AutoZone (AZO)

Company ID: 109 | CIK: 0000866787
10-Q view:
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
No 10-Q YTD data
No 10-Q 3M data
Segments are charted by their disclosed metrics (revenue, segment profit, etc.). Each line is a single segment. Reconciliation/corporate items are excluded. Major customers are shown as a percentage of revenue. Operational KPIs are grouped by metric concept; sub-metrics appear as separate lines.

Geographic Segments

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Business Unit / Product Segments

Major Customers (% of Revenue)

No major-customer concentration data found.

Operational KPIs

IMC branches (branches)

Stockholders of record (customers)

No 10-Q data

Employees (headcount)

No 10-Q data

Inventory per location (inventory_units)

ALLDATA and Mexico sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

AP to inventory ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Accounts payable ratio (other)

No 10-K data

Accounts payable to gross inventory (other)

No 10-K data

Accounts payable to inventory (other)

Accounts payable to inventory ratio (other)

Adjusted ROIC (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted after-tax ROIC (other)

No 10-K data

Adjusted debt to EBITDAR (other)

After-tax ROIC (other)

No 10-Q data

After-tax return on invested capital (other)

Area advisors (other)

No 10-Q data

Auto parts sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Available credit capacity (other)

No 10-K data

Available credit facility capacity (other)

Average Net Sales Per Store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average SKUs per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average age of vehicles on road (other)

No 10-Q data

Average borrowings (other)

No 10-K data

Average gasoline price (other)

No 10-Q data

Average light vehicle age (other)

Average light vehicle fleet age (other)

No 10-K data

Average net sales per AutoZone store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average net sales per domestic auto parts store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average net sales per domestic auto parts store square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Average net sales per domestic store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average net sales per domestic store sqft (other)

No 10-Q data

Average net sales per domestic store square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Average net sales per square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Average net sales per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average net sales per store square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Average sales per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average square footage per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Average store size (other)

No 10-Q data

Average store square footage (other)

No 10-Q data

Average vehicle age (other)

COVID-19 related expenses (other)

No 10-K data

Call centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Capital expenditures (other)

No 10-Q data

Commercial program stores (other)

Commercial programs (other)

No 10-Q data

Commercial receivables sold (other)

No 10-K data

Commercial sales (other)

No 10-K data

Commercial sales growth (other)

Commercial sales mix (other)

No 10-Q data

Commercial sales programs (other)

No 10-Q data

Commercial sales share (other)

No 10-Q data

Common shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Common stock shares outstanding (other)

No 10-Q data

Consolidated interest coverage ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Construction commitments (other)

No 10-Q data

DC delivery frequency (other)

No 10-Q data

DIY sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Debt-to-capital ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution center space (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution center square footage (other)

No 10-Q data

Distribution centers (other)

No 10-Q data

Domestic DIY sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Domestic commercial programs (other)

No 10-Q data

Domestic commercial sales (other)

No 10-K data

Domestic commercial sales growth (other)

Domestic hub stores (other)

No 10-Q data

Domestic retail sales growth (other)

Domestic sales growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Domestic stores with commercial program (other)

No 10-Q data

EBITDA to interest coverage (other)

No 10-K data

Effective income tax rate (other)

No 10-K data

Effective tax rate (other)

No 10-K data

Exercisable options (other)

No 10-K data

Exercisable stock options (other)

No 10-K data

Fixed rate debt outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Full-time employee share (other)

No 10-Q data

Gas price per gallon (other)

No 10-K data

Gross profit margin (other)

Gross profit percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Hub projects completed (other)

No 10-Q data

Hub stores (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory Turnover (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory per location (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Inventory turnover (other)

No 10-Q data

LIFO credit reserve (other)

No 10-K data

Long-lived assets (other)

No 10-Q data

Mega hub stores (other)

No 10-Q data

Mega hubs (other)

No 10-Q data

Merchandise under pay-on-scan (other)

Merchandise under pay-on-scan arrangements (other)

No 10-Q data

Mexico stores with commercial program (other)

No 10-Q data

Miles driven (other)

No 10-K data

Miles driven change (other)

Miles driven growth (other)

Net income margin (other)

No 10-Q data

Net income percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Net inventory turnover (other)

No 10-Q data

Net new locations opened (other)

No 10-K data

Net new stores (other)

No 10-Q data

Net new stores opened (other)

No 10-K data

Net sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales from new stores (other)

No 10-K data

Net sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Net sales growth by channel (other)

No 10-K data

Net sales per AutoZone store (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales per AutoZone store square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales per domestic store (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales per square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales per store average square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Net sales per store square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

New locations opened (other)

New store net sales (other)

No 10-K data

New store sales (other)

No 10-K data

New store sales contribution (other)

No 10-K data

New stores opened (other)

No 10-Q data

New vehicle sales change (other)

No 10-Q data

Next-day delivery coverage (other)

No 10-Q data

Number Of Reportable Segments (other)

Number of Reportable Segments (other)

Operating profit margin (other)

No 10-Q data

Operating profit percentage (other)

No 10-Q data

Outstanding stock options (other)

No 10-Q data

POS merchandise on hand (other)

No 10-Q data

Pay-on-scan inventory (other)

No 10-Q data

Pay-on-scan merchandise (other)

Pay-on-scan sales (other)

No 10-Q data

Payables to inventory (other)

No 10-Q data

Payables to inventory ratio (other)

Payables-to-inventory ratio (other)

No 10-Q data

Product class concentration (other)

No 10-Q data

Public float (other)

