Chipotle Mexican Grill (CMG)

Company ID: 138 | CIK: 0001058090
10-Q view:
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

Average check growth (basket_size)

Contract workers (contractors)

No 10-Q data

Beneficial owners (customers)

No 10-Q data

US Restaurant employees (headcount)

No 10-Q data

Accrued legal liability (other)

No 10-K data

Advertising and marketing expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Authorized share repurchases remaining (other)

No 10-K data

Average capital expenditure per new restaurant (other)

No 10-Q data

Average check growth (other)

Average crew per restaurant (other)

No 10-Q data

Average development and construction cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Average development and construction cost per restaurant (other)

No 10-Q data

Average development and construction cost per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average development and construction costs per restaurant (other)

No 10-Q data

Average development cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Average development cost per new restaurant (other)

No 10-Q data

Average development cost per new restaurant (net) (other)

No 10-Q data

Average development cost per restaurant (other)

No 10-Q data

Average development cost per restaurant (All) (other)

No 10-Q data

Average development cost per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average hourly wage (other)

Average restaurant sales (other)

Average restaurant seating (other)

No 10-Q data

Average restaurant seats (other)

No 10-Q data

Average seating capacity (other)

No 10-Q data

Average seats per restaurant (other)

No 10-Q data

Average store sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Borrowing capacity (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Card payment share (other)

No 10-Q data

Cash and marketable investments (other)

Cash and securities (other)

No 10-Q data

Cash and short-term investments (other)

No 10-Q data

Catering revenue percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Catering revenue share (other)

No 10-Q data

Catering share of sales (other)

Check mix (other)

No 10-K data

Check mix change (other)

No 10-K data

Cheese from pasture-access milk (other)

No 10-K data

Chipotlane openings (other)

No 10-Q data

Chipotlane restaurants (other)

No 10-K data

Chipotle Rewards liability (other)

No 10-K data

Chipotle openings (other)

No 10-K data

Common shares outstanding (other)

Common stock outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Common stockholders (other)

No 10-Q data

Comparable sales contribution (other)

No 10-K data

Credit and debit card sales share (other)

No 10-Q data

Credit and debit card share of sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Credit/Debit card sales percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Crew per restaurant (other)

No 10-Q data

Cultivate Next Fund investments (other)

Cultivate Next Fund investments made (other)

No 10-K data

Cultivate Next Fund size (other)

No 10-Q data

Delivery availability (other)

No 10-Q data

Delivery orders mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Delivery revenue percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Delivery sales mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Delivery share of total revenue (other)

No 10-Q data

Development cost per restaurant (other)

No 10-Q data

Development cost per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital order revenue share (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital revenue percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital sales growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital sales mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital sales percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital sales revenue (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital sales share (other)

No 10-Q data

Digital sales share of revenue (other)

No 10-Q data

Diluted earnings per share (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Effective tax rate (other)

Employees promoted (other)

No 10-Q data

Equity method investments (other)

No 10-K data

Female workforce share (other)

No 10-Q data

Food and packaging cost ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Food cost as percentage of revenue (other)

No 10-Q data

Food cost percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Franchise acquisitions (other)

No 10-K data

Geographic footprint (other)

No 10-Q data

Gift card liability (other)

No 10-K data

In-restaurant sales growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Insurance liabilities (other)

No 10-Q data

Internal promotion rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Internal promotions (other)

No 10-Q data

Labor cost percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Labor cost ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Local produce purchases (other)

No 10-Q data

Locally grown produce purchased (other)

Long-lived assets International (other)

No 10-Q data

Long-lived assets in U.S. (other)

No 10-Q data

Male workforce share (other)

No 10-Q data

Market value of non-affiliate equity (other)

No 10-Q data

Marketing and advertising expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Marketing and promotional spend (other)

No 10-K data

Marketing spend (other)

No 10-Q data

Marketing spend ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Marketing spend share (other)

No 10-Q data

Menu price benefit (other)

No 10-Q data

Menu price impact on comp sales (other)

No 10-K data

Menu price increase (other)

Menu price increase benefit (other)

No 10-K data

Menu price increase contribution (other)

No 10-K data

Minority workforce share (other)

No 10-Q data

National average hourly wage (other)

No 10-Q data

Naturally raised beef (other)

Naturally raised beef adoption (other)

No 10-K data

Naturally raised beef penetration (other)

No 10-K data

Naturally raised beef restaurants (other)

No 10-Q data

Naturally raised beef served (other)

No 10-Q data

Naturally raised beef usage (other)

No 10-Q data

Naturally raised chicken (other)

No 10-Q data

Naturally raised chicken adoption (other)

No 10-K data

Naturally raised chicken penetration (other)

No 10-K data

Naturally raised chicken restaurants (other)

No 10-Q data

Naturally raised chicken usage (other)

No 10-Q data

Naturally raised pork (other)

No 10-Q data

Net restaurant openings (other)

No 10-Q data

New markets entered (other)

No 10-Q data

New restaurant development cost (other)

No 10-Q data

New restaurant investment cost (other)

No 10-Q data

New restaurant openings (other)

New restaurant sales contribution (other)

No 10-K data

New store openings (other)

No 10-Q data

Non-marketable investments (other)

