Tesla (TSLA)

Company ID: 15 | CIK: 0001318605
10-Q view:
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

Business Unit / Product Segments

No 10-K data
No 10-K data

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

Operational KPIs

Toyota RAV4 EV contract value (backlog)

No 10-K data

Reservation payments held (bookings)

Service centers (branches)

No 10-K data

Solar energy deployed (capacity)

Capital Expenditures (capital_expenditures)

No 10-K data

Solar customers (customers)

Leased vehicles (fleet_size)

No 10-K data

Solar capacity deployed (generation_capacity)

Energy storage deployed (generation_volume)

Employees (headcount)

Vehicles under lease (inventory_units)

No 10-K data

Order book (order_book)

Customer reservations (orders_received)

Accrued warranty reserve (other)

No 10-K data

Active lease vehicles (other)

No 10-K data

Active leases (other)

No 10-K data

Aggregate customer miles driven (other)

No 10-Q data

Average cost of goods per vehicle (other)

No 10-Q data

Bitcoin fair market value (other)

No 10-K data

Bitcoin held (other)

No 10-K data

Bitcoin holdings (other)

Bitcoin purchased (other)

No 10-K data

Capital expenditure guidance (other)

No 10-K data

Capital expenditures (other)

No 10-K data

Capital expenditures forecast (other)

No 10-K data

Capital expenditures guidance (other)

No 10-K data

Capitalized interest (other)

No 10-K data

Cash and Cash Equivalents (other)

No 10-K data

Cash and cash equivalents (other)

No 10-K data

Cash and short-term investments (other)

No 10-K data

Common Stock Outstanding (other)

Common stock outstanding (other)

Common stock shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Construction in Progress (other)

No 10-K data

Countries served (other)

No 10-Q data

Countries with deliveries (other)

No 10-Q data

Countries with vehicle sales (other)

No 10-K data

Cumulative vehicle miles driven (other)

No 10-Q data

Cumulative vehicles in leasing programs (other)

No 10-K data

Customer deposits (other)

No 10-K data

DOE Loan Facility Available (other)

No 10-K data

DOE loan facility available (other)

No 10-K data

Deferred revenue (other)

No 10-K data

Delivery target (other)

No 10-K data

Depreciation expense (other)

No 10-K data

Destination charging connectors (other)

No 10-Q data

Destination charging locations (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital assets carrying value (other)

No 10-K data

Digital assets fair value (other)

No 10-K data

Digital assets held (other)

No 10-K data

Energy storage deployed (other)

Energy storage deployments (other)

No 10-K data

Financing cash flow (other)

No 10-K data

Financing funds (other)

No 10-Q data

Fleet miles driven (other)

No 10-Q data

Gigafactory 1 capitalized costs (other)

No 10-K data

Gigafactory 1 cumulative capitalization (other)

No 10-K data

Gigafactory 1 cumulative investment (other)

No 10-K data

Gigafactory 1 spend (other)

No 10-K data

Gigafactory construction spend (other)

No 10-K data

Interest rate swap notional (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory balance (other)

No 10-K data

Inventory write-downs (other)

No 10-K data

Issued patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Lease expense (other)

No 10-K data

Leased vehicle share (other)

No 10-K data

Leased vehicles (other)

No 10-Q data

Leasing states (other)

No 10-K data

Long-lived assets (other)

No 10-K data

Long-term Debt (other)

No 10-K data

Median employee compensation (other)

No 10-Q data

Number Of Reportable Segments (other)

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

Operating cash flow (other)

No 10-K data

Outstanding Options (other)

No 10-Q data

Patent applications pending (other)

No 10-Q data

Patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Patents issued (other)

No 10-Q data

Pending patent applications (other)

No 10-Q data

Powerwall installations (other)

No 10-K data

Regulatory credit sales (other)

No 10-K data

Resale guarantee vehicles (other)

No 10-K data

Resale value guarantee exercisable (other)

No 10-Q data

Resale value guarantee exposure (other)

No 10-K data

Resale value guarantee vehicles (other)

Resale value guarantees exercisable (other)

No 10-K data

Reservation Payments (other)

No 10-K data

Reservation payments (other)

No 10-K data

Reservation payments held (other)

Restructuring cost savings (other)

No 10-K data

Roadster glider purchase commitment (other)

No 10-K data

Roadster miles driven (other)

No 10-Q data

Roadsters delivered via lease (other)

No 10-Q data

Sales return reserve (other)

No 10-K data

Securities Available for Issuance (other)

No 10-Q data

Service centers (other)

No 10-K data

Service locations (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Short-term Marketable Securities (other)

No 10-K data

Solar capacity deployed (other)

No 10-Q data

Solar deployed (other)

Solar energy deployed (other)

Solar energy systems deployed (other)

Solar systems deployed (other)

No 10-K data

Supercharger locations (other)

No 10-K data

Supercharger network book value (other)

No 10-K data

Supercharger stations (other)

Supercharger stations open (other)

No 10-K data

Supercharging stations (other)

No 10-K data

Tesla Roadster aggregate miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Tesla wall connectors installed (other)

No 10-Q data

Total debt principal (other)

No 10-K data

Unused committed amounts (other)

No 10-K data

Unused letters of credit (other)

No 10-K data

Vehicle production growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Vehicles delivered under operating lease (other)

No 10-K data

Vehicles leased (other)

Vehicles under guarantee (other)

No 10-K data

Vehicles under lease (other)

