The Cigna Group (CI)

Company ID: 140 | CIK: 0001739940
10-Q view:
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

Operational KPIs

Prescription adjudication capacity (capacity)

No 10-Q data

Voluntary turnover rate (churn)

No 10-Q data

Claim frequency (claims_count)

Medical customers (customers)

Customers covered by provider collaborations (customers_served)

No 10-Q data

Employee learning engagement (engagement)

No 10-Q data

Technology team (headcount)

No 10-Q data

Medical care ratio (loss_ratio)

Accountable Care Program (other)

No 10-Q data

Accountable care arrangements (other)

No 10-Q data

Acquisition cost ratio (other)

Adjusted expense ratio (other)

Average learning hours per employee (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Cigna Ventures investments (other)

No 10-Q data

Cigna Ventures partners (other)

No 10-Q data

Claim frequency (other)

No 10-Q data

Collaborative care arrangements (other)

No 10-Q data

Commercial funding mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Common shares outstanding (other)

Common stock shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Countries of operation (other)

No 10-Q data

Countries served (other)

No 10-Q data

Customer contact centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Debt-to-capitalization ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Expense ratio (other)

Expense ratio excl. acquisition (other)

No 10-K data

GMDB contractholders (other)

No 10-K data

Generic fill rate (other)

Health care provider relationships (other)

No 10-Q data

High-volume automated dispensing pharmacies (other)

No 10-Q data

Home delivery generic fill rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Home delivery pharmacies (other)

No 10-Q data

Hospital Quality Program (other)

No 10-Q data

Hospital quality contracts (other)

No 10-Q data

Hospital system contracts (other)

No 10-Q data

Hospitals in network (other)

No 10-Q data

Insured medical claim frequency (other)

No 10-Q data

Integrated Medical customers (other)

No 10-K data

Investment grade share of debt securities (other)

No 10-K data

Learning hours per employee (other)

No 10-Q data

Licensed pharmacies (other)

No 10-Q data

MA 4+ Star enrollment (other)

No 10-Q data

MA customers in 4+ star plans (other)

MA customers in 4-star plans (other)

MA customers in 4-star+ plans (other)

No 10-Q data

MA star ratings coverage (other)

No 10-Q data

Medicare Advantage 4-star plans (other)

No 10-Q data

Medicare Advantage star rating coverage (other)

No 10-K data

Medicare Advantage star ratings (other)

No 10-K data

Medicare Star Ratings (other)

No 10-K data

Medicare customers in 4-star plans (other)

No 10-Q data

Medicare plans at four stars or greater (other)

No 10-K data

Network generic fill rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Network hospitals (other)

No 10-Q data

Network pharmacies (other)

No 10-Q data

Network physicians (other)

No 10-Q data

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

Order processing pharmacies (other)

No 10-Q data

Overall generic fill rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Patient contact centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Pharmacy network participants (other)

No 10-Q data

Pharmacy networks (other)

No 10-Q data

Pharmacy script volume (other)

No 10-Q data

Pre-tax adjusted margin (other)

No 10-K data

Pre-tax margin (other)

No 10-K data

Prescription processing centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Provider relationships (other)

No 10-Q data

Public exchange market states (other)

No 10-K data

Retail pharmacies (other)

No 10-Q data

Retail pharmacies in network (other)

No 10-Q data

Retail pharmacy network stores (other)

No 10-Q data

SG&A expense ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Share repurchase authority (other)

No 10-K data

Share repurchase spend (other)

No 10-K data

Shareholders of record (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares repurchased (other)

No 10-K data

South Korea income share (other)

No 10-K data

South Korea profit contribution (other)

No 10-K data

South Korea revenue concentration (other)

No 10-Q data

South Korea revenue contribution (other)

No 10-K data

South Korea revenue share (other)

No 10-K data

South Korea share of segment profits (other)

No 10-Q data

South Korea share of segment revenues (other)

No 10-Q data

Specialist Programs (other)

No 10-Q data

Specialist group arrangements (other)

No 10-Q data

Specialist value-based arrangements (other)

No 10-Q data

Specialty branch pharmacies (other)

No 10-Q data

Specialty home delivery pharmacies (other)

No 10-Q data

Specialty nursing offices (other)

No 10-Q data

Specialty pharmacies (other)

No 10-Q data

Treasury shares held (other)

No 10-K data

U.S. Commercial ASO mix (other)

No 10-Q data

U.S. network hospitals (other)

No 10-Q data

U.S. network physicians (other)

No 10-Q data

U.S. patents (other)

No 10-Q data

U.S. patents held (other)

No 10-Q data

US Patents (other)

No 10-Q data

US patents (other)

No 10-Q data

Unpaid claims liability (other)

No 10-K data

VillageMD markets (other)

No 10-Q data

Voluntary employee turnover (other)

No 10-Q data

Voluntary turnover (other)

No 10-Q data

Voluntary turnover rate (other)

No 10-Q data

VillageMD patients (patients)

No 10-Q data

Variable annuity contractholders (policies_in_force)

Pharmacy scripts (prescriptions_filled)

VillageMD markets (properties)

No 10-Q data

Physicians in network (providers)

No 10-Q data

Real estate portfolio (square_footage)

No 10-Q data

Retail pharmacies in network (stores)

No 10-Q data

Pharmacy claims processing capacity (throughput)

