Consolidated Edison (ED)

Company ID: 155 | CIK: 0001047862
10-Q view:
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Average revenue per MLB sold (arpu)

No 10-Q data

Gas Storage Capacity (capacity)

Retail Electric Customers (customers)

Retail electricity customers (customers_served)

GHG Emissions (emissions_co2)

No 10-Q data

Gas delivered (gas_production)

Non-utility generator contracts (generation_capacity)

Gas sold to customers (generation_volume)

Unionized employees (headcount)

Aged accounts receivable (other)

Allowance for uncollectible accounts (other)

No 10-K data

Average annual kWh use per residential customer (other)

No 10-Q data

Average annual kWhr use per residential customer (other)

No 10-Q data

Average length of service (other)

No 10-Q data

Average residential electricity use (other)

No 10-Q data

Average revenue per Dth sold (other)

No 10-Q data

Average revenue per Mlbs steam sold (other)

No 10-Q data

Average revenue per kWh sold (other)

No 10-Q data

Commercial paper outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Common Shares Outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Common equity ratio (other)

Common shares outstanding (other)

Customer accounts receivable (other)

Customer arrears over 60 days (other)

No 10-K data

Customers out of service (other)

No 10-K data

Customers without service (other)

No 10-K data

DG Projects (other)

No 10-Q data

Days of revenue outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Days revenue outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Derivative contracts (other)

No 10-K data

Derivative contracts outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Design-condition peak demand (other)

No 10-K data

Distributed Generation Projects (other)

No 10-Q data

Distributed generation projects (other)

No 10-Q data

Distributed generation projects interconnected (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution line miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution overhead lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution substations (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution system miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution transformer capacity (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution underground lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution-level DG projects (other)

No 10-Q data

Earnings to fixed charges ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Electric Energy Purchased (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric capacity hedged (other)

No 10-K data

Electric delivered (other)

No 10-K data

Electric deliveries (other)

No 10-K data

Electric delivery volume change (other)

No 10-K data

Electric delivery volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Electric distribution lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric energy delivered (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric energy hedged (other)

No 10-K data

Electric energy purchased (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric energy sold in franchise area (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric energy sold to customers (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric peak demand (other)

Electric peak demand at design conditions (other)

No 10-K data

Electric peak demand forecast (other)

No 10-K data

Electric peak demand growth forecast (other)

No 10-K data

Electric peak load (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric sales and deliveries (other)

No 10-K data

Electric sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Electric sales volume (other)

No 10-K data

Electric sales volume growth (other)

No 10-K data

Electric sales volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Electric service area (other)

No 10-K data

Electricity delivered (other)

Electricity sales and deliveries (other)

No 10-K data

Electricity sales volume (other)

No 10-K data

Electricity sold (other)

Employee turnover rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Energy delivered (other)

No 10-K data

Environmental capital expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Equivalent days of revenue outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Equivalent number of days of revenue outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Estimated peak electric load (other)

No 10-K data

Fiber optic cable (other)

No 10-K data

Fiber optic cable miles (other)

No 10-K data

Firm gas volume change (other)

No 10-K data

Forecast peak electric demand (other)

No 10-K data

Gas delivered (other)

Gas deliveries (other)

No 10-K data

Gas delivery volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Gas distribution mains (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas main miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas mains (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas peak day demand (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas peak demand growth forecast (other)

No 10-K data

Gas purchased (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas purchased for resale (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas sales and deliveries (other)

No 10-K data

Gas sales and transportation (other)

Gas sales and transportation volume (other)

No 10-K data

Gas sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Gas sales volume (other)

No 10-K data

Gas sales volume growth (other)

No 10-K data

Gas sales volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Gas service line miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas service lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas sold (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas sold to customers (other)

No 10-Q data

Green power sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Green power sold (other)

No 10-Q data

Hedged capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Hedged electric energy (other)

No 10-K data

Hedged natural gas (other)

No 10-K data

Hedged refined fuels (other)

No 10-K data

Hedged volume (other)

No 10-K data

Hedged volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Holders of record (other)

No 10-Q data

Interest coverage ratio (other)

MVP pipeline completion (other)

No 10-K data

Mountain Valley Pipeline completion (other)

No 10-K data

Natural gas delivered (other)

Natural gas hedged (other)

No 10-K data

Net utility plant (other)

No 10-Q data

Number of DG Projects (other)

No 10-Q data

Peak demand growth (other)

No 10-K data

Peak demand growth forecast (other)

No 10-K data

Peak demand growth rate (other)