No 10-Q data

Vehicles under resale guarantee (other)

No 10-Q data

Vehicles under resale value guarantee (other)

Vehicles under resale value guarantee exercisable (other)

No 10-K data

Vehicles with guarantee exercisable (other)

No 10-K data

Wall connectors installed (other)

No 10-Q data

Warranty costs incurred (other)

No 10-K data

Warranty provision (other)

No 10-K data

Warranty reserve (other)

No 10-K data

Weekly production rate (other)

No 10-K data

ZEV credit sales (other)

No 10-K data

ZEV credits sold (other)

No 10-K data

Energy storage deployed (production_volume)

Destination charging locations (properties)

Solar capacity deployed (renewable_capacity)

Remaining performance obligations (rpo)

Facility square footage (square_footage)

Sales and service locations (stores)

Peak weekly production (throughput)

Long-lived assets (total_assets)

No 10-K data

Powertrain components sold (units_shipped)

Vehicles delivered (vehicles_delivered)

Vehicles produced (vehicles_produced)

Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data

Demographics

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No 10-Q data
No 10-K data

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2025-12-31restructuringcompleted2025AutomotiveUSD 390 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Actions initiated in Q3 2025 to reduce costs and improve efficiency via convergence of AI chip design efforts; charges cover supercomputer assets, contract terminations and employee terminations recognized in H2 2025. Employee count affected not disclosed. Also referenced in MD&A (Restructuring and Other) and consolidated here per deduplication rule; completion implied by full charge recognition within FY2025 but not explicitly stated.
2025-12-31restructuringin_progress2025-09Not specifiedAutomotive segment — AI chip design effortsUSD 390 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Initiated in Q3 2025 to converge AI chip design efforts; charges cover supercomputer assets, contract terminations and employee terminations recognized in second half of 2025. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-12-31restructuringcompleted2025-07-012025-12-31GlobalAutomotiveUSD 390 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Initiated in Q3 2025 to reduce costs through convergence of AI chip design efforts. Charges include supercomputer assets, contract terminations, and employee terminations.
2025-12-31restructuringcompleted2024-04-012024-06-30GlobalGlobalUSD 583 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Initiated in Q2 2024 and substantially completed. Recognized $583 million of employee termination expenses. Included in 2025 filing as comparative context for prior year activity.
2025-12-31restructuringcompleted2025-07-012025-12-31GlobalAutomotiveUSD 390 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Initiated in Q3 2025 to reduce costs and improve efficiency through convergence of AI chip design efforts. Charges include supercomputer assets, contract terminations, and employee terminations.
2025-12-31restructuringcompleted2024-04-012024-06-30GlobalCorporateUSD 583 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024. Recognized $583 million of employee termination expenses.
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressUSD 390,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-09-30restructuringcompleted2025-07-01Automotive segmentUSD 238 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Q3 2025 actions to reduce costs and improve efficiency through convergence of AI chip design efforts; charges cover supercomputer assets, contract terminations and employee terminations. No employee count disclosed.
2025-09-30restructuringin_progress2025-09-30Automotive segment — AI chip designUSD 238 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q3 2025 cost-reduction actions from converging AI chip design efforts; charge covers supercomputer asset, contract and employee termination costs. No employee count disclosed.
2025-09-30restructuringin_progress2025-07-01AutomotiveUSD 238 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Initiated in Q3 2025 to reduce costs via convergence of AI chip design efforts. Charges include supercomputer assets, contract terminations, and employee terminations. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-09-30restructuringcompleted2024-04-01USD 332 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024. YTD 2025 charge of $332M reflects cumulative impact including prior period actions. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-09-30restructuringin_progress2025-07-01AutomotiveUSD 238 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Initiated actions to reduce costs and improve efficiency through convergence of AI chip design efforts. Charges include supercomputer assets, contract terminations, and employee terminations. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-09-30restructuringin_progressUSD 238,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD 94 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring and other expense of $94M recognized in the six months ended June 30, 2025 (nil in Q2 2025, so the charge arose in Q1 2025). The filing gives no employee counts, geographies, functions, announcement date, or completion timing for this charge; the only narrative restructuring discussion refers to prior-year (Q2 2024) actions.
2025-06-30restructuringcompleted2024-04-012024-06-30GlobalVariousUSD 583 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
In the second quarter of 2024, the company initiated and substantially completed certain restructuring actions to reduce costs and improve efficiency. $583 million of employee termination expenses were recognized in Q2 2024. No specific employee count was disclosed for this action in the current filing.
2025-06-30restructuringcompleted2025-04-012025-06-30GlobalVariousUSD 94 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Filing reports $94 million in restructuring and other expenses for the six months ended June 30, 2025. No specific employee count is disclosed for the current period actions.
2025-03-31restructuringin_progressUSD 94 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Restructuring and other expense of $94 million recognized in Q1 2025; no employee counts, severance detail, or completion timeline disclosed in the filing.
2025-03-31restructuringin_progressUSD 94 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Filing reports $94 million in 'Restructuring and other' expenses for Q1 2025, compared to $0 in Q1 2024. No specific employee count or program details provided in this filing.
2025-03-31restructuringin_progressUSD 94 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Filing reports $94 million in 'Restructuring and other' expenses for Q1 2025. No specific employee count or headcount reduction details are provided in the text or footnotes.
2024-12-31restructuringcompletedUSD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Program initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024 to cut costs and improve efficiency; number of employees affected not disclosed. Charge substantially paid by year-end with only an immaterial accrual remaining; broader 2024 Restructuring and other line totaled $684 million including non-severance items. Same action also discussed in MD&A.
