CenterPoint Energy (CNP)

Company ID: 134 | CIK: 0001130310
10-Q view:
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-K data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

Operational KPIs

Market value of non-affiliate stock (aum)

No 10-Q data

Backlog (backlog)

Generating Capacity (capacity)

Metered customers (customers)

Energy Services customers (customers_served)

Natural gas throughput (gas_production)

Electric generation capacity (generation_capacity)

Electric throughput (generation_volume)

Employees (headcount)

No 10-Q data

Coal inventory (inventory_units)

No 10-Q data

Average coal cost (lifting_cost)

No 10-Q data

Enable NGLs sold (ngl_production)

No 10-Q data

Accumulated benefit obligation (other)

No 10-Q data

Accumulated deferred income taxes (other)

No 10-Q data

Additional bond issuance capacity (other)

No 10-Q data

Advanced metering infrastructure meters (other)

No 10-Q data

Advanced meters deployed (other)

No 10-Q data

Advanced meters installed (other)

No 10-Q data

Aggregate credit threshold (other)

No 10-Q data

Aggregate intrinsic value (other)

No 10-Q data

Allowance for doubtful accounts (other)

No 10-Q data

Amortization expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Amortization of net loss (other)

No 10-Q data

Amortization of prior service cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Amortization of transition obligation (other)

No 10-Q data

Asset retirement obligations (other)

No 10-Q data

Authorized common shares (other)

No 10-K data

Basic EPS (other)

No 10-Q data

Billed receivables (other)

No 10-Q data

Book value per share (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Capitalized interest (other)

No 10-Q data

Carrying amount of long-term debt (other)

No 10-Q data

Carthage to Perryville phase three cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Cash (other)

No 10-Q data

Cash and cash equivalents (other)

No 10-Q data

Cash dividends paid per share (other)

No 10-Q data

Cash received from LICPs (other)

No 10-Q data

Coal inventory (other)

No 10-Q data

Coal purchased (other)

No 10-Q data

Collective bargaining agreements (other)

No 10-Q data

Collective bargaining coverage (other)

No 10-Q data

Common Stock Outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Common shares outstanding (other)

Common stock equity (other)

No 10-Q data

Common stock shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Conversion price (other)

No 10-Q data

Convertible notes (other)

No 10-Q data

Cooling degree days (other)

Credit facilities (other)

No 10-Q data

Debt securities (other)

No 10-Q data

Deferred compensation expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Deferred compensation obligations (other)

No 10-Q data

Deferred tax assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Deferred tax liabilities (other)

No 10-Q data

Degree days vs 10-year average (other)

No 10-K data

Depreciation expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Diluted EPS (other)

No 10-Q data

Discount rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution circuit miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Dividend payout ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Dividend per share (other)

No 10-Q data

Domestic equity securities (other)

No 10-Q data

Effective tax rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric delivery sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric distribution lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric generation-related regulatory assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric generation-related regulatory liabilities (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric substations (other)

No 10-Q data

Electric throughput (other)

Employees covered by expiring agreements (other)

No 10-Q data

Employees subject to collective bargaining (other)

No 10-Q data

Employer contributions (other)

No 10-Q data

Enable limited partner interest (other)

No 10-Q data

Enable ownership (other)

No 10-Q data

Energy Services throughput (other)

No 10-K data

Energy products and services (other)

No 10-Q data

Equity investments (other)

No 10-Q data

Estimated removal costs (other)

No 10-Q data

Expected employer contributions (other)

No 10-Q data

Expected return on plan assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Fair value of long-term debt (other)

No 10-Q data

First mortgage bonds (other)

No 10-Q data

Fuel mix by capacity (other)

No 10-Q data

Fuel mix by usage (other)

No 10-Q data

Funded status (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas distribution mains (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas gathering lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas gathering pipeline miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas gathering pipelines (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas gathering systems (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas transport (other)

No 10-Q data

Gathering lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Gathering pipeline miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Gathering pipelines (other)

No 10-Q data

General mortgage bonds (other)

No 10-Q data

Global equity securities (other)

No 10-Q data

Goodwill (other)

No 10-Q data

Healthcare cost trend rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Heating degree days (other)

Income from continuing operations (other)

No 10-Q data

Interest cost (other)

No 10-Q data

International equity securities (other)

No 10-Q data

Interstate pipeline miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Intrastate pipeline miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory write-down (other)

No 10-Q data

LICP compensation expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Lease expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Long-term debt (other)

No 10-Q data

Major substation sites (other)

No 10-Q data

Market price per share (other)

No 10-Q data

Materials and supplies (other)

No 10-Q data

Medicare subsidy receipts (other)

No 10-Q data

NOx emission control investment (other)

No 10-K data

Natural gas inventory (other)

No 10-Q data

Natural gas mains (other)

No 10-Q data

Natural gas supply commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Natural gas throughput (other)

Net amount recognized in other comprehensive income (other)

No 10-Q data

Net cash provided by financing activities (other)

No 10-Q data

Net cash provided by operating activities (other)

No 10-Q data

Net cash used in investing activities (other)

No 10-Q data

Net income (other)

No 10-Q data

Net periodic cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Net regulatory assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Non-recourse transition bonds (other)

No 10-Q data

Operating income (other)