No 10-Q data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2026-06-30restructuringin_progress2028Enterprise-wideUSD 450 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Program commenced in the first quarter of 2025 (exact announcement date not disclosed) and is expected to continue through 2028. Charge shown is pre-tax total program costs for the six months ended June 30, 2026 ($70 million for the quarter), which include severance of $370 million year-to-date; program-to-date costs were $1,199 million pre-tax and the severance accrual was $269 million at June 30, 2026. No number of employees affected is disclosed.
2026-06-30otherannounced2026-042027-01-01United StatesCigna Healthcare — U.S. Healthcare (Individual and Family Plans medical business)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company announced in April 2026 its planned exit from the Individual and Family Plans medical business effective January 1, 2027; no workforce impact, headcount, or associated charge is disclosed.
2026-06-30restructuringin_progress2025-03-312028-12-31GlobalEnterprise-wideUSD 70 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Q2 2026 pre-tax charge of $70M ($53M after-tax). Includes $69M in SG&A, primarily $33M in severance. Program commenced Q1 2025, expected to continue through 2028. YTD 2026 charge was $450M.
2026-06-30restructuringin_progressOperating Results Of Certain Nonstrategic Businesses [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 137,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-06-30restructuringin_progressStrategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 70,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-06-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance And Other Restructuring [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 69,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-06-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 33,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-06-30restructuringin_progressAsset Impairments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 109,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-06-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 7,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-06-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 22,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-06-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member] / Other Operating Segment [Member]USD 1,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-06-30restructuringin_progressSegment Reporting, Reconciling Item, Corporate Nonsegment [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 40,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-03-31restructuringin_progress2025-01-012028-12-31GlobalEnterprise-wideUSD 380 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q1 2026 charge of $380M pre-tax ($290M after-tax), including $337M severance in SG&A. Program-to-date $1,129M pre-tax. No employee count disclosed. Accrued liability $402M at quarter-end; substantially all expected paid by end of 2026.
2026-03-31restructuringin_progress2025-01-012028-12-31GlobalEnterprise-wideUSD 380 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Enterprise-wide initiative commenced Q1 2025. Q1 2026 pre-tax costs of $380M, primarily severance ($337M). Program expected to continue through 2028. Employee count affected not disclosed.
2026-03-31restructuringin_progressOperating Results Of Certain Nonstrategic Businesses [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 3,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-03-31restructuringin_progressStrategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 380,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-03-31restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance And Other Restructuring [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 377,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-03-31restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 337,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-03-31restructuringin_progressAsset Impairments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 101,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-03-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 4,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-03-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 13,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-03-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member] / Other Operating Segment [Member]USD 3,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2026-03-31restructuringin_progressSegment Reporting, Reconciling Item, Corporate Nonsegment [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 360,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-12-31restructuringin_progress2025-01-012028-12-31Global (enterprise-wide initiative)Evernorth Health ServicesUSD 174 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
FY2025 pre-tax charge allocated to Evernorth under the enterprise-wide Strategic Optimization Program (program total $749M pre-tax / $565M after-tax in 2025). Program includes severance ($378M accrued in 2025; $238M paid; $140M liability at 12/31/2025), asset impairments ($101M), and operating results of small non-strategic businesses planned for discontinuation. Commenced Q1 2025 (announcement date shown as approximate quarter start); originally expected through 2026, extended through 2028. Expected annualized after-tax savings of at least $500M. No employee counts disclosed.
2025-12-31restructuringin_progress2025-01-012028-12-31Global (enterprise-wide initiative)Cigna HealthcareUSD 22 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
FY2025 pre-tax charge allocated to Cigna Healthcare under the enterprise-wide Strategic Optimization Program (program total $749M pre-tax / $565M after-tax in 2025; severance $378M accrued, $238M paid, $140M liability at 12/31/2025). Commenced Q1 2025; extended through 2028. No employee counts disclosed.
2025-12-31restructuringin_progress2025-01-012028-12-31Global (enterprise-wide initiative)Other OperationsUSD 133 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
FY2025 pre-tax charge allocated to Other Operations under the Strategic Optimization Program. Per Note 16, this segment's charge primarily reflects the operating results of certain small non-strategic businesses the Company plans to discontinue rather than direct severance. Program total $749M pre-tax in 2025; commenced Q1 2025; extended through 2028. No employee counts disclosed.
2025-12-31restructuringin_progress2025-01-012028-12-31Global (enterprise-wide initiative)Corporate (amounts not allocated to operating segments)USD 420 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
FY2025 pre-tax charge allocated to Corporate under the enterprise-wide Strategic Optimization Program (program total $749M pre-tax / $565M after-tax in 2025; severance $378M accrued, $238M paid, $140M liability at 12/31/2025). Commenced Q1 2025; extended through 2028. No employee counts disclosed.
