| Period End | Type | Status | Affected | % Workforce | Announced | Expected Completion | Geography | Segment / Function | Charge | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | United States | Commercial Banking — Capital Markets / Advisory | MD&A f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Completed acquisition of substantially all assets of Matrix Capital Markets Group, Inc. in March 2026; no employee count, announcement date, or completion date beyond the month is disclosed. | |||||
| 2023-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2023-12-31 | United States | Enterprise | USD 177 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | TOP 8 efficiency program completed in 2023; $177M pre-tax charge for TOP and other items in noninterest expense. Employee count not disclosed. TOP 9 program launched to continue self-funding investments. | |||
| 2023-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Enterprise | Item_1_Business f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | TOP 9 program launched in 2023 following completion of TOP 8; no employee impact or charge quantified in this filing. | |||||
| 2023-12-31 | other | completed | 2023-12-31 | United States | Non-Core (indirect auto and purchased consumer loans) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Balance sheet optimization strategy discontinued origination of indirect auto and certain purchased consumer loan portfolios; portfolios transferred to new Non-Core segment in Q3 2023. No headcount impact quantified. | ||||
| 2022-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-02-18 | 2022-02-18 | United States — New York City metro, Mid-Atlantic/Washington D.C., Southeast Florida | Consumer Banking | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of 80 HSBC branches and national online deposit business; approximately $6.3B deposits and $1.5B loans acquired. Headcount added not disclosed. | |||
| 2022-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-04-06 | 2022-04-06 | United States — greater New York City and Philadelphia metro areas, New Jersey | Consumer Banking and Commercial Banking | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Added 154 branches; approximately 73.6 million shares issued. Headcount added not disclosed. Consideration included replacement equity awards. | |||
| 2022-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-06-08 | 2022-06-08 | United States | Commercial Banking — Corporate Finance & Capital Markets | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of private investment banking firm DH Capital, LLC; impact deemed immaterial to financial statements. Headcount added not disclosed. | |||
| 2022-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-04-06 | 2022-04-06 | Mid-Atlantic | Consumer Banking, Commercial Banking | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML | Acquisition of Investors Bancorp completed April 6, 2022. Added 154 branches. Specific headcount not disclosed. | |||
| 2022-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-02-18 | 2022-02-18 | New York City, Mid-Atlantic, Southeast Florida | Consumer Banking | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML | Acquisition of HSBC East Coast branches completed February 18, 2022. Added 80 branches. Specific headcount not disclosed. | |||
| 2022-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-06-08 | 2022-06-08 | United States | Commercial Banking | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML | Acquisition of DH Capital completed June 8, 2022. Specific headcount not disclosed. | |||
| 2022-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-04-06 | 2022-04-06 | United States | Consumer Banking; Commercial Banking | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Acquisition of Investors Bancorp, Inc. completed April 6, 2022. Specific headcount added not disclosed in filing. | |||
| 2022-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-02-18 | 2022-02-18 | United States | Consumer Banking | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Acquisition of HSBC branches completed February 18, 2022. Specific headcount added not disclosed in filing. | |||
| 2022-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-06-08 | 2022-06-08 | United States | Commercial Banking | Item_1_Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Acquisition of DH Capital completed June 8, 2022. Specific headcount added not disclosed in filing. | |||
| 2022-03-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-02-18 | 2022-02-18 | United States (New York City metro, Mid-Atlantic/Washington D.C., Southeast Florida) | Consumer Banking | business_combinations_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of HSBC East Coast branches and national online deposit business; 80 locations acquired with $6.3B deposits and $1.5B loans. No employee headcount disclosed. | |||
| 2022-03-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2022-04-06 | 2022-04-06 | United States (greater New York City, Philadelphia metro areas, New Jersey) | Consumer Banking / Commercial Banking | business_combinations_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Subsequent-event acquisition of Investors Bancorp completed April 6, 2022; 154 branches added with ~$23B loans and ~$20B deposits. No employee headcount disclosed. | |||
| 2021-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2021-09-01 | United States (offices in Chicago, Atlanta, and Portland, Oregon) | Non-segment — valuation consulting and forensic analysis | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Acquisition closed September 1, 2021. Number of employees added was not disclosed. | ||||
