Equity Residential (EQR)

Company ID: 191 | CIK: 0000906107
10-Q view:
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Average Monthly Rent Possible (adr)

Average rental rate (arpu)

No 10-K data

Management offices (branches)

Development Projects Units (capacity)

Non-Real Estate Capital Additions (capital_expenditures)

No 10-K data

Resident turnover (churn)

Beneficial holders (customers)

No 10-Q data

Unsecured notes outstanding (debt_outstanding)

No 10-K data

Inclusion Index Score (engagement)

No 10-Q data

FFO available to Common Shares and OP Units (ffo)

No 10-K data

On-site employees (headcount)

Effective interest cost (interest_rate)

No 10-K data

Line of credit outstanding (loans_outstanding)

No 10-K data

Average Occupancy (occupancy)

Acquired apartment units (other)

No 10-K data

Acquisition cap rate (other)

No 10-K data

Acquisition cost (other)

No 10-K data

Acquisition price (other)

No 10-K data

Acquisition purchase price (other)

No 10-K data

Apartment units (other)

Apartment units acquired (other)

Apartment units completed (other)

No 10-K data

Apartment units disposed (other)

No 10-K data

Apartment units from developments (other)

No 10-K data

Apartment units in development (other)

Apartment units in development and lease-up (other)

No 10-Q data

Apartment units owned (other)

Apartment units rehabbed (other)

No 10-K data

Apartment units renovated (other)

No 10-K data

Apartment units sold (other)

Apartment units started (other)

No 10-K data

Apartment units under development (other)

Available liquidity (other)

No 10-K data

Average monthly rent (other)

No 10-Q data

Average monthly rent per square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Average rent per square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Average rent per unit (other)

No 10-Q data

Average rental rate (other)

Average unit size (other)

No 10-Q data

Average units per property (other)

No 10-Q data

Bad debt (other)

No 10-Q data

Bad debt net (other)

No 10-K data

Bad debt percent of rental income (other)

No 10-K data

Bad debt percent of residential rental income (other)

No 10-K data

Bad debt percentage (other)

No 10-K data

Bad debt, net (other)

No 10-K data

Beneficial holders (other)

No 10-Q data

Beneficial share holders (other)

No 10-Q data

Blended rate (other)

No 10-K data

Blended rate change (other)

No 10-K data

Buildings (other)

No 10-Q data

Capex per unit (other)

No 10-K data

Capital Expenditures (other)

No 10-K data

Capital Expenditures - Building Improvements (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital Expenditures - Replacements (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital Expenditures per unit (other)

No 10-K data

Capital expenditure per unit (other)

No 10-K data

Capital expenditures (other)

Capital expenditures per apartment unit (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital expenditures per unit (other)

Capital expenditures to real estate (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital improvements (other)

No 10-K data

Capital improvements per unit (other)

No 10-K data

Capitalized improvements (other)

No 10-K data

Capitalized improvements to real estate (other)

Cash and cash equivalents (other)

No 10-K data

Commercial paper interest rate (other)

No 10-K data

Commercial paper maturity (other)

No 10-K data

Commercial paper outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common Shares Outstanding (other)

Common Shares issued and outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common Shares outstanding (other)

Common Shares outstanding (assuming OP conversion) (other)

No 10-K data

Common share price (other)

No 10-Q data

Common shares and Units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common shares outstanding (other)

Completed development units (other)

No 10-K data

Completed not stabilized units (other)

No 10-Q data

Condominium units sold (other)

No 10-Q data

Consolidated debt to total market capitalization (other)

No 10-Q data

Consolidated debt-to-market cap (other)

No 10-Q data

Credit facility availability (other)

No 10-K data

Cumulative properties acquired since IPO (other)

No 10-K data

Cumulative units acquired since IPO (other)

No 10-K data

Debt to market cap ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Debt to market capitalization (other)

Debt to total market capitalization (other)

Debt-to-market cap ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Debt-to-market capitalization (other)

Debt-to-market capitalization ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Development apartment units (other)

Development capital cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Development commitments (other)

No 10-K data

Development costs remaining (other)

No 10-K data

Development funding commitments (other)

No 10-K data

Development projects (other)

Development projects in progress (other)