2024-12-31restructuringcompleted2024-042024-06-30GlobalNot specifiedUSD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024 to reduce costs and improve efficiency; employee termination expenses of $583M within the $684M Restructuring and other line. Number of employees affected not disclosed; substantially paid by year-end with an immaterial accrual remaining.
2024-12-31restructuringcompleted2024-04-012024-12-31GlobalVariousUSD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024 to reduce costs and improve efficiency. Employee count not disclosed.
2024-12-31restructuringcompleted2024-04-012024-06-30GlobalVariousUSD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024 to reduce costs and improve efficiency. Recognized $583 million in employee termination expenses. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2024-09-30restructuringcompletedUSD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Restructuring actions initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024 to reduce costs and improve efficiency; employee termination expenses of $583 million recognized, substantially paid with an immaterial accrual remaining as of September 30, 2024. Number of employees affected not disclosed.
2024-09-30restructuringcompleted2024USD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Employee termination expenses of $583M recognized; actions initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024, with an immaterial accrual remaining at 2024-09-30. Number of employees affected not disclosed. Announcement date known only to the quarter (Q2 2024).
2024-09-30restructuringcompleted2024-04-01GlobalVariousUSD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024. Recognized $583 million in employee termination expenses. Employee count not disclosed.
2024-09-30restructuringcompleted2024-04-012024-06-30GlobalVariousUSD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024 to reduce costs and improve efficiency. Recognized $583 million in employee termination expenses. Employee count not disclosed.
2024-06-30restructuringcompleted2024-06-30USD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Restructuring actions initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024 to reduce costs and improve efficiency; $583 million of employee termination expenses recognized, substantially paid during the quarter. Total Restructuring and other expense was $622 million. No employee count disclosed.
2024-06-30restructuringcompleted2024-06-30Not specifiedNot specifiedUSD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Employee termination expenses of $583M within the $622M total Restructuring and other charge; initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024. Headcount affected not disclosed.
2024-06-30restructuringcompleted2024-04-012024-06-30GlobalVariousUSD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Initiated and substantially completed in Q2 2024 to reduce costs and improve efficiency. Employee termination expenses recognized. No specific headcount disclosed.
2024-06-30restructuringcompleted2024-04-012024-06-30GlobalVariousUSD 583 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Initiated and substantially completed restructuring actions to reduce costs and improve efficiency. Recognized $583 million of employee termination expenses. Employee count not disclosed.
2024-03-31restructuringannounced2024-04USD 350 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Restructuring initiated in April 2024 to reduce costs and improve efficiency; expected costs primarily employee termination expenses, recognized in Q2 2024. No employee count disclosed.
2024-03-31restructuringannounced2024-042024-06-30USD 350 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
April 2024 restructuring actions to reduce costs; expected charge in excess of $350 million, primarily employee termination expenses, in Q2 2024. Headcount affected not disclosed. Announcement month only (April 2024); no specific day given.
2024-03-31restructuringannounced2024-04-012024-06-30GlobalVariousUSD 350 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Initiated in April 2024 to reduce costs and improve efficiency; charges primarily related to employee termination expenses expected in Q2 2024.
2024-03-31restructuringannounced2024-042024-06-30USD 350 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Initiated in April 2024 to reduce costs and improve efficiency; expects to recognize in excess of $350 million primarily related to employee termination expenses in Q2 2024.
2023-06-30restructuringcompletedUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Expenses related to employee terminations recorded in Q2 2022. No restructuring charges recorded in Q2 2023.
2022-12-31restructuringcompletedUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Other expenses recorded in the second quarter of 2022 related to employee terminations; number of employees affected and completion timeline not disclosed. Not labeled as a RIF or layoff program.
2022-12-31restructuringcompleted2022-06-302022-06-30Not specifiedNot specifiedUSD 36 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Employee-termination related expense recorded in the second quarter of 2022; announcement date reflects quarter-level disclosure only. Number of employees affected is not disclosed. Reported within the $176 million Restructuring and other line, which also includes digital asset impairment losses of $204 million and $64 million gains on conversion of digital assets.
2022-12-31restructuringcompleted2022-06-302022-06-30GlobalVariousUSD 36 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Expenses related to employee terminations recorded in Q2 2022. No specific headcount disclosed.
2022-12-31restructuringcompleted2022-04-012022-06-30GlobalVariousUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Expenses related to employee terminations recorded in the second quarter of 2022. Employee count not disclosed.
2022-09-30layoffcompletedUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Other expenses of $36 million recorded in the nine months ended September 30, 2022 related to employee terminations that occurred in the second quarter of 2022; no headcount figure disclosed.
2022-09-30restructuringcompletedUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Tesla recorded $36 million of other expense in the nine months ended 2022-09-30 for employee terminations occurring in Q2 2022; no employee count, geography, or function disclosed.
2022-09-30restructuringcompletedUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Recorded $36 million in expenses related to employee terminations in the second quarter of 2022.
2022-09-30restructuringcompletedUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Recorded $36 million in expenses related to employee terminations in the second quarter of 2022. Employee count not disclosed.
2022-06-30othercompletedUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Other expenses of $36 million recorded in Q2 2022 related to recent employee terminations; number of employees affected not disclosed.