| 2021-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2021-11-15 | United States | Capital markets / investment banking (JMP Group LLC) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Acquisition closed November 15, 2021; outstanding JMP equity awards were converted into company awards. Employee headcount added was not disclosed. | ||||
| 2021-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2021-05-26 | 2022-02-18 | United States — New York City metro, Mid-Atlantic/Washington D.C. area, and Southeast Florida | Consumer Banking — 80 East Coast retail branches and national online deposit business | subsequent_events f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Completed February 18, 2022, after fiscal year-end but before the filing date. Employee headcount added was not disclosed. | |||
| 2021-12-31 | acquisition_addition | announced | 2021-07-28 | 2022-04 | United States — greater New York City and Philadelphia metropolitan areas and New Jersey | Consumer and Commercial Banking — adds 154 branches | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Definitive merger agreement signed July 28, 2021; pending at filing, expected to close early second quarter 2022 subject to regulatory approvals. Employee headcount to be added was not disclosed. | |||
| 2021-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2021-09-01 | United States | Commercial Banking | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of Willamette Management Associates closed 2021-09-01; headcount added not disclosed | ||||
| 2021-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2021-11-15 | United States | Commercial Banking — Capital Markets | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of JMP Group LLC closed 2021-11-15; headcount added not disclosed | ||||
| 2021-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2021-05-26 | 2022-02-18 | United States (New York, Mid-Atlantic, Southeast Florida) | Consumer Banking | subsequent_events f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of 80 HSBC East Coast branches and national online deposit business; closed after fiscal year-end on 2022-02-18; headcount not disclosed | |||
| 2021-12-31 | acquisition_addition | announced | 2021-07-28 | 2022-06-30 | United States (greater New York City, Philadelphia, New Jersey) | Consumer Banking and Commercial Banking | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Merger with Investors Bancorp adds 154 branches; expected to close early Q2 2022; headcount not disclosed | |||
| 2020-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2020-03-04 | 2020-03-04 | United States | Commercial Banking | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of Trinity Capital, a Los Angeles advisory firm, added $6 million to goodwill; no headcount added disclosed. | |||
| 2019-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2019-01-01 | 2019-01-01 | United States (Tarrytown, New York) | Consumer Banking — Wealth Management | USD 110 (millions) | other f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of Clarfeld Financial Advisors for $110 million total consideration; acquired headcount not disclosed. | ||
| 2019-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2019-03-01 | 2019-03-01 | United States (Atlanta, Georgia) | Commercial Banking — M&A Advisory (Bowstring Advisors) | USD 40 (millions) | other f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Acquisition of certain assets and liabilities of Bowstring Advisors for $40 million; acquired headcount not disclosed. | ||
| 2019-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Enterprise-wide | USD 50 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sixth TOP efficiency program plus a multi-year Transformation Program launched in 2H 2019; $50 million of 2019 noninterest expense tied to TOP programs and other efficiency initiatives. Employees affected not disclosed; charge is pre-tax and includes non-workforce costs. | ||||
| 2019-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Enterprise-wide — Acquisition integration | USD 18 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | 2019 pre-tax integration costs related to acquisitions (FAMC, Clarfeld, Bowstring); employees affected not disclosed. | ||||
| 2018-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2018-08-01 | 2018-08-01 | Mortgage banking (Consumer Banking) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Acquisition of Franklin American Mortgage Company (FAMC), a national mortgage servicing and origination firm, closed August 1, 2018 for total consideration of $582 million, adding an MSR portfolio; headcount added through the acquisition was not disclosed. 2018 pre-tax FAMC integration costs of $21 million were a notable item. | ||||
| 2018-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2018 | USD 33 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Fifth phase of the Tapping our Potential (TOP) efficiency program, first launched in late 2014, commenced in the second half of 2018; employees affected and an expected completion date are not disclosed. The $33 million pre-tax notable item bundles TOP efficiency initiatives with other actions and is not identified as severance. | |||||
| 2018-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2018-08-01 | 2018-08-01 | United States | Consumer Banking | Item 1. Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML | Acquisition of Franklin American Mortgage Company on August 1, 2018. Specific headcount added not disclosed. | |||
