| 2006-03-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-04-01 | 2006-04-30 | United States | NU Enterprises — Energy Services (Woods Electrical) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Certain assets of Woods Electrical sold in April 2006 for approximately $1M. No employee count disclosed. | |||
| 2006-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | 2006-12-31 | United States | NU Enterprises — all competitive businesses (wholesale marketing, retail marketing, competitive generation, energy services) | USD 6 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Pre-tax restructuring and impairment charges of $6.1M in Q1 2006 ($5.1M in continuing operations, $1.0M in discontinued operations). Restructuring liability of $9.0M at March 31, 2006 ($1.8M employee-related, $7.2M consulting fees). No employee headcount affected disclosed. Program covers exit of all NU Enterprises competitive businesses. | ||
| 2006-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | 2006-12-31 | United States | NU Enterprises (Competitive Businesses) | USD 6 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Exit from competitive businesses. Pre-tax restructuring and impairment charges of $6.1 million recorded in Q1 2006. Employment levels expected to drop from ~7,000 to ~5,500 upon completion. | ||
| 2006-03-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2005-11-01 | 2005-11-30 | United States | Energy Services | subsequent_events f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Sale of SECI-NH (including Reeds Ferry) and Woods Network Services, Inc. | |||
| 2006-03-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-01-01 | 2006-01-31 | Massachusetts | Energy Services | subsequent_events f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Sale of Massachusetts service location of SECI-CT. | |||
| 2006-03-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-04-01 | 2006-04-30 | United States | Energy Services | subsequent_events f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Sale of certain assets of Woods Electrical Co., Inc. | |||
| 2006-03-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2006-05-05 | 2006-05-05 | United States | Energy Services | USD 6 (millions) | subsequent_events f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Sale of SESI completed. Pre-tax charge of approximately $6 million to be recorded in Q2 2006. | ||
| 2006-03-31 | divestiture_reduction | announced | 2006-05-01 | 2006-06-01 | United States | Retail Marketing | USD 44 (millions) | subsequent_events f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Agreement to sell retail marketing business to Amerada Hess. Select Energy to pay buyer approx. $44 million. | ||
| 2005-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 39 | 2005-03-09 | 2005-12-31 | United States | Competitive wholesale and energy services businesses | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 39 full-time positions eliminated as a result of the March 2005 decision to exit competitive wholesale and service businesses. | ||
| 2005-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-11-07 | 2006-12-31 | United States | Competitive retail marketing and generation businesses | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | November 2005 announcement to divest remaining competitive businesses expected to necessitate further employee reductions; headcount not disclosed. | |||
| 2005-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2005-03-09 | 2005-12-31 | United States | NU Enterprises — competitive businesses | USD 17 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Severance benefits charge recorded in other operating expenses for FY2005; separate from restructuring and impairment charges. | ||
| 2005-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2005-03-09 | 2005-12-31 | United States | NU Enterprises — competitive businesses | USD 69 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Pre-tax restructuring and impairment charges for FY2005; $44.1M in continuing operations, $25.1M in discontinued operations. Includes $9.7M employee termination and consulting costs. | ||
| 2005-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2005-03-09 | 2005-11-22 | United States | Energy services businesses (SECI-NH, Woods Network) | discontinued_operations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Two energy services businesses sold in November 2005 for total proceeds of approximately $6.5 million; headcount removed not disclosed. | |||
| 2005-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2005-03-09 | 2006-01-31 | United States | Energy services businesses (SECI-CT Massachusetts location) | subsequent_events f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Massachusetts service location of SECI-CT sold in January 2006 for approximately $2 million; subsequent event after fiscal year-end. | |||
| 2005-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 39 | 2005-03-09 | United States | NU Enterprises (Competitive Businesses) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Elimination of 39 full-time positions resulting from decision to exit competitive wholesale and service businesses. | |||
| 2005-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-11-07 | United States | NU Enterprises (Competitive Businesses) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Announcement to divest remaining competitive businesses expected to necessitate further employee reductions. | ||||
| 2005-09-30 | divestiture_reduction | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | 2006-03-31 | United States | NU Enterprises — Energy Services | USD 53 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Pre-tax restructuring and impairment charges for nine months ended 2005-09-30 tied to exiting wholesale marketing and divesting energy services businesses; no employee count disclosed. Four energy services businesses (SESI, SECI-NH, Woods Network, Woods Electrical) classified as held for sale/discontinued operations. | ||