No 10-K data

Development projects under development (other)

No 10-Q data

Development projects underway (other)

No 10-K data

Development remaining commitments (other)

No 10-K data

Development spend (other)

No 10-K data

Development starts (other)

No 10-K data

Development units (other)

Development units commenced (other)

No 10-K data

Development units in progress (other)

No 10-K data

Development units under construction (other)

No 10-K data

Developments completed (other)

No 10-K data

Disposed apartment units (other)

No 10-K data

Disposition cap rate (other)

No 10-K data

Disposition price (other)

No 10-K data

Disposition sales price (other)

No 10-K data

Disposition yield (other)

No 10-K data

Distributions declared per Common Share (other)

No 10-K data

Distributions declared per common share (other)

No 10-K data

Distributions declared per share (other)

Distributions per share (other)

No 10-Q data

Diversity & Inclusion Index (other)

No 10-Q data

Effective Interest Cost (other)

No 10-K data

Effective interest cost (other)

Effective interest rate (other)

No 10-K data

Employee Engagement Score (other)

No 10-Q data

Ethnically Diverse Workforce (other)

No 10-Q data

FFO (other)

No 10-K data

FFO available (other)

No 10-K data

FFO available to Common Shares (other)

No 10-K data

FFO available to Common Shares and OP Units (other)

No 10-K data

FFO available to Common Shares and Units (other)

No 10-K data

FFO available to common (other)

No 10-K data

FFO per share (other)

No 10-K data

FFO per share and OP Unit (other)

No 10-K data

Female Workforce (other)

No 10-Q data

Floating rate debt (other)

No 10-Q data

Fully diluted common shares (other)

No 10-K data

Funds From Operations (other)

No 10-K data

Funds from operations (other)

General and administrative expense ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Improvements to real estate (other)

Interest rate cap notional amount (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swap notional amount (other)

No 10-K data

Land held for development (other)

No 10-Q data

Leasing applications change (other)

No 10-K data

Leasing traffic change (other)

No 10-K data

Line of Credit Available (other)

No 10-K data

Line of credit availability (other)

No 10-K data

Line of credit available (other)

Line of credit outstanding (other)

Lines of credit outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Managed units (other)

No 10-K data

Management offices (other)

No 10-Q data

Minority Interest percentage (other)

No 10-K data

Minority interest OP Units (other)

No 10-K data

Minority interest in operating partnership (other)

No 10-K data

Mortgage indebtedness (other)

Mortgage-encumbered properties (other)

No 10-K data

Net Operating Income (other)

Net income per weighted average Common Share (other)

No 10-K data

Net operating income (other)

No 10-K data

New lease change (other)

No 10-K data

New lease rate change (other)

No 10-K data

Non-real estate capital additions (other)

No 10-K data

Non-same store apartment units (other)

No 10-K data

Normalized FFO (other)

No 10-K data

Normalized FFO available (other)

No 10-K data

Normalized FFO available to Common Shares (other)

No 10-K data

Normalized FFO available to Common Shares and Units (other)

No 10-K data

Normalized FFO available to common (other)

No 10-K data

Normalized funds from operations (other)

OP Units (other)

No 10-K data

OP Units Outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

OP Units held by Minority Interests (other)

No 10-K data

OP Units held by minority interests (other)

No 10-K data

OP Units outstanding (other)

OP units held by minority interests (other)

No 10-K data

OP units outstanding (other)

Planned acquisitions (other)

No 10-K data

Planned dispositions (other)

No 10-K data

Portfolio units acquired (other)

No 10-K data

Portfolio units disposed (other)

No 10-K data

Portfolio units from completed developments (other)

No 10-K data

Preferred Shares Outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Preferred Shares outstanding (other)

Projects Under Development (other)

No 10-K data

Projects under development (other)

No 10-K data

Properties acquired (other)

Properties disposed (other)

No 10-K data

Properties pending acquisition (other)

No 10-K data

Properties pending disposition (other)

No 10-K data

Properties sold (other)

No 10-Q data

Properties under agreement to acquire (other)

No 10-K data

Properties under agreement to acquire (EWR Merger) (other)

No 10-K data

Properties with mortgage debt (other)

No 10-K data

Property management offices (other)