No 10-Q data

Operating lease commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Other long-term debt (other)

No 10-Q data

Other long-term regulatory assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Other long-term regulatory liabilities (other)

No 10-Q data

Outstanding indebtedness (other)

No 10-Q data

Overhead distribution lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Overhead distribution pole miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Overhead transmission lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Peak customers without power (other)

No 10-K data

Pension and postretirement-related regulatory asset (other)

No 10-Q data

Pension benefit obligation (other)

No 10-Q data

Pension benefit payments (other)

No 10-Q data

Pension benefits restoration plan obligation (other)

No 10-Q data

Pension expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Pension plan assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Postemployment benefit income (other)

No 10-Q data

Postemployment obligations (other)

No 10-Q data

Postretirement benefit obligation (other)

No 10-Q data

Postretirement benefit payments (other)

No 10-Q data

Postretirement plan assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Prescription drug cost trend rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Property, plant and equipment (other)

No 10-Q data

Provision for doubtful accounts (other)

No 10-Q data

Public float (other)

No 10-Q data

Quarterly basic EPS (other)

No 10-Q data

Quarterly diluted EPS (other)

No 10-Q data

Quarterly net income (other)

No 10-Q data

Quarterly operating income (other)

No 10-Q data

Quarterly revenues (other)

No 10-Q data

RRI guaranty exposure (other)

No 10-Q data

RRI receivables (other)

No 10-Q data

Rate of increase in compensation levels (other)

No 10-Q data

Ratio of earnings to fixed charges (other)

No 10-Q data

Real estate (other)

No 10-Q data

Receivables facility (other)

No 10-Q data

Regional service centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Regulatory assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Regulatory liabilities (other)

No 10-Q data

Remote monitoring locations (other)

No 10-Q data

Reserve Margin (other)

No 10-Q data

Retail gas sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Return on average common equity (other)

No 10-Q data

Revenues (other)

No 10-Q data

SESH SNG pipe diameter (other)

No 10-Q data

SESH advances (other)

No 10-Q data

SESH equity contribution (other)

No 10-Q data

SESH loan (other)

No 10-Q data

SESH net costs (other)

No 10-Q data

Savings plan benefit expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Savings plan investment concentration (other)

No 10-Q data

Securitized regulatory asset (other)

No 10-Q data

Service cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Service territory population (other)

No 10-Q data

ServiceStar monitoring locations (other)

No 10-Q data

Shareholders of record (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares of common stock outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Short-term borrowings (other)

No 10-Q data

Smart Meters Installed (other)

No 10-Q data

Smart meters installed (other)

No 10-Q data

State capital loss carryforwards (other)

No 10-Q data

State net operating loss carryforwards (other)

No 10-Q data

State tax credit carryforward (other)

No 10-Q data

Storm restoration cost estimate (other)

No 10-K data

Storm restoration costs incurred (other)

No 10-K data

Substations (other)

No 10-Q data

TW Common market value (other)

No 10-Q data

Tax benefit realized (other)

No 10-Q data

Texas Genco STP Interest (other)

No 10-Q data

Throughput (other)

No 10-K data

Total assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Total interest expense (other)

No 10-Q data

Total operating lease commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

Transition bonds (other)

No 10-Q data

Treasury rate locks (other)

No 10-Q data

Ultimate trend rate (other)

No 10-Q data

Unamortized loss on reacquired debt (other)

No 10-Q data

Underground distribution circuit miles (other)

No 10-Q data

Underground distribution lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Underground transmission lines (other)

No 10-Q data

Unrecognized actuarial loss (other)

No 10-Q data

Unrecognized compensation cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Unrecognized prior service cost (other)

No 10-Q data

Unrecognized tax benefits (other)

No 10-Q data

Unrecognized transition obligation (other)

No 10-Q data

Unsecured credit limits (other)

No 10-Q data

Valuation allowance (other)

No 10-Q data

Value at Risk (other)

No 10-Q data

Weather vs normal (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted-average exercise price (other)

No 10-Q data

Weighted-average grant date fair value (other)

No 10-Q data

Wholesale gas sales (other)

No 10-Q data

ZENS collateral (other)

No 10-Q data

ZENS contingent principal (other)

No 10-Q data

ZENS debt component (other)

No 10-Q data

ZENS derivative component (other)

No 10-Q data

ZENS exchange amount (other)

No 10-Q data

ZENS outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Pipeline throughput (production_volume)

Service Centers (properties)

No 10-Q data

Revenue, Remaining Performance Obligation, Amount (rpo)

Options excluded from dilution (shares)

No 10-Q data

Service territory area (square_footage)

No 10-Q data

Natural gas throughput (throughput)

Natural gas distribution mains (transmission_miles)

No 10-Q data

Electricity sales (units_shipped)

No 10-K data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No point-in-time HCM metrics found.

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No flow HCM metrics found.