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

Occupancy cost percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Occupancy cost ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Operating lease commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Operating regions (other)

No 10-Q data

Order ahead mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Order ahead sales percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Order ahead share of digital sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Organic bean usage (other)

No 10-Q data

Organic beans (other)

No 10-Q data

Organic beans purchased (other)

Organically grown beans (other)

Organically grown beans purchased (other)

No 10-Q data

Other investments (other)

No 10-K data

Other operating cost ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Out-of-restaurant order sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Out-of-restaurant order share (other)

No 10-Q data

Out-of-restaurant sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Out-of-restaurant sales mix (other)

No 10-K data

Out-of-restaurant sales percentage (other)

Partner-operated restaurant openings (other)

No 10-Q data

Pasture-raised milk (other)

No 10-Q data

Pasture-raised milk for cheese (other)

No 10-Q data

Pasture-raised milk in cheese (other)

No 10-Q data

Permanent closures (other)

Planned restaurant openings (other)

No 10-K data

Pre-opening cash rent (other)

No 10-Q data

Purchase obligations (other)

No 10-Q data

Regional distribution centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Relocations (other)

No 10-Q data

Restaurant closures (other)

Restaurant development cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Restaurant development cost (net) (other)

No 10-Q data

Restaurant format count (other)

No 10-Q data

Restaurant openings (other)

Restaurant operating cost ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Restaurant operating cost ratio change (other)

No 10-K data

Restaurant operating costs (other)

No 10-Q data

Restaurant operating costs % (other)

No 10-Q data

Restaurant operating costs ratio (other)

Restaurant relocations (other)

No 10-K data

Restaurant seats (other)

No 10-Q data

Restaurants by format (other)

No 10-Q data

Restaurants closed (other)

No 10-K data

Restaurants closed or relocated (other)

No 10-K data

Restaurants opened (other)

Restaurants serving naturally raised beef (other)

No 10-Q data

Restaurants serving naturally raised chicken (other)

No 10-Q data

Restaurants serving naturally-raised beef (other)

No 10-K data

Restaurants serving naturally-raised chicken (other)

No 10-K data

Restaurants under development plan (other)

No 10-K data

Restricted cash (other)

Seats per restaurant (other)

No 10-Q data

Share repurchase authorization remaining (other)

No 10-Q data

Share repurchases available (other)

No 10-Q data

Shareholders of record (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares outstanding (other)

Shares repurchased (other)

No 10-Q data

Short-term investment yield (other)

No 10-K data

States of operation (other)

No 10-Q data

States operated in (other)

No 10-Q data

States with operations (other)

No 10-Q data

States with restaurants (other)

No 10-Q data

Stock repurchase authorization remaining (other)

No 10-K data

Stock repurchases (other)

No 10-Q data

Stock repurchases remaining (other)

No 10-Q data

Temporarily closed restaurants (other)

No 10-K data

Total capital expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Transaction growth (other)

No 10-K data

Transactions growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Undrawn borrowing capacity (other)

Weighted average interest rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Weighted-average interest rate (other)

No 10-K data

rBGH-free cheese penetration (other)

No 10-K data

Properties owned (properties)

No 10-Q data

Average restaurant seating (rooms)

No 10-Q data

Comparable restaurant sales growth (same_store_sales)

Average restaurant size (square_footage)

No 10-Q data

Restaurants closed (stores)

Transactions growth (transactions)

Loyalty program members (users)

No 10-Q data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No flow HCM metrics found.