No 10-Q data

Regional operations centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Remaining development commitments (other)

No 10-K data

Remaining development costs (other)

No 10-K data

Renewal Rate Growth (other)

No 10-K data

Renewal rate achieved (other)

No 10-K data

Renewal rate change (other)

No 10-K data

Rental assistance benefits (other)

No 10-K data

Rental assistance received (other)

No 10-K data

Rental properties acquired (other)

No 10-Q data

Rental properties sold (other)

No 10-Q data

Resident turnover (other)

Residential Delinquency (other)

No 10-K data

Residential Delinquency Balance (other)

No 10-K data

Residential bad debt (other)

No 10-K data

Residential delinquency balance (other)

No 10-K data

Residential delinquency rate (other)

No 10-K data

Residential units acquired (other)

No 10-K data

Retail Delinquency Balance (other)

No 10-K data

Retail delinquency balance (other)

No 10-K data

Revolver availability (other)

No 10-K data

Revolving Credit Facility Available (other)

No 10-K data

Revolving Credit Facility Outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Revolving credit facility availability (other)

No 10-K data

Same Store NOI (other)

Same Store Properties Units (other)

No 10-K data

Same Store Turnover (other)

No 10-K data

Same store NOI (other)

Same store NOI change (other)

No 10-K data

Same store NOI change guidance (other)

No 10-K data

Same store NOI growth (other)

Same store apartment units (other)

Same store average rental rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Same store capital expenditures per unit (other)

No 10-K data

Same store expense change (other)

No 10-K data

Same store expense change guidance (other)

No 10-K data

Same store expense growth (other)

Same store expenses (other)

Same store properties (other)

No 10-K data

Same store rental income (other)

No 10-K data

Same store resident turnover (other)

No 10-Q data

Same store revenue change (other)

No 10-K data

Same store revenues (other)

No 10-Q data

Same store turnover (other)

Same store units (other)

Same-Store NOI (other)

Same-store NOI (other)

Same-store NOI change (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store NOI change assumption (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store NOI growth (other)

Same-store apartment units (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store expense change (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store expense change assumption (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store expense growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store expenses (other)

Same-store net operating income (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store net operating income growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Same-store operating expense change (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store operating expense growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store rental revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store rental revenue growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Same-store resident turnover (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store results (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store revenue growth (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store revenues (other)

Same-store total revenues (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store turnover (other)

No 10-K data

Same-store units (other)

Shares and Units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Shares and units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

States with properties (other)

No 10-Q data

Technology fund investments (other)

No 10-K data

Third-party managed units (other)

No 10-K data

Third-party units managed (other)

No 10-K data

Total Capital Expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Total Common Shares (assuming OP conversion) (other)

No 10-K data

Total Common Shares and Units (other)

No 10-K data

Total Common Shares and Units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Total NOI rental real estate (other)

No 10-K data

Total capital expenditures (other)

No 10-K data

Total debt (other)

Total debt outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Total distributions paid (other)

No 10-K data

Total indebtedness (other)

No 10-K data

Total market capitalization (other)

No 10-Q data

Total shares and OP units (other)

No 10-K data

Total shares and units outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Turnover (other)

No 10-K data

Turnover rate (other)

Unconsolidated investment projects (other)

No 10-K data

Unencumbered Real Estate Investment (other)

No 10-K data

Unencumbered real estate (other)

Units Managed for Third Parties (other)

No 10-Q data

Units Outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Units Ownership Interest (other)

No 10-K data

Units acquired (other)

Units acquired in merger (other)

No 10-K data

Units acquired since IPO (other)

No 10-K data

Units disposed (other)

Units in unconsolidated projects (other)

No 10-K data

Units managed (other)

No 10-K data

Units managed for others (other)

Units managed for third parties (other)

Units outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Units under agreement to acquire (other)

No 10-K data

Units under contract (other)

No 10-K data

Units under contract or in negotiation (other)

No 10-K data

Units under contract to acquire (other)

No 10-K data

Units under development (other)

Units under management (other)

No 10-K data

Units under purchase agreement (other)

No 10-K data

Unlevered IRR (other)

No 10-K data

Unlevered IRR on dispositions (other)

No 10-K data

Vaccination Compliance (other)