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2025-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2024-02-192025-03-31Louisiana, MississippiNatural GasItem 1. Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Sale of Louisiana and Mississippi natural gas LDC businesses completed March 31, 2025. Headcount impact not explicitly quantified in filing.
2025-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2023-09-062025-03-07IndianaElectricUSD 357 (millions)Item 1. Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Acquisition of Posey Solar (191 MW solar array) completed March 7, 2025. Headcount impact not explicitly quantified in filing.
2025-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2024-02-192025-03-31Louisiana, MississippiNatural GasItem 1. Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Completed sale on March 31, 2025. Employee count not explicitly disclosed in text, but customer count reduced.
2025-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2025-03-072025-03-07IndianaElectricUSD 357 (millions)Item 1. Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
SIGECO acquired 100% equity interests in Posey Solar for approx $357 million. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2025-03-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2024-02-192025-03-31Louisiana and Mississippi, United StatesNatural Gasother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Louisiana and Mississippi natural gas LDC businesses (~380,000 customers, ~12,000 miles of pipeline) closed 2025-03-31; no employee counts disclosed.
2025-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2025-03-072025-03-07Indiana, United StatesElectricbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
SIGECO acquired 100% of Posey Solar (191 MW solar array) for approximately $357 million; no headcount added disclosed.
2024-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2024-02-192025-03-31Louisiana and MississippiNatural GasItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price $1.2 billion; approved by MPSC Dec 3, 2024 and LPSC Dec 17, 2024; no employee count disclosed
2024-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2023-05-212023-06-30United StatesCorporate and OtherItem 1. Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
CenterPoint Energy completed the sale of its indirect subsidiary, Energy Systems Group, on June 30, 2023. Specific headcount reduction not disclosed.
2024-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2024-02-192025-03-31Louisiana, MississippiNatural GasItem 1. Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
CERC Corp. entered into agreement to sell Louisiana and Mississippi natural gas LDC businesses. Transaction expected to close in Q1 2025. Specific headcount reduction not disclosed.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2023-05-212023-06-30United StatesCorporate and Otherdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Energy Systems Group closed June 30, 2023 for $154 million. Employee count not disclosed.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2024-02-192025-03-31United StatesNatural Gassubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
CERC agreed to sell Louisiana and Mississippi natural gas LDC businesses for $1.2 billion. Expected close Q1 2025. Employee count not disclosed.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2023-05-212023-06-30United StatesCorporate and OtherItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Sale of Energy Systems Group completed June 30, 2023. Specific headcount not disclosed.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2024-02-192025-03-31Louisiana, MississippiNatural Gassubsequent_events
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Agreement to sell Louisiana and Mississippi natural gas local distribution company businesses. Expected to close in Q1 2025.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2023-05-212023-06-30United StatesCorporate and OtherItem 1. Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of Energy Systems Group closed June 30, 2023. Specific headcount reduction not disclosed in this filing.
2023-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2024-02-192025-03-31Louisiana, MississippiNatural Gassubsequent_events
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Agreement to sell Louisiana and Mississippi natural gas local distribution company businesses. Expected to close in Q1 2025.
2023-09-30othercompleted2023-10-18United States — Texas Gulf CoastHouston Electric — IBEW 66 represented employeesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
IBEW 66 members ratified a new collective bargaining agreement with Houston Electric on 2023-10-18; prior agreement had expired May 2023 and was renewed monthly during negotiations. New agreement expires May 2026. Number of covered employees not disclosed.
2023-09-30divestiture_reductioncompleted2023-05-212023-06-30United StatesCorporate and Other — Energy Systems Groupother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Energy Systems Group closed 2023-06-30 for $154M cash. Headcount removed through the divestiture was not disclosed in this filing.
2023-09-30othercompleted2023-10-18TexasHouston Electricother
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
IBEW 66 members voted to ratify a new collective bargaining agreement with Houston Electric on October 18, 2023. The agreement expires in May 2026.
2023-06-30otherin_progress2023-05-31United States (Texas)Houston Electric — IBEW 66 represented employeesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Collective bargaining agreement with IBEW 66 covering Houston Electric employees expired May 2023; parties agreed to monthly renewals while negotiations on a new agreement continue. No employee count or disruption disclosed.
2023-06-30otherin_progressTexasHouston Electricother
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Collective bargaining agreement with IBEW 66 expired May 2023; parties agreed to renew on a monthly basis while active negotiations continue on a new agreement.
2022-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2021-04-292022-01-10Arkansas, Oklahoma, TexasNatural Gasdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of Arkansas and Oklahoma Natural Gas businesses completed on January 10, 2022. Employee count not explicitly disclosed.
2022-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2022-06-30Indiana, OhioNatural GasItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Restructuring completed June 30, 2022, transferring Indiana Gas and VEDO to CERC Corp. Employee count not explicitly disclosed for this transfer.
2022-03-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2021-04-292022-01-10Arkansas, Oklahoma and portions of Bowie County, TexasNatural Gasother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Arkansas and Oklahoma Natural Gas businesses closed 2022-01-10; filing discloses no associated employee count or workforce impact.
2020-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2020-02-032020-04-09United StatesInfrastructure Servicesdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Infrastructure Services Disposal Group closed 2020-04-09 for $854 million; headcount impact not quantified.