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2026-06-30restructuringin_progressCorporateUSD 4 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring expense of $4.1M in Q2 2026 ($7.0M YTD) shown in the G&A bridge; no employee counts, severance detail, or announcement date disclosed. Not confirmed as workforce-related beyond the label.
2025-12-31plant_closurecompletedNot disclosedCompany-owned restaurantsUSD 28 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
13 company-owned restaurants permanently closed during fiscal 2025 (5 additional relocations excluded); affected employee count not disclosed. Charge shown is the full-year impairment, closure costs, and asset disposals line and is not solely attributable to these closures.
2025-12-31plant_closurecompletedUnited States and international (not specified)Company-owned restaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
13 company-owned restaurants permanently closed during 2025 (plus 5 relocations); no associated workforce reduction, severance charge, or affected-employee count disclosed. Impairment, closure costs and asset disposals expense of $27.5 million recorded in 2025 but not attributed to workforce reductions
2024-12-31plant_closurecompleted2024-12-31United StatesRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Seven company-owned restaurant permanent closures during 2024; filing does not quantify associated workforce reductions. Impairment, closure costs and asset disposals were $26.9M for 2024 but not attributed to these closures
2023-12-31plant_closurecompleted2023-12-31United StatesNon-Chipotle brands (Pizzeria Locale)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Six non-Chipotle restaurants closed during 2023, including all Pizzeria Locale restaurants; headcount not disclosed. Related impairment/closure charges included in the $38.4M impairment, closure costs and asset disposals line.
2023-12-31restructuringcompleted2023-12-31United StatesCorporateMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Corporate restructuring expenses referenced within the $0.52 after-tax per-share impact from restaurant/corporate impairment, closure costs, accelerated depreciation and corporate restructuring; no headcount or charge amount separately disclosed
2023-12-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRestaurant operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
One restaurant permanently closed after prolonged inability to recruit necessary staff; timing within fiscal year not specified and may be among the three Chipotle permanent closures reported for 2023
2023-09-30restructuringin_progressUnited StatesCorporateUSD 7 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Corporate restructuring costs increased $6.5M YTD vs. prior year; a $0.04 after-tax EPS impact from corporate restructuring expenses is noted in Q3 highlights. No employee counts or severance accrual disclosed.
2023-09-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesNon-Chipotle brands (Pizzeria Locale)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All non-Chipotle restaurants closed in the quarter: 6 non-Chipotle permanent closures in Q3 2023 (Pizzeria Locale). Associated headcount not disclosed; elevated impairments include the Pizzeria Locale closing.
2023-06-30restructuringin_progress2023-05United StatesCorporateUSD 4 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring costs tied to a May 2023 optimization of the organizational structure; $3.5M in Q2 and $5.1M YTD. No employee count disclosed.
2023-06-30plant_closurecompleted2023-072023-07United StatesNon-Chipotle restaurants (Pizzeria Locale)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All five Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed in July 2023 (subsequent to quarter end); associated workforce reduction not quantified.
2023-06-30restructuringcompleted2023-05-01CorporateUSD 4 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
May 2023 optimization of organizational structure resulted in $3.5 million in restructuring costs. Employee count not disclosed.
2023-06-30plant_closurecompleted2023-07-01Non-ChipotleMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed all five Pizzeria Locale restaurants in July 2023. Employee count not disclosed.
2022-12-31othercompleted2022Restaurant operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
One restaurant voted to form a union during 2022; location and number of employees at the restaurant not disclosed. Filing also notes recurring union organizing efforts company-wide.
2022-12-31othercompleted2022-08New York City, United StatesHourly restaurant employeesUSD 20 (millions)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Mass settlement of Fair Workweek Law and Earned Safe and Sick Time Act claims covering substantially all NYC restaurants; includes $1.0M civil penalty plus up to approximately $20M in compensation to covered hourly employees. Total estimated amount accrued as of year-end within a $15.2M legal reserve liability.
2022-12-31plant_closurecompleted2022Restaurant operationsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Three Chipotle restaurants permanently closed during 2022 (12 relocations shown separately, not counted as closures). Item 1A Risk Factors separately discloses one restaurant was permanently closed due to lack of necessary staffing after prolonged recruiting; affected employee counts not disclosed.
2022-12-31restructuringcompletedCorporateMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Filing cites corporate restructuring costs and employee separation costs as components of a $0.74 after-tax EPS impact, bundled with legal proceedings, a stock award modification, and restaurant impairment/closure costs; no separate charge amount, employee count, or program timeline disclosed.
2022-12-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Three Chipotle restaurants were permanently closed during 2022 (net of 12 relocations); no closure-related headcount disclosed. Risk Factors separately note one restaurant was permanently closed after a prolonged recruiting effort unable to find necessary staff; that closure may be among these three.
2022-12-31restructuringcompletedUnited StatesCorporateMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A cites corporate restructuring costs and employee separation costs among items included in the $0.74 after-tax per-share adjustment for 2022; no employee counts, charge amounts, or completion timeline disclosed, and no restructuring footnote is provided.
2022-09-30othercompleted12022-07-27CorporateUSD 6,701 (thousands)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Separation agreement with one employee; equity awards given a short-term vesting extension for awards that would otherwise have vested within eight months of separation, producing incremental compensation expense recognized in Q3 2022
2022-09-30othercompleted2022-07-27USD 6,701 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Modification of equity awards for one employee in connection with a separation agreement, resulting in incremental compensation expense.