2022-06-30restructuringcompleted2022-06-30USD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Other expenses of $36 million recorded in the three months ended June 30, 2022 tied to recent employee terminations; no headcount affected, geography, or function disclosed. Announcement date approximated to quarter end as no specific date given.
2022-06-30restructuringcompletedUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Recorded $36 million in expenses related to recent employee terminations during Q2 2022.
2022-06-30restructuringcompletedUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Recorded $36 million in expenses related to recent employee terminations during the three months ended June 30, 2022.
2020-12-31othercompletedGlobalAll segmentsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Temporary labor cost measures, including employee furloughs and compensation reductions, implemented in the first half of 2020 in response to COVID-19 factory suspensions; described as temporary and not quantified by headcount or charge
2020-12-31restructuringcompleted2020-01-012020-12-31GlobalVariousUSD 0 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Filer states there were no restructuring actions in the year ended December 31, 2020. Prior year (2019) had $149 million in charges. This record confirms the absence of activity for the current fiscal year.
2020-12-31restructuringcompleted2020-04-012020-12-31United StatesGlobalItem_1A_Risk_Factors
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Temporary furloughs of certain hourly employees and base salary reductions for most salaried employees in April 2020 due to pandemic-related manufacturing suspension.
2020-09-30layoffcompletedWorldwideManufacturingMD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Temporary employee furloughs and compensation reductions were instituted while U.S. operations were scaled back during the first half of 2020 due to COVID-19; operations resumed at all manufacturing facilities exiting the first half of 2020. No affected-employee count disclosed.
2020-09-30plant_closurecompletedNew York, United StatesEnergy generation and storage (Solar Roof)other
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Most manufacturing operations at Gigafactory New York were temporarily suspended pursuant to a New York State executive order issued in March 2020 as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic; a one-year deferral of SUNY Foundation compliance obligations was granted. No affected-employee count disclosed.
2020-09-30othercompleted2020-04-01United StatesManufacturingMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
In April 2020, the company temporarily furloughed certain hourly employees and reduced most salaried employees' base salaries in response to the pandemic.
2020-09-30othercompleted2020-04-01United StatesAllMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
In April 2020, the company temporarily furloughed certain hourly employees and reduced most salaried employees' base salaries in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
2020-06-30othercompletedGlobalAll operationsMD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Temporary labor cost reduction measures during COVID-19 factory suspensions: certain hourly employees furloughed, most salaried employees' base salaries reduced globally, and bonus and commission structures reduced. Counts not quantified; operations resumed at all manufacturing facilities exiting Q2 2020.
2020-06-30otherin_progressGlobal (primarily United States)Hourly and salaried employees across manufacturing operationsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Temporary COVID-19 labor cost measures: furloughs of certain hourly employees, base salary reductions for most salaried employees globally, and reduced bonus/commission structures while U.S. operations were scaled back. No affected-employee counts or charge amounts disclosed; operations resumed at all facilities exiting Q2 2020.
2020-06-30othercompletedUnited StatesManufacturing (Fremont Factory, Gigafactory Nevada, Gigafactory New York)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Temporary suspension of production at factories resulted in idle capacity charges of $189M (Q2) and $213M (YTD) in automotive cost of sales plus $20M in energy cost of sales; charges relate to fixed costs during shutdowns, not severance. No headcount reduction counts disclosed.
2020-06-30othercompleted2020-04-01GlobalAllMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Company instituted temporary labor cost reduction measures including furloughing certain hourly employees, reducing most salaried employees' base salaries globally, and reducing bonus and commission structures during the first half of 2020 due to COVID-19 pandemic.
2020-06-30othercompleted2020-04-012020-06-30GlobalAllMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Temporary labor cost reduction measures instituted during Q1-Q2 2020 due to COVID-19, including furloughing certain hourly employees, reducing most salaried employees' base salaries globally, and reducing bonus and commission structures. Operations resumed at all facilities by end of Q2.
2020-03-31otherannounced2020-04Global (U.S. operations scaled back)Hourly employees (furloughed); salaried employees (base salary reductions)MD&A
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Temporary cost reduction measures in April 2020: furloughed certain hourly employees and reduced most salaried employees' base salaries globally while U.S. operations are scaled back due to COVID-19. No headcount or charge amounts disclosed.
2020-03-31otherin_progress2020-04Global (primarily United States)Hourly and salaried employees across U.S. operationsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
In April 2020 Tesla furloughed certain hourly employees and cut base salaries for most salaried employees globally while U.S. operations were scaled back due to COVID-19. No affected-employee counts or charges disclosed.
2020-03-31plant_closurein_progress2020-03-14United States — Buffalo, New YorkEnergy generation and storage (Gigafactory New York)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Most production at Gigafactory New York temporarily suspended starting March 14, 2020 under a New York State executive order; no headcount impact quantified.
2020-03-31plant_closurein_progress2020-03-23United States — Fremont, CaliforniaAutomotive (Fremont Factory)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All production at the Fremont Factory temporarily suspended starting March 23, 2020; idle capacity charges of $24 million recorded in cost of automotive sales for Q1 2020. No headcount impact quantified.
2020-03-31plant_closureannounced2020-04-12United States — NevadaAutomotive / Energy (Gigafactory Nevada)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Most production at Gigafactory Nevada temporarily suspended starting April 12, 2020 (post-quarter event); Panasonic had earlier suspended its operations there for 14 days. No headcount impact quantified.