2025-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2025-03-192025-03-19United StatesCigna Healthcare — U.S. Healthcare (Medicare Advantage, Medicare Individual Stand-Alone Prescription Drug Plans, Medicare and Other Supplemental Benefits, CareAllies)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Sale to Health Care Service Corporation (HCSC) completed March 19, 2025 (date shown is the completion date; original agreement date not restated in this filing); final purchase price and total cash proceeds $4.9 billion. Headcount transferred with the divested businesses is not disclosed; total medical customers declined 5% in 2025 primarily due to this transaction. Recognized 2025 pre-tax gain on sale of $9M ($401M after-tax).
2025-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2025-03-19United StatesCigna Healthcare — U.S. Healthcare (Medicare Advantage, Medicare PDP, Medicare and Other Supplemental Benefits, CareAllies)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Medicare Advantage and related businesses to HCSC completed 2025-03-19 for final cash proceeds of $4.9 billion; no employee counts disclosed. Related U.S. Healthcare medical customers declined from 3,853 thousand to 2,548 thousand.
2025-12-31restructuringin_progress2028-12-31GlobalEnterprise-wide (charges allocated in Note 23: Evernorth $174M, Cigna Healthcare $22M, Other Operations $133M, Corporate $420M pre-tax)USD 749 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Program commenced in Q1 2025 (exact announcement date not disclosed); 2025 charges of $749M pre-tax ($565M after-tax) include $378M severance and $101M asset impairments plus results of discontinued small non-strategic businesses. Originally expected through December 2026, now expected to continue through 2028; expected annualized after-tax savings of at least $500M. Employees affected not disclosed; $140M severance accrual outstanding at year-end, substantially all expected paid by end of 2026.
2025-12-31restructuringin_progress2025-03-312028-12-31GlobalEnterprise-wideUSD 749 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Strategic Optimization Program commenced in Q1 2025. Total costs of $749 million pre-tax reported in 2025. Program expected to continue through 2028.
2025-12-31restructuringin_progress2025-03-312028-12-31GlobalEnterprise-wideUSD 749 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Strategic Optimization Program commenced in Q1 2025. Total costs of $749 million pre-tax reported in 2025. Program expected to continue through 2028. Employee count affected not explicitly disclosed.
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Results Of Certain Nonstrategic Businesses [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 133,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressStrategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 749,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance And Other Restructuring [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 616,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 378,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressAsset Impairments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 101,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressOrganizational Efficiency Plan [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 174,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 22,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member] / Other Operating Segment [Member]USD 133,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-12-31restructuringin_progressSegment Reporting, Reconciling Item, Corporate Nonsegment [Member] / Strategic Optimization Program [Member]USD 420,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2025-09-30restructuringin_progress2026-12-31GlobalEnterprise-wide (incl. Corporate and all reportable segments)USD 467 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Enterprise-wide initiative commenced in Q1 2025 (exact announcement date not disclosed) and expected to run through December 2026; covers severance and other employee costs, asset impairments and accelerated amortization, and results of small non-strategic businesses being discontinued. Charge shown is the nine-month pre-tax SG&A amount primarily for employee severance; total program costs were $566M pre-tax ($429M after-tax) for the nine months and $222M pre-tax ($168M after-tax) in Q3, including $181M pre-tax of Q3 severance. Severance accrual roll-forward: $0 at 2024-12-31, $335M 2025 charges, $171M payments, $164M balance at 2025-09-30. No employees-affected count disclosed; company states it anticipates future charges.
2025-09-30divestiture_reductioncompletedUnited StatesU.S. Healthcare — Medicare Advantage, Medicare PDP, Medicare and Other Supplemental Benefits, and CareAlliesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale to Health Care Services Corporation completed 2025-03-19 (purchase price increased to $4.9B); headcount removed through the transaction is not disclosed. Disclosed as background in this filing rather than as a current-quarter event.
2025-09-30restructuringin_progress2025-01-012026-12-31Enterprise-wideAll segmentsUSD 222 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Q3 2025 pre-tax charge of $222M, primarily employee severance. Program commenced Q1 2025, expected to continue through Dec 2026. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2025-03-192025-03-19United StatesCigna HealthcareUSD 7 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of Medicare Advantage and related businesses to HCSC completed March 19, 2025. Q3 2025 transaction-related costs of $7M. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-09-30restructuringin_progressUSD 222,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-09-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance And Other Restructuring [Member]USD 181,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-09-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member]USD 335,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-09-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 15,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-09-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 4,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-09-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Other Operating Segment [Member]USD 41,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-09-30restructuringin_progressSegment Reporting, Reconciling Item, Corporate Nonsegment [Member]USD 162,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-06-30restructuringin_progress2025-03-312026-12-31GlobalEnterprise-wideUSD 344 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Enterprise-wide initiative commenced Q1 2025; includes severance, asset impairments, accelerated amortization, and results of discontinued non-strategic businesses. Pre-tax charge of $344M for six months ended June 30, 2025 ($129M in Q2). Accrued liability of $116M at June 30, 2025. No employee count disclosed.