No 10-K data

Peak electric demand (other)

Peak electric demand forecast (other)

No 10-K data

Peak electric load (other)

No 10-K data

Peak gas demand (other)

No 10-Q data

Peak load (other)

No 10-Q data

Peak load estimate (other)

No 10-K data

Peak load growth forecast (other)

No 10-K data

Peak load growth rate (other)

No 10-K data

Peak steam demand (other)

No 10-Q data

Pension investment allocation (other)

No 10-K data

Pension plan asset allocation (other)

No 10-K data

Pension plan assets (other)

No 10-K data

Pension plan assets allocation (other)

No 10-K data

Pension plan contributions (other)

No 10-Q data

Pension plan equity allocation (other)

No 10-K data

Pension plan fixed income allocation (other)

No 10-K data

Pension plan investments (other)

No 10-K data

Pipeline project completion (other)

No 10-K data

Public float (other)

No 10-Q data

Refined fuels hedged (other)

No 10-K data

Regulated utility construction expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Retail Choice customer load (other)

No 10-K data

Retail electric volumes sold (other)

No 10-Q data

Revenue outstanding days (other)

No 10-K data

Service area (other)

Service area peak demand (other)

No 10-K data

Service territory (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Steam delivered (other)

Steam deliveries (other)

No 10-K data

Steam delivery volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Steam mains (other)

No 10-Q data

Steam peak demand (other)

No 10-Q data

Steam peak demand growth forecast (other)

No 10-K data

Steam produced (other)

No 10-K data

Steam production (other)

No 10-K data

Steam sales (other)

No 10-K data

Steam sales and deliveries (other)

No 10-K data

Steam sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Steam sales volume (other)

No 10-K data

Steam sales volume growth (other)

No 10-K data

Steam sales volumes (other)

No 10-K data

Steam service lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Steam sold (other)

No 10-Q data

Steam volume change (other)

No 10-K data

Total accounts receivable (other)

No 10-K data

Training hours (other)

No 10-Q data

Transmission substations (other)

No 10-Q data

Turnover Rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Turnover rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Utility construction expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Value-at-risk (other)

No 10-K data

Weather-adjusted electric sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Weather-adjusted gas sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Weather-adjusted peak load (other)

No 10-K data

Weather-adjusted sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Wholesale electricity sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Workforce diversity (other)

No 10-Q data

Year 2000 program cost (other)

No 10-K data

Gas delivered (production_volume)

DG Projects (properties)

No 10-Q data

Solar capacity (renewable_capacity)

Revenue, Remaining Performance Obligation, Amount (rpo)

Electric service area (square_footage)

No 10-K data

Transmission circuits (transmission_miles)

No 10-Q data

Steam sold (units_shipped)

No 10-Q data

Waste recycled (waste_generated)