| 2017-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2017 | United States | Enterprise-wide | USD 15 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Fourth phase of the multi-year Tapping our Potential (TOP) efficiency initiative commenced mid-2017; no employee headcount impact disclosed. The $15 million pre-tax expense is a 2017 notable item excluded from underlying results. Prior phases occurred in earlier fiscal years; only FY2017 phase-four activity is captured here. | |||
| 2017-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2017-05 | United States | Commercial Banking — Citizens Capital Markets, Inc. (M&A advisory) | USD 11 (millions) | business_combinations_footnote f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Asset acquisition of Western Reserve Partners, LLC, a Cleveland, Ohio-based merger and acquisition advisory firm, by subsidiary Citizens Capital Markets, Inc. No employee headcount added is disclosed. Goodwill of the Commercial Banking reporting unit increased by $11 million as a result. | |||
| 2016-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2016-06-30 | 2017-12-31 | United States | Enterprise-wide | USD 17 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Third phase of Tapping our Potential efficiency program launched mid-2016; targeted run-rate pre-tax benefit of $100-115 million by end of 2017; $17M pre-tax charge in 2016 notable items ($11M salaries and benefits, $6M outside services); no employee count disclosed | ||
| 2016-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2014-10-01 | Global | Corporate | USD 0 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML | TOP I initiative launched late 2014. No restructuring charges incurred in 2016. | |||
| 2016-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2015-06-01 | Global | Corporate | USD 0 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML | TOP II initiative launched mid-2015. Delivered $105M pre-tax benefit in 2016. No restructuring charges incurred in 2016. | |||
| 2016-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2016-06-01 | 2017-12-31 | Global | Corporate | USD 17 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML | TOP III efficiency initiatives launched mid-2016. Targeted run-rate pre-tax benefit of $100M-$115M by end of 2017. $17M pre-tax notable items recorded in 2016. | ||
| 2016-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2016-01-01 | 2016-12-31 | United States | Corporate / Other | USD 0 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | The Company incurred no restructuring costs for the year ended December 31, 2016. Note 21 states 'The Company incurred no restructuring costs for the year ended December 31, 2016.' However, MD&A mentions $31 million of pre-tax restructuring charges and special items in 2016, but Note 21 explicitly lists $0 additions to the reserve for 2016. The $31M in MD&A appears to be classified as 'notable items' (TOP III efficiency initiatives, Asset Finance repositioning) rather than traditional restructuring charges in the footnote. As per instructions to prefer the footnote for authoritative source, and the footnote says $0 incurred, we record 0. If 'notable items' are considered restructuring, the count is still not disclosed. | ||
| 2016-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | USD 2,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | |||||||
| 2016-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Facility Closing [Member] | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2016-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Employee Severance [Member] | USD 2,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2016-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Operating Income (Expense) [Member] / Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2016-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | |||||||
| 2016-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Facility Closing [Member] | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2016-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Employee Severance [Member] | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2016-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Operating Income (Expense) [Member] / Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2016-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | |||||||
| 2016-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Facility Closing [Member] | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2016-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Employee Severance [Member] | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2016-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Operating Income (Expense) [Member] / Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2014 | USD 26 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Multi-year efficiency initiative begun in 2014 (referred to as 'Project Top' in MD&A/Business Strategy). FY2015 restructuring costs of $26M ($17M facilities/occupancy, $8M outside services, $1M salaries and employee benefits). Restructuring reserve roll-forward shows FY2015 additions of $31M, reversals of $5M and utilization of $37M, with an ending reserve of $33M at 2015-12-31, indicating the program remained ongoing; no completion date disclosed. Employees affected not quantified. For segment reporting, these costs are reported within the Other segment. Prior-year (2014) program activity excluded per current-year-only extraction. | |||||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | completed | United States | Enterprise-wide | USD 26 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | FY2015 