| 2005-09-30 | restructuring | announced | 2005-11-07 | 2006-12-31 | United States | NU Enterprises — Retail Marketing and Competitive Generation | subsequent_events f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Announced exit from remainder of merchant energy segment including retail marketing and 1,440 MW competitive generation; potential charges for asset impairments, closure costs, and mark-to-market losses; no employee count disclosed. | |||
| 2005-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | NU Enterprises (Merchant Energy and Energy Services) | USD 5 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Pre-tax restructuring charges of $5.3 million recorded in Q3 2005 related to exiting wholesale marketing and energy services businesses. Includes professional fees and employee-related costs. Employee count not disclosed. | ||||
| 2005-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | NU Enterprises (Merchant Energy and Energy Services) | USD 28 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Pre-tax restructuring charges of $28.4 million recorded YTD 2005 related to exiting wholesale marketing and energy services businesses. Includes professional fees and employee-related costs. Employee count not disclosed. | ||||
| 2005-09-30 | restructuring | announced | 2005-11-07 | 2006-12-31 | NU Enterprises (Retail Marketing and Competitive Generation) | subsequent_events f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Announced exit from retail marketing and competitive generation businesses. Potential closure costs include severance and benefit plan curtailments. Employee count and specific charges not yet determined. | ||||
| 2005-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | 2005-12-31 | NU Enterprises | USD 2 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Pre-tax restructuring costs of $1.0 million for merchant energy and $0.5 million for energy services recorded in Q2 2005 related to professional fees, employee-related and other costs. | |||
| 2005-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-09 | 2005-12-31 | NU Enterprises | USD 48 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Total pre-tax restructuring and impairment charges of $47.8 million for the six months ended June 30, 2005, related to the decision to exit the wholesale marketing business and divest energy services businesses. | |||
| 2005-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2005-03-31 | NU Enterprises | USD 234 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | NU Enterprises recorded $234.4 million pre-tax charges related to exiting wholesale marketing business and divesting energy services businesses. Includes mark-to-market losses and goodwill impairments. Employee count not disclosed. | ||||
| 2004-12-31 | restructuring | announced | 2005-03-09 | United States | NU Enterprises — wholesale marketing and energy services businesses | subsequent_events f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | NU announced exit from wholesale marketing business and plans to divest energy services businesses; charge expected in Q1 2005; headcount impact acknowledged but not quantified | ||||
| 2004-12-31 | other | completed | 2004-01-01 | 2004-12-31 | United States | NU system — union labor relations | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Five union contracts negotiated in 2004 (including three major physical worker contracts in Connecticut and Western Massachusetts) expected to provide labor stability through 2009 and 2010 | |||
| 2004-12-31 | restructuring | announced | 2005-03-09 | Northeast United States | NU Enterprises (Wholesale Marketing and Energy Services) | subsequent_events f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | NU announced exit from wholesale marketing business and intent to divest energy services businesses. Expected to record a charge in Q1 2005. Impact on employment levels not known at this time. | ||||
| 2004-09-30 | other | announced | 1,200 | 2004-10-22 | Connecticut, United States | The Connecticut Light and Power Company (CL&P) — represented physical workers (electricians, line workers, meter readers, installers, cable splicers, warehouse personnel) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Post-quarter event: contracts offered by CL&P to IBEW Locals 420 and 457 were rejected by the unions; covers approximately 1,200 employees. Management cannot predict outcome or impact of a possible strike. | |||
| 2004-09-30 | other | announced | 1,200 | 2004-10-22 | Connecticut | Utility Group - CL&P | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Contracts offered by CL&P to employees represented by Locals 420 and 457 of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers were rejected by the unions. These contracts cover approximately 1,200 CL&P employees. Management cannot predict the outcome or impact of a possible strike. | |||
| 2003-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 51 | 2003-12-31 | 2003-12-31 | United States | NGS, CL&P, NUSCO | USD 2 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Workforce reductions in 2003: NGS reduced by 12, CL&P by 17, NUSCO by 22; total cost approximately $1.7 million. Consolidated record for all three sub-components as filer presents them together. | |
| 2003-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 51 | 2003-01-01 | 2003-12-31 | Connecticut, Massachusetts | CL&P, NUSCO, NGS | USD 2 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Workforce reduction due to changing market conditions and state funding reductions. CL&P reduced by 17, NUSCO by 22, NGS by 12. Total cost approximately $1.7 million. | |