2025-06-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2025-03-192025-03-19United StatesU.S. Healthcare — Medicare Advantage, Medicare PDP, Medicare Supplemental Benefits, CareAlliesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Medicare Advantage and related businesses to HCSC completed March 19, 2025. No headcount reduction figure disclosed. Transaction-related costs of $290M pre-tax for six months ended June 30, 2025.
2025-06-30restructuringin_progress2025-01-012026-12-31Enterprise-wideVariousUSD 129 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Q3 2025 pre-tax costs of $129M ($98M after-tax) included $88M in SG&A primarily for asset impairments. Program expected to continue through Dec 2026.
2025-06-30restructuringin_progress2025-01-012026-12-31Enterprise-wideVariousUSD 344 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
YTD 2025 pre-tax costs of $344M ($261M after-tax) included $286M in SG&A primarily for employee severance. Accrued liability balance of $116M as of June 30, 2025.
2025-06-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2025-03-192025-03-19United StatesCigna HealthcareUSD 74 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of Medicare Advantage and related businesses to HCSC completed March 19, 2025. Q3 2025 transaction-related costs of $74M pre-tax ($56M after-tax).
2025-06-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2025-03-192025-03-19United StatesCigna HealthcareUSD 290 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of Medicare Advantage and related businesses to HCSC completed March 19, 2025. YTD 2025 transaction-related costs of $290M pre-tax ($220M after-tax).
2025-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD 129,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-06-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance And Other Restructuring [Member]USD 88,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-06-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member]USD 194,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-06-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 47,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-06-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 10,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-06-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Other Operating Segment [Member]USD 41,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-06-30restructuringin_progressSegment Reporting, Reconciling Item, Corporate Nonsegment [Member]USD 31,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-03-31restructuringin_progress2025-01-012026-12-31GlobalEnterprise-wideUSD 215 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pre-tax charge of $215M ($163M after-tax) in Q1 2025, including $198M in SG&A primarily for employee severance. Program includes severance, accelerated asset amortization, and discontinuation of certain non-strategic businesses. Accrued liability of $161M at quarter-end, expected substantially paid by end of 2025. No employee count disclosed.
2025-03-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2025-03-192025-03-19United StatesU.S. Healthcare — Medicare Advantage, Medicare PDP, Medicare Supplemental Benefits, and CareAlliesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Medicare Advantage and related businesses to HCSC completed March 19, 2025 for $4.8B purchase price. No headcount transferred or removed disclosed in filing.
2025-03-31restructuringin_progress2025-01-012026-12-31Enterprise-wideAll segmentsUSD 215 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Enterprise-wide initiative commenced in 2025. Q1 2025 pre-tax costs of $215 million, primarily employee severance. Accrued liability of $161 million as of March 31, 2025. Employee count not disclosed.
2025-03-31restructuringin_progressUSD 215,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-03-31restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance And Other Restructuring [Member]USD 198,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-03-31restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member]USD 171,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-03-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 21,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-03-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-03-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Other Operating Segment [Member]USD 17,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2025-03-31restructuringin_progressSegment Reporting, Reconciling Item, Corporate Nonsegment [Member]USD 177,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2024-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2024-012025-03-31United StatesCigna Healthcare — U.S. Healthcare (Medicare Advantage, Medicare Individual Stand-Alone Prescription Drug Plans, Medicare and Other Supplemental Benefits, CareAllies)USD 472 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Definitive agreement signed January 2024 to sell Medicare-related businesses to HCSC; initial $3.3 billion purchase price anticipated to increase (businesses measured at estimated $4.7 billion purchase price at year-end 2024). FY2024 pre-tax estimated loss on sale of $472 million recognized, primarily a $302 million goodwill impairment — not a severance charge. Affected employee headcount not disclosed; close expected in Q1 2025 (date shown is quarter-end).
2024-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2024-01-312025-03-31United StatesU.S. Healthcare — Medicare Advantage, Medicare Part D, Medicare and Other Supplemental Benefits, and CareAlliesUSD 472 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement to sell these businesses to Health Care Service Corporation (HCSC); initial $3.3 billion purchase price expected to increase at closing. Associated charge is the 2024 pre-tax estimated loss on sale ($363 million after-tax), primarily a $302 million goodwill impairment. No employee count disclosed for the divested businesses. Separately, integration and transaction-related costs of $275 million pre-tax ($211 million after-tax) were incurred in 2024.
2024-12-31restructuringin_progressUSD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2024-03-31divestiture_reductionannounced2024-012025-03-31United StatesCigna Healthcare — U.S. Healthcare (Medicare Advantage, Medicare Part D, Medicare and Other Supplemental Benefits, CareAllies)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to sell businesses to Health Care Service Corporation for approximately $3.3 billion cash; no employee counts or workforce impact disclosed in the filing.
2023-12-31restructuringin_progress2023-102024-12-31Enterprise-wide (not otherwise specified)Not specifiedUSD 252 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Strategic realignment approved during the fourth quarter of 2023 to drive operating effectiveness. Pre-tax charge of $252M ($193M after-tax) in SG&A, comprising a $232M severance accrual primarily for headcount reductions plus $20M of lease abandonment and property/equipment impairment. Accrued liability roll-forward: $232M charged, $30M paid in 2023, $202M remaining at 2023-12-31; substantially all expected to be paid by end of 2024. Expected annualized after-tax savings of approximately $280M, with a significant portion recognized in 2024. Number of employees affected not quantified.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2024-012025-03United StatesU.S. Healthcare operating segment (Cigna Healthcare) — Medicare Advantage, Medicare Stand-Alone Prescription Drug Plans, Medicare and Other Supplemental Benefits, and CareAlliessubsequent_events