2020-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2020-02-242020-06-01United StatesEnergy Servicesdiscontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Energy Services Disposal Group closed 2020-06-01 for approximately $365 million; headcount impact not quantified.
2020-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2020-02-032020-04-09United StatesInfrastructure ServicesItem 1 - Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Transaction closed April 9, 2020. Employee count not explicitly disclosed in text.
2020-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2020-02-242020-06-01United StatesEnergy ServicesItem 1 - Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Transaction closed June 1, 2020. Employee count not explicitly disclosed in text.
2020-03-31restructuringin_progress2020-04-01USD 40 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Announced targeted reductions in 2020 operation and maintenance expenses by approximately $40 million, excluding certain merger costs, utility costs to achieve savings, and severance. Specific headcount impact not disclosed.
2019-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2019-02-012019-02-01United States (Indiana, Ohio)Indiana Electric Integrated; Natural Gas Distribution; Infrastructure Services; Corporate and Otherbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Vectren acquired for approximately $6 billion cash on 2019-02-01. Aggregate acquired headcount not stated; segment headcounts at 2019-12-31 reflect the addition (Indiana Electric Integrated 443, Infrastructure Services 4,345).
2019-12-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-12-31United StatesCenterPoint Energy consolidated (post-Merger integration)USD 102 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Total 2019 severance cost of $102 million, including $61 million for employees terminated immediately after Merger close plus change-of-control payments. Employees affected not disclosed.
2019-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced4,3452020-02-032020-06-30United StatesInfrastructure ServicesUSD 85 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Securities Purchase Agreement to sell Infrastructure Services for approximately $850 million. Employees affected not explicitly stated; 4,345 is the segment headcount at 2019-12-31. Anticipated held-for-sale impairment of approximately $85 million plus transaction costs in Q1 2020.
2019-12-31divestiture_reductionannounced2932020-02-242020-06-30United States (over 30 states)Energy Services (CES)USD 80 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Equity Purchase Agreement to sell CES for approximately $400 million; excludes CEIP and its assets. Employees affected not explicitly stated; 293 is the segment headcount at 2019-12-31. Anticipated aggregate held-for-sale impairment of approximately $80 million plus transaction costs in Q1 2020.
2019-12-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-01United StatesMultiple segments (Infrastructure Services, Energy Services, Natural Gas Distribution, Corporate)USD 102 (millions)Note 8
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Total severance cost for the year ended December 31, 2019 was $102 million, related to the Merger with Vectren. Includes $61 million for employees terminated immediately subsequent to the Merger close and $41 million for change in control severance payments.
2019-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2019-02-012019-02-01United StatesVectren (Indiana Electric Integrated, Natural Gas Distribution, Infrastructure Services, Corporate and Other)Item 1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
CenterPoint Energy acquired Vectren on February 1, 2019. Specific headcount added is not explicitly quantified in the narrative, but segment employee counts reflect the inclusion of Vectren businesses.
2019-12-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-12-31United StatesMultiple SegmentsUSD 102 (millions)Note 4_Mergers_and_Acquisitions
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Total severance cost for the year ended December 31, 2019 was $102 million, including $61 million for employees terminated immediately subsequent to the Merger close and $37 million for accelerated vesting of share-based awards. Specific employee count affected is not disclosed.
2019-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2019-02-012019-02-01United States (Indiana, Ohio)Indiana Electric Integrated, Natural Gas Distribution, Infrastructure Services, Corporate and Otherbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Vectren acquisition closed 2019-02-01 for approximately $6 billion in cash; no employee headcount added disclosed.
2019-09-30restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-02-01United StatesVectren operations (acquired entities)USD 61 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance recognized for employees terminated immediately after Merger close, including change-of-control payments to Vectren executives; no employee count disclosed.
2019-09-30restructuringin_progress2019-02-012019-12-31United StatesEnterprise-wide integrationUSD 67 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Integration costs of $67M YTD ($19M in Q3) recorded in operation and maintenance expenses; no employee count disclosed.
2019-09-30restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-09-30United StatesCorporate and Other; Indiana Electric Integrated; Natural Gas DistributionUSD 61 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance totaling $61 million recognized for employees terminated immediately subsequent to the Vectren Merger close, inclusive of change of control severance payments to executives.
2019-09-30restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-09-30United StatesCorporate and Other; Indiana Electric Integrated; Natural Gas DistributionUSD 37 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Incremental cost of $37 million recorded for accelerated vesting of share-based awards assumed from Vectren.
2019-06-30restructuringcompleted2019-02-01United StatesMultiple (Vectren acquisition-related)USD 61 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance recognized for employees terminated immediately after the Vectren merger close on 2019-02-01, including change-of-control severance for Vectren executives. Employee count not disclosed.
2019-06-30restructuringin_progress2019-02-012019-12-31United StatesCorporate / IntegrationUSD 48 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Integration costs of $48M for six months ended 2019-06-30 ($40M in Q2), recorded in operation and maintenance expenses. Employee count not disclosed; integration effort expected to continue through 2019.
2019-06-30restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-06-30United StatesCorporate and Other / Indiana Electric Integrated / Infrastructure ServicesUSD 61 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance totaling $61 million recognized for employees terminated immediately subsequent to the Merger close, inclusive of change of control severance payments to executives of Vectren.