2020-03-31othercompleted2020-04-01GlobalAllMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
In April 2020, the company temporarily furloughed certain hourly employees and reduced most salaried employees' base salaries globally while U.S. operations were scaled back due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
2020-03-31otherin_progress2020-03-23United StatesManufacturingMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Temporarily suspended all production at Fremont Factory starting March 23, 2020 due to COVID-19.
2020-03-31otherin_progress2020-03-14United StatesManufacturingMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Temporarily suspended most production at Gigafactory New York starting March 14, 2020 pursuant to NY State executive order.
2020-03-31otherin_progress2020-04-12United StatesManufacturingMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Temporarily suspended most production at Gigafactory Nevada starting April 12, 2020.
2020-03-31otherin_progress2020-04-01GlobalAllMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Instituted temporary cost reduction measures by furloughing certain hourly employees and reducing most salaried employees' base salaries globally.
2019-12-31restructuringcompletedBoth automotive and energy generation and storage segmentsUSD 50 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Cost-reduction and efficiency actions carried out during FY2019; charge primarily relates to employee termination expenses plus losses from closing certain stores. Headcount affected not disclosed. Termination costs substantially paid by 2019-12-31; remaining amounts non-cash. Component of $149M total 'Restructuring and other', which also included non-workforce impairments of $47M (IPR&D) and $15M (equipment) and $37M of facility closure losses captured as a separate record.
2019-12-31plant_closurecompletedUSD 37 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Loss recognized during FY2019 for closing operations in certain facilities as part of the 2019 cost-reduction restructuring; number of employees affected not disclosed.
2019-12-31restructuringcompleted2019-12-31Both segments (automotive; energy generation and storage)USD 149 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2019 program: $50M employee terminations and store-closure losses, $47M IPR&D impairment, $15M related equipment impairment, $37M facility-closure losses. Employee termination costs substantially paid by 2019-12-31; remaining amounts non-cash. No headcount affected disclosed.
2019-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2019-05-162019-05-16Automotive segmentbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Maxwell Technologies acquired for its technology and workforce; headcount added not quantified. Purchase consideration $207M in stock.
2019-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2019-12-31Automotive segmentbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Various FY2019 acquisitions totaling $96M consideration, primarily for technology and workforce; headcount added not quantified.
2019-12-31restructuringcompletedGlobalBoth segmentsUSD 50 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Employee termination expenses primarily related to closing certain stores. Substantially paid by year-end.
2019-12-31restructuringcompletedGlobalEnergy Generation and StorageUSD 62 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Includes $47M IPR&D impairment and $15M equipment impairment. Non-cash charges.
2019-12-31plant_closurecompletedGlobalVariousUSD 37 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Loss from closing operations in certain facilities.
2019-12-31restructuringcompleted20192019-12-31GlobalAutomotive and Energy Generation and StorageUSD 50 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Employee termination expenses and losses from closing certain stores. Employee termination expenses substantially paid by Dec 31, 2019.
2019-12-31plant_closurecompleted20192019-12-31GlobalEnergy Generation and StorageUSD 37 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Loss for closing operations in certain facilities.
2019-09-30restructuringcompletedBoth segmentsUSD 50 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Nine months ended September 30, 2019: $50 million of costs primarily related to employee termination expenses and losses from closing certain stores; employee termination expenses substantially paid by September 30, 2019. No employee count disclosed.
2019-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2019-05-16United StatesAutomotiveUSD 207 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Acquisition of Maxwell Technologies completed May 16, 2019 for $207 million in stock; Maxwell workforce assumed but no headcount figure disclosed.
2019-09-30restructuringin_progressBoth segments (automotive; energy generation and storage)USD 50 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Nine months ended 2019-09-30 restructuring actions: $50M of costs, primarily employee termination expenses plus losses from closing certain stores; no employee count disclosed. No restructuring actions in Q3 itself. Termination expenses substantially paid by 2019-09-30; expected savings of about $62M for the remainder of 2019. Related non-employee charges in the same program: $47M IPR&D impairment, $15M equipment impairment, $49M facility-closure loss.
2019-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2019-05-16Automotivebusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Maxwell Technologies acquisition completed 2019-05-16 for $207M in stock; acquired workforce added to automotive segment, but no headcount figure disclosed. Other acquisitions in the nine-month period totaled $96M of consideration, also without headcount disclosure.
2019-09-30restructuringcompletedGlobalBoth segmentsUSD 50 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Employee termination expenses and losses from closing certain stores. Substantially paid by September 30, 2019.
2019-09-30plant_closurecompletedGlobalEnergy generation and storageUSD 49 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Loss incurred for closing operations in certain facilities.
2019-09-30restructuringcompletedGlobalEnergy generation and storageUSD 62 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Impairment of IPR&D intangible asset ($47M) and related equipment ($15M) due to abandonment of development efforts.
2019-09-30restructuringcompletedUSD 50 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Recognized $50 million primarily related to employee termination expenses and losses from closing certain stores impacting both segments during the nine months ended September 30, 2019.
2019-09-30plant_closurecompletedUSD 49 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Incurred a loss of $49 million for closing operations in certain facilities during the nine months ended September 30, 2019.
2019-06-30restructuringcompleted2019-03-31Both segmentsUSD 44 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Q1 2019 actions to reduce costs and improve efficiency; costs primarily employee termination expenses plus losses from closing certain stores; substantially paid by end of Q1 2019.