No 10-Q data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data

Demographics

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2024-09-30othercompleted7,3002024-06-23United States (New York City and Westchester County)CECONYMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four-year agreement with CECONY's largest union, ratified with effective date of June 23, 2024.
2024-06-30otherannounced7,3002024-06-30United States (New York City and Westchester County)CECONY — largest union bargaining unitMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four-year agreement reached in June 2024 covering approximately 7,300 employees; subject to ratification by employees. Announcement date approximated to period end as only the month is disclosed.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-10-012023-03-01United StatesClean Energy Businessesdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of all stock of Clean Energy Businesses to RWE completed March 1, 2023; headcount removed not disclosed
2022-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced4622022-10-012023-03-31United StatesClean Energy BusinessesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Con Edison agreed to sell the Clean Energy Businesses to RWE Renewables America, LLC for $6,800 million. Classified as held for sale as of December 31, 2022; expected to close end of Q1 2023. Headcount of 462 reflects employees at the Clean Energy Businesses as of December 31, 2022.
2022-09-30divestiture_reductionannounced2022-10-012023-06-30United StatesCon Edison Clean Energy Businessessubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to sell the Clean Energy Businesses to RWE for $6,800 million, expected to close in first half of 2023; no employee counts or workforce reductions disclosed. Approximately $50-60 million of transaction costs expected, mostly in 2022.
2020-09-30othercompleted7,1002020-06-21United States (New York)CECONYMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four-year collective bargaining agreement reached with CECONY's largest union covering approximately 7,100 employees, effective June 21, 2020.
2020-06-30othercompleted7,1002020-06-21New York (CECONY service territory)CECONY unionized workforceMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four-year collective bargaining agreement reached with CECONY's largest union, effective June 21, 2020, covering approximately 7,100 employees.
2019-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted2019-07-182019-10-31United StatesInformation Technologyother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Board resolutions dated July 18, 2019 amended the Retirement Plan and Thrift Savings Plan effective August 1, 2019 to accelerate vesting for participants in the voluntary separation plan; election window ran August 1 through October 31, 2019. Number of participating employees and any associated charge are not disclosed.
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2018-12-132018-12-13United StatesClean Energy Businesses (Con Edison Development)USD 1,609 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price of $1,609 million including $69 million of working capital and closing adjustments; acquired company held interests in 981 MW (AC) of operating renewable projects. Headcount added not disclosed. Excluded from management's ICFR assessment (3% of consolidated total assets).
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesClean Energy Businessesother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Clean Energy Businesses acquired a battery storage company during 2018, recording $12 million of goodwill in the purchase price allocation. Acquisition date and headcount added not disclosed.
2016-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2016-07-012016-09-30United StatesClean Energy Businesses — Retail Electric Supplyother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Con Edison Solutions sold its retail electric supply business to a subsidiary of Exelon Corporation in September 2016 for cash consideration of $235 million. Employee headcount impact not disclosed.
2016-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2015-10-012016-08-31United States (Pennsylvania)O&R — Pike County Light & Power Companyother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
O&R sold Pike to Corning Natural Gas Holding Corporation in August 2016 for $15 million cash. Employee headcount impact not disclosed.
2016-12-31othercompleted82017-01-31United StatesCECONY to Con Edison TransmissionItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
In January 2017 (subsequent to fiscal year-end), 8 CECONY employees transferred to Con Edison Transmission.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2016-01-012016-12-31United StatesCon Edison TransmissionItem 1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
In January 2017, 8 CECONY employees transferred to Con Edison Transmission. This action is disclosed in the 2016 10-K as a subsequent event/transfer.
2016-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2016-08-012016-08-31PennsylvaniaO&RItem 1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
O&R sold its Pennsylvania subsidiary, Pike, in August 2016. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2016-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2016-09-012016-09-30United StatesClean Energy BusinessesItem 1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Con Edison sold the retail electric supply business of its Clean Energy Businesses in September 2016. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2016-09-30othercompleted8,0002016-06-26New York City and Westchester County, NYCECONYMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
CECONY reached a four-year collective bargaining agreement with its largest union covering approximately 8,000 employees, effective June 26, 2016. No restructuring, RIF, or headcount reduction actions disclosed in this filing.
2016-06-30othercompleted8,0002016-06-26United States — New York City and Westchester CountyCECONY — largest union bargaining unitMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four-year collective bargaining agreement reached in June 2016 with CECONY's largest union, effective June 26, 2016, covering approximately 8,000 employees. No headcount reduction or restructuring implied.
2015-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2015-06-012016-12-31United StatesCompetitive energy businesses — retail electric supplydiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Con Edison initiated a plan in June 2015 to sell the retail electric supply business; related assets and liabilities classified as held for sale, sale expected to close within twelve months of year-end. No headcount associated with the sale is disclosed.
2015-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2015-10-012016-12-31United States — Pennsylvania/New JerseyO&R — Pike County Light & Power CompanyUSD 5 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