2021-12-31restructuringin_progress2018-05United StatesCorporate (headquarters relocation and office consolidations/closures)USD 5 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Multi-year program begun May 2018 (Denver and New York office closures; Newport Beach HQ; Columbus, OH consolidation). Fiscal 2021 charges of $5.4M were recruitment/relocation and third-party costs; no employee severance and no headcount affected disclosed for 2021. Filing does not state completion status.
2021-12-31plant_closurecompletedChipotle restaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Ten permanent Chipotle restaurant closures during fiscal 2021 (seven relocations also occurred); workforce impact not quantified.
2021-12-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
10 Chipotle permanent closures and 7 relocations during 2021 (160 openings); no associated workforce reduction quantified by the filer
2021-12-31restructuringin_progress2018-05United StatesCorporate (Restaurant Support Centers)USD 5 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Multi-year program announced May 2018 (Newport Beach HQ, Columbus consolidation, Denver/New York office closures); 2021 activity only: $5.4M total, comprising $4.964M third-party/other and $0.449M recruitment/relocation, with $0 employee severance in 2021; no headcount impact disclosed for the year
2021-12-31restructuringcompleted2018-05-01United StatesCorporateUSD 5 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Total corporate restructuring costs for 2021 were $5.4 million, primarily consisting of third-party and other costs ($4.9 million) and recruitment/relocation costs ($0.4 million). No employee severance costs were incurred in 2021.
2021-12-31restructuringcompleted2018-05-01United StatesCorporateUSD 5 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Ongoing costs related to 2018 HQ consolidation. 2021 charges included $4.96M third-party/other and $0.45M recruitment/relocation. No severance recorded in 2021.
2020-12-31restructuringcompleted2018-05United States (California, Ohio, Colorado, New York)Corporate administrative functionsUSD 6,399 (thousands)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Multi-year program announced May 2018: headquarters relocation to Newport Beach, CA, consolidation into the Columbus, OH office, and closure of the Denver, CO and New York, NY offices. FY2020 charges of $6.4 million comprised severance/employee transition costs ($0.3 million), recruitment and relocation ($0.9 million), and third-party and other costs ($5.2 million). Restructuring liability was fully paid during 2020, leaving a zero balance at December 31, 2020; employees affected in FY2020 are not disclosed.
2020-12-31plant_closurecompletedChipotle restaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Nine Chipotle restaurants were permanently closed during fiscal 2020 (an additional six were relocated); affected employee counts are not disclosed. Impairment, closure costs, and asset disposals totaled $30.6 million in 2020, driven partly by COVID-19-impacted cash flow assumptions, but the portion attributable to the closures is not separately quantified.
2020-12-31restructuringin_progress2018-05-01United StatesCorporate (Restaurant Support Centers)USD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Multi-year program announced May 2018 (Newport Beach HQ, Columbus consolidation, Denver/NY office closures); figure is fiscal 2020 charges only ($303K severance/transition, $874K recruitment/relocation, $5.222M third-party/other). No employees-affected count disclosed.
2020-12-31plant_closurecompleted2020-12-31United StatesChipotle restaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Nine Chipotle restaurants permanently closed during fiscal 2020; associated employee count not disclosed. Related impairment, closure costs and asset disposals totaled $30.6M for 2020 (includes non-workforce items).
2020-12-31restructuringcompleted2018-05-01United StatesCorporateUSD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Filer discloses $6.4 million in corporate restructuring costs for 2020, primarily related to ongoing headquarters consolidation initiated in 2018. No specific employee count affected in 2020 is disclosed.
2020-12-31restructuringcompleted2018-05-012020-12-31United StatesCorporateUSD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Consolidation of headquarters to Newport Beach, CA and Columbus, OH. Total charges in 2020 were $6.4M. Employee count affected not explicitly disclosed for 2020 activity, though liability roll-forward shows payments of $6.4M against charges of $6.4M, ending with $0 liability.
2020-09-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Three Chipotle restaurants permanently closed during the quarter (eight year-to-date); no associated workforce reduction quantified. Impairment, closure costs and asset disposals were $8.0M for the quarter but not attributed to headcount.
2020-06-30restructuringin_progressUnited StatesCorporateUSD 2 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Corporate restructuring referenced only as an expense driver in G&A discussion; no employee counts, dates, or dedicated footnote disclosed. Q2 2020 restructuring expense was $2.1M lower than Q2 2019; six-month 2020 expense was $5.0M lower than prior year.
2020-03-31restructuringin_progressUnited StatesCorporateUSD 3 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
G&A discussion cites $2.9M of expense tied to a corporate restructuring as a year-over-year decrease driver; no employee count, announcement date, or completion timing disclosed.
2020-03-31otherin_progress2020-03-01United StatesRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
COVID-19 response: dining rooms closed in all restaurants, some restaurants temporarily closed (~100 as of 2020-03-31), expanded emergency leave benefits and assistance pay; no quantified headcount impact or furlough/layoff count disclosed.
2020-03-31restructuringcompletedGeneral and AdministrativeUSD 5 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance and stock modification charges associated with the departure of the former Executive Chairman.
2019-12-31restructuringcompleted2018-05United States (Newport Beach CA, Columbus OH, New York NY, Denver CO offices)Corporate administrative functionsUSD 14 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2019 activity only of a multi-year program announced May 2018 (program total $56.8M, of which $42.6M was recognized in 2018). FY2019 charge comprises severance, recruitment/relocation, office asset impairment and third-party costs; restructuring liability was $30 thousand at year-end and filer expects no other material costs. Employees affected not disclosed.
2019-12-31plant_closurecompleted2018-06United StatesRestaurants (Chipotle and Pizzeria Locale)USD 3 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2019 activity only: nine underperforming restaurants closed or relocated (seven Chipotle closures and two relocations per the restaurant activity table), of which six were part of the closure program announced June 2018. Charge represents restaurant asset impairment and other closure costs; employees affected not disclosed.