2019-06-30restructuringin_progress2019-09-30Energy generation and storage segmentUSD 47 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Q2 2019 impairment of IPR&D intangible asset after abandoning further development efforts; non-cash.
2019-06-30restructuringin_progressEnergy generation and storage segmentUSD 15 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Q2 2019 charge for equipment related to abandoned IPR&D development efforts.
2019-06-30plant_closurein_progressUSD 49 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Q2 2019 loss from closing operations in certain facilities.
2019-06-30reduction_in_forcein_progress2019-09-30USD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Q2 2019 employee termination expenses expected to be substantially paid by end of Q3 2019; remaining amounts non-cash.
2019-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2019-05-162019-05-16Automotive segmentUSD 207 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Acquisition of Maxwell Technologies completed May 16, 2019 for $207.2 million in stock; Maxwell workforce assumed but headcount not disclosed.
2019-06-30restructuringcompleted2019-03-31Not specifiedBoth segments (automotive; energy generation and storage)USD 44 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q1 2019 cost-reduction program: primarily employee termination expenses plus losses from closing certain stores; costs substantially paid by end of Q1 2019. No employee count disclosed.
2019-06-30restructuringin_progress2019-09-30Not specifiedNot specifiedUSD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q2 2019 employee termination expenses, expected substantially paid by end of Q3 2019; remaining amounts non-cash. No employee count disclosed.
2019-06-30plant_closurein_progressNot specifiedNot specifiedUSD 49 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q2 2019 loss recognized for closing operations in certain facilities; no facility names, employee counts, or completion timing disclosed.
2019-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2019-05-162019-05-16United StatesAutomotive segment (Maxwell Technologies, Inc. — energy storage and power delivery products)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition completed 2019-05-16 for $207.2 million purchase consideration; acquired workforce described only as complementary technology and workforce, with no headcount disclosed. Maxwell stock option and RSU awards assumed and converted at 0.0193 exchange ratio.
2019-06-30restructuringcompleted2019-01-012019-03-31USD 44 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Q1 2019 restructuring actions including employee termination expenses and store closures. Costs substantially paid by end of Q1.
2019-06-30restructuringcompleted2019-04-012019-06-30USD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Q2 2019 employee termination expenses. Expected to be substantially paid by end of Q3 2019.
2019-06-30restructuringcompleted2019-04-012019-06-30Energy Generation and StorageUSD 47 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Impairment of IPR&D intangible asset due to abandonment of development efforts.
2019-06-30restructuringcompleted2019-04-012019-06-30Energy Generation and StorageUSD 15 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Impairment of related equipment within energy generation and storage segment.
2019-06-30plant_closurecompleted2019-04-012019-06-30USD 49 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Loss incurred for closing operations in certain facilities.
2019-06-30restructuringcompleted2019-03-312019-03-31GlobalBoth segmentsUSD 44 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Q1 2019 restructuring actions including employee termination expenses and store closures. Costs substantially paid by end of Q1.
2019-06-30restructuringin_progress2019-06-302019-09-30GlobalEnergy generation and storage; CorporateUSD 117 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Q2 2019 actions including $47M IPR&D impairment, $15M equipment impairment, $48.8M facility closure losses, and $6.2M employee termination expenses. Terminations expected substantially paid by end of Q3 2019.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-03-31USD 44 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Q1 2019 restructuring actions to reduce costs and improve efficiency; costs primarily employee termination expenses and losses from closing certain stores, substantially paid by quarter-end. Estimated cost savings of approximately $180.0 million for the remainder of 2019. No employee count disclosed.
2019-03-31restructuringcompletedGlobalRetail stores and corporate functionsUSD 43 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q1 2019 restructuring actions comprised employee termination expenses and losses from closing certain stores; costs substantially paid by quarter-end. Employee count not disclosed. MD&A adds estimated savings of ~$180.0M for the remainder of 2019.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-03-312019-03-31GlobalVariousUSD 44 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Costs primarily related to employee termination expenses and losses from closing certain stores. Substantially paid by end of Q1 2019.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-03-312019-03-31GlobalVariousUSD 44 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Recognized $43.5 million primarily for employee termination expenses and store closures. Costs substantially paid by end of Q1 2019. Employee count not disclosed.
2018-12-31restructuringcompletedUSD 37 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Charge recognized in 2018 for employee termination expenses plus estimated losses from sub-leasing a facility; cash employee termination expenses of $27.3 million substantially paid by year-end 2018, remainder non-cash. No headcount affected is disclosed.
2018-12-31restructuringcompletedEnergy generation and storageUSD 55 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Materially all non-cash charges from 2018 restructuring of the energy generation and storage segment, comprising disposals of tangible assets, shortening of a trade name intangible asset's useful life, and a contract termination penalty; no headcount impact disclosed, included for completeness of the 2018 restructuring program.
2018-12-31restructuringcompleted2018-12-31GlobalCompany-wideUSD 37 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
2018 cost-reduction actions covering employee terminations and estimated sub-lease losses; $27.3M cash portion substantially paid by year-end, remainder non-cash. No employee count disclosed.
2018-12-31restructuringcompleted2018-12-31GlobalEnergy generation and storageUSD 55 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Energy segment restructuring comprising asset disposals, shortened trade name useful life and a contract termination penalty; materially all non-cash. No employee count disclosed.
2018-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2019-02-03United StatesAutomotive (energy storage components)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement to acquire Maxwell Technologies, Inc. announced after fiscal year-end; all-stock exchange, closing subject to tender minimum and regulatory approvals. No headcount disclosed.