No 10-Q data

Weighted Average Interest Rate (Line of Credit) (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average Common Shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average acquisition cap rate (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average common shares (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average debt maturity (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average disposition cap rate (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average interest rate (other)

Weighted average interest rate on debt (other)

Weighted average mortgage rate (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average notes rate (other)

No 10-K data

us-gaap:NumberOfReportableSegments (other)

Development projects (projects)

No 10-Q data

Total properties owned or interested (properties)

Renewal rate growth (retention)

Development apartment units (rooms)

No 10-K data

Same store growth (same_store_sales)

Common Shares outstanding (assuming OP conversion) (shares)

No 10-K data

Common Shares outstanding (shares_outstanding)

Average unit size (square_footage)

No 10-Q data

Same store turnover (turnover)

Development units (units)

OP Units Outstanding (units_outstanding)

No 10-K data

Units under development (units_shipped)

Beneficial holders of common shares (users)

No 10-Q data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data

Demographics

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2026-06-30acquisition_additionannounced2026-05-20United StatesEnterpriseother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger of equals with AvalonBay announced 2026-05-20; expected to close in 2H 2026. No headcount impact quantified in the filing. Post-close leadership and compensation arrangements for named executives are filed as exhibits (10.2–10.6).
2016-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2015-10-232016-01-27United States (South Florida, Denver, Washington D.C., Seattle, Los Angeles)Property operationsdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of 72 operating properties (23,262 apartment units) for $5.365 billion, closed January 26-27, 2016. Associated property-level headcount reduction not quantified in the filing.
2016-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2016-12-31United States (Joint Base Lewis McChord, Washington)Fee and asset management — military housing venturesother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of the Company's entire interest in management contracts and related rights for the military housing ventures (5,161 apartment units) for approximately $63.3 million during 2016. Associated headcount not disclosed.
2016-09-30restructuringin_progress2016-12-31United StatesCorporate / platformUSD 4 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Full-year 2016 G&A guidance of $57.0-58.0 million includes about $4.0 million of severance costs tied to adjusting the size of the platform; no employee count disclosed.
2013-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2013-02-272013-02-27United StatesRental real estate operationsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Archstone acquisition closed 2013-02-27; added 71 wholly owned stabilized properties (20,160 units), master-leased and development assets. No employee count disclosed; integration of acquired property operations described as substantially complete.
2013-06-30otherin_progressUnited StatesCorporate / joint venture (severance and retention)USD 53 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Archstone-related severance obligations and retention bonuses of $53.0M expensed in H1 2013 through the 60% interest in an unconsolidated AVB joint venture; no affected-employee count disclosed.
2013-06-30otherin_progressUnited StatesCorporateUSD 20 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Direct merger costs (investment banking, legal/accounting) of $19.6M expensed in H1 2013; not a headcount action per se but part of the Archstone transaction cost disclosure.
2013-06-30restructuringcompleted2013-02-27USD 53 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Indirect merger costs related to severance obligations and retention bonuses through 60% interest in unconsolidated joint venture with AVB.
2013-06-30restructuringcompleted2013-02-27USD 20 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Direct merger costs primarily related to investment banking and legal/accounting fees.
2013-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2013-02-272013-02-27United StatesProperty operationsUSD 65 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Archstone Portfolio acquisition closed 2013-02-27; no employee count disclosed. $65.1M of merger-related expenses incurred in Q1 2013, including $19.1M direct merger costs and $46.0M indirect severance/retention obligations through the 60% AVB joint venture.
2013-03-31divestiture_reductioncompletedUnited StatesNon-core markets (Atlanta, Phoenix, Orlando, Jacksonville, Tacoma)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sold 63 consolidated properties (18,452 apartment units) for $3.0 billion during Q1 2013; no associated headcount reduction disclosed.
2012-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2012-11-262013-03-31United StatesRental property operationssubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Contract to acquire ~60% of Archstone assets (~75 operating properties) for ~$8.9 billion; expected to close Q1 2013. No headcount associated with the transaction is disclosed
2012-09-30otherannounced12012-08-282013-06-30United StatesCorporate — executive officerother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Executive retirement agreement effective June 30, 2013 under Rule 70 provisions of share incentive plans; no severance on retirement, with prorated 2013 LTC grant and cash bonus. Not a RIF or restructuring.