2019-12-31restructuringcompleted2018-05-01United StatesCorporateUSD 14 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Corporate restructuring announced in 2018; $14.2M recognized in 2019. Total program cost $56.8M. Employee count not disclosed.
2019-12-31plant_closurecompleted2018-06-01United StatesRestaurantsUSD 1 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Planned closure of 55-65 restaurants announced June 2018. 51 Chipotle and 5 Pizzeria Locale closed/relocated. $0.8M recognized in 2019. Total program cost $36.5M. Employee count not disclosed.
2019-12-31restructuringcompleted2018-05-01United StatesCorporateUSD 14 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Total corporate restructuring costs of $14.2M recognized in 2019 related to HQ move and office closures announced in May 2018. Employee count not disclosed.
2019-12-31plant_closurecompleted2018-06-01United StatesRestaurantsUSD 1 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
6 restaurants closed or relocated in 2019 as part of initiative announced June 2018. $0.8M in costs recognized in 2019. Employee count not disclosed.
2019-09-30restructuringin_progress2018-05United States (Newport Beach CA, Columbus OH, Denver CO, New York NY)Corporate administrative functionsUSD 55 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Consolidation of corporate offices; $54.7M recognized since 2018, of which $12.1M in the nine months ended 2019-09-30. Expected total $55M-$60M. No employee counts disclosed; affected employees were offered transfer or severance.
2019-09-30plant_closurein_progress2018-06United StatesRestaurant operations (Chipotle and Pizzeria Locale)USD 37 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Planned closures of 55-65 restaurants announced June 2018; 48 Chipotle and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed to date. $36.5M of expected $37.0M-$43.0M in restaurant exit costs incurred to date. No associated headcount reduction disclosed.
2019-09-30restructuringin_progress2018-05-01United StatesCorporateUSD 12 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Consolidation of corporate offices in Newport Beach and Columbus; closure of Denver and New York offices. Total expected costs $55M-$60M. $12.1M recognized in nine months ended Sept 30, 2019. Employee count affected not disclosed in this period.
2019-09-30plant_closurein_progress2018-06-01United StatesRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Planned closure of 55-65 restaurants. 48 Chipotle and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed to date. Total expected costs $37M-$43M, of which $36.5M incurred. Employee count affected not disclosed.
2019-09-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member]USD 142,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-09-30restructuringin_progressRecruitment And Relocation Costs [Member]USD 1,136,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-09-30restructuringin_progressContract Termination [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-09-30restructuringin_progressOther Restructuring [Member]USD 1,180,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-09-30restructuringin_progressShare Based Compensation [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-06-30restructuringin_progress2018-05-01United States (Denver, CO; New York, NY; Newport Beach, CA; Columbus, OH)Corporate administrative functionsUSD 10 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Six months ended June 30, 2019 restructuring costs of $9.6M; $52M incurred since 2018. No employee count disclosed. Expected total $53–58M with $1–6M additional in remainder of 2019.
2019-06-30plant_closurein_progress2018-06-01United StatesRestaurant operationsUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
48 Chipotle and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed since 2018; total expected exit costs $37–43M with $36.3M incurred to date. No employee count associated with closures disclosed.
2019-06-30restructuringin_progress2018-05-01United StatesCorporateUSD 10 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Consolidation of corporate offices in Newport Beach, CA and Columbus, OH; closure of Denver, CO and New York, NY offices. Total expected costs $53M-$58M. $9.6M recognized in Q2 2019. Employee count affected not explicitly disclosed in this period.
2019-06-30plant_closurein_progress2018-06-01United StatesRestaurantsUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Planned closure of 55-65 restaurants. 48 Chipotle and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed to date. Total expected costs $37M-$43M. $36.3M incurred to date. Employee count affected not explicitly disclosed.
2019-06-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member]USD 460,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-06-30restructuringin_progressRecruitment And Relocation Costs [Member]USD 2,107,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-06-30restructuringin_progressContract Termination [Member]USD 324,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-06-30restructuringin_progressOther Restructuring [Member]USD 1,031,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-06-30restructuringin_progressShare Based Compensation [Member]USD 0 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-03-31restructuringin_progress2018-05-01United States (Newport Beach CA, Columbus OH, Denver CO, New York NY)Corporate administrative functionsUSD 49 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Estimated total program cost of $49M-$58M; $5.7M recognized in Q1 2019 and $48M since commencement in 2018; additional $1M-$9M expected during remainder of 2019. Affected employees were offered continued employment or severance; no employee count disclosed.
2019-03-31plant_closurein_progress2018-06-01United StatesRestaurant operationsUSD 43 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Planned closures of approximately 55-65 restaurants announced June 2018, continuing over several quarters; total exit costs estimated $37.0M-$43.0M with $35.9M incurred to date; 47 Chipotle and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed since commencement. No associated employee count disclosed.
2019-03-31restructuringin_progress2018-05-01United StatesCorporateUSD 6 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Consolidation of corporate offices in Newport Beach, CA and Columbus, OH; closure of Denver, CO and New York, NY offices. Total expected costs $49M-$58M. Q1 2019 charges included $1.0M severance, $2.1M recruitment/relocation, $1.4M lease impairment/closure, $1.0M third-party, and $0.1M stock-based comp.
2019-03-31plant_closurein_progress2018-06-01United StatesRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Planned closure of 55-65 restaurants. 47 Chipotle and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed to date. Total expected exit costs $37M-$43M, with $35.9M incurred to date.