| 2003-06-30 | reduction_in_force | completed | 60 | Connecticut, United States | CL&P — energy conservation program delivery | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Filer states only 'mid-2003'; no exact date, charge, or severance terms disclosed. Reduction followed proposed state redirection of energy conservation adder funds. | ||||
| 2003-06-30 | other | completed | 60 | 2003-06-30 | 2003-06-30 | Connecticut | Energy Conservation Programs | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | CL&P reduced workforce by approximately 60 employees involved in delivering energy conservation programs to customers in anticipation of funding reduction. | ||
| 2002-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 142 | 2002-09-04 | 2002-09-26 | United States | NUSCO and PSNH — administrative and support functions | USD 5 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 142 full-time equivalent employees involuntarily terminated on September 26, 2002 following reorganization announced September 4, 2002 to reflect divestiture of most generating facilities | |
| 2002-12-31 | voluntary_separation | completed | 60 | 2001-11-01 | 2002-12-31 | United States | CL&P — managerial and other employees | USD 8 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 60 CL&P employees participated in a voluntary reduction program during 2002 as part of reorganization separating regulated from competitive services | |
| 2002-12-31 | layoff | completed | 7 | 2002-06-30 | United States | Select Energy Services, Inc. (SESI) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | SESI reduced workforce by seven employees during Q2 2002; part of combined $1.2 million cost across SESI, NGS, and Select Energy reductions | |||
| 2002-12-31 | layoff | completed | 27 | 2002-09-30 | United States | Northeast Generation Services Company (NGS) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | NGS reduced workforce by 27 employees during Q3 2002; part of combined $1.2 million cost across SESI, NGS, and Select Energy reductions | |||
| 2002-12-31 | layoff | completed | 7 | 2002-12-31 | United States | Select Energy, Inc. | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Select Energy reduced workforce by seven employees during Q4 2002; part of combined $1.2 million cost across SESI, NGS, and Select Energy reductions | |||
| 2002-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2002-11-01 | 2002-11-01 | United States | NAESCO — Seabrook nuclear operations | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | NAESCO employees transferred to FPL upon Seabrook sale on November 1, 2002; headcount not disclosed | |||
| 2002-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 27 | 2002-07-01 | 2002-09-30 | United States | NGS | USD 1 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Third quarter 2002 workforce reduction. Charge shared across multiple actions. | |
| 2002-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 7 | 2002-10-01 | 2002-12-31 | United States | Select Energy | USD 1 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Fourth quarter 2002 workforce reduction. Charge shared across multiple actions. | |
| 2002-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 142 | 2002-09-04 | 2002-09-26 | United States | NUSCO, PSNH | USD 5 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Involuntary terminations following reorganization of administrative and support functions. | |
| 2002-12-31 | voluntary_separation | completed | 60 | 2001-11-01 | 2002-12-31 | United States | CL&P | USD 8 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Voluntary reduction program in connection with reorganization to reflect separation of regulated from competitive services. | |
| 2002-09-30 | restructuring | completed | 200 | 2002-09 | 2002-09 | United States (NU system) | NU system employees (all functions) | USD 5 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Approximately 200 employees reduced in September 2002; approximately $5 million total cost of the workforce reduction (not explicitly labeled severance), which management believes is mostly recoverable from ratepayers as a stranded cost. Expected to yield roughly $20 million pre-tax cost reduction in 2003. | |
| 2002-09-30 | restructuring | announced | 100 | 2002-09 | 2003-01 | United States (NU system) | Contractor workforce | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Company expects to reduce its contractor workforce by approximately 100 contractors by the beginning of 2003; contractors are not part of reported employee headcount. | ||
| 2002-09-30 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2002-07-01 | 2002-07-01 | United States | Competitive energy subsidiaries (electrical services and telecommunications/construction services) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of Woods Electrical Co., Inc. and Woods Network Services, Inc. for $15.3 million aggregate purchase price, effective July 1, 2002; no employee headcount for the acquired businesses is disclosed. | |||
| 2002-09-30 | restructuring | completed | 200 | 2002-09-30 | 2002-09-30 | NU System | System-wide | USD 5 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Workforce reduction of approximately 200 employees in September 2002. Cost of reduction was approximately $5 million, expected to be recoverable as stranded cost. | |
| 2002-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 100 | 2002-09-30 | 2003-01-01 | NU System | System-wide | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Reduction of contractor workforce by approximately 100 contractors expected by beginning of 2003. | ||