2009-12-31othercompletedUnited StatesCorporate and property operationsUSD 3 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2009 severance-related cash charges: approximately $1.4M in general and administrative expense plus $1.6M in property management expense for various employees; headcount affected not disclosed. Excludes amounts related to the former CFO and one other former executive vice officer.
2009-09-30othercompletedUnited StatesCorporate and property operationsUSD 1 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Cash severance for various employees recorded in the nine months ended September 30, 2009: approximately $1.3 million of general and administrative expense (versus $2.2 million in the prior-year period) plus approximately $1.3 million of property management expense (versus $0.3 million prior year). Number of employees affected not disclosed.
2009-03-31othercompletedUnited StatesCorporate (general and administrative) and property managementother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer recorded approximately $0.6 million of additional general and administrative expense and $0.4 million of additional property management expense in Q1 2009, related primarily to cash severance for various employees. No headcount affected was disclosed; amounts are as stated and not summed.
2008-12-31othercompleted2008-12-31United StatesCorporate and property operationsUSD 5 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2008 severance-related expense of approximately $4.3M in general and administrative expense plus $0.8M in property management expense, primarily cash severance for various employees; headcount affected not disclosed. Excludes prior-year (FY2007) severance for former CFO and former EVP.
2008-09-30othercompletedUnited StatesCorporate (general and administrative) and property managementUSD 2 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Nine months ended 2008: cash severance of $2.2M in G&A plus $0.3M in property management for various employees; no employee counts disclosed. Prior-year comparative ($0.9M G&A, $0.5M property management) not extracted.
2008-06-30othercompletedUnited StatesGeneral and administrativeUSD 2 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Cash severance recorded for various employees during the six months ended June 30, 2008; no headcount disclosed
2008-06-30othercompletedUnited StatesProperty managementUSD 0 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Cash severance recorded for various employees during the six months ended June 30, 2008; no headcount disclosed
2008-03-31restructuringcompletedGeneral and AdministrativeUSD 2 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Recorded $1.7 million of additional general and administrative expense related to cash severance for various employees.
2007-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted22007-12-312007-12-31United StatesCorporate — Executive (former CFO and one other former EVP)USD 3 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Resignation and release agreements with the former Chief Financial Officer and one other former executive vice president; charge covers cash severance plus accelerated vesting of share options and restricted/performance shares. Exact announcement date not disclosed; occurred during FY2007.
2006-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2006-06-282006-10-05United StatesLexford Housing DivisionUSD 5 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of the Lexford Housing Division for $1.086 billion closed October 5, 2006; no employee count disclosed. Company recorded approximately $4.5 million of one-time accrued retention benefits in Q3 2006 related to the disposition, included in discontinued operations.
2006-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesApartment property operationsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
During 2006 the Company acquired $1.8 billion of apartment properties (35 properties, 8,768 units) plus $134.4 million of land parcels; no acquisition-related headcount added is disclosed.
2006-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted8002006-06-282006-10-05United States (ten states)Property management (Lexford Housing Division)USD 5 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of the Lexford Housing Division (289 properties, 27,115 units) closed 2006-10-05 for $1.086 billion cash; the transferred property management business employed approximately 800 people. The $4.5 million charge represents one-time accrued retention benefits recorded in Q3 2006, not severance. Count is approximate as stated by the filer.
2006-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted8002006-06-282006-10-05United StatesProperty ManagementUSD 5 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of Lexford Housing Division included a property management business with approximately 800 employees. Company recorded $4.5 million in one-time accrued retention benefits.
2005-12-31othercompleted2005-03-282005-12-31United StatesExecutiveUSD 11 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Amended employment agreement with former CEO Bruce W. Duncan reflecting retirement as CEO and trustee effective December 31, 2005; approximately $11.2 million of additional G&A expense recorded in 2005, primarily accelerated vesting of share options and restricted/performance shares. Headcount affected not stated.
2005-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted2005-02-282005-02-28United StatesEastern Division managementUSD 3 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Separation agreement and general release with Edward Geraghty, President of the Eastern Division, reflecting resignation effective February 28, 2005; $3.3 million severance recorded as additional G&A expense in Q1 2005. Individual executive separation; headcount affected not stated.