O&R agreed in October 2015 to sell Pike to Corning Natural Gas Holding Corporation for $16 million; $5 million impairment ($3 million after tax) recorded. Closing subject to FERC and PAPUC approvals. No employee count disclosed for the divested operations.
2012-12-31restructuringin_progressCecony Electric [Member] / April Two Thousand Nine [Member] / March Two Thousand Ten [Member]USD 47,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2012-09-30othercompleted8,0002012-07-012012-08-31New YorkCECONY electric, gas and steam operationsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
26-day work stoppage ended by a four-year collective bargaining agreement covering approximately 8,000 employees, ratified in August 2012. During the stoppage, operations continued with approximately 5,500 employees and additional resources. Exact announcement date not specified; July 2012 used as approximate.
2012-09-30othercompleted8,0002012-07-012012-08-01New YorkCECONYMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
26-day work stoppage involving approximately 8,000 employees ended in July 2012; agreement ratified in August 2012.
2012-06-30othercompleted8,0002012-07-31United States (New York City and Westchester County)CECONY electric, gas and steam operationsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
In July 2012 CECONY reached a four-year collective bargaining agreement covering approximately 8,000 employees, subject to ratification, ending a 26-day work stoppage. During the stoppage the company operated with approximately 5,500 employees plus additional resources. Disclosed as a subsequent event in MD&A.
2012-06-30othercompleted8,0002012-07-01New YorkCECONYMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Reached a four-year collective bargaining agreement covering approximately 8,000 employees, ending a 26-day work stoppage.
2009-03-31otherin_progress2009-01-01New YorkConstruction/Operationsother
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Internal investigation into arrests of certain employees and retired employees for accepting kickbacks from contractors. Company terminated employment of arrested employees and contracts with contractors.
2008-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2007-122008-06-30United StatesCompetitive energy businesses (Con Edison Development)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of ownership interests in generating projects totaling about 1,706 MW completed in Q2 2008; no headcount associated with the sale is disclosed.
2008-12-31othercompleted102009-01United StatesCon Edison of New York — construction/contractor oversightother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Ten employees (plus one retired employee) arrested in January 2009 for kickbacks from a contractor; the company terminated the arrested employees. Post-fiscal-year event; internal investigation still in early stages at filing.
2008-03-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2007-122008-06-30United StatesCon Edison Development — power generating projects (Rock Springs, Ocean Peaking Power, CEEMI, Newington, Lakewood)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of ~1,706 MW generating projects to North American Energy Alliance for ~$1.5 billion, scheduled to close in two stages during 1H 2008. No headcount associated with the divestiture is disclosed in the filing.
2006-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2006-03-31United StatesCon Edison Communications, LLCdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Con Edison Communications to RCN Corporation completed March 2006 for approximately $39 million cash; no employee count disclosed.
2004-09-30othercompleted2004-06-30New York, United StatesCon Edison of New York and O&RMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Collective bargaining agreements reached in June 2004 covering about two-thirds of each company's employees; no headcount figure disclosed.
2004-06-30otherin_progress2004-06-30New York, United StatesCon Edison of New York and O&R (unions representing about two-thirds of each company's employees)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
In June 2004 Con Edison of New York reached a tentative collective bargaining agreement and O&R achieved a final agreement (awaiting signatures) with unions covering about two-thirds of each company's employees.
2000-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted1999-07-011999-07-31New York, New Jersey, PennsylvaniaRegulated electric and gas utility (O&R)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition completed July 1999 for $791.5 million cash; 2000 is first full year of O&R ownership. Filer does not disclose acquired headcount; O&R headcount of 999 at 2000-12-31 is the only related figure.
2000-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted1999-06-301999-12-31New YorkElectric generation (Con Edison of New York)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sales of almost 6,300 MW of ~8,300 MW generating capacity completed in 1999 for $1.8 billion; 480 MW Roseton interest sold January 2001. Filer does not quantify headcount removed. Related voluntary employee retirement incentive expenses of $30 million deferred and $15 million charged to income in 2000.
2000-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted1999-01-012000-12-31New YorkCon Edison of New York — special retirement programUSD 45 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
1999 special retirement program increased pension obligations by $45 million; $15 million expensed in 2000 and $30 million recorded as regulatory asset amortized over 15 years from October 2000. Employee count not disclosed.
2000-12-31restructuringcompleted1999-06-302000-12-31New YorkO&R — electric generation divestitureUSD 11 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
O&R sold all generating assets June 1999; $11.3 million of employee retraining, retention and severance costs included in sale cost. Additional pension/OPEB curtailment costs of $1.6 million and $0.8 million. Employee count not disclosed.
2000-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted9991999-07-011999-07-01New York, New Jersey, PennsylvaniaOrange and Rockland Utilities, Inc. (O&R)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Con Edison acquired O&R in July 1999. The 999 employees are included in the year-end 2000 headcount.
2000-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted1999-06-011999-08-01New YorkCon Edison of New YorkMD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Con Edison of New York sold most of its electric generating capacity in June and August 1999. Specific headcount reduction not disclosed.
2000-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted1999-06-011999-06-01New YorkOrange and Rockland Utilities, Inc. (O&R)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