2019-06-30restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-06-30United StatesCorporate and OtherUSD 37 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Incremental cost of $37 million recorded for accelerated vesting of share-based awards assumed from Vectren.
2019-03-31acquisition_additioncompleted2019-02-01United States (Indiana, Ohio)Indiana Electric Integrated, Natural Gas Distribution, Infrastructure Services, Corporate and Otherbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Vectren merger closed 2019-02-01 for ~$6B cash; added two new reportable segments. No employee headcount added disclosed.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-01United StatesMultiple (Vectren operations)USD 61 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance to employees terminated immediately after merger close, including change-of-control payments to Vectren executives. No headcount disclosed.
2019-03-31othercompleted2019-02-01United StatesMultiple (Vectren operations)USD 37 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Incremental cost for accelerated vesting of Vectren share-based awards; $78M total cash-settled, $41M liability assumed. Recorded in Operation and maintenance expense.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-03-31United StatesCorporate and Other; Natural Gas Distribution; Infrastructure Services; Indiana Electric IntegratedUSD 61 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance totaling $61 million recognized for employees terminated immediately subsequent to the Vectren Merger close, inclusive of change of control severance payments to executives.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-03-31United StatesCorporate and Other; Natural Gas Distribution; Infrastructure Services; Indiana Electric IntegratedUSD 37 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Incremental cost of $37 million recorded for accelerated vesting of share-based awards assumed from Vectren.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-03-31United StatesHouston Electric T&DUSD 10 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Increased operation and maintenance expenses of $10 million for Merger-related severance costs.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-03-31United StatesIndiana Electric IntegratedUSD 20 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Operation and maintenance expense of $20 million for Merger-related severance and incentive compensation costs.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-03-31United StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 43 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Operation and maintenance expense of $43 million for Merger-related severance and incentive compensation costs associated with natural gas businesses acquired in the Merger.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-03-31United StatesInfrastructure ServicesUSD 13 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Operation and maintenance expenses of $13 million for Merger-related severance and incentive compensation costs.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-03-31United StatesCorporate and OtherUSD 2 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Operation and maintenance expenses of $2 million for Merger-related severance and incentive compensation costs associated with ESG acquired in the Merger.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-03-31United StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 10 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Higher operation and maintenance expenses of $10 million for Merger-related severance costs in CERC's service territories.
2019-03-31restructuringcompleted2019-02-012019-03-31United StatesCorporate and OtherUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Increase in operation and maintenance expenses of $8 million, primarily for Merger-related integration costs.
2018-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2018-04-212019-02-01Indiana and Ohio, United StatesElectric and natural gas utilities; Infrastructure Services; energy servicessubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Merger closed 2019-02-01 for approximately $6 billion cash; Vectren employee headcount not disclosed. 2018 transaction costs of $28 million and integration costs of $18 million recorded in operation and maintenance expense.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-032017-01-03United StatesEnergy ServicesUSD 147 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
CES completed acquisition of AEM on January 3, 2017 for $147 million; added approximately 1,000 customers and 362 Bcf of natural gas sales. Headcount added not disclosed.
2017-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-032017-01-03United StatesEnergy Servicesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of AEM completed January 3, 2017. Included approximately 1,000 customers; specific headcount not disclosed.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2016-04-01United StatesEnergy ServicesUSD 102 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price $102 million; acquisition added approximately 13,000 customers and 175 Bcf of gas sales, but no employee headcount added is disclosed. Original announcement date not stated in filing.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2017-01-03United StatesEnergy ServicesUSD 140 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed after fiscal year-end but before filing date; approximately $140 million including estimated working capital. No employee headcount added is disclosed; initial accounting incomplete at filing.
2016-12-31othercompleted21%20162016United StatesElectric Transmission & Distribution; Natural Gas Distribution; Other OperationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
IBEW Local 66 and two PEIU Local 12 agreements, covering approximately 21% of employees, expired March and May 2016; all three follow-on agreements negotiated during 2016 (IBEW expires May 2020, PEIU March and May 2021). No separations or charges disclosed.
2016-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2016-04-012016-04-01United StatesEnergy ServicesUSD 102 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Continuum retail energy services business and natural gas wholesale assets. Headcount not explicitly disclosed in footnote, but segment employee count increased.
2016-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2016-04-012016-04-01United StatesEnergy Servicesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
CES closed acquisition of Continuum retail energy services business and natural gas wholesale assets for $102 million; no headcount added disclosed
2016-09-30acquisition_additionannounced2016-10-312017-03-31United StatesEnergy Servicessubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
CES agreed to acquire Atmos Energy Marketing for approximately $120 million; expected to close early 2017; no headcount disclosed