2019-03-31restructuringin_progressRecruitment And Relocation Costs [Member]USD 2,093,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-03-31restructuringin_progressShare Based Compensation [Member]USD 134,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-03-31restructuringin_progressContract Termination [Member]USD 1,395,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-03-31restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member]USD 1,046,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2019-03-31restructuringin_progressOther Restructuring [Member]USD 1,007,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-12-31restructuringin_progress2018-05United States (California, Colorado, New York, Ohio)Corporate / general and administrativeUSD 43 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Headquarters relocation to Newport Beach CA, consolidation of administrative functions into Columbus OH, closure of New York office, and wind-down of Denver HQ. Affected employees were offered continued roles or severance. 2018 charge includes ~$6.9M employee severance/transition costs and ~$1.3M stock-based compensation; additional ~$5-15M expected in 2019 (program total ~$48-58M).
2018-12-31plant_closurein_progress2018-06United StatesChipotle and Pizzeria Locale restaurantsUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Announced program of ~55-65 underperforming restaurant closures beginning Q2 2018. During 2018, 45 Chipotle restaurants were closed/relocated and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed under the initiative. Costs comprise lease termination, asset impairment and other closure costs; additional ~$1-7M expected in 2019 (program total ~$37-43M). All-2018 lease termination and closure costs across all closures/relocations were $40.5M per Note 6. No employee counts disclosed.
2018-12-31plant_closurecompletedOhio, United StatesTastyMade (non-Chipotle concept)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Single TastyMade burger restaurant closed in 2018 as the company exited the concept; closure costs are included in Note 6's total but no separate charge is disclosed.
2018-12-31restructuringin_progress2018-052019-12-31United StatesCorporate (headquarters and administrative functions)USD 43 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY2018 charges of $42.6M include $6.9M severance and employee transition costs; program covers new Newport Beach HQ, consolidation in Columbus, closure of New York office and Denver headquarters. Total program estimated at $48M-$58M with $5M-$15M more expected in 2019. Employee headcount affected not disclosed.
2018-12-31plant_closurein_progress2018-062019-12-31United StatesChipotle and Pizzeria Locale restaurantsUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Program announced June 2018 to close 55-65 underperforming restaurants; 45 Chipotle restaurants and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed or relocated during FY2018, with ~$35.8M exit costs recognized in Q2-Q4 2018. Additional $1M-$7M expected in 2019. Restaurant-level employee counts not disclosed.
2018-12-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesTastyMade (non-Chipotle concept)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
One TastyMade restaurant closed during 2018; no separate charge or employee count disclosed.
2018-12-31restructuringin_progress2018-05-01United StatesCorporateUSD 43 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Opened new HQ in Newport Beach, CA; consolidated functions in Columbus, OH; closed NY office and commenced closure of Denver HQ. Total corporate restructuring costs of $42.6 million incurred in 2018. Expected additional costs of $5 million to $15 million in 2019. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2018-12-31plant_closurecompleted2018-06-01United StatesRestaurantsUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Closed or relocated 45 Chipotle restaurants and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants. Restaurant exit costs of $35.8 million incurred in 2018. Expected additional costs of $1 million to $7 million in 2019. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2018-12-31restructuringin_progress2018-05-01United StatesCorporateUSD 43 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Opened new HQ in Newport Beach, consolidated Columbus office, closed NY office, commenced closure of Denver HQ. Incurred $42.6M in costs in 2018. Employee count affected not disclosed.
2018-12-31plant_closurecompleted2018-06-01United StatesRestaurant OperationsUSD 36 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed or relocated 45 Chipotle restaurants and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants. Incurred $35.8M in exit costs. Employee count affected not disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringin_progress2018-052019-12-31United States (Denver, CO; New York, NY; Newport Beach, CA; Columbus, OH)Corporate administrative functionsUSD 44 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Expected total cost range $44.0M to $58.0M, of which $28.5M incurred through 2018-09-30; costs extend into 2019. No employee count disclosed; affected employees were offered continued employment or severance. Related stock-award modifications covered approximately 340 employees.
2018-09-30plant_closurein_progress2018-062019-12-31United States and international marketsRestaurants (Chipotle and Pizzeria Locale)USD 37 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Planned closure of approximately 55 to 65 restaurants; 33 Chipotle and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed during the nine months ended 2018-09-30. Expected exit costs $37.0M to $43.0M, of which $30.2M incurred, plus $7.0M to $8.0M accelerated depreciation ($5.5M incurred). No associated employee count disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringin_progress2018-05-012019-12-31United StatesCorporateUSD 44 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Announced May 2018. Consolidating corporate functions into Columbus, OH and Newport Beach, CA; closing Denver, CO and New York, NY offices. Total expected costs $44M-$58M. $28.5M incurred to date. Includes severance, relocation, lease termination, and third-party costs. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2018-09-30plant_closurein_progress2018-06-012019-12-31United StatesRestaurantsUSD 37 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Announced June 2018. Planned closure of 55-65 underperforming restaurants. Total expected exit costs $37M-$43M. $30.2M incurred to date. 33 Chipotle and 5 Pizzeria Locale restaurants closed in first nine months. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2018-09-30restructuringin_progressUSD 28,844,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-09-30restructuringin_progressNoncash Impairment [Member]USD 27,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-09-30restructuringin_progressRecruitment And Relocation Costs [Member]USD 3,395,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-09-30restructuringin_progressContract Termination [Member]USD 15,196,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-09-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member]USD 4,593,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-09-30restructuringin_progressOther Restructuring [Member]USD 5,660,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-06-30restructuringin_progress2018-05-232019-03-31United States (Denver CO, New York NY, Newport Beach CA, Columbus OH)Corporate / administrative functionsUSD 70 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Total expected cost $70–80M; $13.8M recognized in H1 2018 (incl. $6.4M SBC reduction); $57–66M expected into 2019. Severance communicated week ended 2018-06-22. No employee count disclosed.