No 10-Q data

Ratio of earnings to fixed charges (other)

No 10-Q data

Receivables sold to third party (other)

No 10-K data

Remaining share repurchase authorization (other)

No 10-K data

Replacement stores (other)

No 10-Q data

Repurchase authorization remaining (other)

No 10-K data

Return on average equity (other)

No 10-Q data

Return on invested capital (other)

Revolver availability (other)

No 10-K data

SKUs per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Sales growth (other)

No 10-K data

Sales growth by channel (other)

No 10-Q data

Sales mix (other)

No 10-K data

Sales per square foot (other)

No 10-Q data

Sales per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Shareholders of record (other)

No 10-Q data

Shares outstanding (other)

Shares repurchased (other)

Shares under equity forward contracts (other)

No 10-K data

Square footage growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Standby letters of credit (other)

No 10-K data

States of operation (other)

No 10-Q data

States served (other)

No 10-Q data

States with stores (other)

No 10-Q data

Stock keeping units (other)

No 10-Q data

Stock keeping units per store (other)

No 10-Q data

Stockholders of record (other)

No 10-Q data

Store square footage growth (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores closed (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores on enhanced delivery frequency (other)

No 10-K data

Stores replaced (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores under construction (other)

No 10-Q data

Stores with commercial program (other)

No 10-K data

Stores with commercial sales program (other)

No 10-K data

Stores with multiple weekly deliveries (other)

No 10-Q data

Surety bonds commitment (other)

No 10-K data

Treasury shares outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

U.S. miles driven change (other)

No 10-K data

Unleaded gasoline price (other)

No 10-K data

Variable rate debt outstanding (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average borrowing rate (other)

No 10-K data

Weighted average borrowings (other)

No 10-K data

Year 2000 critical readiness completion (other)

No 10-K data

Distribution centers (properties)

No 10-Q data

Same-store sales growth (same_store_sales)

Domestic store square footage (square_footage)

No 10-Q data

Domestic auto parts stores (stores)

Inventory turnover (throughput)

No 10-Q data

Net sales per store average square foot (transactions)

No 10-Q data
Human capital disclosures. Workforce totals and demographics are point-in-time. Flow metrics use the year-to-date period for 10-Q and full year for 10-K. Workforce actions (RIFs, restructurings, acquisition-related changes) are listed in the table at the bottom.

Workforce Totals

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

Demographics

No demographic data found.

Workforce Breakdowns

No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data
No 10-Q data

HCM Metrics — Point-in-Time

No point-in-time HCM metrics found.

HCM Metrics — Flow (Annual / YTD)

No flow HCM metrics found.