2016-09-30othercompleted2016-05-012017-01-01United StatesElectric Transmission & Distributionother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Houston Electric renegotiated collective bargaining agreement with IBEW Local Union 66; retiree medical coverage changes for employees retiring on or after 2017-01-01; no affected-employee count disclosed
2015-12-31othercompleted2014-10-012015-01-01United StatesCorporate / Midstream Investmentsrestructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Enable notified CenterPoint in Q4 2014 of intent to hire seconded employees; substantially all seconded employees became Enable employees effective January 1, 2015, triggering a $6 million pension curtailment loss recognized in Q4 2014. Headcount transferred not disclosed.
2015-12-31acquisition_additionannounced2016-01-292016-03-31United States (Tulsa and Houston)Energy ServicesUSD 78 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
CES agreed to acquire retail commercial and industrial businesses of Continuum Energy Services for $77.5 million plus working capital; conditioned on third-party consents. Employees to be added not disclosed.
2015-06-30othercompleted2015-01-01United StatesCorporate / Enable transition servicesother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Enable offered employment to substantially all employees seconded from CenterPoint Energy; they became Enable employees effective January 1, 2015. No headcount figure disclosed; transition services billing to Enable fell to $2 million in Q2 2015 from $37 million in Q2 2014.
2014-12-31othercompleted1,1132015-01-01United StatesMidstream InvestmentsUSD 6 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
During Q4 2014 Enable notified the company of intent to offer employment to substantially all seconded employees; all 1,113 became Enable employees effective January 1, 2015, reducing headcount to 7,427. A $6 million pension curtailment loss was recognized in Q4 2014. No exact announcement date disclosed.
2014-12-31othercompleted1,1132014-10-012015-01-01United StatesMidstream InvestmentsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Transfer of substantially all seconded employees to Enable Midstream Partners, LP effective January 1, 2015. Enable notified CenterPoint Energy of intent to provide employment offers in Q4 2014.
2014-12-31othercompleted1,1132014-10-012015-01-01United StatesMidstream InvestmentsUSD 6 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Transfer of substantially all seconded employees to Enable. Associated $6 million curtailment loss recognized in Q4 2014.
2013-12-31othercompleted1,0992013-03-142013-05-01United StatesMidstream Investments (former Interstate Pipelines and Field Services segments)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Employees were seconded, not transferred, to Enable upon its May 1, 2013 formation and remain counted in CenterPoint Energy's reported headcount. No severance or restructuring charge disclosed.
2013-09-30otherin_progress2013-05-012014-12-31Midstream Investments / Enablebusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
CenterPoint Energy does not anticipate extending transitional services or seconded employees to Enable beyond December 31, 2014. The company cannot reasonably estimate the impact of costs associated with the termination of these employees or their transfer to Enable.
2013-06-30divestiture_reductioncompleted02013-03-142013-05-01United StatesInterstate Pipelines; Field Services (Midstream)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Midstream Partnership (Enable) formation closed 2013-05-01; filer states no employees were transferred at formation or during the quarter. Seconded employees continued to be provided under Transition Agreements, with $28 million of transitional services billed through 2013-06-30; Midstream Partnership agreed to reimburse severance and termination costs for seconded employees, but no counts or amounts are quantified.
2013-06-30othercompleted12013-06-262013-06-30United StatesExecutive — CenterPoint Energy Resources Corp.USD 900,000 (units)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Executive separation effective 2013-06-30 with $900,000 lump-sum severance plus contingent performance payments of $300,000 (2014-03-15) and $190,000 (2015-03-15); 18-month COBRA continuation at active-employee rates for the first 12 months.
2013-06-30othercompleted2013-06-262013-06-30Executive ManagementUSD 900,000 (units)other
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Separation of C. Gregory Harper, President and CEO of CERC Corp. Lump-sum severance of $900,000 plus potential performance payments of $490,000 contingent on compliance with non-disparagement and cooperation clauses.
2012-12-31acquisition_additioncompleted2012-07-312012-07-31United States (east Texas)Field ServicesUSD 273 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchase price approximately $273 million; no employee count disclosed for acquired workforce. Company recorded a $136 million pre-tax step acquisition gain.
2012-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2012-07-31Texas, United StatesField Servicesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Purchased the 50% interest in Waskom Gas Processing Company not already owned for approximately $273 million; step acquisition gain of $136 million recorded. No employee headcount associated with the transaction is disclosed.
2012-09-30acquisition_additioncompleted2012-05-31United StatesField ServicesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of the Amoruso gathering system in May 2012 contributed $6 million to nine-month Field Services operating income; no headcount impact disclosed. Announcement date approximate (month only).
2010-06-30otherannounced2010-07-01United StatesElectric Transmission & Distributionother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
New three-year collective bargaining agreement with IBEW Local 66, effective May 26, 2010, ratified by members on July 1, 2010 (subsequent to quarter end). Number of covered employees not disclosed.
2007-12-31restructuringcompleted2006-01-052006-02-28United StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 9 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Voluntary Early Retirement Program (VERP) offered to approximately 200 employees. Election period ended Feb 28, 2006. One-time additional pension and postretirement expense of $9 million recorded.
2007-09-30restructuringcompletedNatural Gas DistributionNatural Gas DistributionMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Filing notes 'reduced operation and maintenance expenses, primarily as a result of costs associated with staff reductions incurred in 2006'.
2007-06-30restructuringcompletedNatural Gas DistributionNatural Gas DistributionMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Filing notes 'costs associated with staff reductions incurred in 2006' which reduced operation and maintenance expenses in the current period. No specific headcount or charge amount is disclosed for the current quarter.
2007-03-31restructuringcompletedUnited StatesElectric Transmission & DistributionMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