2018-06-30plant_closurein_progress2018-06-302019-06-30United StatesRestaurantsUSD 25 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Plan to close ~55–65 underperforming restaurants over several quarters; 1 Chipotle and 5 Pizzeria Locale closed in Q2 2018. Non-cash impairment of $25.2M recognized. Additional lease termination costs of $8–17M and accelerated depreciation of $7–8M expected.
2018-06-30plant_closureannounced2018-07-262018-07-26United StatesRestaurantssubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Subsequent event: closure of 29 additional Chipotle restaurants completed 2018-07-26 as part of the planned closure program.
2018-06-30restructuringin_progress2018-05-232019-03-31United StatesCorporateUSD 70 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Announced HQ move to Newport Beach, CA and consolidation of functions in Columbus, OH; closure of Denver and NY offices. Total expected costs $70M-$80M. Specific employee count not disclosed, but severance packages offered to affected employees.
2018-06-30plant_closurein_progress2018-06-30United StatesRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Plan to close approximately 55 to 65 underperforming restaurants beginning in Q2 2018. Specific employee count not disclosed.
2018-06-30restructuringin_progressUSD 19,096,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-06-30restructuringin_progressAsset Impairment Charges [Member]USD 16,299,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-06-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance And Other Transition Costs Recruitment And Relocation Costs And Third Party And Other Costs [Member]USD 3,900,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-06-30restructuringin_progressNoncash Impairment [Member]USD 1,103,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-06-30restructuringin_progressRecruitment And Relocation Costs [Member]USD 207,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-06-30restructuringin_progressContract Termination [Member]USD 15,196,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-06-30restructuringin_progressEmployee Severance [Member]USD 493,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-06-30restructuringin_progressOther Restructuring [Member]USD 3,200,000 (absolute)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / no-ai-xblr
2018-03-31plant_closurecompletedTastyMadeMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed only TastyMade restaurant during the quarter; write-down of substantially all value of long-lived assets.
2018-03-31plant_closurecompletedChipotleMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed a small number of underperforming Chipotle restaurants.
2018-03-31plant_closurecompletedMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed or relocated two restaurants during the three months ended March 31, 2018.
2017-12-31plant_closurecompletedShopHouse Southeast Asian KitchenMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
All 15 ShopHouse Southeast Asian Kitchen locations were closed in early 2017 (Item 1 also confirms closure of the entire ShopHouse concept). The $14.5 million non-cash impairment of ShopHouse long-lived assets was recorded in fiscal 2016 in advance of the closures and is therefore not attributed to this action. Employee counts not disclosed.
2017-12-31plant_closurecompletedChipotle restaurants (underperforming locations)USD 3 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Filer closed a small number of underperforming Chipotle restaurants during 2017 (part of total closures/relocations shown in the restaurant unit table, separate from the 15 ShopHouse closures). The 2017 aggregate impairment charge of $3.291 million, recorded in loss on disposal and impairment of assets, was primarily — but not exclusively — attributed to these closures. Restaurant-level employee counts not disclosed.
2017-12-31plant_closurecompleted2017-12-31United StatesShopHouse Southeast Asian Kitchen (non-Chipotle concept)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All 15 ShopHouse locations closed in early 2017; headcount affected not disclosed. A $14.5M impairment of ShopHouse long-lived assets was recorded in 2016, not the current year.
2017-12-31plant_closurecompleted2017-12-31United StatesChipotle restaurantsUSD 13 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A reports 23 restaurants closed in 2017 including the 15 ShopHouse units; the unit table shows 10 relocations/closures plus 15 ShopHouse closures. Charge is the full-year loss on disposal and impairment of assets, which also covers kitchen equipment replacement. Headcount affected not disclosed.
2017-12-31plant_closurecompleted2017-06-30United StatesShopHouse Southeast Asian KitchenUSD 15 (millions)Item 1. Business - Risk Factors
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed all 15 ShopHouse locations in the first half of 2017. Recognized $14.5 million non-cash impairment charge in 2016.
2017-09-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesShopHouse Southeast Asian KitchenMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All 15 ShopHouse restaurants closed during the nine months ended September 30, 2017; associated headcount not disclosed.
2017-09-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesChipotle restaurantsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Six relocations/closures of Chipotle restaurants during the nine months ended September 30, 2017; associated headcount not disclosed.
2017-03-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesShopHouse Southeast Asian KitchenMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
All 15 ShopHouse restaurants closed during Q1 2017; agreement to assign 14 leases to another party. Employee counts not disclosed.
2017-03-31plant_closureannounced2017-04-012017-06-30United StatesChipotle restaurantsMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Two Chipotle restaurants closed in April 2017 (subsequent event); lease liability to be recognized in Q2 2017. Employee counts not disclosed.
2017-03-31plant_closurecompleted2017-03-312017-03-31United StatesShopHouse Southeast Asian KitchenMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed all 15 ShopHouse Southeast Asian Kitchen restaurants during the first quarter of 2017. Employee count not disclosed.
2017-03-31plant_closurecompleted2017-04-012017-04-01United StatesChipotleUSD 1 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Closed two Chipotle restaurants in April 2017. Recognized impairment of long-lived assets of approximately $1.1 million. Employee count not disclosed.
2011-12-31plant_closurecompletedRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Four restaurant closures and relocations during fiscal 2011; affected employee counts not disclosed. A related $0.4 million 2011 impairment charge was attributed primarily to office or restaurant closures, but is not specifically tied to these units.
2011-12-31othercompleted4502010MinnesotaItem 1A. Risk Factors