2018-12-31restructuringcompleted20182018-12-31GlobalEnergy Generation and StorageUSD 37 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Employee termination expenses of $36.6 million recognized in 2018. Cash expenses of $27.3 million substantially paid by year-end. No specific headcount reduction number disclosed.
2018-12-31restructuringcompleted20182018-12-31GlobalVariousUSD 37 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Employee termination expenses of $36.6 million recognized. Cash expenses of $27.3 million substantially paid by end of 2018. Filer does not disclose specific headcount affected by terminations.
2018-12-31restructuringcompleted20182018-12-31GlobalEnergy Generation and StorageUSD 55 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Expenses from restructuring energy generation and storage segment, comprising disposals of tangible assets, shortening useful life of trade name, and contract termination penalty. No headcount impact disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringcompletedCorporate-wideUSD 34 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Q2 2018 restructuring included one-time employee termination expenses and estimated losses from sub-leasing a facility; termination expenses of $26.2 million were substantially paid by end of Q3 2018, remainder non-cash. No employee count disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringcompletedEnergy generation and storage segmentUSD 56 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Materially all non-cash: disposals of certain tangible assets, shortening of useful life of a trade name intangible asset, and a contract termination penalty. No workforce reduction count disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringin_progress2018-06-30Not specifiedCompany-wide; includes energy generation and storage segment restructuringUSD 34 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q2 2018 restructuring: $34.0M of one-time employee termination expenses and estimated losses from sub-leasing a facility. Employee termination expenses of $26.2M were substantially paid by end of Q3 2018; remaining amounts were non-cash. No employee count disclosed. Announcement date approximated to quarter-end of the quarter in which the actions were carried out.
2018-09-30restructuringcompleted2018-06-30Not specifiedEnergy generation and storageUSD 56 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Expenses materially all non-cash: disposals of certain tangible assets, shortening of useful life of a trade name intangible asset, and a contract termination penalty. No employee count disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringcompleted2018-06-30Not specifiedResearch and development (IPR&D)USD 13 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Impairment loss on a portion of in-process R&D concluded not commercially feasible; asset write-down rather than headcount action. No employee count disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringcompleted2018-06-30USD 34 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
One-time employee termination expenses recognized in Q2 2018. Substantially paid by end of Q3 2018.
2018-09-30restructuringcompleted2018-06-30Energy generation and storageUSD 56 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Expenses from restructuring energy segment, including asset disposals and contract termination penalty. Materially non-cash.
2018-09-30othercompleted2018-10-01USD 26 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Settlement and legal expenses related to SEC actions regarding potential going private transaction. Recognized in Q3 2018.
2018-09-30restructuringcompleted2018-06-302018-09-30GlobalVariousUSD 34 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
One-time employee termination expenses recognized in Q2 2018. Substantially paid by end of Q3 2018. Employee count not disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringcompleted2018-06-302018-06-30GlobalEnergy generation and storageUSD 56 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Expenses from restructuring energy segment, including asset disposals and contract termination. Materially non-cash. Employee count not disclosed.
2018-06-30restructuringcompleted2018-09-30Company-wideUSD 34 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
One-time employee termination expenses of $34.0 million recognized in Q2 2018; $26.2 million expected to be substantially paid by end of Q3 2018, remainder non-cash. No employee count disclosed.
2018-06-30restructuringcompletedEnergy generation and storageUSD 56 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Materially all non-cash; comprised of disposals of certain tangible assets, shortening of a trade name intangible asset's useful life, and a contract termination penalty. No employee count disclosed.
2018-06-30othercompletedEnergy generation and storageUSD 13 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Impairment loss on in-process research and development deemed not commercially feasible; recorded in Q2 2018.
2018-06-30restructuringcompletedNot specifiedCompany-wide; includes energy generation and storage segmentUSD 103 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q2 2018 restructuring comprised $34.0M of employee termination and facility sub-lease costs, $56.1M of energy segment restructuring (mostly non-cash), and $13.3M IPR&D impairment. No employee count disclosed; $26.2M of termination expenses expected paid by end of Q3 2018; estimated savings ~$100M for remainder of 2018.
2018-06-30restructuringin_progress2018-04-012018-09-30GlobalVariousUSD 103 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Includes $34.0 million one-time employee termination expenses (substantially paid by end of Q3 2018), $56.1 million energy segment restructuring (non-cash), and $13.3 million IPR&D impairment.
2018-06-30restructuringin_progress2018-06-302018-09-30GlobalCorporate and Energy Generation and StorageUSD 34 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Includes $34.0 million of one-time employee termination expenses and estimated losses from sub-leasing a facility. $26.2 million of termination expenses expected to be paid by end of Q3 2018. Additional $56.1 million non-cash expenses related to energy segment restructuring and IPR&D impairment.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-03Germany / United StatesAutomotive (automated manufacturing systems)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Tesla completed acquisition of Grohmann Engineering GmbH on January 3, 2017 for $109.5 million in cash to improve manufacturing speed and efficiency. The filing does not disclose the number of employees added through this business combination.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-11-07United States (Minnesota-based company)Automotive (custom, highly-automated manufacturing equipment)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Tesla issued 34,772 shares of common stock on November 7, 2017 to the sole shareholder of record of PERBIX Machine Company, Inc. as part of the purchase price. Employee headcount acquired is not disclosed in the filing.