Workforce Actions

Period EndTypeStatusAffected% WorkforceAnnouncedExpected CompletionGeographySegment / FunctionChargeSourceNote
2025-08-30plant_closurecompletedRetail storeItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
One store closed during fiscal 2025 (305 new stores opened; 304 net new). Closure occurred sometime within the fiscal year; no associated workforce reduction or severance charge disclosed. Repeated in MD&A selected operating data; extracted once per deduplication rule.
2024-08-31plant_closurecompletedRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Store development table shows 4 stores closed during the 53-week fiscal 2024 (217 opened; 213 net new). Closure locations are not specified and no associated workforce reduction, severance, or charge is disclosed.
2023-08-26plant_closurecompletedRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Fiscal 2023 store development table discloses one store closure during the year (198 new stores opened, 12 relocated, 7,140 stores at year-end); affected headcount and associated charges are not quantified in the filing.
2021-08-28plant_closurecompletedNot specifiedAuto Parts Stores (retail store operations)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Location development table discloses one store closed during fiscal 2021 (219 new locations opened, 218 net new of 6,767 total); the same figure appears in MD&A selected operating data. No workforce impact, associated charge, or specific closure date disclosed.
2020-11-21otherannounced2020-12-08United StatesAll eligible employeesUSD 50 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Board approved additional week of Emergency Time-Off and extended PTO carryover; estimated $50M expense in Q2 FY2021.
2018-08-25othercompleted2017-12-192018-03-15United StatesCompany-wide (frozen defined benefit pension plans)USD 130 (millions)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Board approved termination of both pension plans effective March 15, 2018; final lump-sum transfers, annuity purchase and obligation transfer to an insurer completed in Q4 FY2018. Non-cash pension termination charge recorded in operating expenses. Benefits-plan termination, not a headcount reduction; participant count not disclosed.
2018-08-25divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-04-04Auto Parts Locations (IMC business)USD 94 (millions)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
26 Interamerican Motor Corporation branches sold April 4, 2018; impairment charge reflects fair value less costs to sell, not severance. Employees affected not disclosed; impairment was recorded in Q2 FY2018.
2018-08-25divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-02-26Other (AutoAnything e-commerce)USD 100 (millions)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Substantially all AutoAnything assets sold February 26, 2018; impairment charge reflects fair value less costs to sell, not severance. Employees affected not disclosed; impairment was recorded in Q2 FY2018.
2018-08-25plant_closurecompletedAuto Parts Locations (retail stores)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Store development table shows 2 locations closed during fiscal 2018 (201 new opened); no workforce impact or headcount associated with the closures was quantified.
2018-08-25divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-04-042018-04-04United StatesInteramerican Motor Corporation (IMC) branchesUSD 94 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
26 IMC branches sold April 4, 2018; $93.6 million impairment charge recorded in Q2 fiscal 2018. No employee count disclosed.
2018-08-25divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-02-262018-02-26United StatesAutoAnything operationsUSD 100 (millions)discontinued_operations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Substantially all AutoAnything assets sold February 26, 2018; $99.6 million impairment charge recorded in Q2 fiscal 2018. No employee count disclosed.
2018-08-25plant_closurecompleted2018-08-25United StatesAutoZone storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Two store locations closed during fiscal 2018; no associated headcount or charge disclosed.
2018-05-05divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-02-26United StatesOther (AutoAnything e-commerce)USD 100 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of substantially all AutoAnything assets completed 2018-02-26; $99.6M impairment recorded in Q2 FY2018. No employee-count impact disclosed.
2018-05-05divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-04-04United StatesAuto Parts Locations (IMC)USD 94 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sale of substantially all IMC assets completed 2018-04-04; $93.6M impairment recorded in Q2 FY2018. No employee-count impact disclosed.
2018-02-10divestiture_reductionannounced2018-02-222018-05-31United StatesIMC (Interamerican Motor Corporation) — Auto Parts Locations segmentsubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Asset purchase agreement to sell substantially all IMC assets net of assumed liabilities; expected to close in Q3 fiscal 2018. No employee count disclosed. Related $93.6M of the quarter's $193.2M impairment charge (goodwill, PP&E, intangibles, inventory) was recorded in Q2.
2018-02-10divestiture_reductioncompleted2018-02-262018-02-26United StatesAutoAnything — Other categorysubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Sold substantially all AutoAnything assets net of assumed liabilities for consideration approximating remaining net book value. No employee count disclosed. Related $99.6M of the quarter's $193.2M impairment charge was recorded in Q2.
2015-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted2014-09-272014-09-27United StatesAuto Parts Locations (IMC)USD 76 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Acquired Interamerican Motor Corporation, adding 17 branches; headcount added through the acquisition was not disclosed. Charge is purchase price net of cash, not a severance cost.
2015-08-29plant_closurecompletedAutoZone storeItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
One store closed during fiscal 2015 per store development table (ending locations 5,609); workforce impact not quantified.
2015-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted2014-09-272014-09-27United StatesAuto Parts Locations (IMC import parts distribution)USD 76 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Interamerican Motor Corporation for $75.7 million net of cash; 17 IMC branches acquired. Headcount added through the acquisition is not disclosed.
2015-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted2014-09-272014-09-27United StatesAuto Parts LocationsUSD 76 (millions)Note M - Acquisition
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquisition of Interamerican Motor Corporation (IMC). Headcount not explicitly disclosed in acquisition note, but IMC is included in the 6,600 international/other employee count or domestic count depending on structure; text says '20 IMC branches' acquired.
2015-05-09acquisition_additioncompleted2014-09-27United StatesAuto Parts Locations (IMC — import replacement parts distribution)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Interamerican Motor Corporation for $75.7 million net of cash; no headcount added disclosed. Closed prior to this quarter; results included in Auto Parts Locations since acquisition date.