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Following a DHS audit of work authorization documents in Minnesota during 2010, we lost approximately 450 employees.
2011-09-30layoffcompleted2010Minnesota, District of Columbia, VirginiaRestaurant Operationsother
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Termination of employees identified by ICE as having suspect work authorization documents. Filing states 'large number' in MN and 'small number' in DC/VA, but no specific headcount is provided. Resulted in temporary increase in labor costs.
2011-06-30otherin_progress2010-01-01Minnesota, District of Columbia, VirginiaRestaurant Operationsother
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
ICE investigation into work authorization documents resulted in termination of employees unable to provide valid documents; described as 'large number' in MN and 'small number' in other locations. No specific headcount or severance charge disclosed.
2010-12-31plant_closurecompletedRestaurant operationsUSD 751 (thousands)MD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Unit data table shows 1 closure and/or relocation during fiscal 2010; no employee count or closure date disclosed. Aggregate 2010 impairment charge of $0.751 million, recognized in loss on disposal of assets, resulted primarily from pending restaurant closures; the specific charge tied to the single completed closure is not separately quantified, so the associated charge reflects the full-year aggregate impairment. Specific dates set to null because the filing does not disclose when the closure occurred.
2010-12-31othercompletedMinnesotaRestaurant operationsother
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Following a 2010 U.S. Department of Homeland Security/ICE audit of work authorization documents at Minnesota restaurants, employees unable to provide valid work eligibility documents were terminated. The number of affected employees is not disclosed; the filing describes it as a large number of employees identified in a Notice of Suspect Documents. Terminations occurred during 2010; specific dates not disclosed.
2010-12-31reduction_in_forcecompleted4502010MinnesotaRestaurant OperationsItem 1A. Risk Factors
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Following a DHS audit of work authorization documents in Minnesota during 2010, approximately 450 employees were terminated. This resulted in temporary increases in labor costs for training new employees.
2010-12-31layoffcompleted45020102010MinnesotaRestaurant OperationsItem 1A. Risk Factors
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Terminated approximately 450 employees following DHS audit of work authorization documents in Minnesota during 2010.
2009-12-31plant_closurecompletedRestaurant operationsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Unit roll-forward shows two closures and relocations during 2009 (837 at start of year, 121 openings, 956 at year-end). Workforce impact not quantified; relocations may involve staff transfers rather than separations, and the filer notes it recorded no restaurant impairment charges in 2009.
2009-12-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Filer reports 2 closures and relocations combined for 2009; no associated headcount reduction or severance charge is disclosed.
2008-12-31plant_closurecompletedCompany-operated restaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Three company-operated restaurants were relocated or closed during fiscal 2008; the filer does not separate relocations from closures or quantify affected employees.
2008-12-31plant_closurein_progressCompany-operated restaurantsother
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Restaurant closure pending at fiscal year-end with an associated impairment charge; aggregate 2008 closure-related impairment charges were $822 thousand (not broken out for the pending closure).
2007-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2007-03Restaurant operations — conversion of franchised restaurants to company-operatedUSD 3 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Four franchised restaurants acquired from two franchisees during March 2007 for an aggregate purchase price of $2.5 million; Note 4 dates the transactions March 7 and March 31 (two restaurants each). Employee headcount transferring with the acquired restaurants was not disclosed.
2007-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2007-04-30Restaurant operations — conversion of franchised restaurants to company-operatedUSD 3 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Remaining four franchised restaurants acquired on April 30, 2007 for a purchase price of $3.2 million; aggregate purchase price for all eight restaurants was $5,668 thousand per Note 4. Employee headcount transferring with the acquired restaurants was not disclosed.
2007-12-31plant_closurecompleted2007Restaurant operationsMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Restaurant unit table reports two relocations and closures during 2007; the filing does not separate closures from relocations and discloses no headcount impact.
2007-12-31plant_closureannounced2007Restaurant operationsUSD 187 (thousands)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Aggregate 2007 impairment charge of $187 thousand related to an upcoming closure of one restaurant due to the landlord's decision to redevelop the location; charge is an asset impairment, not severance, and no headcount was disclosed.
2007-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2007-04-30United StatesCompany-operated restaurantsUSD 5,668 (thousands)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Eight franchised restaurants acquired in March and April 2007 for aggregate purchase price of $5,668 thousand; associated headcount not disclosed.
2007-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2007-04-302007-04-30United StatesCompany-operated restaurantsUSD 5,668 (thousands)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Eight franchised restaurants acquired in March and April 2007 (aggregate purchase price $5,668 thousand), converting franchise units to company-operated; no employee headcount added or affected is disclosed.
2006-12-31plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRestaurantsMD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
One company-operated restaurant closed in 2006 due to structural damage in the leased space; a second closure was pending at the landlord's request. No employee counts or severance disclosed; a $693 thousand impairment was recognized within loss on disposal of assets.
2006-06-30restructuringcompletedGeneral and AdministrativeUSD 1 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs include modification of certain options for terminated employees resulting in additional stock-based compensation expense of $0.7 million for the three months ended June 30, 2006.
2006-06-30restructuringcompletedGeneral and AdministrativeUSD 1 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs include modification of certain options for terminated employees resulting in $1.1 million of additional stock-based compensation expense for the six months ended June 30, 2006.