MD&A notes 'lower corporate support services costs primarily due to staff reductions in 2006' and 'resulting labor savings in 2007'. No specific headcount or charge amount is disclosed for the current quarter.
2006-12-31voluntary_separationannounced2002006-01-052006-02-28United StatesCompany-wideUSD 9 (millions)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Voluntary Early Retirement Program offered to approximately 200 employees age 55+ with 5+ years of service; election period 2006-01-05 to 2006-02-28. Count is employees offered, actual participants not disclosed. One-time pension and postretirement expense of $9 million.
2006-12-31restructuringin_progressUnited StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 17 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
MD&A attributes a $17 million increase in operation and maintenance expense to staff reduction costs in the Natural Gas Distribution segment; no employee count or program timeline disclosed.
2006-12-31restructuringcompleted2006-12-31Natural Gas DistributionNatural Gas DistributionUSD 17 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Costs associated with staff reductions in Natural Gas Distribution segment.
2006-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted2002006-01-052006-02-28USD 9 (millions)other
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Voluntary Early Retirement Program (VERP) offered to approx. 200 employees age 55+ with 5+ years service. Election period Jan 5 - Feb 28, 2006. One-time additional pension and postretirement expense of $9 million.
2006-12-31restructuringcompletedNatural Gas DistributionUSD 17 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Costs associated with staff reductions in Natural Gas Distribution segment.
2006-09-30voluntary_separationcompleted2002006-01-052006-02-28United StatesCompany-wideUSD 9 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
VERP offered to ~200 employees age 55+ with 5+ years of service; $9M additional pension/postretirement expense recorded in Q1 2006.
2006-09-30restructuringin_progressUnited StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 12 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Staff reduction costs of $12M for nine months ended 2006; employee count not disclosed.
2006-09-30restructuringin_progressUnited StatesElectric Transmission & DistributionUSD 4 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance costs associated with staff reductions of $4M for nine months ended 2006; employee count not disclosed.
2006-09-30voluntary_separationcompleted2006-01-052006-02-28USD 9 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Voluntary Early Retirement Program (VERP) offered to approx. 200 employees age 55+ with 5+ years service. Election period Jan 5 - Feb 28, 2006. Recorded $9M pension/postretirement expense.
2006-06-30voluntary_separationcompleted2002006-01-052006-02-28United StatesCompany-wideUSD 9 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
VERP offered to ~200 employees age 55+ with 5+ years of service; $9M pension/postretirement benefit enhancement expense recorded in Q1 2006. Election period Jan 5 – Feb 28, 2006.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progressUnited StatesNatural Gas DistributionMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Staff reductions referenced as a driver of increased O&M expense ($5M in Q2, $11M YTD); no employee count or charge disclosed.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progressUnited StatesElectric Transmission & DistributionMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance costs associated with staff reductions referenced as a $4M YTD O&M expense driver; no employee count or charge disclosed.
2006-06-30voluntary_separationcompleted2002006-01-052006-02-28USD 9 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Voluntary Early Retirement Program (VERP) offered to approx. 200 employees age 55+ with 5+ years service. Election period Jan 5 - Feb 28, 2006. $9M pension/postretirement expense recorded in Q1 2006.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progressNatural Gas DistributionUSD 5 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Staff reductions in Natural Gas Distribution segment. $5M cost associated with staff reductions reported in Q2 2006 operating expenses.
2006-06-30restructuringin_progressElectric Transmission & DistributionUSD 4 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs associated with staff reductions in Electric Transmission & Distribution segment reported in YTD 2006.
2006-03-31voluntary_separationcompleted2006-01-052006-02-28United StatesCompany-wideUSD 9 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
VERP offered to approximately 200 employees age 55+ with 5+ years of service; election period Jan 5–Feb 28, 2006. Number who accepted not disclosed. $9M additional pension and postretirement expense recorded in Q1 2006.
2006-03-31restructuringcompletedUnited StatesElectric Transmission & DistributionUSD 4 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance costs of $4M associated with staff reductions in Q1 2006; headcount affected not disclosed.
2006-03-31voluntary_separationcompleted2006-01-052006-02-28United StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 9 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Voluntary Early Retirement Program (VERP) offered to approx. 200 employees age 55+ with 5+ years service. Election period Jan 5 - Feb 28, 2006. $9M pension/postretirement expense recorded.
2006-03-31restructuringcompleted2006-01-012006-03-31United StatesElectric Transmission & DistributionUSD 4 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs associated with staff reductions in the first quarter of 2006.
2005-12-31voluntary_separationannounced2002006-01-052006-02-28United StatesSouthern Gas Operations, CenterPoint Energy Service IT, Finance and Regulatory / Regulated OperationsUSD 9 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
VERP offered to approximately 200 employees age 55+ with 5+ years service; election period Jan 5–Feb 28, 2006. One-time additional pension and postretirement expense of approximately $9 million to be recognized in Q1 2006. Count reflects employees offered the program, not necessarily those electing.
2005-12-31layoffannounced2006-01-012006-12-31United StatesSouthern Gas Operationssubsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
2006 Southern Gas involuntary separation benefit for nonexempt employees involuntarily terminated during a severance period in 2006; enhanced pension with 3 deemed years of age and service. No employee count or charge disclosed.
2005-12-31restructuringcompleted2004-01-01Natural Gas DistributionNatural Gas DistributionUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs associated with staff reductions recorded in the first quarter of 2004.
2005-12-31voluntary_separationannounced2002006-01-052006-02-28United StatesSouthern Gas Operations, IT, Finance, RegulatoryUSD 9 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Voluntary Early Retirement Program (VERP) offered to approximately 200 employees age 55+ with 5+ years service. Election period Jan 5 - Feb 28, 2006. One-time additional pension and postretirement expense of approximately $9 million.