2015-02-14acquisition_additioncompleted2014-09-272014-09-27United StatesAuto Parts Storesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Interamerican Motor Corporation (IMC), 18 branches; no employee headcount disclosed. Purchase price $75.7M net of cash; goodwill $16.2M, intangibles $8.3M
2014-11-22acquisition_additioncompleted2014-09-27United StatesAuto Parts Storesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of Interamerican Motor Corporation (IMC) for $75.7 million net of cash, effective September 27, 2014; IMC operated 17 branches as of November 22, 2014. Employee headcount added through the acquisition is not disclosed.
2014-08-30acquisition_additioncompleted2014-09-27United StatesImport replacement parts distribution (Auto Parts Stores)subsequent_events
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Acquired Interamerican Motor Corporation (IMC), second-largest distributor of OE-quality import replacement parts, operating 17 branches; closed September 27, 2014 for approximately $80 million, financed with commercial paper; employee headcount added not disclosed.
2014-08-30acquisition_additioncompleted2014-09-27United StatesDistribution — import replacement parts (17 branches)USD 80 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closed 2014-09-27, after fiscal year-end, financed with commercial paper; purchase price approximately $80 million; headcount added not disclosed
2013-08-31acquisition_additioncompleted2012-12-192012-12-19United StatesOther business activities (AutoAnything e-commerce)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of certain assets and liabilities of AutoAnything for up to $150 million. Headcount added through the acquisition is not disclosed; pro forma results omitted as not material.
2013-05-04acquisition_additioncompleted2012-12-19United StatesOther (E-commerce / AutoAnything)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
AutoAnything asset acquisition closed 2012-12-19 for up to $150M; no employee headcount transferred or added is disclosed in the filing.
2013-02-09acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesOther (E-commerce / AutoAnything)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
AutoAnything acquisition effective 2012-12-19; headcount added not disclosed. Consideration up to $150M: $115M initial cash, $5M holdback, contingent payments up to $30M. Results included in Other business activities since acquisition date.
2012-11-17acquisition_additionannounced2013-02-28United StatesOther (e-commerce/online retail)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement to purchase assets and select liabilities of AutoAnything (San Diego, CA); no employee count disclosed; expected to close in fiscal Q2 2013, financed with commercial paper
2011-08-27plant_closurecompletedRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Two stores closed during fiscal 2011 (188 opened, 186 net new, ending 4,813 stores). No affected-employee count, charge amount, or closure locations were disclosed; same figures appear in Selected Financial Data.
2010-08-28plant_closurecompletedAuto Parts StoresItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Fiscal 2010 store development table shows 3 stores closed (213 opened, 3 relocated). No headcount, severance charge, or closure narrative is disclosed; captured per retail-industry store-closure convention. Closures occurred at an unspecified point within the fiscal year.
2010-08-28plant_closurecompletedRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Three stores closed during fiscal 2010 (net of 213 new stores); no associated workforce reduction, severance, or restructuring charge is disclosed.
2009-08-29plant_closurecompletedUnited States and Puerto Rico (domestic stores)Auto Parts StoresItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Store development table shows 3 domestic stores closed during fiscal 2009 (out of 4,229 year-end domestic stores); no employee impact, severance, or charge quantified. Also disclosed in Item 6 Selected Financial Data. 9 additional stores were relocated (not captured as closures).
2008-08-30plant_closurecompletedUnited States and Puerto Rico (domestic)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
One domestic store closed during fiscal 2008 per the store development roll-forward (also shown in Item 6 Selected Financial Data); no workforce impact, charge, or specific closure dates were disclosed.
2008-08-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
One domestic store closed during fiscal 2008 (160 opened, 1 closed, 14 relocated). No associated employee count or charge disclosed.
2007-08-25plant_closurecompletedUnited States and Puerto Rico (domestic)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
One domestic store closed during fiscal 2007 per the store development table; no workforce impact, charge, or dates quantified in the filing.
2007-08-25plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
One domestic store closed during fiscal 2007; no associated headcount, charge, or timing disclosed. No restructuring or severance activity appears anywhere in the filing.
2006-08-26plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail stores (domestic)USD 707 (thousands)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Fiscal 2006 closed-store count was 6, of which 4 remained temporarily closed at year-end due to hurricane damage. No workforce impact quantified in the filing. Note K closed-store obligation reserve increased $0.7 million during fiscal 2006, representing accrued remaining lease obligations and interest accretion for stores closed during the period — not severance.
2006-08-26plant_closurecompletedLafayette, Louisiana, United StatesDistribution centersItem_2_Properties
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Smaller distribution facility in Lafayette, Louisiana closed during fiscal 2006, following the fiscal 2005 opening of a new distribution center near Dallas, Texas. No workforce impact quantified. The prior-year San Antonio, Texas closure (fiscal 2005) is excluded as a comparative-period item.
2006-08-26plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Six domestic stores closed during fiscal 2006; four of these remained closed at year-end due to hurricane damage. No associated headcount or charge disclosed.
2005-08-27plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Three domestic stores closed during fiscal 2005 (in addition to 7 replaced/relocated stores). No workforce impact quantified. Note K (closed store obligations) shows the closed-store lease reserve declining to $8.2 million at fiscal year-end, with a $0.7 million increase to the reserve during the year; no employee counts disclosed.
2005-08-27plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Three domestic stores closed during fiscal 2005 (per store development table); no headcount or charge disclosed for the closures.
2005-08-27acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRetail storesUSD 3 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Four stores acquired from regional auto parts retailers for $3.1 million during fiscal 2005 and converted to AutoZone stores; no employee count disclosed.
2005-08-27plant_closurecompletedUnited States (Texas)DistributionItem_2_Properties
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
New distribution center opened near Dallas and smaller San Antonio facility closed during fiscal 2005; no headcount impact disclosed.