2005-12-31restructuringcompletedUnited StatesExecutiveUSD 10 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance costs of $9.8 million for several executive officers drove part of the $22.5 million increase in G&A expense in 2005; number of executives affected not disclosed.
2005-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2006-03-02United States (ten states, Columbus, Ohio)Lexford housing division (299 properties, 27,390 apartment units)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company retained JP Morgan to assist in a possible sale of the Lexford housing division; exploration does not mandate a transaction and no headcount impact disclosed.
2005-09-30othercompleted2005-02-282005-02-28Executive ManagementUSD 3 (millions)other
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Separation agreement and general release for Edward Geraghty, President of Eastern Division, effective February 28, 2005.
2005-06-30othercompleted2005-02-282005-02-28Executive ManagementUSD 3 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Separation agreement with former Eastern Division President Edward Geraghty; $3.3 million severance recorded in Q1 2005.
2005-06-30otherin_progress2005-03-282005-12-31Executive ManagementUSD 5 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Amended employment agreement for CEO Bruce W. Duncan reflecting planned retirement; $5.2 million expense recorded in H1 2005 related to accelerated vesting.
2005-03-31voluntary_separationcompleted2005-02-282005-02-28United StatesEastern Division (senior management)USD 3 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Separation agreement and general release effective 2005-02-28 for Edward Geraghty, President of the Eastern Division; $3.3 million severance recorded as additional G&A expense in Q1 2005.
2005-03-31otherannounced2005-03-282006-01-02United StatesExecutive management (President, CEO and Trustee)USD 10 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Amended employment agreement reflecting planned retirement of CEO Bruce W. Duncan effective 2006-01-02; ~$2.9 million accelerated-vesting G&A charge recorded in Q1 2005 with ~$7.0 million expected over the remainder of 2005.
2005-03-31othercompleted2005-02-282005-02-28Executive ManagementUSD 3 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Resignation of Edward Geraghty, President of Eastern Division; $3.3 million severance recorded as G&A expense.
2005-03-31otherin_progress2005-03-282006-01-02Executive ManagementUSD 3 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Amended employment agreement for CEO Bruce W. Duncan reflecting planned retirement; $2.9 million additional G&A expense recorded for accelerated vesting.
2002-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2002-01-112002-01-11United StatesFurniture rental business (former Globe subsidiary)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of former Globe furniture rental business for ~$30.0M cash; headcount not disclosed. Short-term furnished housing business (ECH) retained.
2002-12-31othercompleted2002-12-312002-12-31United StatesDevelopment property contribution to joint venture partnerother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Contribution of a development property to a partner with 50% retained interest; deconsolidation of related assets. Headcount impact not disclosed.
2000-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2000-07-112000-07-11United StatesCorporate housing and furniture rental (Globe)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All-cash and debt transaction valued at approximately $163.2 million; no employee count disclosed.
2000-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2000-07-212000-07-21Atlanta, GeorgiaCorporate housing (Temporary Quarters)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
$3.3 million all-cash transaction; no employee count disclosed.
2000-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2000-10-312000-10-31United StatesMultifamily properties (Grove Property Trust)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
60 properties, 7,308 units, $463.2 million purchase price; no employee count disclosed.
2000-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2000-07-112000-07-11United StatesCorporate housing and furniture rental/sales (Globe)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All-cash and debt acquisition of Globe Business Resources, Inc.; no employee headcount added or retained is disclosed in the filing.
2000-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2000-07-212000-07-21Atlanta, Georgia, United StatesCorporate housing (Temporary Quarters, Inc.)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
$3.3 million all-cash acquisition completed through the Globe subsidiary; no headcount impact disclosed.
1999-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted1999-06-301999-10-01United States (sixteen states)Multifamily property operationssubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger with Lexford Residential Trust closed 1999-10-01, adding 402 properties and 36,609 units; approximately 3.9 million common shares issued and about $530 million of debt assumed. No employee headcount transferred or added was disclosed.
1998-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted1998-07-081998-10-19United States (nine states)Multifamily property operationssubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger added 118 properties and 34,990 units; no employee headcount associated with the transaction is disclosed in this filing.