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Subsequent event: definitive agreement in January 2024 to sell the Medicare-related and CareAllies businesses to Health Care Service Corporation (HCSC) for $3.3B cash (~$3.7B expected transaction proceeds), expected to close in Q1 2025. Headcount impact not disclosed. Businesses were classified as held for sale at 2023-12-31, with an estimated pre-tax loss on sale of $1.5B (primarily asset write-downs and estimated costs to sell) recorded in 2023 — this loss is not a severance/workforce charge and is therefore not populated in the associated_charge fields.
2023-12-31restructuringin_progress2024-12-31Not specifiedEnterprise-wideUSD 252 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Approved during Q4 2023 (exact announcement date not disclosed). Charge of $252M pre-tax ($193M after-tax) recorded in SG&A, including $232M severance accrual for headcount reductions and $20M for lease abandonment and equipment impairment; $202M accrual outstanding at 2023-12-31. Expected annualized after-tax savings of approximately $280M, with a significant portion recognized in 2024. Number of employees affected not disclosed.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2025-03-31United StatesCigna Healthcare — U.S. Healthcare (Medicare Advantage, Medicare Stand-Alone PDP, Medicare and Other Supplemental Benefits, CareAllies)USD 1,500 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement entered into January 2024 to sell the businesses to Health Care Service Corporation for $3.3 billion cash; expected to close in Q1 2025. Assets and liabilities classified as held for sale at 2023-12-31 with an estimated pre-tax loss of $1.5 billion ($1.4 billion after-tax), primarily asset write-downs and estimated costs to sell. Headcount associated with the divested businesses not disclosed.
2023-12-31restructuringcompleted2023-Q42024-12-31GlobalCorporate / Enterprise-wideUSD 252 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Strategic realignment approved in Q4 2023 to drive operating effectiveness. Pre-tax charge of $252 million recognized. Substantially all accrued liability expected to be paid by end of 2024. Employee count not disclosed.
2023-12-31restructuringcompleted2023-Q4GlobalReal Estate / OperationsUSD 20 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
One-time expenses related to abandonment of leased assets and impairment of property and equipment. Part of the broader organizational efficiency plan.
2023-12-31restructuringin_progress2023-10-012024-12-31GlobalCorporate / Enterprise-wideUSD 252 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Strategic realignment approved in Q4 2023. Charge of $252 million pre-tax ($193 million after-tax) recognized in SG&A. Includes $232 million accrued for severance and $20 million for asset abandonment/impairment. Substantially all accrued liability expected to be paid by end of 2024. Employee count affected not explicitly disclosed.
2023-12-31restructuringin_progressUSD 252,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2023-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2023-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2023-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Other Operations Segment [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2023-12-31restructuringin_progressCorporate, Non-Segment [Member]USD 252,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2023-09-30restructuringin_progressUSD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2023-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-12-31restructuringin_progress20212023-12-31USD 22 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Plan approved during 2021 to drive operational efficiency through organizational-structure enhancements, automation and shared services. FY2022 pre-tax charge of $22 million ($17 million after-tax) recorded in SG&A; prior-year (2021) charge was $168 million pre-tax and is not counted here. Remaining accrued liability of $39 million at December 31, 2022, with substantially all expected to be paid by end of 2023. Number of employees affected not disclosed.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-07-01Hong Kong, Indonesia, New Zealand, South Korea, Taiwan, ThailandInternational life, accident and supplemental benefits businesses (Other Operations)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Sale of the life, accident and supplemental benefits businesses in six countries to Chubb INA Holdings, Inc. completed July 1, 2022 for approximately $5.4 billion in cash; pre-tax gain of $1.7 billion ($1.4 billion after-tax). Headcount transferred with the divested businesses is not disclosed.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-12TürkiyeCigna Sağlık Hayat ve Emeklilik joint venture (Other Operations)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Ownership interest in the Türkiye joint venture divested to long-time partner QNB Finansbank in December 2022; headcount impact not disclosed.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-07-01Hong Kong, Indonesia, New Zealand, South Korea, Taiwan, ThailandOther Operations (life, accident and supplemental benefits)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of life, accident and supplemental benefits businesses in six countries to Chubb for approximately $5.4 billion cash, completed July 1, 2022; gain of $1.7 billion pre-tax ($1.4 billion after-tax). Headcount removed through the divestiture is not disclosed.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-12TürkiyeOther Operations (joint venture interest)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Divestiture of ownership interest in Cigna Sağlık Hayat ve Emeklilik joint venture to partner QNB Finansbank in December 2022; affected headcount not disclosed.
2022-12-31restructuringin_progress20212023-12-31Not disclosedEnterprise-wide (organizational structure, automation and shared services)USD 22 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Program approved during 2021; charge shown is FY2022 pre-tax activity only (FY2021 charge was $168 million). Remaining accrued liability of $39 million at December 31, 2022, expected to be paid substantially in full by end of 2023. Employees affected not disclosed.
2022-12-31restructuringcompleted20212023-12-31GlobalCorporate / Enterprise-wideUSD 22 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Strategic plan approved in 2021 to drive operational efficiency. $22 million pre-tax charge recorded in 2022. Remaining accrued liability of $39 million expected to be paid by end of 2023. Employee count not disclosed.