2005-02-12acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRetail storesUSD 3 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of certain assets from a regional auto parts retailer; four stores converted to AutoZone stores and included in store counts. No employee count disclosed for the acquired workforce.
2004-08-28plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail auto parts storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
One domestic auto parts store was closed during fiscal 2004 (alongside 202 new stores opened and 4 replaced). Workforce impact not quantified. Note K discloses remaining closed-store lease/carrying obligations of $11.2 million at year-end, including $8.99 million from store closings outside the 2001 restructuring program.
2004-08-28acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesRetail auto parts storesMD&A
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
During fiscal 2004 the company invested $11.4 million to acquire certain assets from a regional auto parts retailer; seven stores were converted to AutoZone stores in fiscal 2004 and five more were slated for conversion in fiscal 2005. Headcount added through the transaction was not disclosed.
2004-08-28plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
One domestic store closed during fiscal 2004; four stores were also replaced (relocated) during the year. No headcount or charge disclosed for these closures.
2004-08-28acquisition_additionin_progress2005-08-27United StatesRetail storesUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Fiscal 2004 investment of $11.4 million to acquire assets of a regional auto parts retailer; seven stores converted to AutoZone during fiscal 2004 with five more to convert in fiscal 2005. Charge shown is the acquisition purchase price, not a severance charge; no employee counts disclosed.
2004-08-28restructuringcompleted2001-08-25United StatesRetail StoresUSD 157 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Fiscal 2001 restructuring and impairment charges of $156.8 million related to planned closure of 51 domestic auto parts stores. Stores closed in fiscal 2002. Remaining obligations of $2.2 million at fiscal 2004 year-end.
2004-08-28divestiture_reductioncompleted2001-12-01United StatesTruckProrestructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Sale of TruckPro subsidiary (49 stores) in December 2001. Gain recognized in fiscal 2003 upon repayment of note.
2004-05-08acquisition_additionin_progressUnited StatesRetailUSD 11 (millions)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of certain assets from a regional auto parts retailer; 12 stores being converted to AutoZone stores. No employee headcount disclosed.
2003-08-30plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesDomestic auto parts storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Nine domestic auto parts stores were closed during fiscal 2003 (routine closures shown in the five-year store development table); no associated headcount, severance, or charge was disclosed. Distinct from the fiscal 2001 restructuring program's 51 store closures, which were executed in fiscal 2002.
2003-08-30restructuringcompleted2001-09-012003-08-30United StatesCorporate and Store OperationsUSD 157 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Fiscal 2001 restructuring plan included closure of 51 domestic stores, disposal of real estate, closure of supply depot, and sale of TruckPro subsidiary. Gains of $4.6 million recognized in fiscal 2003 from disposition of properties associated with this plan. No other significant gains or charges anticipated.
2002-08-31plant_closurecompleted20012002-08-31United StatesDomestic auto parts retail storesUSD 56 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
51 planned store closures under the fiscal 2001 restructuring program (part of the $156.8M charge) were executed during fiscal 2002; the $56.1M charge was recorded in fiscal 2001, not fiscal 2002. Store development table shows 53 total U.S. closures in fiscal 2002. Fiscal 2002 cash outlays/adjustments cleared the program's severance and contract settlement accruals; remaining accrued restructuring obligations were $18.1M (lease obligations) at August 31, 2002. Employee count affected not disclosed.
2002-08-31plant_closurecompleted2001United StatesSupply depot (distribution)USD 32 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Closure of a supply depot; $32.0M fiscal 2001 charge covered asset writedowns and lease obligations for both this closure and the unoccupied ALLDATA office building, and is not split between the two components. Timing of the physical closure relative to fiscal 2002 is not specified; employee count affected not disclosed.
2002-08-31divestiture_reductioncompleted20012001-12United StatesTruckPro heavy-duty truck parts subsidiary (49 stores)USD 30 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
TruckPro, which operated 49 stores, sold in December 2001 for $25.7M cash plus a six-year promissory note; $3.6M gain deferred. The $29.9M of asset writedowns and contractual obligations related to the planned sale was recorded in fiscal 2001. Number of employees removed with the divestiture not disclosed.
2002-08-31plant_closurecompleted2000-09-012002-08-31United StatesDomestic auto parts storesUSD 56 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Charge recorded in fiscal 2001 for planned closure of 51 domestic stores plus real-estate disposals; closures completed during fiscal 2002. Announcement date approximate (fiscal 2001). Employee headcount affected not disclosed. Store development table shows 53 total domestic store closures in fiscal 2002.
2002-08-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2001-12-012001-12-31United StatesTruckPro heavy-duty truck parts subsidiary (49 stores)USD 30 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
TruckPro sold to investors in December 2001 for $25.7M cash plus a six-year note; $3.6M gain deferred. Asset writedowns and contractual obligations of $29.9M recorded in fiscal 2001 restructuring charge. Employee headcount not disclosed.
2002-08-31plant_closurecompleted2002-08-31United StatesSupply depot and ALLDATA office buildingUSD 32 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Fiscal 2001 charge for asset writedowns and lease accruals on a closed supply depot and the unoccupied ALLDATA office building; ALLDATA building sold in Q4 fiscal 2002. Employee headcount not disclosed.
2002-08-31restructuringcompleted2001-09-012002-08-31United StatesCorporate and Store OperationsUSD 157 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Fiscal 2001 charges of $156.8 million included closure of 51 domestic stores, disposal of real estate, closure of supply depot, and sale of TruckPro subsidiary. Fiscal 2002 adjustments offset with no impact on net income. Remaining accrued obligations of $18.1 million at August 31, 2002.
2002-08-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2001-12-012001-12-31United StatesTruckProrestructuring_footnote
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Sale of TruckPro heavy-duty truck parts subsidiary to investors in December 2001. 49 stores operated by TruckPro.
2002-08-31restructuringcompleted2001-08-252002-08-31United StatesCorporate and Store OperationsUSD 157 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Fiscal 2001 restructuring charges of $156.8 million included closure of 51 domestic stores, supply depot closure, ALLDATA office closure, inventory rationalization, and TruckPro sale preparation. Activities completed in fiscal 2002.
2002-08-31divestiture_reductioncompleted2001-12-012001-12-31United StatesTruckProUSD 30 (millions)MD&A