restructuring costs of $26 million for efficiency initiatives; no employee count disclosed. Includes $17M facilities, $8M outside services, $1M salaries. | ||||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2014-12-31 | 2015-12-31 | Global | Corporate / All Segments | USD 26 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML | Incurred $26 million in restructuring costs in 2015, consisting of $17 million facilities costs, $8 million outside services, and $1 million salaries/benefits. Part of ongoing efficiency initiatives. | ||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | completed | 2014-12-31 | 2015-12-31 | United States | Corporate / All Segments | USD 26 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Initiative launched late 2014 to enhance operating efficiencies. $26M incurred in 2015. Employee count not explicitly disclosed for 2015 activity. | ||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | USD 31,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | |||||||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Facility Closing [Member] | USD 18,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Employee Severance [Member] | USD 5,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Operating Income (Expense) [Member] / Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 8,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | USD 29,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | |||||||
| 2015-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Facility Closing [Member] | USD 18,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Employee Severance [Member] | USD 5,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Operating Income (Expense) [Member] / Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 6,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | United States | Other (reported within Other for segment purposes) | USD 26 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Six-month restructuring costs of $26M (facilities $17M, outside services $6M, salaries and benefits $3M) for efficiency initiatives; filer states the initiatives were substantially completed. No employee count, announcement date, or completion date disclosed. Reserve balance was $52M at June 30, 2015. | ||||
| 2015-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | USD 28,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | |||||||
| 2015-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Facility Closing [Member] | USD 17,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Employee Severance [Member] | USD 5,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-06-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Operating Income (Expense) [Member] / Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 6,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2015-12-31 | USD 1 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Incurred $1 million in restructuring costs for Q1 2015. Program expected to incur additional costs of approximately $18 million through December 31, 2015. | |||||
| 2015-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | USD 3,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | |||||||
| 2015-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Facility Closing [Member] | USD 2,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Employee Severance [Member] | USD 0 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2015-03-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Operating Income (Expense) [Member] / Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 1,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2014 | 2015-12-31 | United States | USD 101 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Restructuring initiative for operating efficiencies began implementation in 2014 (related efficiency initiative launched late 2013 per MD&A). Headcount affected not disclosed. FY2014 costs of $101M comprised $41M employee compensation, $18M facilities (incl. $6M building impairment), $24M outside services, $6M software, $12M other; total program cost expected ~$121M through 2015-12-31. Restructuring reserve balance at 2014-12-31 was $44M. | |||
| 2014-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2014-01 | 2014-06-20 | Chicago, Illinois, United States | Retail branches, small business and select middle market relationships | USD 17 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | Sale of 103 Chicago-area branches (94 full-service) with $4.8B deposits and $1.0B loans to U.S. Bancorp completed June 20, 2014; headcount affected not disclosed. Divestiture costs of ~$17M ($3M employee compensation, $3M fixed assets, $4M outside services, $7M other); transaction generated a $288M pre-tax gain. | ||
| 2014-12-31 | acquisition_addition | completed | 2014 | United States | Commercial Banking — Corporate Banking (newly created energy vertical) | Item_1_Business f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML | In Q4 2014 acquired from RBS Group an experienced team of lending professionals plus a reserve-based lending commercial loan portfolio with $417M outstanding principal balance (per Note 18, ~$413M paid for 17 customer relationships with unfunded commitments of $458M). Headcount added not quantified in the filing. | ||||