2005-03-31restructuringcompletedNatural Gas DistributionUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Filing references $8 million in severance costs incurred in Q1 2004 associated with staff reductions, noting their absence in Q1 2005 results. No specific employee count or current-quarter action details provided.
2004-12-31restructuringcompleted2004-01-012004-03-31United StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance charge for staff reductions recorded in Q1 2004; employee count not disclosed
2004-12-31restructuringcompleted2004-01-01Natural Gas DistributionNatural Gas DistributionUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Severance costs associated with staff reductions recorded in the first quarter of 2004.
2004-12-31restructuringcompleted2004-03-31United StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance charge for staff reductions recorded in Q1 2004; no employee count disclosed. Filer notes the charge reduced costs in later periods.
2004-12-31divestiture_reductionin_progress2004-07-212005-06-30United StatesTexas Genco (discontinued operations)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of Texas Genco announced July 2004; first step completed December 15, 2004; second step expected H1 2005. No employee headcount associated with the divestiture disclosed.
2004-09-30restructuringcompletedUnited StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance charge for staff reductions recorded in Q1 2004; no employee count disclosed. Filer notes the charge will reduce costs in future periods.
2004-09-30restructuringcompleted2004-01-012004-03-31Natural Gas DistributionNatural Gas DistributionUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Charge for severance costs associated with staff reductions in the first quarter of 2004.
2004-09-30othercompleted2004-09-012004-09-30TexasTexas Genco (Discontinued Operations)USD 17 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Non-recurring curtailment costs attributable to the discontinued participation of Texas Genco's workforce in the Company's postretirement benefit plan.
2004-06-30restructuringin_progress2004-03-312004-12-31United StatesNatural Gas Distribution (Arkla/Entex)USD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance charge for staff reductions in Natural Gas Distribution; related retirement plan amendment (Exhibit 10.7) establishes involuntary separation benefits for Arkla/Entex employees terminated between 2004-03-31 and 2004-12-31. No employee count disclosed.
2004-06-30restructuringcompleted2004-01-012004-03-31United StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Staff reductions in Natural Gas Distribution business segment; $8 million charge for severance costs recorded in Q1 2004.
2004-03-31restructuringcompletedUnited StatesNatural Gas DistributionUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Severance charge for staff reductions in Q1 2004; number of employees affected not disclosed. Filer notes the reductions will reduce costs in future periods.
2004-03-31restructuringcompletedNatural Gas DistributionUSD 8 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Charge related to staff reductions in the Natural Gas Distribution business segment.
2003-12-31restructuringcompleted2003-06-302003-06-30Houston, TexasOther OperationsUSD 25 (millions)Item 1. Business - Discontinued Operations
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pre-tax charge of $25 million recorded in Q2 2003 for impairment of long-lived assets and one-time termination benefits related to the sale of CenterPoint Energy Management Services (CEMS).
2003-09-30restructuringcompleted2003-06-012003-09-30Houston, TexasOther OperationsUSD 25 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Impairment and one-time employee termination benefits related to decision to sell CenterPoint Energy Management Services, Inc.
2003-06-30divestiture_reductionin_progressHouston, TexasOther Operations — CenterPoint Energy Management Services, Inc. (district cooling)USD 25 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pre-tax loss of $25.0M ($16.2M after-tax) recorded in Q2 2003 for asset impairment and one-time employee termination benefits; employee count not disclosed. Company was negotiating sale of the district cooling business.
2003-06-30restructuringcompleted2003-06-302003-06-30Houston, TexasOther Operations (CenterPoint Energy Management Services, Inc.)USD 25 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Pre-tax loss of $25.0 million recorded for impairment of long-lived assets and one-time employee termination benefits related to impending sale of district cooling services business.
2002-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted2002-11-062002-12-31United StatesElectric Generation (Texas Genco)USD 23 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
2002 Voluntary Early Retirement Program (VERP) for Texas Genco employees; $23M severance charge included in benefits expense increase; participants required age 55+ with 20 years service, terminating by 2002-12-31; employee count not disclosed
2002-12-31restructuringcompletedUnited StatesElectric Transmission & Distribution (CenterPoint Houston)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
CenterPoint Houston workforce reduction in 2002; severance costs included in the $23M benefits expense increase alongside Texas Genco VERP; employee count not separately disclosed
2002-12-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2002-09-052002-09-30United StatesWholesale Energy, European Energy, Retail Energy (Reliant Resources)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Spin-off of Reliant Resources on 2002-09-30; Reliant Resources businesses presented as discontinued operations; employee count associated with the spin-off not disclosed
2002-12-31restructuringcompleted2002-01-01TexasElectric GenerationUSD 23 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Severance costs of $23 million in connection with the voluntary early retirement program resulting from the mothballing of generating capacity by Texas Genco and workforce reduction by CenterPoint Houston.
2002-12-31voluntary_separationcompleted2002TexasElectric Generation; Electric Transmission & DistributionUSD 23 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Voluntary early retirement program resulting from mothballing of generating capacity by Texas Genco and reduction in workforce by CenterPoint Houston. Severance costs of $23 million included in benefits expense.
2002-09-30voluntary_separationannounced1402002-11-01TexasElectric Generation (Texas Genco)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Voluntary early retirement package extended to approximately 140 Texas Genco employees in connection with mothballing ~3,400 MW of gas-fired generating units through at least May 2003. Company stated it does not expect a material impact on results or cash flows.
2002-09-30restructuringannounced1402002-11-01TexasElectric Generationsubsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Texas Genco extended voluntary early retirement package to approximately 140 employees in November 2002 in connection with mothballing gas-fired units.