2022-12-31restructuringin_progressUSD 22,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2022-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2022-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2022-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Other Operations Segment [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2022-12-31restructuringin_progressCorporate, Non-Segment [Member]USD 22,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2022-09-30restructuringin_progress20212023-12-31Not specifiedEnterprise-wide (organizational structure, automation, shared services)USD 22 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Plan approved in Q4 2021 with a $168M pre-tax charge ($119M after-tax) including $109M severance accrual for headcount reductions; an additional $22M pre-tax ($17M after-tax) severance charge was recognized in Q2 2022. Accrued liability was $60M at 2022-09-30; most expected paid by end of 2023. No employee counts disclosed. Company expects $184M annualized after-tax savings.
2022-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted20212022-07-01Hong Kong, Indonesia, New Zealand, South Korea, Taiwan, ThailandOther Operations — life, accident and supplemental benefits businessesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale to Chubb completed 2022-07-01 for approximately $5.4B cash; gain of $1.7B pre-tax ($1.4B after-tax) recognized. No headcount transferred or removed disclosed. Announcement date approximate: segment reporting was revised in Q4 2021 in connection with the transaction.
2022-09-30divestiture_reductionannounced2022-102022-12-31TürkiyeOther Operations — interest in joint ventureother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement entered in October 2022 to sell the Company's interest to its partner; targeted to close by end of 2022 subject to regulatory approvals. No headcount disclosed.
2022-09-30restructuringin_progress2022-04-012023-12-31GlobalCorporate / All SegmentsUSD 22 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Second quarter 2022 update to strategic plan; charge primarily for severance costs related to headcount reductions. Expected to be paid by end of 2023.
2022-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2022-07-012022-07-01Hong Kong, Indonesia, New Zealand, South Korea, Taiwan, ThailandOther Operationsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of life, accident and supplemental benefits businesses in six countries to Chubb. Employee count not disclosed.
2022-09-30restructuringin_progressUSD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-09-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-09-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-09-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Other Operations Segment [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-09-30restructuringin_progressCorporate, Non-Segment [Member]USD 22,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-06-30restructuringin_progress2021-10-012023-12-31CorporateUSD 22 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q2 2022 incremental pre-tax charge of $22M ($17M after-tax), primarily severance, on top of the $168M pre-tax Q4 2021 charge; no employee count disclosed. Accrued liability rolled from $103M (2021-12-31) to $88M (2022-06-30) after $37M of 2022 payments; most of accrual expected paid by end of 2023. Company expects annualized after-tax savings of $184M.
2022-06-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2021-10-012022-07-01Hong Kong, Indonesia, New Zealand, South Korea, Taiwan, ThailandOther Operations — International life, accident and supplemental benefits businessesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Chubb Transaction closed 2022-07-01 for approximately $5.4B cash; assets/liabilities classified as held for sale at 2022-06-30. No headcount associated with the divested businesses is disclosed in this filing.
2022-06-30restructuringin_progress2022-04-012023-12-31GlobalCorporate / Enterprise-wideUSD 22 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Second quarter 2022 charge of $22 million pre-tax ($17 million after-tax) related to accrued expenses primarily for severance costs. Part of a strategic plan approved in Q4 2021. Accrued liability balance was $88 million as of June 30, 2022, with most expected to be paid by end of 2023. Employee count not disclosed.
2022-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD 22,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-06-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-06-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-06-30restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Other Operations Segment [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-06-30restructuringin_progressCorporate, Non-Segment [Member]USD 22,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2022-03-31restructuringin_progress2021-10-012023-12-31Not specifiedEnterprise-wide (organizational structure, automation, shared services)USD 168 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Approved in Q4 2021; $168M pre-tax ($119M after-tax) charge, including $109M severance accrual for headcount reductions and $59M for lease abandonment/asset impairment. Accrued balance rolled from $103M at 2021-12-31 to $89M at 2022-03-31 after $14M of payments. Number of employees affected not disclosed. Expected annualized after-tax savings of ~$180M; additional charges expected in Q2 2022.
2022-03-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2021-10-012022-06-30Hong Kong, Indonesia, New Zealand, South Korea, Taiwan, ThailandOther Operations — life, accident and supplemental benefits businessesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pending sale to Chubb for $5.72B cash; assets and liabilities classified as held for sale at 2022-03-31. Headcount associated with the divested businesses not disclosed.
2022-03-31restructuringin_progress2021-10-012023-12-31GlobalCorporate / All SegmentsUSD 109 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Plan approved in Q4 2021. Q1 2022 payments of $14M reduced accrued liability to $89M. Filing states 'most of the severance to be paid by 2023' but does not disclose the specific number of employees affected.
2021-12-31restructuringin_progressGlobalEnterprise-wide; headcount reductions across organizational structureUSD 168 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Approved in Q4 2021; $168M pre-tax ($119M after-tax) charge, of which $109M is accrued severance for headcount reductions and $59M relates to lease abandonment and asset impairment. Severance largely payable by 2023. Additional amounts expected in Q2 2022 as plans are finalized post-Chubb divestiture. Expected annualized after-tax savings of approximately $180M. Exact announcement date and affected-employee count not disclosed.
2021-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2021-04-19United StatesEvernorth — virtual care (MDLIVE)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Cigna acquired 97% of MDLIVE on 2021-04-19 for $2.0B cash consideration; headcount added not disclosed