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Sale of TruckPro heavy-duty truck parts subsidiary in December 2001. Associated writedowns and contractual obligations of $29.9 million recorded in fiscal 2001.
2002-05-04plant_closurein_progressUnited StatesDomestic auto parts storesrestructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Restructuring plan approved in Q4 fiscal 2001 (exact announcement date not stated) covering closure of 51 domestic auto parts stores; 4 stores closed during the quarter and 39 closed year-to-date. No employee counts or store-closure severance amounts disclosed; restructuring accrual of $30.3M at May 4, 2002 relates primarily to lease obligations, contract settlements and severance/other without employee-level detail.
2002-05-04divestiture_reductioncompleted2001-122001-12United StatesTruckPro heavy-duty truck parts businessUSD 30 (millions)other
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
TruckPro sold to investors in December 2001 for $25.7M cash plus a six-year note; asset writedowns and contractual obligations of $29.9M were recorded in fiscal 2001 (prior year). Business had 49 stores at May 5, 2001; no employee count disclosed for the divested workforce. Preliminary gain of $4.5M deferred pending final working capital adjustment.
2002-05-04restructuringin_progress2001-10-01DomesticAuto Parts StoresUSD 5 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Filing discloses $5.2M in restructuring charges for the twelve weeks ended May 4, 2002, related to excess properties and lease obligations from a strategic planning process initiated in FY2001. The company closed 4 stores in the quarter and 39 year-to-date. No specific employee count affected is disclosed in this filing.
2002-02-09plant_closurein_progressUnited StatesDomestic auto parts storesUSD 56 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Fiscal 2001 strategic review established a 15% after-tax return threshold; largest charge component covered planned closure of 51 domestic auto parts stores plus real estate project and excess property writedowns. No stores closed in the quarter ended 2002-02-09; 35 stores closed year-to-date. No employee count or severance amount disclosed for this component.
2002-02-09plant_closurein_progressUnited StatesSupply depot and ALLDATA office buildingUSD 32 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Charge covered asset writedowns and accrued lease obligations for a supply depot closure and an unoccupied ALLDATA office building; company is pursuing sale or sublease of these leased facilities. No employee counts disclosed.
2002-02-09divestiture_reductioncompleted2001-12United StatesTruckPro heavy-duty truck parts businessUSD 30 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Heavy-duty truck parts business sold in December 2001 to a group of investors for $25.7 million cash plus a six-year note; a preliminary gain of $4.5 million was deferred pending a final working capital adjustment in the third quarter. Charge comprised asset writedowns and contractual obligations. No employee count disclosed; company subleased some TruckPro store properties to the purchaser for at least twenty years.
2002-02-09restructuringin_progressDomesticAuto Parts StoresUSD 30 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Filing discloses $29.9 million in severance and other charges related to restructuring. Year-to-date, 35 auto parts stores were closed. No specific employee headcount affected is disclosed in this filing.
2002-02-09divestiture_reductioncompleted2001-12-01United StatesTruckProrestructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
TruckPro business sold in December 2001. 49 TruckPro stores were closed/removed from operations. No specific employee headcount removed is disclosed.
2001-11-17plant_closurein_progress2002-08-31United StatesDomestic auto parts storesUSD 56 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Program approved in fiscal 2001 Q4 covers planned closure of 51 domestic auto parts stores plus real estate disposals; 35 stores closed during the quarter. No employee count disclosed; charge relates to stores and real estate.
2001-11-17divestiture_reductionannounced2002-02-28United StatesTruckPro businessUSD 30 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Agreement signed during the quarter to sell TruckPro to an investment group, subject to buyer financing and due diligence; expected to close in fiscal Q2. Charge covers asset writedowns and contractual obligations; no headcount impact disclosed.
2001-11-17plant_closurein_progressUnited StatesSupply depot and ALLDATA office buildingUSD 32 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Charge covers other asset writedowns and lease accruals for a closed supply depot and an unoccupied ALLDATA office building; sublease opportunities being pursued. No employee count disclosed.
2001-11-17restructuringin_progress2001-08-252002-08-31DomesticAuto Parts StoresUSD 56 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Charge related to planned closure of 51 domestic auto parts stores and disposal of real estate. 35 stores closed during the quarter.
2001-11-17restructuringin_progress2001-08-252002-08-31DomesticSupply Depot / CorporateUSD 32 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Charge related to closure of a supply depot and ALLDATA office building.
2001-11-17restructuringin_progress2001-08-252002-08-31DomesticGeneralUSD 30 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Reserve for inventory rationalization including provision for inventory losses in closing stores.
2001-11-17divestiture_reductionin_progress2001-08-252002-05-31DomesticTruckProUSD 30 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Asset writedowns and contractual obligations related to planned sale of TruckPro business. Agreement signed, subject to financing and due diligence.
2001-11-17restructuringin_progress2001-08-252002-08-31DomesticGeneralUSD 10 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Contractual obligations, severance and other charges.
2001-08-25plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesDomestic auto parts retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
19 domestic stores closed during fiscal 2001; footnote states closed stores include 16 replaced (relocated) stores. No associated workforce reduction count or charge disclosed. Separate 107 new store openings are excluded as growth, not a workforce action.
2001-08-25divestiture_reductionannounced2001-07-10United StatesTruckPro, Inc. subsidiaryother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Company retained an advisor for the sale of the TruckPro, Inc. subsidiary; no headcount or charge quantified in this filing.
2001-08-25othercompleted2001-05-232004-05-25United StatesExecutive — President and Chief Operating Officerother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Resigned as officer and director effective 2001-05-23 due to family illnesses; remains an employee through 2004-05-25 at reduced salary of $102,068.80 annualized from 2001-08-26, with a non-compete.
2001-08-25otherin_progress2001-05-232004-08-31United StatesExecutive — Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerUSD 650,000 (units)other
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Resigned as director 2001-05-23 and as CFO upon appointment of a successor; remains employed through 2004-08-31 at $100,000 annual salary plus a $650,000 lump-sum payment on or before 2001-08-25.