| 2001-12-31 | voluntary_separation | in_progress | 346 | 2000-12-15 | 2002-03-01 | United States | CL&P, PSNH, WMECO, HWP, NUSCO, Yankee Gas | USD 93 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | VSP offered to 498 employees; 346 accepted; 298 retired by 2001-12-31, 48 expected to retire by 2002-03-01; costs of $93.3M in 2001 | |
| 2001-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2001-11-01 | 2002-03-31 | United States | CL&P — regulated vs. competitive services separation | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | CL&P reorganization to separate regulated from competitive services; officer selection began Dec 2001, further selections planned Q1 2002; no employee count or charge disclosed | |||
| 2001-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2001-11-30 | 2001-11-30 | United States | Select Energy — competitive energy marketing | USD 32 (millions) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of Niagara Mohawk Energy Marketing (SENY) for $31.7M; headcount added not disclosed | ||
| 2001-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2000-12-31 | 2000-12-31 | United States | NGS — electrical construction and maintenance | USD 10 (millions) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of E.S. Boulos Company assets for ~$10M; completed as of 2000-12-31, headcount added not disclosed | ||
| 2001-12-31 | voluntary_separation | in_progress | 346 | 2000-12-15 | 2002-03-01 | Connecticut, New Hampshire, Massachusetts | CL&P, PSNH, WMECO, HWP, NUSCO, Yankee Gas | USD 93 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Voluntary separation program offered Dec 15, 2000. 346 accepted; 298 retired by Dec 31, 2001; 48 expected to retire by Mar 1, 2002. Costs relating to VSP for 2001 were approximately $93.3 million. | |
| 2001-06-30 | voluntary_separation | in_progress | New Hampshire | PSNH — generation operations | USD 2 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | PSNH early retirement program cited as a driver of higher six-month O&M expense; no participant count or program dates disclosed. | ||||
| 2001-06-30 | voluntary_separation | completed | New Hampshire | Public Service Company of New Hampshire (PSNH) | USD 2 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Costs associated with the early retirement program. | ||||
| 2001-03-31 | voluntary_separation | in_progress | 340 | 2002-02-28 | United States | NU system (all companies) | USD 4 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | After-tax charge of $4 million ($0.03 per share); remaining program costs deferred for future recovery via transition charge. Approximately 340 employees accepted early retirement; retirements occur March 1, 2001 through February 28, 2002. | ||
| 2001-03-31 | voluntary_separation | in_progress | 340 | 2002-02-28 | USD 4 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | NU Voluntary Separation Program; approximately 340 employees accepted early retirement offer. After-tax charge of $4 million. Retirements occurring between March 1, 2001 and February 28, 2002. | ||||
| 2000-12-31 | voluntary_separation | in_progress | 361 | 2000-12-15 | 2002-03-31 | United States | CL&P, PSNH, WMECO, HWP, NUSCO, Yankee Gas | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Offered to 498 employees; 361 accepted. Expected to retire between March 1, 2001 and March 2002. Costs to be reflected in Q1 2001 results. Program designed to reduce generation-related support staff. | ||
| 2000-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 410 | 2000-03-01 | 2000-03-01 | Connecticut | Yankee Gas Services Company | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of Yankee Energy System Inc. completed March 1, 2000. Yankee Gas headcount of 410 as of December 31, 2000. | ||
| 2000-12-31 | voluntary_separation | announced | 361 | 2000-12-15 | 2002-03-31 | Connecticut, New Hampshire, Massachusetts | CL&P, PSNH, WMECO, HWP, NUSCO, Yankee Gas | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Voluntary separation program offered to 498 employees; 361 accepted. Expected to retire between March 1, 2001, and March 2002. Costs reflected in first quarter 2001 results. | ||
| 1999-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 1999-06-14 | 2000-03-01 | Connecticut | Natural gas distribution and unregulated subsidiaries | subsequent_events f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Merger closed March 1, 2000 (subsequent to fiscal year-end). Headcount added not disclosed. Yankee is parent of Yankee Gas Services Company, Connecticut's largest natural gas distribution system. | |||
| 1999-12-31 | other | completed | 119 | 2000-03-05 | Connecticut | Northeast Utilities Service Company (NUSCO) to Select Energy | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Approximately 119 NUSCO employees transferred to Select Energy on March 5, 2000 (subsequent to fiscal year-end). | |||
| 1999-12-31 | other | completed | 119 | 2000-03-05 | 2000-03-05 | United States | Northeast Utilities Service Company (NUSCO) to Select Energy | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Transfer of employees between subsidiaries, not a reduction in force. | ||
| 1997-12-31 | voluntary_separation | in_progress | 1,100 | 1996-12-01 | 1998-03-01 | United States | System-wide | USD 6 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Announced December 1996; separations of 99 participants occurred between April 1, 1997 and March 1, 1998; estimated cost approximately $5.8 million | |
| 1997-12-31 | voluntary_separation | in_progress | 99 | 1996-12 | 1998-03-01 | System-wide | Various | USD 6 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Voluntary separation program announced in Dec 1996 affecting approx 1,100 employees; 99 participants separated between April 1, 1997 and March 1, 1998. Estimated cost $5.8 million. | |