2021-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2021-10-312022-06-30Hong Kong, Indonesia, New Zealand, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, TurkeyOther Operations — international life, accident and supplemental benefits businessesother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Chubb Transaction: definitive agreement entered October 2021 to sell seven-country life, accident and supplemental benefits businesses for $5.75B cash; expected to close Q2 2022. Announcement date given only at month level. Headcount to be transferred not disclosed.
2021-12-31restructuringin_progress2021-Q42022-Q2GlobalCorporate / Enterprise-wideUSD 168 (millions)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Strategic plan approved in Q4 2021 to drive operational efficiencies. Pre-tax charge of $168 million recognized in Q4 2021. Additional amounts expected to be recorded in Q2 2022 following completion of divestiture. Employee count not disclosed.
2021-12-31restructuringin_progress2021-12-31GlobalCorporate / Enterprise-wideUSD 168 (millions)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Approved strategic plan to drive operational efficiencies in Q4 2021. Recognized $168 million pre-tax charge ($119 million after-tax). Includes $109 million accrued for severance costs related to headcount reductions. Additional amounts expected in Q2 2022.
2021-12-31restructuringin_progressUSD 168,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2021-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Evernorth [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2021-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Cigna Healthcare [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2021-12-31restructuringin_progressOperating Segments [Member] / Other Operations Segment [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2021-12-31restructuringin_progressCorporate, Non-Segment [Member]USD 168,000,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / no-ai-xblr
2021-09-30divestiture_reductionannounced2021-102022Hong Kong, Indonesia, New Zealand, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, TurkeyInternational Markets — life, accident and supplemental benefits businessessubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Post-quarter definitive agreement to sell the life, accident and supplemental benefits businesses in seven countries to Chubb for $5.75 billion cash; closing subject to regulatory approvals in 2022. Headcount impact not quantified.
2021-09-30otherannounced12021-09-232021-12-17United StatesGovernment & Solutions — President (Matthew G. Manders)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Executive retirement disclosed via Form 8-K on 2021-09-23; retirement date later extended by agreement executed 2021-11-03. Estimated aggregate benefits approximately $8.7 million, plus advisory services at $10,000 per day through 2022-12-31.
2021-09-30otherannounced12021-09-232022-02-04United StatesEvernorth — Chief Executive Officer (Timothy C. Wentworth)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Executive retirement disclosed via Form 8-K on 2021-09-23; retirement date extended by agreement executed 2021-11-03, with transition to a non-executive officer role effective 2022-01-01. Estimated aggregate benefits approximately $13.7 million, plus advisory services at $10,000 per day through 2022-12-31.
2021-06-30acquisition_additioncompleted2021-04-192021-04-19United StatesEvernorthbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of MDLIVE, Inc. completed. Headcount added not explicitly disclosed.
2021-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2021-04-01Evernorthsubsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of MDLIVE, Inc. completed in April 2021. Headcount not disclosed.
2020-12-31restructuringin_progress2019USD 31 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Plan committed in Q4 2019 to increase organizational alignment and operational efficiency and reduce costs. Fiscal 2020 activity: $31 million pre-tax ($24 million after-tax) charge recognized in Q1 2020 in SG&A. Cumulative program charges of $238 million pre-tax, including $207 million pre-tax ($162 million after-tax) recognized in Q4 2019. Expected annualized after-tax savings of approximately $200 million, with a substantial portion realized in 2020. Employees affected and completion date not disclosed.
2020-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2019-122020-12-31United StatesGroup Disability and Other segment (Group Disability and Life business)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Definitive agreement signed in December 2019; sale of the U.S. Group Disability and Life business to New York Life Insurance Company completed December 31, 2020 for cash proceeds of $6.2 billion, generating a $4.2 billion pre-tax ($3.2 billion after-tax) gain. Employee headcount transferred not disclosed; the business represented the vast majority of the Group Disability and Other segment ($5.3 billion of 2020 adjusted revenues), and group voluntary products were retained and will move to the U.S. Medical segment in 2021.
2020-12-31restructuringin_progress2019-12-31Not specifiedEnterprise / corporateUSD 31 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Program committed in Q4 2019 to increase organizational alignment and operational efficiency. Current-year (2020) charge was $31 million pre-tax ($24 million after-tax) recognized in Q1 2020; the prior-year Q4 2019 charge of $207 million pre-tax is excluded. Expected annualized after-tax savings of approximately $200 million, with a substantial portion realized in 2020. Employees affected not disclosed.
2020-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2019-12-312020-12-31United StatesGroup Disability and Other (Group Disability and Life)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of the U.S. Group Disability and Life business to New York Life Insurance Company for $6.2 billion cash, completed 2020-12-31; definitive agreement entered December 2019. Headcount transferred not disclosed. Group voluntary products and services were retained and reclassified to the U.S. Medical segment beginning Q1 2021.
2020-12-31restructuringcompleted2019-10-01GlobalCorporateUSD 31 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Plan committed in Q4 2019. $31 million pre-tax charge recognized in Q1 2020. Substantial portion of savings realized in 2020.
2020-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2020-12-31United StatesGroup Disability and OtherItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of Group Disability and Life business to New York Life completed on Dec 31, 2020. Employee count not disclosed.
2020-09-30restructuringin_progress2019-10-012021-12-31USD 31 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Plan committed in Q4 2019; $207M pre-tax charge in Q4 2019 plus $31M pre-tax ($24M after-tax) in Q1 2020 for severance tied to headcount reductions. No employee count disclosed. Most severance expected paid by end of 2021; annualized after-tax savings target ~$200M.