2001-08-25restructuringannounced2001-06-08United Statesother
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Press release announced a nonrecurring charge in the fourth quarter of fiscal 2001; nature, amount, and any employee impact not disclosed in this filing.
2001-08-25restructuringin_progress2001-06-012002-08-31United StatesDomestic auto parts storesUSD 157 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Includes writedown of assets $87.7M, inventory rationalization $30.1M, lease accruals $29.6M, contract settlements $6.7M, severance and other $2.7M. No employee headcount affected disclosed.
2001-08-25plant_closurein_progress2001-06-012002-08-31United StatesDomestic auto parts storesUSD 17 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
51 stores identified for closure; $4.3M lease reserve, $12.5M asset writedown, $2.1M inventory reserve. Stores scheduled to close during fiscal 2002. No employee headcount disclosed.
2001-08-25plant_closurecompleted2001-06-012001-08-25Memphis, TennesseeSupply depot / Store Support CenterUSD 32 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
$25.0M impairment charges for supply depot closure, technology assets, and department reorganization; $7.0M lease reserve. No employee headcount disclosed.
2001-08-25divestiture_reductionin_progress2001-06-012001-12-31United StatesTruckPro (heavy-duty truck parts subsidiary)USD 30 (millions)restructuring_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Decision to sell TruckPro; asset writedowns and contractual obligations of $29.9M recorded. TruckPro operated 49 stores. No employee headcount disclosed.
2000-08-26plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesDomestic auto parts storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Fiscal 2000 row of the domestic store development table shows 34 stores closed during the year, of which 30 were replaced stores (relocations), implying only a small net reduction. The filing does not quantify any associated workforce reduction, severance, or charge.
2000-08-26plant_closurecompleted2000-08-26United StatesDomestic auto parts storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Fiscal 2000 store roll-forward shows 34 closed stores (including 30 replaced stores); no associated headcount or charge disclosed.
1999-08-28plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesDomestic auto parts storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY1999 store development table shows 250 domestic stores closed (including 59 replaced stores); associated headcount not disclosed
1999-08-28acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesDomestic auto parts storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY1999 new-store count includes stores opened on real estate acquired from Pep Boys; headcount added not disclosed
1999-05-08plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail stores (auto parts)MD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Year-to-date, the company closed 181 auto parts stores as part of acquisition integration activities; no employee-impact count disclosed.
1999-05-08acquisition_additionin_progressUnited States; MexicoRetail stores (auto parts)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisitions of Chief Auto Parts Inc. and Pep Boys Express stores; year-to-date 219 gross new U.S. stores and 4 in Mexico opened, including 96 former Pep Boys Express stores. No headcount added disclosed.
1999-05-08otherannounced1999-05-04United States (California)Store managementother
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Class action alleging unpaid overtime for store managers since March 1997; outcome not predictable, no affected-employee count disclosed.
1999-02-13plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesAuto parts storesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Store closures occurred during the 24 weeks ended 1999-02-13; no employee count or severance charge disclosed. Same MD&A passage notes 170 gross new stores opened (including 54 former Pep Boys Express stores) and 25 stores replaced.
1998-11-21plant_closurein_progressUnited StatesRetail storesMD&A
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Year-to-date, 97 auto parts stores closed as part of acquisition integration activities; no employee count or severance charge disclosed.
1998-11-21plant_closurecompletedUnited StatesRetail StoresMD&A
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Company closed 97 auto parts stores in conjunction with acquisition integration activities. Employee count not disclosed.
1998-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted1998-05-111998-07-29United StatesAuto parts retail (Chief Auto Parts Inc.)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Definitive agreement to acquire Chief Auto Parts Inc. signed May 11, 1998; closing reported July 29, 1998 via Form 8-K. Combined with Auto Palace, 672 stores were acquired in fiscal 1998. Acquisition-related employee headcount not disclosed; total workforce grew from about 28,700 to about 38,500 during the year. Chief stores are substantially smaller than traditional AutoZone stores and conversion to the AutoZone format was planned.
1998-08-29acquisition_additioncompletedUnited StatesAuto parts retail (ADAP, Inc., doing business as Auto Palace)Item_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
ADAP, Inc. (Auto Palace), with a principal market in New England, was acquired during fiscal 1998 and its stores converted to the AutoZone name and format. Employee headcount added is not disclosed; the 672-store figure covers Chief and Auto Palace combined. Specific acquisition date not stated in the filing.
1998-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted1998-05-011998-05-01United StatesHeavy-duty truck parts retail (TruckPro Limited Partnership assets)other
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Assets of TruckPro Limited Partnership acquired May 1, 1998; 30,000 common shares issued to certain TruckPro owners as partial consideration. 43 TruckPro stores were operated at fiscal year-end. Employee headcount added is not disclosed.
1998-08-29plant_closurecompleted1998-08-29United StatesAuto parts retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
35 auto parts stores were closed during fiscal 1998, which includes 12 replaced stores (relocations or conversions of existing stores). Employee impact of closures is not disclosed; the disclosure is expressed in store counts only.
1998-08-29acquisition_additioncompletedUnited States (California, New England and other markets)Auto parts storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
FY1998 acquisitions of ADAP, Inc. (Auto Palace) and Chief Auto Parts Inc. added 672 auto parts stores; headcount added not disclosed. Employee count rose from approximately 28,700 to approximately 38,500 during the year
1998-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted1998-05-01United StatesTruckPro heavy-duty truck parts storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of assets of TruckPro Limited Partnership completed May 1, 1998; 30,000 shares issued as consideration; headcount added not disclosed
1998-08-29acquisition_additionannounced1998-10-21United StatesAuto parts stores (real estate)USD 108 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Subsequent event: acquired real estate of 100 Express auto parts stores from Pep Boys for approximately $108 million; real estate only, no employee headcount disclosed