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-032017-01-03GermanyAutomotive — manufacturing engineering and automationUSD 110 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquired Grohmann Engineering GmbH (now Tesla Grohmann Automation GmbH) for $109.5 million cash to improve manufacturing speed and efficiency; acquired headcount not disclosed. A $25.8 million retention incentive arrangement was terminated and expensed in Q1 2017.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-11-072017-11-07United StatesAutomotive — manufacturing equipmentother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquired all outstanding stock of PERBIX Machine Company, Inc., a designer of custom automated manufacturing equipment; 34,772 Tesla shares issued as purchase consideration. Acquired headcount not disclosed.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-032017-01-03GermanyAutomotiveUSD 110 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired Grohmann Engineering GmbH for $109.5 million in cash. Specific headcount added not disclosed in filing.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-11-072017-11-07United StatesAutomotivebusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired PERBIX Machine Company, Inc. Specific headcount added and purchase price not disclosed in filing.
2017-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-03GermanyAutomotiveUSD 110 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Acquisition of Grohmann Engineering GmbH completed Jan 3, 2017 for $109.5M cash. Headcount not disclosed.
2017-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-03GlobalAutomotiveUSD 26 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Grohmann Engineering GmbH completed Jan 3, 2017. $25.8M incentive compensation arrangement terminated and accelerated in Q1 2017. Headcount not disclosed.
2017-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-03AutomotiveUSD 26 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / GLM-5.3-flash-fp4-HTML
Tesla completed acquisition of Grohmann Engineering GmbH on January 3, 2017 for $109.5 million in cash; headcount added not disclosed. Incentive compensation arrangement of up to $25.8 million was terminated and accelerated, recorded as compensation expense in SG&A during Q1 2017.
2017-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-03GermanyAutomotivebusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Grohmann Engineering GmbH completed 2017-01-03 for $109.5M cash; headcount added not disclosed. A $25.8M incentive compensation arrangement was terminated and fully expensed in SG&A this quarter.
2017-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-03GermanyAutomotiveUSD 110 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Acquisition of Grohmann Engineering GmbH completed Jan 3, 2017 for $109.5M. Headcount not disclosed.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted12,2432016-07-31United StatesEnergy generation and storageItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
SolarCity Corporation acquired November 21, 2016 (Merger Agreement executed July 31, 2016; each SolarCity share converted into 0.110 Tesla shares). SolarCity reported 12,243 full-time employees at December 31, 2016; pre-acquisition headcount not disclosed.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompletedGermanyAutomotive manufacturing (automated production)subsequent_events
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Acquisition of Grohmann Engineering GmbH, a German automated-manufacturing company, completed January 3, 2017 for approximately $150 million in cash; employee count not disclosed.
2016-12-31restructuringin_progress2016-04-01Solar energy (SolarCity Corporation)USD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
SolarCity restructuring to reduce costs and improve efficiency, commenced in Q2 2016 (announcement date shown as quarter start). $6.1 million of one-time employee termination benefits recognized in fiscal 2016; $0.6 million restructuring liability outstanding at year-end. Employee count not disclosed.
2016-12-31plant_closurein_progressChinaSolar module manufacturing (SolarCity Corporation)USD 14 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Wind-down of solar module manufacturing operations in China commenced during fiscal 2016, attributed to US tariffs on Chinese-manufactured solar panels; $13.9 million impairment charge (property, plant and equipment) recognized in fiscal 2016. Employee count not disclosed.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2016-07-312016-11-21United StatesEnergy generation and storagebusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger completed 2016-11-21; purchase price $2.15 billion, $21.7 million transaction costs expensed. Added headcount not quantified; SolarCity reported 12,243 full-time employees at 2016-12-31.
2016-12-31restructuringin_progress2016United StatesEnergy generation and storageUSD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Commenced Q2 2016 to reduce costs; $6.1 million of one-time employee termination benefits recognized in FY2016, $0.6 million liability outstanding at year-end. Employees affected not disclosed.
2016-12-31plant_closurein_progress2016ChinaSolar module manufacturingUSD 14 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Winding down solar module manufacturing operations in China due to U.S. tariffs; $13.9 million impairment charge. Associated headcount not disclosed.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-032017-01-03GermanyManufacturing automationUSD 150 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition completed 2017-01-03 for approximately $150 million in cash; expected to expand vehicle production automation. Headcount added not disclosed.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted12,2432016-11-212016-11-21GlobalEnergy Generation and StorageItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Acquisition of SolarCity Corporation added 12,243 full-time employees as of Dec 31, 2016.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted12,2432016-11-212016-11-21GlobalEnergy Generation and StorageItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of SolarCity Corporation closed on November 21, 2016. SolarCity had 12,243 full-time employees as of December 31, 2016.
2016-12-31restructuringcompleted2016-04-012016-12-31GlobalSolarCityUSD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
SolarCity commenced restructuring activities in Q2 2016 to reduce costs. Recognized $6.1 million in one-time employee termination benefits. Outstanding liability was $0.6 million at year-end.
2010-12-31restructuringcompleted602008-10-012008-12-31GlobalVariousItem 1. Business - Risk Factors
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
In the fourth quarter of 2008, due to difficulty raising necessary funding during the economic downturn, the company laid off approximately 60 employees and curtailed expansion plans. This action occurred in the prior fiscal year but is disclosed as a risk factor context for future liquidity challenges.