O&R sold all of its generating assets in June 1999. Specific headcount reduction not disclosed.
2000-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted1999New YorkCon Edison of New YorkUSD 45 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Special retirement program in 1999 providing enhanced pension benefits. Increase in pension obligations was $45 million. $15 million expensed in 2000, $30 million deferred.
2000-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted1999New YorkCon Edison of New YorkUSD 30 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Voluntary employee retirement incentive expenses related to generation divestiture. $30 million deferred for amortization over 15 years, $15 million charged to income in 2000.
2000-12-31restructuringcompleted1999New York, New Jersey, PennsylvaniaOrange and Rockland Utilities, Inc.USD 11 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Employee retraining, retention and severance pay associated with sale of generating assets in June 1999.
2000-12-31restructuringcompleted1999New York, New Jersey, PennsylvaniaOrange and Rockland Utilities, Inc.USD 2 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Additional pension and postretirement benefit costs due to curtailments and special termination benefits triggered by divestiture.
2000-06-30othercompleted2000-06-30United States — New York City and Westchester CountyCon Edison of New York — all functionsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four-year collective bargaining agreement concluded June 2000 covering approximately two-thirds of employees; wage increases of 3.0% in years 1-3, 2.5% in year 4, plus potential 0.5% merit each year.
2000-06-30othercompleted2000-06-30United States — New York (Orange and Rockland service territory)O&R — all functionsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four-year collective bargaining agreement concluded June 2000 covering approximately 65% of employees; wage increases of 3.25% in year 1, 3.0% in years 2-3, 3.25% in year 4.
2000-06-30othercompleted2000-06-01New YorkConsolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Concluded a four-year collective bargaining agreement with the union representing approximately two-thirds of its employees.
2000-06-30othercompleted65%2000-06-01New YorkOrange and Rockland Utilities, Inc.MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Concluded a new four-year collective bargaining agreement with the union representing approximately 65 percent of its employees.
2000-03-31restructuringcompletedOrange and Rockland Utilities, Inc. (O&R)Generating assets / OperationsMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of generating assets in June 1999 resulted in a 25 percent reduction in the workforce.
1999-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted1,0611999-07-011999-07-31United States — southeastern New York, New Jersey, PennsylvaniaRegulated electric and gas utility operationsUSD 792 (millions)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Con Edison completed acquisition of O&R for $791.5M cash in July 1999. O&R had 1,061 employees at 1999-12-31. Headcount figure is year-end count, not explicitly stated as acquisition addition.
1999-12-31voluntary_separationcompletedUnited States — New YorkCon Edison of New YorkUSD 45 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Special retirement program in 1999 offering enhanced pension benefits to eligible employees retiring within specified time limits; $45.0M increase in pension obligations deferred for PSC disposition. No employee count disclosed.
1999-12-31voluntary_separationcompletedUnited States — southeastern New York, New Jersey, PennsylvaniaOrange and Rockland Utilitiesrestructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
O&R offered a special retirement program in 1999 with enhanced pension benefits; curtailment charge recorded under SFAS 88. No employee count or charge amount disclosed separately.
1999-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted1999New YorkCon Edison of New YorkUSD 45 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Special retirement program providing enhanced pension benefits. Increase in pension obligations amounts to $45.0 million.
1999-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted1999New York/New Jersey/PennsylvaniaOrange and Rockland Utilities, Inc. (O&R)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Special retirement program providing enhanced pension benefits. Curtailment charge recorded; portion expensed, portion deferred as regulatory asset.
1999-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted1999-07-081999-07-08New York, New Jersey, PennsylvaniaRegulated utility (O&R)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
CEI completed acquisition of O&R for $791.5 million in cash; no headcount added disclosed.
1999-09-30restructuringcompleted1999-07-08New York, New Jersey, PennsylvaniaO&R — workforce reductions and curtailment losses under employee benefit plansUSD 21 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
O&R recognized ~$20.9M for contractual termination benefits, workforce reductions, and curtailment losses tied to CEI acquisition; no employee count disclosed. Additional $2.4M of SFAS 88/106 costs related to June 1999 sale of generating assets.
1999-09-30restructuringcompletedOrange and Rockland Utilities, Inc.GeneralUSD 21 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
O&R recognized approximately $20.9 million of expenses for contractual termination benefits, workforce reductions and curtailment losses under employee benefit plans in connection with the July 1999 acquisition by CEI. Employee count not disclosed.
1998-09-30otherannounced1998-102002-06-30United States — New York City areaCon Edison workforce (union-represented employees)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Con Edison agreed with the union representing about two-thirds of employees to extend the collective bargaining agreement to June 2002; agreement addresses effects of generating capacity divestiture and remains subject to employee ratification vote.
1998-09-30othercompleted1998-102002-06New YorkAllMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Con Edison agreed with the union representing approximately two-thirds of employees to extend the collective bargaining agreement to June 2002. The agreement addresses effects of generating capacity divestiture on employees.
1997-12-31restructuringcompleted7361997-01-011997-12-31New YorkCentral OperationsMD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
For 1997 the decrease [in expenses] reflects... a 4.9 percent reduction in the workforce.
1997-12-31restructuringcompleted4.9%19971997-12-31New YorkGeneralMD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Decrease in other operations and maintenance expenses reflects a 4.9 percent reduction in the workforce.