2020-09-30divestiture_reductionin_progress2019-12-012020-12-31United StatesGroup Disability and Lifeother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pending sale of U.S. Group Disability and Life business to New York Life for $6.3B, expected to close Q4 2020. Assets/liabilities classified as held for sale; no headcount associated with the divestiture is disclosed.
2020-09-30restructuringin_progress2019-10-012021-12-31GlobalCorporate / GeneralUSD 31 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Plan committed in Q4 2019. Q1 2020 charge of $31M pre-tax ($24M after-tax) primarily for severance related to headcount reductions. Most severance expected to be paid by end of 2021. Employee count not disclosed.
2020-06-30restructuringin_progress2019-10-012021-12-31Enterprise-wideUSD 31 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Plan committed in Q4 2019; $207M pre-tax charge in Q4 2019 plus $31M pre-tax ($24M after-tax) in Q1 2020 for severance related to headcount reductions. No employee count disclosed. Most severance expected paid by end of 2021; annualized after-tax savings target ~$200M.
2020-06-30restructuringin_progress2019-10-012021-12-31GlobalCorporate / GeneralUSD 31 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Part of organizational efficiency plan initiated in Q4 2019. Q1 2020 charge of $31M pre-tax ($24M after-tax) primarily for severance costs related to headcount reductions. Most severance expected to be paid by end of 2021. Employee count not disclosed.
2020-03-31restructuringin_progress2019-10-012021-12-31United StatesCorporateUSD 31 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pre-tax charge of $31M ($24M after-tax) in Q1 2020 for severance from headcount reductions; program committed in Q4 2019 with a $207M pre-tax charge that quarter. No employee count disclosed. Most severance expected paid by end of 2021; annualized after-tax savings target of ~$200M.
2020-03-31restructuringin_progress2019-10-012021-12-31GlobalCorporate / All SegmentsUSD 31 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Part of a plan committed in Q4 2019 to increase organizational alignment and operational efficiency. Q1 2020 charge was $31 million pre-tax ($24 million after-tax), primarily for severance costs related to headcount reductions. Most severance expected to be paid by end of 2021.
2019-12-31restructuringin_progress20192021-12-31CorporateUSD 207 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Committed during Q4 2019 (announcement date stated only to quarter precision); charge was $162M after-tax, primarily severance for headcount reductions; $2M paid in 2019 leaving a $205M liability at 12/31/2019; ~$180M annualized after-tax savings expected with substantial portion in 2020; most severance to be paid by end of 2021. Charge recorded in Corporate per Note 23 segment table; also discussed in MD&A (deduplicated to footnote source).
2019-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2019-122020United StatesGroup Disability and Lifediscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Definitive agreement signed December 2019 to sell the Group Disability and Life business to New York Life Insurance Company for $6.3B; close expected in Q3 2020 (expected completion stated only to quarter precision). Headcount affected/transferring not disclosed. Assets of $9,512M and liabilities of $6,812M classified as held for sale at 12/31/2019; ~$5.3B net after-tax proceeds earmarked for share repurchase and debt repayment in 2020. Also discussed in Item 1 and MD&A (deduplicated to footnote source).
2019-12-31restructuringin_progress2019-10-012021-12-31GlobalCorporateUSD 207 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Q4 2019 pre-tax charge of $207M ($162M after-tax) primarily for severance from headcount reductions; most severance expected paid by end of 2021; annualized after-tax savings of ~$180M expected, substantial portion realized in 2020. Headcount affected not disclosed.
2019-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2018-03-082018-12-20United StatesHealth Servicesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Express Scripts acquisition closed December 20, 2018; headcount added not disclosed. Included here for context as it materially expanded the workforce entering FY2019.
2019-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2019-12-012020-09-30United StatesGroup Disability and LifeItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement to sell Group Disability and Life business to New York Life for $6.3B; expected close Q3 2020 subject to regulatory approvals. Headcount affected not disclosed.
2019-12-31restructuringcompleted2019-Q4GlobalCorporate / All SegmentsUSD 207 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Organizational Efficiency Plan: committed in Q4 2019 to increase organizational alignment and operational efficiency. Recognized $207 million pre-tax charge primarily for severance costs related to headcount reductions. Expected to realize annualized after-tax savings of approximately $180 million.
2019-12-31restructuringcompleted2019-Q4USD 207 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
In Q4 2019, the Company committed to a plan to increase organizational alignment and operational efficiency. Recognized a pre-tax charge of $207 million in selling, general and administrative expenses. Expected to realize annualized after-tax savings of approximately $180 million.
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2018-03-082018-12-20United StatesHealth Services (PBM and home delivery pharmacy); Integrated Medical (Medicare Part D)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Merger agreement entered March 8, 2018 and completed December 20, 2018 in a cash-and-stock transaction valued at $52.8 billion. Acquired employee headcount was not separately disclosed; the year-end total of approximately 73,800 employees reflects the combined company.
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2018-11-302018-11-30New ZealandInternational Marketsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Life insurer acquired November 30, 2018 for NZ$700 million (approximately $480 million at closing), funded with internal cash. Goodwill assigned to International Markets segment; acquired employee headcount not disclosed.
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2018-03-082018-12-20United StatesHealth Services; Integrated Medicalbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Express Scripts Holding Company closed December 20, 2018 for $52.8 billion; headcount added not separately disclosed. Company total headcount of approximately 73,800 as of year-end includes 11 days of Express Scripts employees.
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2018-11-30New ZealandInternational Marketsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquired OnePath Life for NZ$700 million (approximately $480 million); headcount added not disclosed.
2018-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2018-03-082018-12-20GlobalAll SegmentsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Cigna completed the acquisition of Express Scripts on December 20, 2018. The filing does not disclose the specific headcount added through this transaction.