| 1997-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | NU system subsidiaries | other f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Pension notes reference workforce reduction programs in 1997, 1996 and 1995 with associated pension cost impacts, but no employee counts, dates, or severance charges are disclosed. | |||||
| 1996-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 220 | 1995-01-01 | 1996-03-31 | System-wide | Nuclear organization | USD 9 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Program implemented in 1995 and early 1996 to reduce nuclear workforce by approx. 220 employees via early retirements and involuntary terminations. Pretax cost approx. $8.7 million. | |
| 1996-12-31 | voluntary_separation | announced | 1,100 | 1996-12-01 | 1998-03-01 | System-wide | General | USD 7 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Voluntary separation program announced in Dec 1996 affecting approx. 1,100 employees. Separations to be effected between April 1, 1997 and March 1, 1998. Estimated cost approx. $7 million. | |
| 1996-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Nuclear operations | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Filing references a 1996 nuclear workforce reduction under NRC review; no headcount, dates, or charges disclosed in this filing. | |||||
| 1996-09-30 | other | completed | 1996-08-16 | 1996-08-31 | United States | Energy Resources Group | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Executive separation of President of Energy Resources Group; severance equal to 2x average 1994-1995 compensation plus supplemental retirement benefit; no dollar amount disclosed. | |||
| 1996-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 1996-01-01 | Connecticut | Nuclear Operations | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Company is currently restructuring its nuclear organization and developing operational readiness plans. | ||||
| 1996-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 1996-01-01 | Connecticut | Nuclear Operations | Part II, Item 5 f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Investigation of possible criminal violations arising out of certain of NU's other activities at Millstone and CY, including the 1996 nuclear workforce reduction. | ||||
| 1996-06-30 | reduction_in_force | completed | 1996-01 | United States (Connecticut) | Nuclear operations (Millstone) | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Referenced only in passing as the January 1996 nuclear workforce reduction underlying a former employee's wrongful-termination suit; no headcount, charge, or timing detail disclosed. | ||||
| 1996-06-30 | other | completed | 1996-01 | Connecticut | Nuclear Operations | Legal Proceedings f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Investigation arose from allegations in a lawsuit regarding a 'January 1996 nuclear workforce reduction'. | ||||
| 1995-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 220 | 1995-01-01 | 1996-01-31 | United States | Nuclear organization | USD 9 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Program implemented in 1995 and early 1996 to reduce nuclear organization workforce by approximately 220 employees through early retirements and involuntary terminations. Pretax cost approximately $8.7 million. Completed January 1996 per MD&A. | |
| 1995-12-31 | other | completed | 370 | 1995-05-25 | 1995-09-01 | United States | WMECO and HWP union employees | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Approximately 370 union employees of WMECO and HWP returned to work on September 1, 1995, ending a strike that began May 25, 1995. | ||
| 1995-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 220 | 1995-01-01 | 1996-03-31 | System-wide | Nuclear organization | USD 9 (millions) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Program to reduce nuclear workforce via early retirements and involuntary terminations. Pretax cost of $8.7 million recognized in 1995. Completed in January 1996. | |
| 1995-09-30 | voluntary_separation | in_progress | 121 | 1995-07-01 | United States | Nuclear organization | USD 7 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Early retirement component of a program targeting roughly 250 nuclear staff; 121 eligible employees accepted, pre-tax cost charged in Q3 1995 | ||
| 1995-09-30 | layoff | in_progress | 1995-07-01 | United States | Nuclear organization | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Balance of the roughly 250-position reduction to be met via attrition and layoffs; estimated layoff cost stated as a $2-3 million range, count not disclosed | ||||
| 1995-09-30 | other | completed | 370 | 1995-05-25 | 1995-09-01 | United States | WMECO and Holyoke Water Power Company | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Strike of about 370 union employees began May 25, 1995; three-year labor contracts signed August 28, 1995 and employees returned to work September 1, 1995 | ||
| 1995-09-30 | voluntary_separation | in_progress | 121 | 1995-07-01 | Nuclear organization | Nuclear | USD 7 (millions) | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Early retirement program announced in July 1995. 121 eligible employees accepted early retirement, charged to expense in Q3. Total workforce reduction target is approx 250 employees. | ||
| 1995-09-30 | layoff | announced | 1995-07-01 | Nuclear organization | Nuclear | MD&A f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Balance of workforce reduction (target 250 total) to be achieved through attrition and layoffs. Estimated cost of layoffs in range of $2 to $3 million. | ||||
| 1995-09-30 | other | completed | 370 | 1995-08-28 | Massachusetts | WMECO and Holyoke Water Power Company | other f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | New three-year labor contracts signed for approx 370 union employees. Strike ended September 1, 1995. |