1998-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted1998-07-29United StatesAuto Parts RetailItem 1. Business - Recent Developments
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-NVFP4-MTP-HTML
Acquired 672 auto parts stores from Chief Auto Parts and Auto Palace in fiscal 1998. Specific headcount added not disclosed, but total employee count increased by ~9,800 during the year.
1998-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted1998-08-29United StatesAuto Parts RetailItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired 672 auto parts stores from Chief Auto Parts and Auto Palace in fiscal 1998. Employee count increased by approximately 9,800 (34%) during the year, from ~28,700 to ~38,500.
1998-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted1998-02-011998-02-28Northeast United StatesAuto parts retailbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of ADAP, Inc. (Auto Palace) added 112 stores; headcount not separately disclosed
1998-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted1998-05-011998-05-31United States (14 states)Heavy duty truck parts retailbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquisition of TruckPro L.P. added 43 stores in 14 states; headcount not separately disclosed
1998-08-29acquisition_additioncompleted1998-06-011998-07-29CaliforniaAuto parts retailUSD 280 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Chief Auto Parts acquired for ~$280M including ~$205M assumed debt; 560 stores; headcount not separately disclosed
1998-08-29plant_closurecompleted1998-08-29United StatesAuto parts retailItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
23 stores closed during fiscal 1998; associated headcount not disclosed
1998-05-09acquisition_additioncompleted1998-02-171998-02-17United StatesRetail — Auto PartsUSD 55 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquired 100% of voting stock of ADAP, Inc. (Auto Palace), operating 112 stores; employee headcount not disclosed.
1998-05-09acquisition_additioncompleted1998-05-011998-05-01United StatesRetail — Heavy Duty Truck Partsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Acquired assets and liabilities of TruckPro, L.P., operating 43 stores in 14 states; employee headcount not disclosed.
1998-05-09acquisition_additionannounced1998-05-111998-08-29United States (California and Texas)Retail — Auto PartsUSD 75 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement to purchase Chief Auto Parts Inc. for ~$75M plus assumption of ~$205M debt; operates 500+ stores; employee headcount not disclosed; expected to close in fiscal Q4.
1998-05-09acquisition_additioncompleted1998-02-17United StatesAuto Parts RetailUSD 55 (millions)business_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired 100% of voting stock of ADAP, Inc. (Auto Palace). Purchase price $55 million. Headcount not disclosed.
1998-05-09acquisition_additioncompleted1998-05-01United StatesHeavy Duty Truck Partsbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Acquired assets and liabilities of TruckPro, L.P. Operates 43 stores in 14 states. Headcount and purchase price not disclosed in this footnote.
1998-05-09acquisition_additionannounced1998-05-111998-12-31California, TexasAuto Parts RetailUSD 75 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Definitive agreement to purchase Chief Auto Parts Inc. for approx $75 million plus assumption of $205 million debt. Operates over 500 stores. Closing anticipated in fiscal fourth quarter. Headcount not disclosed.
1998-02-14acquisition_additioncompleted1998-02-171998-02-17USD 55 (millions)subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Post-quarter acquisition of 100% of voting stock of ADAP, Inc. (Auto Palace) for $55 million, accounted for as a purchase; no employee count disclosed. Filer states the acquired balance sheet and results are not material to consolidated results.
1998-02-14acquisition_additionannounced1998-03-02subsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Definitive agreement announced to acquire assets and liabilities of TruckPro, L.P.; subject to conditions and regulatory approvals. No employee count disclosed; filer expects no material impact on fiscal 1998 position or results.
1997-08-30plant_closurecompleted1997Memphis, TN and Houston, TXCall center operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Memphis and Houston call center operations discontinued during fiscal 1997; all call center employees were offered transfers to stores in those areas. Number of affected employees not disclosed; company anticipated ongoing savings from the discontinuation.
1997-08-30othercompletedMemphis, TN and Houston, TXCall center operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Call center operations discontinued during fiscal 1997; employees offered transfer to stores in Memphis and Houston areas. No headcount or charge disclosed.
1997-08-30othercompleted1997Memphis and HoustonCall CentersItem_1_Business
f5-10k / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Discontinued operations of Memphis and Houston call centers; offered to transfer all call center employees to stores in those areas.
1997-02-15plant_closurecompleted1997-02Memphis, TennesseeCall center operationssubsequent_events
f5-10q / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Call center closed in late February 1997 (after quarter end); employees were offered transfers to AutoZone stores in the Memphis area. Filing states the closure is expected to produce ongoing savings; no headcount or charge disclosed.
1997-02-15plant_closureannounced1997-02MemphisCall Centersubsequent_events
f5-10q / Qwen3.6-27B-Q8_0
Company closed Memphis call center and offered to transfer all employees to AutoZone stores in the Memphis area.
1996-08-31acquisition_additioncompleted1996-03-291996-03-29United StatesALLDATA Corp. — automotive diagnostic and repair information softwarebusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Stock-for-stock merger completed March 29, 1996, accounted for as a pooling of interests; about 1.7 million shares issued plus options on roughly 200,000 shares. Acquired-employee headcount not disclosed.
1996-08-31plant_closurecompleted1996-111996-11Houston, Texas (operations consolidated into Memphis, Tennessee)Call center operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / GLM-5.3-flash-HTML
Post-fiscal-year-end event disclosed prior to the November 27, 1996 filing. Houston call center operations were consolidated into the Memphis call center; all Houston call center employees were offered transfers to AutoZone stores in the Houston area. Affected headcount not disclosed; company anticipates ongoing savings.
1996-08-31acquisition_additioncompleted1996-03-291996-03-29United StatesALLDATA Corp. — automotive diagnostic/repair information servicesbusiness_combinations_footnote
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Pooling-of-interests merger; ~1.7M shares issued. Headcount added not disclosed; ALLDATA assets $17.4M, liabilities $21.4M at combination.
1996-08-31restructuringannounced1996-11-01United States (Houston, TX / Memphis, TN)Call center operationsItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Occurred after fiscal year-end (November 1996); Houston employees offered transfers to Houston-area stores. Headcount and charge not disclosed.
1996-08-31plant_closurecompleted1996-08-31United States (27 states)Retail storesItem_1_Business
f5-10k / MiMo-V2.6-Flash-fp8-HTML
Closures were relocations or conversions to larger formats; no workforce impact disclosed.