| 2014-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2014-01-01 | 2014-06-20 | Chicago, Illinois | Consumer Banking | USD 17 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Chicago Divestiture to U.S. Bancorp closed June 20, 2014; 103 branches (94 full-service) with $4.8B deposits and $1.0B loans. Related costs of approximately $17 million incurred in 2014. Employee headcount not disclosed. | ||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2014-01-01 | 2015-12-31 | United States | Enterprise-wide | USD 101 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Restructuring initiative begun in 2014 to achieve operating efficiencies; $101M incurred in 2014 of approximately $121M total expected through December 31, 2015. Includes $41M employee compensation, $18M facilities, $24M outside services, $6M software, $12M other. Employees affected not disclosed. | ||
| 2014-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2014-01-01 | 2014-06-20 | Chicago-area | Retail branches, small business, and select middle market relationships | Item 1. Business f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML | Sale of certain assets and liabilities associated with Chicago-area retail branches to U.S. Bancorp. Included 103 branches. Specific employee count not disclosed. | |||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2014-01-01 | 2016-12-31 | Company-wide | Various | USD 169 (millions) | MD&A f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML | Efficiency initiatives delivered $169 million in pre-tax restructuring charges and special items in 2014. Includes separation from RBS Group and ongoing efforts to improve processes. | ||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | 2014-01-01 | 2015-12-31 | United States | Corporate / All Segments | USD 101 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Efficiency initiative implemented in 2014. Total expected costs approx $121M through Dec 2015. $101M incurred in 2014. Employee count not explicitly disclosed. | ||
| 2014-12-31 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2014-06-20 | 2014-06-20 | Chicago, Illinois | Consumer Banking / Commercial Banking | USD 17 (millions) | discontinued_operations_footnote f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Sale of Chicago-area retail branches to U.S. Bancorp. Included 103 branches. $17M in costs incurred. Employee count not explicitly disclosed. | ||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | USD 124,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | |||||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Spinoff, Facility Closing [Member] | USD 3,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Facility Closing [Member] | USD 24,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Professional Fees Expense [Member] | USD 4,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Spinoff, Employee Severance [Member] | USD 3,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Employee Severance [Member] | USD 43,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Operating Income (Expense) [Member] / Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 57,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 7,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-12-31 | restructuring | in_progress | Spinoff [Member] | USD 17,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10k / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2014-01-01 | 2015-12-31 | United States | enterprise-wide | USD 121 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Restructuring initiative begun in 2014 to achieve operating efficiencies; $90M incurred in 9M 2014 ($41M employee compensation, $12M facilities, $26M outside services, $11M other). No employee headcount affected disclosed. | ||
| 2014-09-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2014-01-01 | 2014-06-20 | Illinois, United States | Consumer Banking — retail branches | other f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML | Sale of 103 retail branches in Illinois to U.S. Bancorp closed June 20, 2014, including $4.8B deposits and $1.0B loans. No employee headcount associated with the divestiture was disclosed. | |||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | 2014-01-01 | 2015-12-31 | USD 90 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Restructuring initiative to achieve operating efficiencies. Incurred $90M in costs for nine months ended Sept 30, 2014, including $41M employee compensation. Total expected costs approx $121M through Dec 31, 2015. | ||||
| 2014-09-30 | divestiture_reduction | completed | 2014-06-20 | 2014-06-20 | Illinois | Retail Banking | USD 17 (millions) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0 | Sale of Chicago-area retail branches. Incurred $17M in costs for nine months ended Sept 30, 2014, including $3M employee compensation. | ||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 7,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Professional Fees Expense [Member] | USD 4,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Spinoff, Facility Closing [Member] | USD 3,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Spinoff, Employee Severance [Member] | USD 3,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Spinoff [Member] | USD 17,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Other Operating Income (Expense) [Member] / Other Restructuring [Member] | USD 48,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | USD 108,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | |||||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Salaries and Employee Benefits [Member] / Employee Severance [Member] | USD 43,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr | ||||||
| 2014-09-30 | restructuring | in_progress | Occupancy and Equipment [Member] / Facility Closing [Member] | USD 17,000,000 (absolute) | restructuring_footnote f5-10q / no-ai-xblr |